How much of a Bookworm are YOU? :D, On and Off? Casual? Hardcore?

TSfiredauz
post Jan 22 2009, 10:14 AM, updated 17y ago

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

- I have a cabinet filled with nicely arranged books and magazines
- I work as a writer/editor in a magazine before, and I absolutely loved that job thumbup.gif
- How I usually read newly bought book, is by opening it little by little and read it from there on every page laugh.gif
- I used to be a librarian during college days @ part-time database admin and normal book caretaker biggrin.gif
- Everytime I pass by a book shop, no matter whether big or small magazine shop, I always thought of going inside and have a look. 90% of the time I would do so tongue.gif
- These days, most of my book purchases come from Amazon biggrin.gif
- One habit I have now on purchasing a magazine is to find the contest section and see if I have a chance tongue.gif

I guess I can categories myself as a casual bookworm.
I haven't reach the level of putting a frame on the wall for every new book I bought laugh.gif
lonely_traveller
post Jan 22 2009, 10:52 PM

241 posts

erhhh...i can said im hardcore smile.gif..lots of comics n magazines
roticanai92
post Jan 23 2009, 10:54 PM

Baby Audiophiler~
921 posts

- Everytime I pass by a book shop, no matter whether big or small magazine shop, I always thought of going inside and have a look. 90% of the time I would do so

onli these 2..haha..
dishwasher
post Jan 23 2009, 11:31 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

I have a huge book shelf stuffed full of books. Its so full one shelf has a back row and a front row of books, and books lying flat on top of the rows. This stems from my need to buy books almost every week, which stems from my speed reading.

Yes I speed read, I was never thought to do so, just a natural thing for me.

In the last month, I have bought: Jack Vance's Songs of Dying Earth, Gene Wolfe's Urth of the New Sun, Neil Gaiman's Coraline. Thats from January 1st til the 20th. Almost all my money feeds my reading habit, which is why I'm too poor to get another book shelf.

Not only do I read alot, I'm extremely particular about my books. No dog earring, no damage to the cover, and I try to bend the spine as little as possible. I've screamed at people for mishandling my books, going so far as to ignore someone who accidentally sat on a book of mine for months.

I'm not just a bookworm, I'm a bibliophile of the most extreme type.
CallMeMonkey
post Jan 24 2009, 10:30 PM

506 posts

Probably just on and off bookworm. will only read book when i have the mood and time.
zenwell
post Jan 30 2009, 02:04 PM

1,749 posts

- I have a small cabinet filled with books, mostly double row and with some lying horizontal above other books. (wish to upgrade to bigger bookshelf but no space in the room tongue.gif)

- I always lookout for books warehouse sale or megasale wehre i can get cheaper books ( so that I can buy more tongue.gif)

- I used to buy magazines, enter the contest to win prizes (like firedauz), but now no more because really got no time. I got a big stack of postcard because they always request you to answer on a postcard especially beauty magazines.

- More than 50% of the books i have is not read yet. because i have no time tongue.gif

- i always carry one book in my handbag everywhere i go

- i usually won't be afraid bout my books being mishandled by others because none of my family reads novels and books. Even my friends who reads will read chinese novels so no worry of them borrowing from me (mine all english)

- used to read chinese novels and comics during younger days but i usually borrow from comic shop, seldom buy (and I read real slow when it comes to chinese words, half-past-six only tongue.gif)

- No matter how much i love that book, I won't buy if it is expensive. you can call me kiam siap/stingy tongue.gif. But really...no money la cry.gif cry.gif

ok, so far that's all. I think I'm only on-off bookworm because other thing really takes up a lot of my time compare to schooling days where I have more time for reading.
zergg
post Jan 31 2009, 03:41 AM

383 posts

i am the bookworm-in-making.. tongue.gif
but i got an obligatory to read book time to time again to be in line with my future carrier.
it doesnt feel the same way though when you are becoming the book geek with your heart not really into them.however with novels and graphic novels, that really is a different category tongue.gif
fundabonka
post Feb 1 2009, 12:27 AM

18 posts

Bookstores are hazardous to my wallet. Will definitely end up buying something everytime I get into one.
zenwell
post Feb 1 2009, 12:57 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Jan 23 2009, 11:31 PM)
I have a huge book shelf stuffed full of books. Its so full one shelf has a back row and a front row of books, and books lying flat on top of the rows. This stems from my need to buy books almost every week, which stems from my speed reading.

