Photography {▀} Panasonic Leica LX-3 King of the King: V2 {▀}, ▇ Ultimate F2.0 24mm Manual Digicam ▇

Ppsprov
post Mar 13 2009, 05:00 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(allic @ Mar 13 2009, 03:47 PM)
okay... my shopping list now is
1. spare batt
2. tripod
3. lenspen
3.5 Ricoh LC-1 Lens cap
4. camera bag that can put in all of the above + lx3

PS : need to get a wrist strap also, anyone got a good shop to recommend to get all of the above for a reasonable price?
Try to get 1,2,3,4 at Low yat or Pudu Plaza..
for 3.5 dunno where can get it also..

Added on March 13, 2009, 5:01 pm
QUOTE(allic @ Mar 13 2009, 04:48 PM)
use this will do ..  rclxms.gif

I tried with max 8 sec with tripod...cant get the silky effect... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Added on March 13, 2009, 5:04 pm
QUOTE(dare_black @ Mar 13 2009, 01:13 AM)
wohoo..the parcel from yamiya finally reach my house today!
i was waiting for the lens pen cos my careless colleague leave his finger print there ( my heart stopped for few seconds when i notice the finger print and scream OMG! )
i immediately use the lens pen to clean the lens after i open the parcel..haha
lucky is not scratches..phew...
here is the pic to share with you guys  biggrin.gif 

For me, the best way to get rid of finger prints and dust ...is...
putting a lens tube with UV filter then never take it out anymore...
hahaha...my practise is the practise for lazy ppl...

This post has been edited by Ppsprov: Mar 13 2009, 05:04 PM
Ppsprov
post Mar 14 2009, 11:53 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Mar 14 2009, 07:15 PM)
Hi guys, my olympus mju 400 decided to die on me today and my mum is going to hong kong tomorrow...so i'm getting the LX3.

i've searched the thread and it looks like sg. wang is out of stock...i've seen some forummers seen it in bangsar and harvey norman...

where exactly in bangsar and which harvey norman?

I need to get it in the morning, charge it then my mum can use it as her flight is late afternoon....help is much appreciated...

Added on March 14, 2009, 7:34 pm
Hi, do you remember which shop exactly?

I need one really soon, as in tomorrow....hahah....

thanks for the help in advance...
Think i have seen it. it is the shop near to tarita at low yat....you may ask around at that floor...
i confirm i have seen they are selling blackLX3...but price i am not sure
Ppsprov
post Mar 15 2009, 11:01 PM

93 posts

hiall.
i am looking for martien fields sreen protector for LX3.
Due to some reason i cant buy it online.

If any one know who is selling or where can buy please pm me..thanks in advance.
Ppsprov
post Mar 16 2009, 09:39 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(PCHo @ Mar 16 2009, 08:14 PM)
Look at what the mail man dropped into my mail box?  tongue.gif

Was a bit worried the package might not arrive by this week....
But luckily it did~!  laugh.gif
PCHo, how much you bought it?
Did u tried to put the UV and CPL together and see any vignetting?

I am having silver color LX3 too with the black lens tube. At first i feel it looks weird. but afterall i am ok with it.. rclxms.gif

I am also interested on Telephoto lens and wanted to buy from ebay..since i feel the "zoom" of Lx3 is not enuff..
anyone tested before? Appreciate on the advise if any...

This post has been edited by Ppsprov: Mar 16 2009, 09:52 PM
Ppsprov
post Mar 16 2009, 10:25 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(summersnow69 @ Mar 16 2009, 10:14 PM)
Hi LX3 user,
Here's a description of acessories quoted from

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&...5y2my4kFqeGRZgQ

Description:-

What you see..... what you get....

1. 0.45X Wide-Angle Lens (Built in macro lens)

2. 2.0X Tele-Photo Lens

3. Ultraviolet UV Filter

Improves contrast and color saturation by reducing the effects of ultraviolet light and atmospheric dust and haze in sunny landscapes, including mountain, marine and aerial scenes. Can be used in combination with polarizer for stunning scenics, or to protect the front lens element from dirt, fingerprints, and scratches

4. Polarizer PL Filter

Increases color saturation and contrast by reducing reflections from non-metallic surfaces and by cutting through haze. Deepens sky color. Generally requires through-the-lens viewing

5. Diffusion DIF Filter

Softens highlights and hard edges for flattering portraits, smoothing out textures, blemishes, and lines.

6. Macro Close up Filter

This item is for owners of any Lens. This item is great for taking close up pictures, it allows you focus in really close to things like insects, coins, etc.

7. Camera Case

8. Lens cleaning cloth

9. Adaptor Tube

This aluminum adapter can screws onto the front of a Digital Camera easily and allow you screw-on lenses or filters. Having this adapter you can enhance the image quality and give extra protect on lenses

Good Luck

P.S. Lenses & Filters (Made in Japan)
this thread in ebay is showing a series of lens+filter selling at RM200+ including postage. Do u think all these acessories differ much from the original Panasonic Lens? THe price are much lower, in terms of quality ..i m not sure. Can u guys give me any advice?

