Movies The MISSION:IMPOSSIBLE Discussion Thread, Mission: Impossible - Fallout

hairyLGS
post May 9 2010, 02:14 PM

209 posts

This just in:-

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/incredibles...n-impossible-4/

It’s been rumored for a while now, so it probably comes as no surprise that Bird has officially nabbed the gig. Or at least, that’s according to Tom Cruise  himself, and he would know, being the star and producer and basically the franchise of, well, the “Mission Impossible” movie franchise and all. Cruise told Empire that besides Brad Bird, who would be making his live-action feature film debut on “Mission Impossible 4″, Edgar Wright was also in contention, but eventually Bird won out, and that “everything’s signed… Brad is doing it.”

So there you have it. It does seem like one hell of a way to make your debut, since live-action is another world entirely from animation, which Bird has been doing since 1999’s “The Iron Giant”. He followed that up with the incredible “The Incredibles” in 2004, and “Ratatouille” in 2007.

J.J. Abrams, who wrote and directed part three, will return to produce the fourth entry along with Cruise. Paramount, who has yet to officially announce Bird as director, has the movie penned in for Summer 2011, which is looking like one hell of a busy summer for moviegoers who love things that go BOOM.

Looks like J.J. Abrams just produce and Brad Bird will be the director. smile.gif

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: May 9 2010, 02:15 PM
hairyLGS
post Jul 19 2010, 01:51 PM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/simon-pegg-...n-impossible-4/

Simon Pegg in Talks to Return to Mission Impossible 4

I guess the rumors were true: “Mission Impossible 4″ really is chugging towards a greenlight at Paramount, despite Tom Cruise’s recent box office  difficulties (ala “Knight and Day’s” failure to get notice). News  has it that Simon Pegg, who co-starred with Cruise in “Mission Impossible 3″, is in talks with the studio to reprise his role of IMF tech geek Benji Dunn.

“Mission Impossible 4″ will of course return Tom Cruise as IMF superspy Ethan Hunt, with part three’s writer/director J.J. Abrams producing. Directing duty on part four will be by Brad Bird (“The Incredibles”), who has been attached to the sequel for seemingly forever.

If all goes well, “Mission Impossible 4″ will be accepting a brand new mission sometime in September of this year.

hairyLGS
post Aug 8 2010, 02:16 PM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/boohoo-tom-...-on-mi-4-sniff/

Boohoo. Tom Cruise Will Make a Few Millions Less on MI: 4. Sniff.

In Hollywood, you know you’re big time when people are willing to pay you up front just to be able to go around town saying they have a movie starring you, even if the film doesn’t end up happening. That used to be Tom Cruise’s life. Not so much anymore. Despite the fact that “Knight and Day” was pretty darn good (at least I liked it, and really, isn’t that all that matters?), the Cruister’s career is not looking so rosy nowadays, and he needs a big hit (or at least, a hit of any kind) pretty bad. Which may explain why Cruise has agreed to take “a substantially reduced upfront payment” for his role in the upcoming “Mission: Impossible 4″ to ensure that the film gets made.

Of course, Tom Cruise’s “reduced” paycheck will still be more than what most people in the world will earn in a lifetime, but in the micro universe of jet-setting Hollywood movie stars and $1,000/day coke habits, that’s like getting slapped in the face in the town square for all to see. It’s not like we’re talking about a movie star foregoing his big time paycheck to do a small indie film here, after all. This is “MI4″, a film with big explosions and save the world scenarios.

The fact is, Cruise needs “MI4″ more than “MI4″ needs him at the moment, and the studio knows that, which may explain the pay cut for Cruise. But don’t cry a river for Tom. The actor still has plenty of back-end deals in place that should the film prove profitable (which is highly likely, given the franchise’s staying power over the years), he will still be smiling that big smile at the end of the day.

The good news, though, is that more seemingly impossible missions are coming our way. The bad news? Well, there aren’t any, really. So Tommy loses a million here and there, the guy is still ridiculously well paid, so I suggest no one lose sleep over it.

hairyLGS
post Aug 26 2010, 12:30 AM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/a-trio-of-a...partner-in-mi4/

A Trio of Actors Testing to be Tom Cruise’s Partner in MI4

“Mission Impossible 4″ will be a hit even if Tom Cruise isn’t in it, but it’ll be a bigger hit if Cruise is in it. Let’s face it, the franchise is Cruise, and Cruise is the franchise.

