11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

2G/3G/3GS iPhone Case Discussion Thread v2, Casings-Battery Pack-Screen Protector

teikwing
post Jan 24 2009, 11:54 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Kazachok @ Jan 23 2009, 11:54 PM)
3G iPhone Casing: Switcheasy Colors

Price:RM 70-100 ? Forgot already.

Rating: 8.5/10

Pros:
Solid touch and looks.
Full phone coverage.

Cons:
The rubber frame around the touch screen obstructs scrolling towards the screen edge.
But this is just minor.

Comments: Suitable for daily usage.

Pictures:

i think the major disadvantage of Colors is it tend to stick dusts and lint. got mine in Stealth Black also and i have to clean it everyday. sweat.gif plus, the minor rubber frame issue too. but in other ways, it's a really good case. slim & solid. thumbup.gif

currently using Rebel Tiger and will do a short review of it after CNY. smile.gif
teikwing
post Feb 1 2009, 10:25 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(atomica @ Jan 31 2009, 01:10 PM)
you have a point.

at the moment i am using SwitchEasy Colors which covers the home buttons with a plastic button of its own. and it doesn't feel too good to press.

i recently bought SwitchEasy CapsuleRebel Serpent and am totally disappointed with it. i am not sure if this has to do with the gelaskin i have on my iphone but i couldn't get the Rebel to completely cover the chrome area.

so now i am back to Colors while i consider another case, most probably Griffin's Clarifi.
QUOTE(keithchen @ Jan 31 2009, 04:34 PM)
Yea i totally agree with atomica...i have a rebel serpent also but it seems not to cover fully the chrome area + saggy bottom is there after 2 weeks...
i got myself a SwitchEasy Rebel Tiger too one week ago and i'm disappointed with it as well. the saggy issue might not be as bad as those in Serpent, Black or Artic but it does not covers the bottom chrome bezel fully as well. heck it even caused dusts and small particles to scratch it. it wasn't scratched when i'm on Colors. sad.gif

going to order Griffin Clarifi after this.

teikwing
post Feb 2 2009, 12:34 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(dlorehk @ Feb 1 2009, 09:13 PM)
i already warn u about that issue from the previous thread teikwing. now i'm using capsule neo much better than rebel itself.
yeah i know but i thought the saggy issue only exist on specific colors of Rebel but guess i was wrong. sad.gif anyway, won't Neo's thin silicone skin seems vulnerable to tear apart when fixing it on iPhone? it seems to be so fragile. blink.gif
teikwing
post Feb 3 2009, 11:45 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(dlorehk @ Feb 3 2009, 09:42 PM)
the 2nd gen of neo they supplied not 1 but 2 thin silicone so if u terkoyak u still have the other one.
yea but seeing itsmemorphius on YouTube torn his silicone skin abit makes me kinda afraid to try it on my own. sweat.gif plus, i wanted something less complicated to install and different than my ex-Rebel. planning to get Clarifi but its back part has a glossy area so i guess it would be easily scratch and black looks kinda dull to me. although the macro lens is really really tempting. drool.gif

got myself a Griffin iClear from Machines @ RM98 today. currently my favorite casing. the front crystal sides protects the chrome bezel but it's transparent so the chrome can be seen, looks kinda classy. plus the back part is milky half-transparent so the Apple logo still can be seen, and it's somewhat scratch-proof. really satisfied with it. thumbup.gif

but i agree that Neo and Rebel offers the best shock protection still. hopefully my iClear won't break into two pieces upon dropping on the ground. the back part is kinda hard and thick actually. laugh.gif

by the way, i have invested in 3 cases (Colors, Rebel, iClear) in less than 2 months after getting my iPhone. kinda broke. doh.gif

p/s : from my observation and visits, i think Machines have the most selection for iPhone cases. been to Midvalley's, Sunway's and Lot 10's. smile.gif
teikwing
post Feb 4 2009, 03:25 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

3G iPhone Casing: Griffin iClear

Price: RM98 @ Machines

Package includes: iClear Case, 1 x Screen Protector, Microfiber Cloth

Rating: 9.5/10

Pros:
Solid crystal frame protecting chrome bezel, transparent.
Tough hard back case, milky semi-transparent, showing Apple's logo.
Maintain iPhone's sleek & slim profile, not bulky.

Cons:
Dusts tend to stick to inside of crystal frame.
No protection for volume buttons, sleep on/off button and charging port.

