What's so special w/ Blu-Ray Games&Movies, I just don't get it..

TSAaron1988
post Jan 22 2009, 11:44 PM, updated 17y ago

66 posts

Well, what I know about Blu-ray is that it can store up to 50gb. But why are some people so crazy about it, what is so special with Blu-ray games and movies? Could it be you can play a game in 1 blu-ray disc instead of 3 dvds?
gundamalpha
post Jan 22 2009, 11:47 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

In terms of games it only affect the disc changing, nothing much. But for movies it makes huge difference since 1080p movies require tons of space

Added on January 22, 2009, 11:48 pmOh, and Schindler's List require 2 DVDs, it was a bad experience changing disc half way watching a movie shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by gundamalpha: Jan 22 2009, 11:48 PM
nwk
post Jan 22 2009, 11:50 PM

256 posts

you don't get it because you don't know how to google for it.
shahreza2000
post Jan 22 2009, 11:57 PM

62 posts

bluray capacity might increase from 50Gb to 200Gb...

or even further...
pel
post Jan 22 2009, 11:58 PM

Unker
1,057 posts

I don't get it that u didn't get it. Before blu-ray, wud u prefer dvd or vcd? It is far better in terms of space, video quality, sound quality...
colt_508
post Jan 23 2009, 12:01 AM

Baru masuk darjah satu (^_^)Y
8,194 posts

QUOTE(Aaron1988 @ Jan 22 2009, 11:44 PM)
Well, what I know about Blu-ray is that it can store up to 50gb. But why are some people so crazy about it, what is so special with Blu-ray games and movies? Could it be you can play a game in 1 blu-ray disc instead of 3 dvds?
me also dun get it how u don't get it to feel bout BD game/movies...
let me tell you.. it all about high definition experience bro...

the first i saw bD movie.. i was say WOOOaaaaAAaWWWW shocking.gif
SSJBen
post Jan 23 2009, 12:06 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Because 1080p, HD pr0n wins over everything. Thats the power of blu-ray.
colt_508
post Jan 23 2009, 12:09 AM

8,194 posts

MB he's to much to watch ahem2 DVD.. doh.gif
satriakid
post Jan 23 2009, 12:09 AM

426 posts

Its all about the amount of content can be filled into the space. High definition requires lots of data space hence the newer optical media, Blu-Ray.

Games, programmers can store more cinematic scene, details on the games, also, optional effects such as demolishing the surroundings, wind effect, lightings and so forth, all requires space to store. Thats why more advance games on PC requires tonnes of space.

Aside from that, movies will not make much difference. DVD movie will be similar if what you meant is the movie alone. Comparing details, BD can store much more amount of detail and also, can be watched on bigger screen without being all jaggy or pixelated. Also, sound takes a lot of space. Surround sound especially.

And one more thing. More special contents also on BD movies!

I leave the rest for the others to add.

Just my 2 cents. Hope this helps.
neoardi
post Jan 23 2009, 12:35 AM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jan 22 2009, 11:47 PM)
In terms of games it only affect the disc changing, nothing much. But for movies it makes huge difference since 1080p movies require tons of space

Added on January 22, 2009, 11:48 pmOh, and Schindler's List require 2 DVDs, it was a bad experience changing disc half way watching a movie shakehead.gif
I hope LOTR:ROTK (one of my all time fav movie biggrin.gif ) Extended BD movie doesn't requires changing disc tongue.gif
slickz
post Jan 23 2009, 12:36 AM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

50 GB = 1 Blu ray

1 DVD = 4.3 GB

Do the math, one blu ray disc can store enough data for about 11 dvds
colt_508
post Jan 23 2009, 12:37 AM

8,194 posts

i think this thread is abg kilat wannabe hmm.gif
Borneo928
post Jan 23 2009, 12:41 AM

417 posts

satriakid just explained it all.

its all about the amount of data that can be put in to provide superb HD quality in pictures n sounds.

TS just got flamed (in a good way la laugh.gif )
vorchiel
post Jan 23 2009, 12:42 AM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

QUOTE(colt_508 @ Jan 23 2009, 12:37 AM)
i think this thread is abg kilat wannabe hmm.gif
abang kilat needs this
colt_508
post Jan 23 2009, 01:02 AM

8,194 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Jan 23 2009, 12:42 AM)
abang kilat needs this
cool... thumbup.gif
neoardi
post Jan 23 2009, 01:11 AM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

Pakcik Kilat will bounce for joy when reading this doh.gif

colt_508
post Jan 23 2009, 01:15 AM

8,194 posts

LOL'Z.. crazy potatoes!!! rclxms.gif
earthdome
post Jan 23 2009, 01:22 AM

kato rosa
715 posts

even circuitcity went bankcrupt... this is how hard economic recession could hit..

back to topic..

there's so much difference in quality for blu ray movies.. you need to experience them to know the difference.. asking people wont help you..

bluray games are more cost saving in the future.. 7 dvds vs 1 bluray..
and it'S possible to put more language on 1 BD.. i don't understand why most of EA games dont have multilanguage..
msn83235502
post Jan 23 2009, 01:25 AM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

no differences lah.. it's just a plastic.
neoardi
post Jan 23 2009, 01:43 AM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Jan 23 2009, 01:25 AM)
no differences lah.. it's just a plastic.
korek...korek...korek tongue.gif

0.0178sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:52 PM