become lecturer in Malaysia?

Salvage
post Aug 9 2011, 04:05 PM

35 posts

My lecturer once told me that, earning a Phd Degree can EASILY earn RM 6 to 7K worrr....

Any dispute from anyone here? Or no Dispute, hands down that you agree with what my lecturer said?
Salvage
post Aug 9 2011, 05:44 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Aug 9 2011, 05:30 PM)
u might call her a lecturer, but u need to actually see her payslip to see what her actual post is. back when i was a tutor, i didnt say i was a tutor heheheh tongue.gif. maluuuuu...

but it depends on which IPTAs. new IPTAs entice new academicians with the lecturer post even with a masters. if they only offer lecturer for PhDs, i bet nobody gonna even apply.
sounds good.
sure, u can try. but remember, PhD thesis is public domain. everyone has equal right to read ur thesis and dispute it. those who "bought" their PhDs NEVER would reveal their thesis. just go and check those artists with doctorates. even a slight mention about their thesis they will go out of their way to change the topic!

PhD is serious matter. PhD is about creating/acquiring new knowledge that does not exist before. for example, ur PhD found out that pi is not 3.1742, so it is significant in the body of knowledge that it's a game changer. but u cant get a PhD by simulating an existing knowledge, for example, proving that 3.1742 can be used to calculate a circumference.

so if ur lecturer did "buy" his PhD, ask him to share, publish or present his paper in a conference.
Yea, my friend, u misunderstood my satement already.

My question is, does obtaining a PHD can easily earn 6 to 7 K in academic field?

Added on August 9, 2011, 5:45 pm
QUOTE(Salvage @ Aug 9 2011, 05:44 PM)
Yea, my friend, u misunderstood my satement already.

My question is, does obtaining a PHD can easily earn 6 to 7 K in academic field?
HAHA..u are correct.
By the way, this was the post i made in the other dicussion, why it comes to here?

Added on August 9, 2011, 5:49 pm
QUOTE(azarimy @ Aug 9 2011, 05:42 PM)
lol u're right. sorry, must be this hospital air. tongue.gif

yes, they can easily earn RM6k. with a full professorship, it's easily 5 figure.
The reason I asked this is because, when I look at the salary range

http://www.jpa.gov.my/docs/pp/2010/15/Lampiran_A.pdf

The starting salary for DS54 is only 2.5K...

I also understand, phd holder will start at DS54: P1T4, which is also way below the maximum level of DS54 with max salary 5.5k

So, I am confuse why u said that phd holder in academic field can easily earn 6k?

This post has been edited by Salvage: Aug 9 2011, 05:49 PM
Salvage
post Aug 9 2011, 07:07 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Aug 9 2011, 06:50 PM)
because of allowance? i didnt say ur SALARY will be RM6k. i said u will EARN RM6k.

ur base salary will be around RM3.5k. then there's all the allowances and stuff, some of which are not taxable. this can be around RM1.5k to RM3k.

my pre-PhD earning (lecturer with masters) was already RM4.3k.
Wow...Allowance is like another DOUBLE!

Mr.Azarimy, if u do notice, i drop by your website that leave u a message which also asked the same question and U had answered them ald.

However, i would like to have a quick chat with you, can ask further detail.

What say you?
Salvage
post Aug 10 2011, 08:44 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(kailoonthedog @ Aug 10 2011, 08:40 AM)
lecturer gt young and pretty eh ma??
Masters graduate possibly..HAHA
Salvage
post Aug 10 2011, 11:28 AM

35 posts

Vio,

With masters, errr...around 5K

With PHD around 6K easily.
Those are starter!

Same for both IPTA and IPTS..

C'mon... all doctors earn high! HAHA

Added on August 10, 2011, 11:31 amBy the way
@azarimy,

Does academic filed provide bonus?

This post has been edited by Salvage: Aug 10 2011, 11:31 AM
Salvage
post Aug 10 2011, 12:09 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Aug 10 2011, 12:07 PM)
Hard to judge sometimes. I'm an acad exec in one of the ipts, doing lecturing also (something like part time) and I get around 3.5k with my masters. Is that low?
Hey yo! You are part time only wei! already 3.5K

Good pay brother for part time! LOL

Which IPTS ?
Salvage
post Aug 10 2011, 03:22 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Aug 10 2011, 12:25 PM)
for basic pay?
Total .. Some have low basic, but high allowance, and vice versa.

Thus, look at total in more important

0.0158sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:14 AM