Comments: IMO, it looks classy. Offers good protection and for the kind of protection it offers, the price is quite reasonable. smile.gif

Photos:

This post has been edited by teikwing: Feb 4 2009, 03:32 AM
teikwing
post Feb 5 2009, 05:48 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Feb 4 2009, 11:32 PM)
@teikwing
i feel u...nothing is worst than the sagging rebel laugh.gif

the griffin case looks nice, do give me a feedback after a months usage i might be considering it too biggrin.gif
QUOTE(pelvin @ Feb 5 2009, 05:17 PM)
@teikwing

hey bro.. how does the Griffin iClear feels like?? is it thinner and not so bulky compare to the rebel?? i plan to get another case which is not so bulky la.. haha was aiming the SGP or Cozip.. Very thin but no chrome protection..
@=Hanxz=
bro..that's a very saggy Rebel you had there! no wonder you're complaining. hehe. tongue.gif

my Tiger isn't that bad. just a slight sag. will do a feedback on the iClear after some time. so far i'm really satisfied with it. thumbup.gif

@pelvin
i think it's as thick or slightly thicker than Cozip. not sure about SGP. and it's definitely less bulky than Rebel. nice to hold (coz it's slimmer) and the back part is not prone to scratches so i can just leave it on any surface. plus the Apple logo is visible.

planning to get SGP or Cozip too since they're kinda slim but i need something which can protect the chrome bezel as well. smile.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Feb 5 2009, 05:51 PM
teikwing
post Feb 5 2009, 06:06 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(pelvin @ Feb 5 2009, 05:57 PM)
i really like cozip or sgp.. especially the carbon fibre sgp case... but no shock proof and its proven when u drop it on the floor, ur phone will come out of that case and hit the ground.. so better a wear BRA aka bodyguard 1st before u use those case.. haha

anyway i heard the iClear got cheaper and more expensive version that comes with arm band rite?? the RM98 come with the arm band?? thanks
applied Bodyguardz dy the Cozip/SGP still can fit?

the RM98 doesn't comes with armband. the one that comes with it cost around RM148 or cheaper, forgot dy. blush.gif or you can consider Grffin Nu Form case, it's something like Incase Slider. it's around RM123. smile.gif
teikwing
post Feb 5 2009, 06:14 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(pelvin @ Feb 5 2009, 06:12 PM)
yeah.. can fit...saw some ppl review on youtube applied bodyguard and still can fit their iphone into cozip/sgp case...

haha i think i buy moshi pouch and use the phone naked la.. will consider the iClear... thanks for review...hehe
i see. yeah Moshi is a good choice too but it's like abit expensive for me. hehe. no probs bro. smile.gif
teikwing
post Feb 6 2009, 12:03 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(pelvin @ Feb 6 2009, 01:25 AM)
bro... CURSE U!!!! hahaha u poison me with ur iClear Case... in the end.. i bought it instead...  rclxub.gif  its a good case thou..but somehow the stupid dust can squeeze trough the case and stick on the back of the phone...annoying thou for the black iPhone cos need to clean it... but should be ok for the white... hehe and i wish my phone was white now..  cry.gif
QUOTE(juDas_x @ Feb 6 2009, 10:39 AM)
is the incase slider available in Malaysia?
@pelvin
you have got it? sorry for poisoning you. biggrin.gif

surprisingly mine the dusts doesn't stick to the back of the phone since there's hardly any gap between the phone and the case for the back part. dusts and small particles just can be seen around the chrome bezel area. but minimal. i only clean it once awhile when i can't stand the dirt. afraid that frequent dismantling of the case will cause it to be loose. smile.gif

@juDas_x
nope. i'm looking for that too previously. you might wanna get it from Amazon, eBay or Singapore.
teikwing
post Feb 6 2009, 05:02 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(pelvin @ Feb 6 2009, 02:17 PM)
hahaha... yeah.. but another thing is this case is damn slippery!! feels like its can drop of my hand anytime cos of the smooth back... it slip off my hand just now.. lucky its on my keyboard and not the floor...haha
my hands are sweaty at times so it wouldn't feel slippery. hope you didn't regret your purchase man. overall it's still a good case to me. smile.gif
teikwing
post Feb 10 2009, 11:37 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(pelvin @ Feb 10 2009, 10:33 AM)
i thought he got golla pouch edi..
QUOTE(pelvin @ Feb 10 2009, 10:58 AM)
hahah... i see.. i saw alot of design selling in novacell thou..material kinda normal and rough 1... is it suppose to be like that?  heh why dun get moshi instead

@teikwing
have u gotten ur mirror sp edi?? brows.gif
yeah i already got a Golla pouch when i'm using my old phone. it's kinda torn dy so i've asked for 1 to 1 exchange since it's covered under lifetime warranty. thumbup.gif get to choose another design which is similar priced with my old one. though a bit bigger, my i3G with iClear struggles to fit into the pouch. sweat.gif i couldn't find something looking as cool as g3n0c|d3's one. sad.gif

Moshi iPouch is way over my budget for a pouch. haven't got my mirror SP yet. lazy to drive so far till KLCC. i'm so Cheras. maybe i'll drop by when i go shopping or something. i'm not using any SP on my phone now. biggrin.gif

teikwing
post Feb 10 2009, 11:58 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Feb 10 2009, 11:49 AM)
seriously bro???
i got tht one from a cellphone seller in shah alam.... if shah alam got one... i do think u can get it somewhere else...
err issit cute? its kindda funny.. but it serve the purpose....
yeah. i think i heard iPhone's screen is mineral glass not so easily scratched right? icon_question.gif

