Nokia ♪♥ Nokia XpressMusic 5800 "TUBE" V5 ♪, WE'VE MORE THAN 200 TUBIANS NOW!!!!

zackloy
post Jan 21 2009, 02:04 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(jpaq @ Jan 21 2009, 01:40 PM)
Some things i can let it slide, like the slight damage to my SP... but some things just irritate the hell out of me.... like fingerprint smudges under the screen! They are supposed to be the pros, man! My principle is: why should i do it myself? If its their fault, they should clean it up to my satisfaction. And if I do it myself, what if I screw it up and end up getting more shit under the screen or damage the casing (if mis-cue)? Then no one to blame but myself. On top of that, I am not sure if the smudge is on the back of the LCD cover or on the LCD itself. I dun wanna mess around wiping the LCD itself. What if I end up scratching it? But if they screw it up, I can demand that they do it again and again until I am satisfied without additional effort from myself (except the complaining part!). And if a part of the phone is damaged due to their fault, I would ask for a replacement part.

Our malaysian service culture is like that wan sometimes... if u dun f*** them, they just buat dunno. of course there are great service providers like the Sony Ericsson service centre over at Amcorp mall (Ericserve)... those guys are the best man!
Well said. I agree that there are great service providers in Malaysia too, like in my personal case the Moto shop at KLCC, great service although they don't do repairs on the spot there. Sent my Moto Rokr S9 3 - 4 times and always service with a smile. Kuddos to them. Sad fact is that the bad ones outnumber the good many times.
zackloy
post Jan 21 2009, 02:09 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(R80 @ Jan 21 2009, 02:07 PM)
pls add me 2 blue team!!!
bought this awesome phone on last monday. zitron set.
Welcome to the club! rclxms.gif Please make sure you read the 1st page if you haven't already, tons of information there.
zackloy
post Jan 22 2009, 09:21 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Jan 22 2009, 08:14 AM)
Link >>> http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_5800_xpressm...eview-308p6.php

Excerpt-"The phone flaunts an amazing frequency response keeping within the +-1db range effortlessly. Furthermore, for most of its range it is right on the perfect track. Noise level and dynamic range readings are also praiseworthy and so is THD. IMD and crosstalk are not as impressive but still quite good. All in all, you will be enjoying some of the industry best quality audio with Nokia 5800 XpressMusic."
Test                              Frequency response  Noise level Dynamic range THD IMD + Noise Stereo crosstalk
Nokia 5800 XpressMusic +0.09, -0.77  -92.2              92.1          0.013 0.297  -75.0
Nokia N85                        +0.28, -1.19  -94.4              95.4          0.305 0.701          -88.1
Nokia N96                          +0.52, -2.14  -90.6              90.7          0.016  0.364  -73.5
HTC Touch HD                  +0.20, -2.29  -86.7              89.2          0.024 0.253          -86.1
HTC Touch Diamond          +0.35, -1.12  -85.3              87.9          0.027 0.267  -86.3
Apple iPod Touch 2G          +0.04, -0.05  -91.4              91.5          0.0027  0.012            -90.0
Apple iPhone 3G                  +0.52, -1.05  -89.9                90.1            0.0033  0.016            -93.1

Conclusion: The audio quality is excellent but still not at par with Apple iphone and Ipod products. My advise is if u already own a full fledged handphone, and an audiophile type of listener, get the ipod touch 2G.
Technical tests are all well and good but sometimes things like audio quality is highly subjective to the individual listener, thus if the individual can't tell the difference between Apple products and the 5800, does this mean the 5800 is inferior? Anyways, I've listened to portable audio devices from walkmans, CDs to digital media like MP3s...my personal opinion is that when you're on the move quality is not that much an issue but when you are stationary then you'll find that even the best of portable devices lose out to a low mid-range hi-fi setup most times.
zackloy
post Jan 22 2009, 01:56 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(jye'n @ Jan 22 2009, 01:40 PM)
Glad to hear the guide served you well.  nod.gif I used only normal PnS camera la, I dun have monstrous lens  tongue.gif