Yes I speed read, I was never thought to do so, just a natural thing for me.

In the last month, I have bought: Jack Vance's Songs of Dying Earth, Gene Wolfe's Urth of the New Sun, Neil Gaiman's Coraline. Thats from January 1st til the 20th. Almost all my money feeds my reading habit, which is why I'm too poor to get another book shelf.

Not only do I read alot, I'm extremely particular about my books. No dog earring, no damage to the cover, and I try to bend the spine as little as possible. I've screamed at people for mishandling my books, going so far as to ignore someone who accidentally sat on a book of mine for months.

I'm not just a bookworm, I'm a bibliophile of the most extreme type.
@ dishwasher,

do you wrap your books?
MauveMarionette
post Feb 4 2009, 03:30 AM

70 posts

I consider myself as a casual bookworm.

I have a whole bookshelf full of books, some of them were from my mother's younger days but she's more of a non-fiction reader whereas I tend to read fictional and psychological-related stories.

I always carry a book with me around. Though try as I might to care for my books so that they are not dog-eared, they always end up somewhat bitten by the end of the day.

Biggest peeves: Pulling back my books to extremities that their spines met with each other. I'll kill you.

I don't put books as a priority to my shopping list but I often find myself wandering into a bookstore each time I pass one. biggrin.gif But I'm quite particular with the books I read.

I have a slightly smaller, different shelf for my poems, literature books and magazines.
feyhime
post Feb 4 2009, 10:13 AM

257 posts

Hmm I am casual I suppose.

I read mostly manga and fantasy novels. I need a new bookshelf very soon, the one I have now is already storing in maximum capacity (3-4 rows depending on size).

I will kill anyone who dog-eared or crack my books spine or leave any stains on it.

I'll buy the books if I like it (if I do have the cash otherwise it'll have to wait but I'll buy it for sure!).
rourou
post Feb 4 2009, 07:10 PM

Ho~ Ho~ Ho~
975 posts

casual..... reading for me is another form of entertainment.. i go for light readings usually...... from science fiction to romantic novels to mangas smile.gif
dishwasher
post Feb 4 2009, 07:17 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

I will kill anyone who dog-eared or crack my books spine or leave any stains on it.

You must be quite the personality! You're not casual, you're homicidal.

@ dishwasher,

do you wrap your books?
I don't. I like the feel of book covers and find plastic wrap to be icky. Besides, books under my care don't get bent or creased so wrapping is kinda pointless.

This post has been edited by dishwasher: Feb 5 2009, 05:14 PM
baoz
post Feb 5 2009, 05:08 PM

963 posts

I'm a casual reader here too.

I used to be a bookworm in school. Whipping out a book whenever I can steal a second or two but now no time...lol.

Here's my list. xD

1. I used to wrap novels I know I would keep as collection. Eg: Harry Potter series.

2. When I read a book, I only open like 10cm wide. Scared the 'spine' of the book will mark a lot of cracks.

3. I damn sakit hati everytime I accidentally fold a page or the edges get dog-eared.

4. My idea of shopping is the MPH, Popular or Borders. Not Topshop, MNG or Zara.

5. I only lend books to people I trust.

But nowadays I don't have the time to properly sit down and enjoy a nice novel. I have loads of books in my bookshelf unread and untouched.

Plus my mom has been nagging to clear up the shelf so I've been selling some of them. If new ones come in, the old ones gotta go.
milleu
post Feb 6 2009, 11:04 AM

431 posts

I think I'm a hardcore bookworm.

I read a book a night even though I've already start working.

I have books that fill up my home.My mom threaten to throw me out if I buy another book but I just could not help myself buying it.

All my book looks like brand new since when I read it I don't fold my book or open wide it.Yes I reread all my book at least three times.