So with Cruise on board (albeit with the now-famous pay cut), the studio needs to find some young blood to surround him. After all, old man Cruise can’t be running and jumping and saving the world all by his little lonesome in his advance years, can he? What is he now, 80? Or thereabouts.

Deadline has a trio of young actors currently testing this week for the privilege of playing Tom Cruise’s young help, including Keven Zegers, Christopher Egan, and “The Hurt Locker’s” Anthony Mackie.

Of the three, Zegers looks like a younger version of Tom Cruise (see pic below for a comparison; maybe they can write in Ethan Hunt’s little brother?), though I would prefer Mackie, if only to splash some color on the set. Then again, they already have Ving Rhames, who is scheduled to reprise is role as Ethan Hunt’s sidekick, and maybe that’s enough to meet the film’s minority quota. (Hollywood
: they talk a good game, but usually it’s all white faces in the bunch.)

The plan for “Mission Impossible 4″, with Brad Bird directing, is to have Hunt once again saving the world, but this time with a cadre of younger MI:F agents lending a hand.

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Aug 26 2010, 12:32 AM
hairyLGS
post Aug 27 2010, 08:16 AM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/jeremy-renn...le-replacement/

Jeremy Renner Accepts Mission Impossible 4, Tom Cruise’s Possible Replacement?

A younger, hipper partner for Tom Cruise? Forget about it. Jeremy Renner has reportedly  gotten the gig of playing Ethan Hunt’s partner in Paramount’s upcoming “Mission: Impossible 4″, set to be directed by “The Incredibles’” Brad Bird.

As to the so-yesterday news that actors Kevin Zegers, Christopher Egan and Anthony Mackie would be testing to partner up with Cruise in part four? Apparently those tests were canceled now that Paramount has chosen to go with Renner.

The idea is to partner Renner up with Hunt in the fourth movie, and should Cruise ever decide not to come back (or the studio decides to jettison Ethan Hunt), Renner’s character could easily step up to replace Hunt as the franchise’s new face. Curiously, the studio has apparently decided to ditch the “go younger” route (via the three young actors that were scheduled to test), and will instead go with the “older” Renner. I suppose it’s all relative, since he is 9 years younger than Cruise.

Renner, meanwhile, has Ben Affleck’s “The Town” coming up, and will soon be suiting up for Joss Whedon’s “The Avengers”. As a fan of his since his days on “SWAT” and “28 Weeks Later”, I’m loving his career trajectory.

Brad Bird will direct from a script by Josh Appelbaum and Andre Nemec. J.J. Abrams, who wrote and directed part three, will produce the fourth entry.

hairyLGS
post Aug 29 2010, 11:48 PM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/the-ladies-...n-impossible-4/

The Ladies Line Up for Cruise and Renner’s Mission Impossible 4

You know, that “Mission Impossible” movie  that might not be called “Mission Impossible” at all? Or maybe it will be called “Mission Impossible”, and you can ignore that last sentence. Yeah, that one.

The latest news has three actresses scheduled to screen test for a major female role, which may or may not be the lead. According to the trades, the role is that of “a young female operative”, and the ladies looking to get a piece of the Cruise pie include Lauren German, Paula Patton, and “Smallville’s” Kristin Kreuk, last seen in the mystifyingly awful “Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun Li”.

We know where Kreuk has been, but what about German and Patton?

German (top) has been in some genre stuff like “Hostel 2″ and “Dark Country” with Thomas Jane, while Patton (below) would seem like the most blockbuster-ready, having been in “Deja Vu” with Denzel Washington and “Mirrors” with Kiefer Sutherland. She’s also absolutely drop-dead gorgeous, which always helps.

“Mission Impossible 4″, or whatever it ends up being called, will be directed by “The Incredibles’” Brad Bird, and will star Tom Cruise as Ethan Hunt, with Jeremy Renner recently cast as his partner. The movie is expected to revitalize the franchise.

hairyLGS
post Sep 2 2010, 08:57 AM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/paula-patto...n-impossible-4/

Paula Patton Wins the Female Lead in Mission Impossible 4

Paula Patton (above) has played the damsel in distress in a number of big Hollywood  movies already, including “Deja Vu” and “Mirrors”, and now she can add “Mission Impossible 4″ (or whatever it ends up being called) to her resume.

Deadline reports that the actress has won the female lead in the action-adventure franchise, beating out Lauren German and Kristen Kreuk for the gig. She’ll be playing a role described as “a young operative who works with Tom Cruise’s Ethan Hunt character.” Hopefully she’ll last longer than Keri Russell, the last “young operative who works with Tom Cruise’s Ethan Hunt character” from the third movie, who ended up being dispatched way early in the flick.

