Universal brokers, Universal brokers - Is it Safe?

TSwaihon2k
post Jan 18 2009, 10:46 PM, updated 17y ago

26 posts

Hello bros.

I am opening my trading account with PM Securities. Here's the link : http://pmsecurities.com.my
There are not quite famous compare to those in the market. And they are universal brokers.
What does it mean by universal brokers?

Can someone tell me what is the different between universal broker and others such as OSK? Hwang DBS? or JF Apex?
Is it safe to trade with them PM Securities ?

Please enlighten me. Nowadays any company can go bankrap - dowan my money go down the drain with them if something
bad happen.
cherroy
post Jan 19 2009, 04:52 PM

25,802 posts

Universal broker means they are fulfilling the requirement for it. Forget liao, need time to find back out.

Whether your money is safe-guarded or not, it has nothing to do with it.

If you are open trading account with direct CDS then nothing to worry, as those CDS is held under your name and CDS account is under KLSE management. The trading account just a platform for trading only.
lklatmy
post Jan 20 2009, 12:10 AM

1,470 posts

With even big names like Citicorp and Wachovia having financial problem,nothing is 100 % safe.

The best precaution will be like what taikor cherroy mentioned,keep your shares in direct cds and pay on due date (T+3).As far as possible,don't keep excess money with your broker(this may not be possible especially if you are using online trading platform to take advantage of the lower commission rates,typically,this method of trading will requires cash up front)It's a trade off,you have to decide what you want at the end.
TSwaihon2k
post Jan 20 2009, 12:46 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(lklatmy @ Jan 20 2009, 12:10 AM)
With even big names like Citicorp and Wachovia having financial problem,nothing is 100 % safe.

The best precaution will be like what taikor cherroy mentioned,keep your shares in direct cds and pay on due date (T+3).As far as possible,don't keep excess money with your broker(this may not be possible especially if you are using online trading platform to take advantage of the lower commission rates,typically,this method of trading will requires cash up front)It's a trade off,you have to decide what you want at the end.
Personally i prefer to have a remisier to help me on everything cos i am not a very active trader myself. So not much time monitoring the share markets. Sometimes its good to have some one give you a little enlightenment though it doesn't help much. But at least i know what i am doing is not wrong lo. smile.gif

Yeah i think it is best if i don't keep too much money in my trading acc. Everytime a transaction is being made...i just ask them to top up to my acc instead of sending me the cheque. So thank you bros. Next time i know what to do either i keep the cash and whenever i want to trade ...i just transfer $$ to them or i keep on trading. lol.

cherroy
post Jan 20 2009, 04:44 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(waihon2k @ Jan 20 2009, 12:46 PM)
Personally i prefer to have a remisier to help me on everything cos i am not a very active trader myself. So not much time monitoring the share markets. Sometimes its good to have some one give you a little enlightenment though it doesn't help much. But at least i know what i am doing is not wrong lo.  smile.gif

Yeah i think it is best if i don't keep too much money in my trading acc. Everytime a transaction is being made...i just ask them to top up to my acc instead of sending me the cheque. So thank you bros. Next time i know what to do either i keep the cash and whenever i want to trade ...i just transfer $$ to them or i keep on trading. lol.
You don't need to keep money in trading account one. Most 99.9% (except those nominee) are having zero balance in trading account. You can transfer right after you made transaction, while some brokers can accept online transfer directly which is quite convenience. Or when after you sold, those money/cheque can bank in to your bank account/online account which you can monitor directly.

0.0111sec    0.99    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:49 PM