I do not lend my book because I'm afraid they're going to ruin the book condition or they do not return it to me. I do lend it on some very special occassion.

In case of fire emergency in my home,first thing will be throw all my book outside and then only I save my family and the rest.

I was also a librarian and a the chief editor for my school magazine.

Yes I'm a speed reader which cause me to buy book a lot. 300 pages in 3 hours or less.So when I go on a long flight travel, I stop looking at those chick flick books that I can be done in less than 2 hours. I aim for those 800-1000++ pages.Even so, it can be finished in 10 hours flight with me sleeping on and off.

Anyway, any of you mind sharing second hand bookstores? I'm collecting James Clavell's novel and you can't get it in bookstores like Borders,MPH and all that. Plus buying full price for a book has taken a toll on my salary.

This post has been edited by milleu: Feb 6 2009, 11:05 AM
dawnreaver
post Feb 6 2009, 02:40 PM

659 posts

Er...I just stack up my books. No more place for them in the shelves.

One stack of books even doubles up as a stand for my left rear speaker. No damage to the books though since it's not one of those huge audiophile speakers.

I read mainly Warhammer Fantasy Battles, Warhammer 40k, Blizzard (Starcraft, Warcraft, Diablo) and Forgotten Realms (mainly just Drizzt).

I should take a pic of the whole overflowing stack sometime soon...lol!
dishwasher
post Feb 6 2009, 02:59 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(milleu @ Feb 6 2009, 11:04 AM)
Anyway, any of you mind sharing second hand bookstores? I'm collecting James Clavell's novel  and you can't get it in bookstores like Borders,MPH and all that. Plus buying full price for a book has taken a toll on my salary.
There's a 2nd hand book store at the top most floor of one utama, over on the MPH side (new wing). I think they have alot of Clavell. Honestly tho, you can't find Clavell at MPH etc? I swear I see his books lying around all the time.

BTW if you like Clavell you should try Wilbur Smith.
milleu
post Feb 6 2009, 04:00 PM

431 posts

Haha I think the book that you want always don't appear in front of you.

Wilbur smith? what most of his novel about?

I'm into phillipa gregory now. I like the plots and the women in her novel.But I prefer historical background.

I know even I bored myself with my current novel choice with the historical british,china,japan background but what to do I'm still in that mood.

dishwasher
post Feb 6 2009, 04:10 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(milleu @ Feb 6 2009, 04:00 PM)
Haha I think the book that you want always don't appear in front of you.

Wilbur smith? what most of his novel about?

I'm into phillipa gregory now. I like the plots and the women in her novel.But I prefer historical background.

I know even I bored myself with my current novel choice with the historical british,china,japan background but what to do I'm still in that mood.
Oh if you prefer semi historical stuff you'll love Wilbur Smith. Dashing men, beautiful women, and everything from the Savannah of Africa to the High Seas. Man meets woman, they fall in love, woman has affair, illicit love child, family fortunes won and lost... You know, that kinda thing. Wiki him.

And they're all really thick, so its good for speed readers like you and me.
milleu
post Feb 6 2009, 04:14 PM

431 posts

oh is this some kind of romance novel plots?

I'll be on the lookout for the author next time I go to the book store.

Haih I wish people around me is a book collector or something so I could borrow from them.Yes this does mean they can borrow from my collection as well.

lunalovegood
post Feb 6 2009, 05:48 PM

111 posts

-i love bookstores
-i love being surrounded by books
-i used to be a librarian back in secondary school
-i just love the smell of new book!! hehe
-whenever i get my hands on a good book, it'll be hard for me to part with it, even after reading it for the hundreth times. laugh.gif i even read when i'm on the loo, which is the only time i can find to read in peace nowadays. laugh.gif laugh.gif

i guess i'm more of a casual reader.
books are expensive but i love them, and because i dont have much money, most of the books i own, have been read at least twice. i'm extremely choosy when it comes to buying books, i have to make sure it really worth buying so i can read them again and again. nvr got bored re-reading them. hehe.