Patton joins Cruise and Jeremy Renner in the $150 Paramount film, which will be directed by Brad Bird and set for sometime in 2011. J.J. Abrams, who directed the third movie, returns to produce.

Part four, with its impending name change (the bright idea, apparently, is to dump the “Mission Impossible” completely from the title), will act as a “reboot” for the franchise. Kinda hard to “reboot” when the actor who did it for the last three films is still hanging around as the lead, but hey, whatever.

hairyLGS
post Sep 25 2010, 01:51 AM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/michael-nyq...ssible-mission/

Michael Nyqvist Is On An Impossible Mission

Michael Nyqvist, star of “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo” (I’m apparently the only person in the world who hated both the book and the movie, but that’s a discussion for another time and place), is in final talks to beat up Tom Cruise
as the villain in “Mission: Impossible 4”.

What’s Playing reports

“They have like a terrific five-page fight sequence at the end of the film – brutal, brutal stuff…[Nyquist]’s this very charming, but calculating bad guy. Not your typical spy-film villain”.

My personal feelings on “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo” do not reflect negatively on Nyqvist as an actor. He is actually really good, and this is the kind of role and film that will expose him to wider audience. And I like brutal five-page fight scenes.

This announcement follows hot on the heels of the news that Vladamir Mashkov will play a Russian agent in the film, though whether or not he will play a good guy or bad guy is not specified. Nyqvist and Mashkov join series lynchpins Cruise, Ving Rhames, and Simon Pegg, and newcomers Jeremy Renner and Paula Patton.

hairyLGS
post Sep 29 2010, 09:06 AM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/mission-imp...-josh-holloway/

Mission Impossible 4 Adds Lost Castaway Josh Holloway

Brad Bird’s “Mission Impossible 4″ continues to chug toward production by adding yet another castmember: Josh Holloway of “Lost”.

Holloway will shake off his beach grunge as a member of Tom Cruise’s IMF team, which already includes Jeremy Renner and Paula Patton, with Ving Rhames and Simon Pegg also expected back.

J.J. Abrams is producing the film
, which is set to shoot in Vancouver, Prague and Dubai for a December 2011 release.

hairyLGS
post Oct 1 2010, 08:41 AM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/tom-cruise-...n-impossible-4/

Tom Cruise Poses as a Russian on the Set of Mission Impossible 4

It’s always interesting when you hear that a movie is starting production, or “close” to starting production, then BOOM, the next day there are pictures from the set of said movie
. Such is the case with “Mission Impossible 4″. The last we heard, the film was still casting, and was setting shooting dates in various International locales, and then today there are pictures of star Tom Cruise on the set all dressed up (his character Ethan Hunt in disguise, we assume) on the “Mission Impossible 4″ set. Go figure.

Cruise returns as IMF superspy Ethan Hunt in “MI:4″, with Jeremy Renner and Paula Patton joining him. Ving Rhames and Simon Pegg will also return. Brad Bird (“The Incredibles”) is directing for Paramount.

hairyLGS
post Oct 8 2010, 08:35 AM

209 posts

Tom Cruise Will be Menace by Léa Seydoux in Mission Impossible 4

After adding former “Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” star Michael Nyqvist as the film’s male heavy, Brad Bird and company have now added “Robin Hood” actress Léa Seydoux as the female villain.

No real details on who Seydoux will be playing, just that it will be the lead female villain, though she seems mighty young (the gal is barely 25) to be trying to kill Ethan Hunt and company. Then again, she is French, so there’s that.

“Mission Impossible 4″, to be directed by Brad Bird, returns Tom Cruise as super IMF agent Ethan Hunt. He will be joined by Jeremy Renner as his new partner, as well as Paula Patton as a junior agent. Ving Rhames and Simon Pegg are also expected back as returning IMF agents.

hairyLGS
post Oct 29 2010, 08:51 AM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/mission-imp...ghost-protocol/

Mission Impossible 4 Will be all About the Ghost Protocol

Yeah, it sounds more like a Tom Clancy-based videogame than the latest installment in a lucrative action movie franchise, but that’s what they’re calling the fourth “Misison: Impossible” movie. Or to be more specific: ” Mission: Impossible Ghost Protocol”.

Says star Tom Cruise about the forthcoming sequel and title:

One of the things I always wanted for the franchise was for it not to have a number afterwards. I’ve never done sequels to films and I never thought of these films as sequels. Paramount has done a great job in coming up with a title, so it’s not going to be MI2, 3, 4: It’s going to be Mission: Impossible Ghost Protocol.