Thank you.
hehehe...u posted for twice..think you must be very despreate... drool.gif drool.gif

I am using a third party UV filter + Lens tube...(bought from ebay, unknown brand..)..cost me bout RM 70..

Tried to attach it together with Hoya CPL...so far is ok.... tongue.gif tongue.gif

i think the deal u found in ebay is cheap...and it is far away too cheap from any other filter/lens...i am doubt bout its quality...

For me..i will not think of ori parts from Panasonic..a CPL 46mm already cost RM 300 ++...darn...i can buy a Hoya Pro CPL plus a normal UV filter oledi by using that $...

This post has been edited by Ppsprov: Mar 16 2009, 10:27 PM
Ppsprov
post Mar 16 2009, 10:34 PM

93 posts

Uzumaki Naruto ...plz plz plz share with us on the filter + lens quality...
i am very interested on the telephoto lens... icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
Ppsprov
post Mar 17 2009, 08:45 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(allic @ Mar 17 2009, 12:05 AM)
how do u sifus protect the lenses?
There are quite many ways...
Some of our Lx3 sifu uses the lens protection filter...
me...lens tube + UV filter...
basically is the same.

Read from here:

LowYat

This post has been edited by Ppsprov: Mar 17 2009, 08:47 AM
Ppsprov
post Mar 19 2009, 06:35 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ Mar 19 2009, 05:32 AM)
lx3 wishlist
u wanted polarizer n neutral filter
erm may i know what issit for..
i am really a newbie in all these accesories stuff..
so many accessories i dunno what i shud get

anyway know anywhere i can buy all these accesories for lx3 coz a lot camera shops only sell cams not the accesories ...they say have to order. any shop wif ready stock in kl?
joeylny...for polarizer n neutral filter, yu may see the functionality from here:

CPL

and

ND Filter

For some accessories actually you no need to buy Panasonic one..because it is very expensive.
but if you really wish to buy it,you may go to Midvalley Key colors (2nd floor, 03-22828960) and get it.

Here is some price which Panasonic dealers quote me (ori parts,and this is the price before YEN goes up sweat.gif sweat.gif ):

Panasonic DMW-LW46 (RM 629.00)
Wide Conversion Lens

Panasonic DMW-LND46 (RM 90.00)
ND Filter

Panasonic DMW-LPL46 (RM 330.00)
PL Filter

Panasonic DMW-LMC46 (RM 80.00)
MC Protector

Panasonic DMW-LA4 (RM 109.00)
Conversion Lens Adaptor

Eventually i bought my lens adaptor, UV filter from Ebay and CPL from Pudu plaza YL camera shop. All 52mm, cause its more common and might able to use in some of the DSLR. These are advise from Sifu here .

Total price is less than RM200..heheheh...

May be going to buy a telephoto lens too..heheheh..Rm 120++ if convert USD to MYR

Ps: dude...all these has been posted earlier la...you may get more info from V2 and V1 LX3 post...:-P

This post has been edited by Ppsprov: Mar 19 2009, 06:39 AM
Ppsprov
post Mar 20 2009, 06:43 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(PCHo @ Mar 19 2009, 12:44 AM)
I've just written something on HDR.
If u guys r interested can go have a read  icon_rolleyes.gif

Link

Oh man....!! thanks for the blog!
nice! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Ppsprov
post Mar 21 2009, 10:57 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ Mar 21 2009, 01:31 AM)
i got a question if break the lens of my camera how much  to replace?
its gonna cost a lot issit?

n how to protect my lens?issit ND filter?
Rm612 to replace lens. If you are still under warranty. Read my earlier post.
Ppsprov
post Mar 22 2009, 11:15 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(ridox_orimabu @ Mar 22 2009, 11:11 AM)
hi guys..add me into the list k. jaz bought mine at KLCC yesterday.

Rm1760...
here's what i get:

- stick filter 24mm (lense protector)
- LcD protector
- pouch ( the panasonic one..very fat n not practical..should have bought  the leather one.)
- SD HC 4.0 GB
- the camera! ( black).

after looking back this thread, mine is quite expensive..hahaha...damn....no tripod some more...but nvm that, this camera is so much better than i expected. haha..double thumbs up for it!

will upload a pic soon... biggrin.gif
No tripod? never mind. Normally camera shops will give you those cheap tripod/mini tripod.
It is better that you go and buy one your own..

Added on March 22, 2009, 11:16 amfound one good site for LX3 tips...
just to share:

LX3 Photography

This post has been edited by Ppsprov: Mar 22 2009, 11:16 AM
Ppsprov
post Mar 24 2009, 08:26 AM

93 posts

soli...already move the photo to other place.

This post has been edited by Ppsprov: Mar 24 2009, 10:18 AM
Ppsprov
post Mar 29 2009, 06:04 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ Mar 25 2009, 08:46 PM)
anyone of u lx3 buying extra batteries n sd card for ur lx3?
where to buy cheap? how much issit?
pls share.thks
Does this work for you?