This post has been edited by lunalovegood: Feb 6 2009, 05:50 PM
feyhime
post Feb 6 2009, 06:37 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Feb 4 2009, 07:17 PM)
You must be quite the personality! You're not casual, you're homicidal.

LOL No la. I just don't like people destroying my properties!

p/s: eh eh book recommendations goes to their respective thread okay ^__^
TY_AA
post Feb 14 2009, 08:45 PM

132 posts

100 pages an hour!!!???

If only I could read that fast. I'll be happy with 30 an hour for a normal book like Orwell's.

For me, I'm casual. Gone through 7 books in Jan. 20+ last year. 2 so far in Feb with current book halfway through. Can say on average 1-2 hours a day.

I keep a list of books I've read. biggrin.gif

I usually read on trains and before sleep. And when I have nothing else to do.
milleu
post Feb 16 2009, 09:18 AM

431 posts

well I don't think I'm happier reading that book that fast,the faster i read a book the faster i need to buy a new book.

so every single of my book i've read it minimum twice.

and whenever I start reading, I don't bother with anything around me. I don't get distracted by anything.hence the speed.

I read just because it transport you to another different world.

You kept a list? wow. I don't but I remember everything I've read before.
raul
post Feb 17 2009, 07:08 PM

3,930 posts

-i read chinese books the most
-i own more than 500 books, exclude comics
-i have 3 bookshelf
-i used to write novel and script during primary time
-i have spent rm4xx for buying books up to date in year 2009
-i worked for few bookshops before, and bookfairs
-i read fictions since standrad 4
-my record is 29 books within a week

many more,

shah_ho_nam
post Feb 18 2009, 03:19 PM

らき☆すた
1,317 posts

i can read only when i had the mood to read it. Of course there'd certain genres of book i'll pick to read. mostly on the bed or couch. and sometimes on the train or bus during long way travel to somewhere
Traveler
post Mar 5 2009, 04:40 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

Hardcore, definitely. In my old apartment, I converted one wall of my spare bedroom into bookshelves (entire wall - top to bottom) to hold my books, fiction & non-fiction.

Generally I am a voracious reader of fantasy (JRR Tolkien, Robert Jordan, Steven Erikson, George RR Martin, JV Jones, Tad Williams, Brandon Sanderson), some science-fiction (Julian May, Michael Crichton), with some interest also in historical fiction (Dan Brown, Steve Berry, Valerio Manfredi) and espionage/tech-thrillers (Tom Clancy, Craig Thomas).

Problem is that with work and the backlog I have in books I want to read plus movies and TV-series I want to watch, I don't have enough time to do them all sad.gif
sherlene123
post Mar 6 2009, 10:15 AM

15 posts

I'm a casual reader I guess. I prefer non-fiction books. I will buy a book even it is expensive but not over RM100. Spend quite a lot on books and magazines. My whole room full of books. I dun throw away old books as to keep for collection. Sometimes will borrow books to my friends but I always warn them to take care of my stuff. smile.gif
hazel_amanda
post Mar 12 2009, 12:55 PM

I love books, have been collecting them since my childhood. My parents complain about them all the time. My retort is always "Better I spend on books than on cigarettes, clubbing, drugs etc...right?" Then they have nothing to say LOL.

I love working with them too. I worked in a book rental shop, but quit because cannot tahan the pervy boss anymore.

My favorite books are Mystery/Suspense. But I do read romances, chick-lits etc too, when I find one that strikes my fancy.

This post has been edited by hazel_amanda: Mar 12 2009, 12:56 PM
vaKuz
post Mar 12 2009, 06:18 PM

Casual reader. I used to dislike books when I was a kid, but now I appreciate them. I have a big weakness for bookstore coupons and it always tells me I must get a book or else....
cutejams2004
post Mar 31 2009, 04:55 PM