Okey doke.

The Brad Bird-directed actioner blows up in theaters December 16, 2011. Cruies is joined by Jeremy Renner and Paul Patton.

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Oct 29 2010, 08:52 AM
hairyLGS
post Nov 11 2010, 11:34 PM

209 posts

Tom Cruise Stunt Video from Mission Impossible 4

Apparently there are a lot of stunts on “Mission Impossible 4: Ghost Protocol”, if all the set pictures and videos that have been coming out of the movie are any indication. Here’s Tom Cruise in one such video performing a stunt that involves him climbing down the side of a building. I know it’s all stuntwork and they’ve got him harnessed in and there is probably zero danger of him actually falling, but still, sheesh, you couldn’t pay me enough to hang outside a skyscraper in the middle of downtown. Then again, I am a wuss, so there’s that.

“Ghost Protocol”, starring Cruise, Jeremy Renner, and Paula Patton, arrives in 2011. Brad Bird (“The Incredibles”) is directing.

hairyLGS
post Dec 17 2010, 11:07 AM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/ving-rhames...ion-impossible/

Ving Rhames Not in Ghost Protocol? That’s (Mission:) Impossible

Tom Cruise isn’t the only man who has been in all “Mission: Impossible” movies. Ving Rhames, as computer hacker Luther Stickell, has been right there alongside him in all three films. Now with the fourth one currently in production, it was expected that Rhames would be reprising his hacker role along with Simon Pegg from part three, joining newcomers Jeremy Renner, Josh Holloway, Michael Nyqvist, and Paula Patton for director Brad Bird. Not so fast, kiddies.

Rhames, while out promoting his upcoming “Death Race 2″, tells Movieweb in regards to “Ghost Protocol”:

I may be doing something very small in Mission: Impossible Ghost Protocol but I will just say that the budget changed dramatically and I’ll leave it at that.

When asked if this means he won’t be appearing in the sequel, he added:

Hmm… Cha-ching could create that but it’s up to them.

This is certainly news, but probably not as big a news as Rhames would like to think. I’m sorry, but Luther Stickell may have been in all previous “Mission: Impossible” movies, but let’s face it, most people don’t know that, not with the amount of supporting cast that’s come and gone over the years.

Right now, the studio’s focus seems to be passing the torch from Cruise to Renner, and I’m sure Rhames really doesn’t figure too much into those plans. Of course, I could be wrong.

hairyLGS
post Dec 17 2011, 11:43 PM

209 posts

Came back watching this.

I have to say - between all MI movies... this feels more well-balance than the rest. At least, in terms of screen-time. While for me, I do admit one thing - better pacing, better action (even though certain scenes can be unbelievable... but hey, it's MISSION IMPOSSIBLE), added a bonus to some nice humor and more importantly - it keeps the audience going.

What I like most is - FINALLY!!! It's mission impossible as it should have been... added with the original music score. While the villain in this movie is not entirely well develop on the intentions as to why he wanted to do to create a war, I always wonder was the title of the movie (Ghost Protocol) meant just on the focus on the IMF being disbanded hence due to that reason and the focus is there, hence the focus on the intentions of the villain is not important... hmmm

Overall:- 3.5 out of 5. Finally a MI movie that I truly appreciates. Brad Bird really did bring that feel to this mission...
hairyLGS
post Dec 18 2011, 10:50 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(kuaLe_AGX @ Dec 18 2011, 02:49 AM)
i agree on the bolded part. The villain is not a focal point of the movie unlike the previous movies. Its more about the IMF disavowed agent do on their own
One thing (and now I remember) is that the difficulties they go through in order to make the mission work and how it did not go smoothly as it should. Did we see that in the previous series? hmm.gif

Because if the previous series the missions were done quite smoothly (and not because of the villains one step ahead of the IMF team), then it also look into how difficult it was for Ethan's IMF team being disavowed and they had to depend on whatever current technology they have then to make the mission work without the assistance of the government... makes Ghost Protocol title meaning more realistic (besides the action sequence of course)
hairyLGS
post Dec 19 2011, 10:17 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Dec 19 2011, 10:08 AM)
among all 4 MI, I've enjoyed this one the most thumbup.gif
maybe because it got more humor in it compared to previous one
also maybe this time they are depending more on luck and instinct, rather than technologies and well planned strategies,

like the scene in water with the flare
I was WTF??? at first, so stupid meh?
but with the explanation afterward, it all make sence thumbup.gif
Also that's about high tech stuff, which will break down most of the time tongue.gif
That scene bolded above as you mention I felt was quite a good man-made way to escape laugh.gif

Yeah, I felt it too as well. While it is different compare to the rest of the series (since to each of their own, the directors had their own style to go along with it), its not about its the best or not but rather how entertaining the movie gets for anybody. For me, its good enough to keep the pacing of the movie flowing. I mean... it's MISSION IMPOSSIBLE - how reality can this get to even say "hey, its unrealistic".