i've only been to the shop which i bought my Golla previously but unfortunately they don't carry the model you've shown. so i gotta resort to my current one. don't have a digicam to take the photos.
teikwing
post Feb 10 2009, 04:42 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(pelvin @ Feb 10 2009, 12:01 PM)
@teikwing
noneed to waste money bro... just tfk, then apply it on the screen and spread it like spreading butter on bread... hahha sure protect ur phone screen 1..
QUOTE(weng55 @ Feb 10 2009, 12:35 PM)
just got both my rebel serpent outer case its thinner no more chrome showin and sag issues and black I frame from mail now there no saggy issues and my white neo has a black I frame (free neo skeleton look)  mate ur artic looks beat up maybe u can mail zlotan with pictures and he can send replacements like mine but i had problems with my serpent (saggy) neo white (stained I frame) after a week and mail them for replacement gotta say good customer service since they send me replacement foc within 2 weeks and I did not get these items from US both purchases done in Machines KL
@pelvin

i LOL'ed. drool.gif

maybe bro Hanxz can try email zlotan regarding his sagging Artic and give us a feedback here?
teikwing
post Feb 23 2009, 01:12 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Feb 23 2009, 12:07 AM)
machine at sunway pyramid?
from my survey, usually Machines carry more varieties of iPhone 3G cases as compared to Mac City and epicentre. Sunway branch has lotsa options. especially SwitchEasy cases.
teikwing
post Feb 26 2009, 06:44 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(gyver @ Feb 26 2009, 06:31 PM)

Guys, can I get a vote on this. Which Iphone looks better with the Griffin case? The black or white?

Mind you, I don't have any friends using an Iphone so I have not seen any up close. I have only seen the Ipod Touch up close at the Apple shop.
i'm using it with black as well. you might wanna take a look on how white looks with iClear.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t2FPcSDQtaw
teikwing
post Mar 1 2009, 10:36 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Ndrew @ Mar 1 2009, 10:40 AM)
on the box it's written speck skin-pro..but it looks like speck skintight as reviewed by ilounge.com...
its's not tough skin or armor skin.. bought it for rm75 at cycom lowyat.. i think they still have one more black one and speck see-thru which is a crystal hardcase... i saw armorskin at Ascendzone@the curve... selling for RM108 i think... didn't buy it coz i tot it was exp for silicon case and anyway my dream case is iskin fuze or griffin wave.. too bad haven't found any shop selling them... so settled for the cheaper skin-pro for the time being..  biggrin.gif
Griffin Wave is available at Machines stores. they are sold in single and 2-in-1 pack (different colors). thought of getting one at first but i got myself a Grffin iClear instead due to some bad reviews i read online about Wave have a week point in the 2-piece locking system.

This post has been edited by teikwing: Mar 1 2009, 10:37 PM
teikwing
post Mar 2 2009, 01:14 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Mar 2 2009, 12:32 AM)
@teikwing
need feedback for griffin i klear
so far so good. after 1 month plus of usage. the back milky part is not prone to scratches. hardly see any. even the front crystal frame still look as good as new.

i'm using it with Golla pouch so dusts hardly goes into the case. only dismantle the case to clean it once a every 2-3 weeks. anyway, i think most cases (eg. Incase Slider, Grffin Wave/iClear/Clarifi/Nu Form) with gaps/openings at the volume, mute button and sim, headphone jack area will always have the problem of dusts going into the case. unless you look at cases like SwitchEasy Capsule Neo.

dropped mine once from waist height on a tiled floor and the casing is still intact. however, fellow forummer, pelvin dropped his once and the cases went off separately. (not sure about the height he dropped it from)

i've found a solution for those who're lazy to clean the phone often and hates seeing dusts trapped in casing and scratch the phone + wants shock protection for the phone.

get invisibleSHIELD or BodyGuardz, wrap the phone with it then get SwitchEasy Colors silicone case. the sticker will shield the phone against scratches from dusts and the silicone case will protect it against drops and dents. a friend of mine is actually using these and it costs him RM65 for IS and RM79 for SE Colors. so total up is RM144. worry-free. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Mar 2 2009, 01:16 AM
teikwing
post Mar 2 2009, 01:50 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(poobahlan @ Mar 2 2009, 01:39 AM)
Griffin iClear for iPhone 2g?
the Griffin iClear i'm referring to is for the 3G. there's an older version of iClear for 2G though. look slightly different. smile.gif
teikwing
post Mar 3 2009, 10:17 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Zombiemonkey @ Mar 3 2009, 04:51 PM)
hello guys, just bought Griffin iclear with armband.
wanted to get without the armband actually, but don' have.
wat do u think guys? same 9.5/10 score as the one without armband?

wat do u think...comment pls.thanks
the one with armband is around RM149 right? without armband is RM98. i think the only difference between both is the armband. quality should be the same. smile.gif
teikwing
post Mar 8 2009, 03:50 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(d_lai_309 @ Mar 8 2009, 03:42 PM)
one question to all Capsule Neo user out there, will it fit into the iPhone 3g dock with the case on?
dont want to waste my money to get it then cant use on the dock
the case package comes with a dock adapter made to fit the case. but it will only work on Universal version of the dock.

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0418sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:43 AM