~Not Who U Think I Am~
941 posts

im a casual reader
-generally, i purchase 3 books monthly
-i can spend all my savings on books
- i should never walk pass a bookshop, as i can never resist the temptation to step in
- i was a librarian bk in high school. Spent my time reading books instead of taking care of the library tongue.gif
- my shopaholic nature is stirred vigorously when i enter mph, borders, kinokuniya or any bookshops actually. or even when i see a thread in lyn selling 2nd hand books
- my ultimate passion is books
- i collect all my books
- i only allow trustable family members and friends to read my books as im afraid of losing them
- i visit my uni library quite often
- i never miss the books section in newspapers-star, nst, sun and ect
- i treasure all my books
-when i get a new book, i stare t it as if its some highly sought after possesion of mine biggrin.gif
- i read lots of different materials ranging from novels, to magazines, newspapers, journals, articles and so on.
- i dream of being a writer or journalist some day
- i can crap up 3-4 full pages of essay in a matter of 30 minutes
SUSbubu2010
post Aug 18 2013, 07:55 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Jan 22 2009, 10:14 AM)
- I work as a writer/editor in a magazine before, and I absolutely loved that job thumbup.gif
- How I usually read newly bought book, is by opening it little by little and read it from there on every page laugh.gif
- I used to be a librarian during college days @ part-time database admin and normal book caretaker biggrin.gif
- Everytime I pass by a book shop, no matter whether big or small magazine shop, I always thought of going inside and have a look. 90% of the time I would do so tongue.gif
- These days, most of my book purchases come from Amazon biggrin.gif
- One habit I have now on purchasing a magazine is to find the contest section and see if I have a chance tongue.gif

I guess I can categories myself as a casual bookworm.
I haven't reach the level of putting a frame on the wall for every new book I bought laugh.gif
I read literature, military, business, philosophy, strategy, psychology, law, language and my professional life: IT books. And I have much knowledge. I don't read novels or comics, it wastes my time, and it depends on which new area I want to study. smile.gif
highbury1913
post Aug 19 2013, 04:49 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(bubu2010 @ Aug 18 2013, 07:55 PM)
I read literature, military, business, philosophy, strategy, psychology, law, language and my professional life: IT books. And I have much knowledge. I don't read novels or comics, it wastes my time, and it depends on which new area I want to study. smile.gif
wah...you bukak a 4 year old thread.
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 19 2013, 08:06 PM

729 posts

Wah, sounds like an interesting selection. Just right up my alley, rclxms.gif except for IT books, bleh! Man, you really ought to share the list from your library...

If you ever have any used books you'd like to get rid off, you should PM me. drool.gif
zenwell
post Oct 9 2013, 05:50 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Aug 19 2013, 08:06 PM)
Wah, sounds like an interesting selection. Just right up my alley, rclxms.gif  except for IT books, bleh! Man, you really ought to share the list from your library...

If you ever have any used books you'd like to get rid off, you should PM me.  drool.gif
Yea i agree with agewisdom too. by the way, what's in military books? you focus on their strategy? or?
SUSagewisdom
post Oct 9 2013, 09:43 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Oct 9 2013, 05:50 PM)
Yea i agree with agewisdom too. by the way, what's in military books? you focus on their strategy? or?
Military books? Yeah, more on the strategy and as well as the human side of things.

For instance, Hannibal's campaigns in Rome was quite interesting. Hannibal's use of psychology and understanding Rome's commanders weaknesses help in in overcoming so many odds and come out victorious, only to be undone by the bad decisions made elsewhere. The Battle of Trebia and Battle of Lake Trasimene was very interesting.

Try Rome 1 historical battles on Youtube or Decisive Battles documentary for details. rclxms.gif
braindeath
post Oct 10 2013, 12:53 PM

521 posts

On n off will be for me

I read books which i'm interested in, no novel, during kids i read comics, got the whole edition of dragon ball and doraemon laugh.gif but went to boarding school and my mom sold it of to recycle apek mad.gif

Mostly biography, non fiction bio, love to read how other peoples think and overcome their life

Recently pick up books by nick vucinic and james bowen

Yesterday teman my mom jalan and saw 3 books i'm interested

My secret sister, how to think like steve jobs and another one bout a ship stranded with her crew during ww

But got no more budget for it sad.gif

And one weird thing is i love to read facts laugh.gif doh.gif
botterjr
post Oct 19 2013, 11:54 AM

Wow, interesting thread.

