What's so special w/ Blu-Ray Games&Movies, I just don't get it..

TSAaron1988
post Jan 23 2009, 08:30 AM

66 posts

Oh i see, thanks!
earthdome
post Jan 23 2009, 08:32 AM

kato rosa
715 posts

QUOTE(Aaron1988 @ Jan 23 2009, 08:30 AM)
Oh i see, thanks!
so u got ur answer now.. mayb it's better for u to close this thread before it becomes more unmanagable with spam..lol
lapaq
post Jan 23 2009, 09:01 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(Aaron1988 @ Jan 22 2009, 11:44 PM)
Well, what I know about Blu-ray is that it can store up to 50gb. But why are some people so crazy about it, what is so special with Blu-ray games and movies? Could it be you can play a game in 1 blu-ray disc instead of 3 dvds?
Changing disc is just one of the many benefits....

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jan 22 2009, 11:47 PM)
In terms of games it only affect the disc changing, nothing much. But for movies it makes huge difference since 1080p movies require tons of space

Added on January 22, 2009, 11:48 pmOh, and Schindler's List require 2 DVDs, it was a bad experience changing disc half way watching a movie shakehead.gif
IT's not ONLY disc changing...other things include...putting in data miltiple time on the disc to reduce seek time of the disc and thus reduce loadtimes...this is just explored within recent games...but none have been released yet so we can't really see the diff....

Other than that, it also helps to free the cpu cycles from uncompressing data sored on teh disc as data can be stored on the disc witout being compressed...

Movie wise, If you can't see the different...it's okay...you do not need it then...just continue to watch them dvd...or maybe VCD still!... you are just like just like me who do think that 3G phones are necessary like other people...I just need a phon tha can call, sms and maybe sometimes take pictures of my uh-so-cute-baby-girl...hehehe

cwl_ykh
post Jan 23 2009, 09:06 AM

5,114 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Jan 23 2009, 12:42 AM)
abang kilat needs this
QUOTE(neoardi @ Jan 23 2009, 01:11 AM)
Pakcik Kilat will bounce for joy when reading this  doh.gif

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Jan 23 2009, 09:49 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

BD is teh future. I just made an offer for a Sivaji the Boss BD.

Owh yeahh!
yseng
post Jan 23 2009, 10:00 AM

14 posts

DVD resolution = 720 x 480 pixels (4.7GB of data. Dual layer = 8.5GB)

BD resolution = 1920 x 1080 pixels (50GB of data)

Say u play game. One set to 720x480. then another set to 1920x1080. can u imagine the different? BD movies are tat detail. And psp3 games oso. U need a full HD monitor / LCD to benefits from it tough.

This post has been edited by yseng: Jan 23 2009, 10:35 AM
KoNz3n
post Jan 23 2009, 11:17 AM

111 posts

Don't forget it's durability as well! Much harder to be scratched! weeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Goonerforever
post Jan 23 2009, 02:29 PM

141 posts

I saw ppl selling non ori blu ray. doh.gif But Whats the quality like aa? Really Hd? Cant imagine..
colt_508
post Jan 23 2009, 02:30 PM

Baru masuk darjah satu (^_^)Y
8,194 posts

QUOTE(Goonerforever @ Jan 23 2009, 02:29 PM)
I saw ppl selling non ori blu ray.  doh.gif  But Whats the quality like aa? Really Hd? Cant imagine..
HDVD... rclxms.gif
GamersFamilia
post Jan 23 2009, 02:32 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,880 posts

I saw ppl selling non ori blu ray.  doh.gif  But Whats the quality like aa? Really Hd? Cant imagine..
Its DVD actually...with good picture and sound quality...not a BD actually.
HiddenTrap
post Jan 23 2009, 02:39 PM

134 posts

That's not really blu-ray. Just one of their tactics to attract customers.

aiyish
post Jan 23 2009, 04:22 PM

Ryan Gosling
1,537 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Jan 23 2009, 09:49 AM)
BD is teh future. I just made an offer for a Sivaji the Boss BD.

Owh yeahh!
oi!! Pinjam!! Pinjam!!

try watching CAsino Royale in BD, FUHH!!!! KENCANG!!!
evofantasy
post Jan 23 2009, 04:30 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Jan 23 2009, 02:32 PM)
Its DVD actually...with good picture and sound quality...not a BD actually.
9 gig for 1 hour content...
the bigger the size of the media, the more content can be there either details, sound etc...
best example is mgs4 which had trouble fitting a single blueray...
Kernkraft400
post Jan 23 2009, 06:06 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

Those are DVD9 actually. Just the normal single layer or double layer DVDs, which only cost around rm5. And they're selling it for more than RM30. The call is Blueray Disc (BD) because crackers rip the BD content from an original BD movie, rip it and install it to a DVD9. The resolution and quality is the same as watching real BlueRay, just lacks the space and the physical as well as spiritual feeling of having original BD.
HiddenTrap
post Jan 23 2009, 07:49 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Jan 23 2009, 06:06 PM)
Those are DVD9 actually. Just the normal single layer or double layer DVDs, which only cost around rm5. And they're selling it for more than RM30. The call is Blueray Disc (BD) because crackers rip the BD content from an original BD movie, rip it and install it to a DVD9. The resolution and quality is the same as watching real BlueRay, just lacks the space and the physical as well as spiritual feeling of having original BD.
quality same as blueray? Then it's the pirated version of blu-ray. It's really blu-ray. Congrats pirates.
Kernkraft400
post Jan 23 2009, 08:07 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

The fact is its not BLUERAY. Its just an alternative way to get BLUERAY content from the original BLUERAY to a DVD9. The content is compressed, when i say the quality is the same, i forgot to mention that the quality may decline somehow as the file size is compressed. So basicly the quality is about the same in our naked eyes and ears, UNLESS you are a really High Definition enthusiast, then you would notice the quality is somehow not the same.

Hope this helps.
HiddenTrap
post Jan 23 2009, 09:01 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Jan 23 2009, 08:07 PM)
The fact is its not BLUERAY. Its just an alternative way to get BLUERAY content from the original BLUERAY to a DVD9. The content is compressed, when i say the quality is the same, i forgot to mention that the quality may decline somehow as the file size is compressed. So basicly the quality is about the same in our naked eyes and ears, UNLESS you are a really High Definition enthusiast, then you would notice the quality is somehow not the same.

Hope this helps.
I will test one. All this time I thought they are just DVDs in blu-ray casings. The quality might not be as good as real full HD but even half of that is good enough.
nwk
post Jan 23 2009, 09:12 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(HiddenTrap @ Jan 23 2009, 07:49 PM)
quality same as blueray? Then it's the pirated version of blu-ray. It's really blu-ray. Congrats pirates.
DVD is DVD. Blu Ray is Blu Ray. Congrats, you just got conned by pirates. only a moron will believe a BD rip on a DVD is Blu Ray.
Mudmaniac
post Jan 23 2009, 10:20 PM

Creepy Uncle Liar
1,154 posts

So.... a question about storage capacity in a Blu-Ray turns now into a talk about Pirate DVDs? And potatoes again.

0.0213sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:19 AM