Sabah Oceanic Compatible Battery
Ppsprov
post Apr 11 2009, 12:46 AM

93 posts

i personally thinks that LX3 is a good stepping stones before you go for DSLR...

i've bought marco filter and still no time to test it on LX3... doh.gif doh.gif it is suffer if take macro since need to go so near to get correct focus..
and telephoto lens..is on the way (pandabase product)...

This post has been edited by Ppsprov: Apr 11 2009, 01:02 AM
Ppsprov
post Apr 21 2009, 08:53 AM

93 posts

Guys and gal..

After i've purchased few "add on",i finally found it is all waste of money..(at least for me it is, may be i do not know how to use it)..i would like to share some exprience on it for your reference.

I 've got a lens tube (from ebay), PL-Filter (Hoya), UV filter(from ebay), Macro filter +1 +2 +4 +10 (from ebay), and also a newly purchase telephoto lens 2X (from ebay).

The main objective that i got a lens tube with UV filter was because i dropped my camera and spoiled the leica lens last year, during my trip. However, my curiosity pushes me buy more and more filters for more effects.

First,lens tube. Mine is a third party 52mm lens tube from ebay, which i got info from here that 46mm is not common. When i take photo with this lens tube attached (especialy with flash,upon is not bright enough for some photo), there is some "shade" on the right..i tried several method of taking photo and this "shade" is still there. I tot is my hand which is blocking the flash, but i finally found is this lens tube..it will block the flash in certain point of view and shows the "shade" in the photo...

secondly, 52mm UV filter. Also it is from ebay.I know i am buy cheap stuff which causes some sort of "malfunction" of photos, but it really does happen to expensive UV filter as well. I notice that, when i take photo with UV filter it will reflects the light in between "leica lens and UV filter".. i am not so sure and not pro on it..but i see when i attach this UV filter to take photo and face the sunlight, you will see that the upper side of the photo will become "white and blur"..if you ask me, is this UV filter coated..yes it is. Inner and outer coated if according to ebay selling info.

Hoya PL-filter 52mm - It is the most satisfy product among all the i've bought. Saturation of colors is great when deal with white cloud and blue skies. Also it help me to reduce the reflection of waters when i want to take photo of fishes in the pond & etc.... But if for color Saturation, i think vibrant mode will help instead of buying PL-filter.

52mm Macro filter + 1 +2 +4 +10 - It is product from ebay as well. I found that it can be a bit "more detail" when attached with these filters on macro shooting. But, the surrounding of the photo will be "blur" and the color of the details is totally out! Besides that, these different magnifications dont make any difference for me..may be i am dumb and dont know how to use it.. tongue.gif tongue.gif

52 mm telephoto lens 2X - Ebay item which takes me more than one month to get the product due to stupid paypal needs further info from me even with the verification done. I've just got it and after i tried, i was shocked! ohmy.gif ohmy.gif I need to zoom in the max (i've off my digital zoom, so the max for me is 2.5X on the camera itself), else i will be seeing the "surrounding" of the lens tube and telephoto lens within the screen!! No doubt after attach with this lens and zoom to the max i can double the size of the image i want to shoot but the quality of photo after zoom...is kind of dissapointing..details will be blur and quality also dropped....

In conclusion, i dont recommend LX3 users to buy these filters and lens from Ebay....For the moment, only the Hoya PL-filter hasnt fail me,but how frequent that i will use PL-filter?..other products....sigh...

i think the best effect of photos from LX3, is without any filters/lens...

Due to all these,i dont think i will be buying a wide angle or fish eye... better i save $ for DSLR...

guys and gals, if there are any solution for those "disadvantages" that i mentioned, plz do advice...thanks...

This post has been edited by Ppsprov: Apr 21 2009, 09:07 AM
Ppsprov
post Apr 21 2009, 09:00 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Apr 21 2009, 09:40 AM)
When using tube / lens its better to use external flash instead of the built in flash since it is not strategically placed. Dslr-s position their flash on the center of the camera where lx3 was on the left. Since the position of the flash like that definitely it'll cause a shade when the flash fired. I dont know if the original panasonic tube and wide angle lens overcome this problem.

Solution? a) (expensive) get an external flash. b)play around with iso/shutter speed/aperture

I also have a telephoto lens. Will try shot a few pictars and upload it for comparison.
Yeah. I think the problem also comes because of the flash is at the right and it is not powerful enuff (since this is a compact cam,cant expect to control the power of the flash).

Anyway, play around with iso/shutter speed/aperture ...means to prevent using flash?

Added on April 21, 2009, 9:07 pm
QUOTE(Awan Afuqya @ Apr 21 2009, 10:11 AM)
Ppsprov,

The items which u had a bad experience, is it the Pandabase brand from eBay?
hmmm...not all of it is from pandabase.

Added on April 21, 2009, 9:08 pm
QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Apr 21 2009, 12:02 PM)
@Ppsprov
Wow...In the 1st place, I think you should just buy the stuff you need, not you want. Since you already buy those stuff, may as well sell it back....
heheh...nvm...i've just think that i have paid for some lesson which will not learn from classes...

This post has been edited by Ppsprov: Apr 21 2009, 09:08 PM

0.0286sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:56 PM