Not really a Bookworm.. but am trying to "cultivate" the bookworm within laugh.gif

Just curious, how many times do you guys read a book?

does it depends on the "interesting-ness" of it? or ..
ChaosXen
post Nov 14 2013, 09:08 AM

This is interesting so here is my list =D

I read whenever I can and when I do, I get glued to the book.

I have like, 4 storage boxes of books (because I have no space to keep them in shelves) and a huge stack of unread books waiting to be opened by mua.

I do not like the idea of lending my books out, even to a family member. It's a no-no for me as I do not know how they will handle my books.

Dog ears on books makes me cringe >.<

I've spent about RM700 just in a week during the Big Bad Wolf sale.

I have to force myself not to go into the book store whenever I pass by it as I would be sure to buy a book or two.
zero12
post Dec 2 2013, 10:05 PM

71 posts

let me bump up this thread. I'm considering myself a seasonal bookworm, sometimes i'm very lazy to read anything or i can be a monster reader.
Anyways books never fail to amaze me nod.gif

- the first place that i will go at shopping mall is a bookstore
- enjoys the smell of a new book
- 90% of my books are wrapped
- can read a 200+ pages novel only for 2.30 hours
- will persuade my friends to read the same book i read
- 80% of my money during childhood until now spend on books
-PraV-
post Jan 27 2014, 11:33 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(botterjr @ Oct 19 2013, 11:54 AM)
Wow, interesting thread.

Not really a Bookworm.. but am trying to "cultivate" the bookworm within  laugh.gif

Just curious, how many times do you guys read a book?

does it depends on the "interesting-ness" of it? or ..
It depends, if the book is really good, then i'll probably read it a again and again, whenever i feel like picking it up.
But I always re-read classics, as a rule. I find that there are a lot of things ( themes and issues) being addressed by the author that may just slip past me the in the first reading.
SUSNXJ
post Jan 27 2014, 11:56 AM

61 posts

I guess I'm the hardcore group. In 2013 alone I bought 157 physical books, and double the amount for audiobooks. I'm a librarian working for a local private educational institution.
Messune
post Jan 27 2014, 01:31 PM

23 posts

I used to be a really hardcore reader, basically all I do whenever I had free time. Novels (crime and horror), some biographies and books dealing with social science and economics are my favourites now. I don't mind "sensationalised" science and topics in the books I read, makes them more quirky and interesting sometimes. However, nowadays with the internet I find myself looking for articles online to read as well as watching documentaries, so have abandoned books to some extent sad.gif

I find people who don't like the look of dog-eared books interesting, because I love a good, battered book. Shows that it has been handled a lot and (most probably, but not always) read a lot. Maybe this is because I used to buy a lot of second-hand books. I couldn't afford to buy enough new books to feed my addiction, lol.

I also find it no problem at all to read e-books unlike some of the more traditional bookworms, love them for their portability and the ease of finding books I would never have found physically here.
happy_berry
post Feb 8 2014, 02:18 PM

2,465 posts

I'm the On and Off type.. which is such a shame because I really do like reading and I could fly through a book within a day or two. I really wish I can finish reading at least 50 books in 2014 that cover a wide variety of genres. >< And with that, I do hope that I can jump into being a casual reader because I didn't do much reading last year and I'm kinda regretting that.
RedPillReality
post Feb 10 2014, 12:12 AM

135 posts

Casual reader. About a book in a week.

Currently a student so I already have a lot of academic reference and text books to read & the things I read are non-related. My reading time is usually to pass time when I'm out/waiting for someone/something.

kathlynn
post Feb 18 2014, 10:28 AM

264 posts

casual reader, with an average of a book a week. i read all sorts of novels and what not. my source of books are from National Library, book exchange in USJ (google B.E.P), and book sales like BBW.
pj_guitarist
post Apr 4 2014, 06:05 PM

1,625 posts

QUOTE(kathlynn @ Feb 18 2014, 10:28 AM)
casual reader, with an average of a book a week. i read all sorts of novels and what not. my source of books are from National Library, book exchange in USJ (google B.E.P), and book sales like BBW.
wow one a week is not so casual to me, i'd be happy to finish a book a month, and i'm aiming to finish my essential reading list b4 i hit 30. and i can barely find the time now.
aquavit
post Apr 8 2014, 10:26 AM