For me, its still a fun movie and enjoyable to watch.
hairyLGS
post Dec 19 2011, 10:56 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Dec 19 2011, 10:23 AM)
2nd is ok if one likes John Woo's ala actions.... MI2 has the most actions with guns blaring here and there...

At least one will always remember the motorcycle chase scene. But for Ghost Protocol, I just can't seem to think of any memorable scenes as a punch as well as a lot of character's story just died off and left hanging.

MI3 has the best plot so far and many good acting. A balance mix of action vs drama. MI1 drill into more story drama.

When I read through, I'm actually surprised many thinks that it's among the best from all the 4 installments which I thought I'm the only odd one out.

My point is to make it better, they could have actually include the scene on how the Serbs supposedly taken out Ethan's wife and how Ethan supposedly massacre the 6 Serbs assassins. Those flashback scene can be while Brandt is relating his experience in overshadowing Ethan.

As usual, most of the action are too exaggerating to the point of unreal. At least pls make it more believable. You see Bond with crooked face bruises and all. You see Jason Bourne with gun shot wounds, cuts etc... but  Ethan was just too perfect with hardly and injury to tend to. Except of course the last scene which again ppl or at least I would expect a better suspense yet to me is a let down how the fight ended.

Overall to me this is the sort of movie you went to and say bravo, yes actions and slight "cold" humor then the next thing you know, you forgot about the story because there's no story intact as the plot is left hanging.

I almost booked Gold Class, and luckily I didn't. Else I would have regretted it.
I don't know - I felt M:I-2 did not have much action but did focus on the story between Ethan and Nyah Nordoff-Hall (played by Thandie Newton). For me, this was one of the least favorite John Woo films I ever felt disappointed (Hard-Boiled to this day is my all-time favorite because when it comes to most action and gun blazing - not a single movie can top this that able to create a good plot with it).

The thing about Mission: Impossible series - it is about teamwork and not about just one person - which the first three films always focus on Ethan Hunt alone... and the only one in action. Ghost Protocol on the other hand... and surprisingly, the team members themselves get into action (except Benji Dunn... at least, he fire a shot) themselves in their own way.

While many argue about the mask method - the actual TV series was never about that but rather about to each of the abilities of the team members of IMF and each of the members have their own screen time. The movie series on the other hand (for the first three) - its always Ethan Hunt. At least... Ghost Protocol has that balance for the IMF team.

I do not know but funny... nobody mention Josh Holloway here laugh.gif
hairyLGS
post Dec 19 2011, 11:02 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Dec 19 2011, 10:58 AM)
Again, no.

I felt this was the best MI ever. And my experience was made better with IMAX.

I get the villain though. In the sense that he's trying to create chaos in the hopes of just watching the world burn, so that we could evolve further. Thinks he's sort of a messiah as such.

Anil Kapoor however, was a huge waste! His character is just sad...

Gotta hand it down to Simon Pegg and Jeremy Renner though. It would've been crazier if it was Nick Frost, but I don't think that's possible. laugh.gif

Added on December 19, 2011, 10:59 am

Too little, but he did good really. biggrin.gif
For me - he stands out still... and yet not a lead role for him still (except "Whisper" - a role so waste as a horror movie) in any action genre... sweat.gif

Added on December 19, 2011, 11:07 am
QUOTE(mnhma @ Dec 19 2011, 10:54 AM)
Anybody knows whether got The Dark Knight Rises prologue before the movie?
That's applicable in the US.

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Dec 19 2011, 11:07 AM
hairyLGS
post Dec 19 2011, 11:48 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(kuaLe_AGX @ Dec 19 2011, 11:31 AM)
'Sawyer' have a short screen time...but he's great while at it

perhaps a twist/spinoff Mission Impossible? With the story focused on Agent Hanaway  biggrin.gif
Agent Hanaway did not die at all (twist) and he was part of the plan to hand over the documents and fake his death... so he can go to Bora Bora...

Oh wait... all of a sudden I think of Vin Diesel's "XxX" laugh.gif

0.0182sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:42 AM