By the way, finally last night I managed to have GarminXT works on my Tube with the guide on 1st page. Really tedious, but worth it. Somehow, it's not really convenient to use while driving (which is not recommended anyway due to safety issue), as you have to deal with the hard keys, Camera buttons... I installed for fun while waiting for the real thing to release.
I think we're supposed to set our destination before we start driving after that leave it to guide. It'll be too bothersome to change settings midway while driving unless we stop. Anyways until something better comes along in future, this is about as good as it gets. BTW what maps are you using?
zackloy
post Jan 22 2009, 03:00 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Jan 22 2009, 02:53 PM)
seems like this is the hottest phone and thread here...
Dunno about that but I haven't joined a thread that moved soooo fast. So maybe you're right, the 5800 is THE hottest phone now. All I know is the 5800 ROCKS period! thumbup.gif
zackloy
post Jan 22 2009, 03:54 PM

557 posts

I've got this intermittent bug that once in a while tells me that the phone cannot access my selected memory for messages (i.e. memory card) and switches back to phone memory. Irritates the hell out of me cause now I have messages on the phone and memory card. How do I merge these messages to a single location?
zackloy
post Jan 22 2009, 04:25 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 22 2009, 03:56 PM)
never experience that before  hmm.gif

where would you want your messages to be saved at?
phone memory or memory card?
I actually set it to save on the memory card, sometimes when receiving a message, the phone warns me that there is an error and switches back to the phone memory. It has happened at least 4-5 times. I'm suspecting the read/write speed between phone/memory card is sometimes not fast enough resulting in the error or it really is a bug.

Any way to merge 2 memories?
zackloy
post Jan 22 2009, 05:09 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Jan 22 2009, 05:06 PM)
Congrats dude!  rclxms.gif
I'm waiting for my CDL in March. People describe me as a good driver, but a terrible navigator. Drive like Michael Schumacher, but sesat like a deaf bat.  laugh.gif  I really need them GPS.  tongue.gif
Hahaha I understand exactly what you mean.....myself also very common sesat, 1st time I went PJ at night long long time ago, I sesat more than 1 hr trying to find my way out back to Ampang. tongue.gif
zackloy
post Jan 22 2009, 05:28 PM

557 posts

Question: Car charger, anyone got one and if so, how much for it (compatible or ori)?
zackloy
post Jan 22 2009, 05:38 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 22 2009, 05:30 PM)
yo yo, i forsee the V5 will come to an end by this friday/saturday.

i shall give you the codings from the front pages before i off to penang for my cny vacation, okay? smile.gif
Pana you orang Penang ke? If so sama sama.
zackloy
post Jan 22 2009, 05:40 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jan 22 2009, 05:32 PM)
I got compatible 1 ..FOC when I brought 5800 ..smile.gif
But advise avoid using it if can..by the phone seller himself  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Aiya, like that kena beli ori one, sure mahal sweat.gif
zackloy
post Jan 23 2009, 10:34 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Jan 23 2009, 09:13 AM)
You can always ask them if they can.
Don't bother about the light leakage, it's a manufacturing defect, Pana calls it a "tolerance", basically for plastic stuff like this it's quite common for some flaws i.e. the casing not being held together seamlessly resulting in the light leakage. I asked NCC and they have no solution for it, even if you get a new casing it'll be the same result. It's very irritating but I can live with it.

Added on January 23, 2009, 10:36 am
QUOTE(vip @ Jan 23 2009, 10:27 AM)
can i ask the question...where is the "light leak" on the phone arr?
It's on the top right corner where the power button is. Please refer to the 1st page on the common problems 5800 users may encounter, it's all laid out nicely there....don't waste Pana's effort by being lazy.

This post has been edited by zackloy: Jan 23 2009, 10:37 AM
zackloy
post Jan 23 2009, 02:43 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(AeT860 @ Jan 23 2009, 02:41 PM)
Just want to ask, is anyone getting N5800 from Bluecube? Currently they got one package which cost RM1399 for
1. N5800
2. Bluetooth Headset
3.Celcom Starter Pack

Link

1.Do anyone of you know which Bluetooth headset is bundle with the package?

2.I assume the set from bluecube should be Zitron/Avaxx, anyone can confirm?
Why don't you give Blue Cube a call? Whether it is Zitron/Avaxx is irrelevant, most network operators only sell ori products.

0.0276sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:19 AM