13 posts

I used to read a novel a week but these days with social media sucking up at least an hour of my time every day, I don't seem to have that much time left sad.gif I believe I speak on behalf of most of Gen-Y
xpole
post Apr 18 2014, 09:13 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

QUOTE(Messune @ Jan 27 2014, 01:31 PM)
I used to be a really hardcore reader, basically all I do whenever I had free time. Novels (crime and horror), some biographies and books dealing with social science and economics are my favourites now. I don't mind "sensationalised" science and topics in the books I read, makes them more quirky and interesting sometimes. However, nowadays with the internet I find myself looking for articles online to read as well as watching documentaries, so have abandoned books to some extent sad.gif

I find people who don't like the look of dog-eared books interesting, because I love a good, battered book. Shows that it has been handled a lot and (most probably, but not always) read a lot. Maybe this is because I used to buy a lot of second-hand books. I couldn't afford to buy enough new books to feed my addiction, lol.

I also find it no problem at all to read e-books unlike some of the more traditional bookworms, love them for their portability and the ease of finding books I would never have found physically here.
Same with me, i think Internet killing my interest in reading books.

I try to rebuild my interest, it's kinda hard. sad.gif
xpole
post Apr 18 2014, 09:14 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

QUOTE(aquavit @ Apr 8 2014, 10:26 AM)
I used to read a novel a week but these days with social media sucking up at least an hour of my time every day, I don't seem to have that much time left sad.gif I believe I speak on behalf of most of Gen-Y
You're not alone, i guess we spend time too much on social media. sweat.gif
Messune
post Apr 20 2014, 12:52 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ Apr 18 2014, 09:13 PM)
Same with me, i think Internet killing my interest in reading books.

I try to rebuild my interest, it's kinda hard. sad.gif
Good luck to you, i'm doing the same thing thumbup.gif

Currently half-way through Where Underpants Come From by Joe Bennett and started reading Tomatoland by Barry Estabrook at the same time. My horrendous attention span makes me reach for more than one book at one time sweat.gif
MysticShadow
post Apr 20 2014, 02:10 PM

250 posts

Used to be a hardcore bookworm. Habitually read everyday and wherever I went.

Now, due to work and other commitments, I'm more an on/off reader. Still appreciate a good book over watching a movie when I want to chill.
yo_yo
post May 6 2014, 11:07 PM

337 posts

i try to read at least 12 books a year. the most i read was 16 as a working adult, but back being a college student, i could easily read up to 20 per year due to easy library access in foreign country.

and it's hard to find certain genre like contemporary here.
goey0614
post May 8 2014, 10:36 PM

181 posts

Casual bookworm, just want to try and read 5 books in a year XD
nicol3mii
post May 10 2014, 02:02 AM

not quite a hardcore reader, on average 2-3 books monthly, have read 15 books so far, reading challenge is 30 books this year smile.gif
[d]-ky
post Jun 9 2014, 10:16 PM

633 posts

i have about 50 books, my proudest collection is stephen king's
second is revelation space series
i have over 400gb of textfile/ebook (excluding *ehem*) / over 900 gb (if including *ahem*)
i spend about 5 hours reading a day, not including free time
Ton-chan
post Jun 12 2014, 12:01 AM

38 posts

^wow that is hardcore. 5 hours of reading...

an average of 3 books per month this year, hoping to increase the figure.

Reading on the internet is fun too tho.
may88_98
post Jul 10 2014, 12:19 PM

53 posts

If I could earn money reading books, I'd be a millionaire by now... Too bad work gets in the way... sad.gif
LaylaLee
post Jul 23 2014, 07:37 PM

32 posts

Stumbled upon this thread.

On/off bookworm as well. Usually would restock my collection during book fair such as Big Bad Wolf and Popular's occasional. Then, I would spend prolly the next few weeks finishing all the books (the non-fictions usually lay around half read or untouched). Been trying to encourage myself to read non-fiction for self growth but sometimes it is quite hard for me to absorb. I read fiction quite fast and find it entertaining than television as the mind can wander off whenever it wants to.

And I differ from some hardcore book lovers, I love dog-earring my collections, scribbles here and there, it sorta serve as traces of me or those who read the book before. When I buy a book as present for any friend, I would leave a peace of me (quotes/ words/ some notes on specific places for them to stumble upon). Maybe it's just me. =)

kagamistar
post Oct 7 2014, 01:05 PM

579 posts

casual reader...commit to thesis now..pfft...everytime reading journals, i eager to open the fiction non fiction books.sigh sigh
Constant Reader
post Dec 22 2014, 03:49 PM

reading for pleasure and to ease curiosity ....so i guess i am just casual
highbury1913
post Dec 23 2014, 03:49 PM

526 posts

I read about 1 to 2 a month and consider that relatively casual reading.

Those who read 1 book a week should really be proud of yourselves. That's 52 books a year. I'm struggling with my goal of 24.

This post has been edited by highbury1913: Dec 23 2014, 03:49 PM
spazzed
post Dec 26 2014, 12:21 AM

83 posts

I'm an on and off reader. Studies usually take up my time. But when I read I'm quite hardcore that I forget the world, yes including social media. When I'm on my reading season, I can read 3 books a week biggrin.gif

I also carry my Kindle everywhere I go ever since I've gotten it smile.gif

This post has been edited by spazzed: Dec 26 2014, 12:21 AM
mowlous
post Jan 4 2015, 05:08 PM

542 posts

I am an art book fanatic. I religiously finish and practice anything I have read from imagine fx every month. If my bookshelf ever caught on fire I am gonna either save or die with them. All my art book are handle with page clippers and clean white glove.
Other then that I have another room for normal books. Mostly history and mysteries book.
Rand
post Jan 9 2015, 02:43 PM

319 posts

My wife always tells me that I waste money when buying books. If I am really into the book, I can finish it in a matter of hours depending on the number of pages.
The Lord of the Rings Trilogy though (I had a version that was combined into one book), took me three nights of reading before I finished it.

It's not wasting money though, I re-read religiously. I must have read each book in the Safehold Series by David Weber(currently my favourite series) at least 3 times by now, I guess I really enjoy his writing style as I've read most of his series (Honor Harrington, Dahak, War God etc) and I've enjoyed all of them but I only maintain physical copies of the Safehold series on my shelf.

I still classify myself as a casual reader as I don't always read, there are whole weeks where I don't have the time to pick up a book or ebook.

This post has been edited by Rand: Jan 9 2015, 02:44 PM
VanishS
post May 10 2015, 12:23 AM

234 posts

Everyday between 50-200 pgs. If cannot get new and usable info to absorb info I'll go nuts.

Anything.
yoyo_icecube
post May 21 2015, 06:26 AM

66 posts

when im not writing, i would read alot of malay novels. i pretty much addicted at buying novels, everytime i go out, if i enter a bookstore, i usually never left empty handed. always buy at least 1 novel. too much books to the point i dont have much space to keep them..
ray123
post May 29 2015, 10:22 AM

Senior Citizen
2,509 posts

QUOTE(Rand @ Jan 9 2015, 02:43 PM)
My wife always tells me that I waste money when buying books. If I am really into the book, I can finish it in a matter of hours depending on the number of pages.
The Lord of the Rings Trilogy though (I had a version that was combined into one book), took me three nights of reading before I finished it.

It's not wasting money though, I re-read religiously. I must have read each book in the Safehold Series by David Weber(currently my favourite series) at least 3 times by now, I guess I really enjoy his writing style as I've read most of his series (Honor Harrington, Dahak, War God etc) and I've enjoyed all of them but I only maintain physical copies of the Safehold series on my shelf.

I still classify myself as a casual reader as I don't always read, there are whole weeks where I don't have the time to pick up a book or ebook.
Nice to see a fellow David Weber fan. I too enjoyed most of his works.

0.0346sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:35 AM