iPhone Restore & Issues, share your experience and knowledge here

TSazsmartz
post Jan 15 2009, 11:41 PM, updated 17y ago

167 posts

Hello all! i just buy 2nd hand iphone about a couple of weeks ago(newbie). i want to share with all of iPhone user in LYN about their opinion and knowledge in iPhone restore. hope all of u can support. Thanx=)

My Question As a Start:

1) How Often You Guys Restore Your iPhone?

2) What is the most important software that you will installed in new restored iPhone?

3) Can you guys with us here any goods and interestings software and application..

Thanks All For Support!

wub.gif cool.gif whistling.gif icon_question.gif
xbalapc
post Jan 18 2009, 11:30 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(azsmartz @ Jan 15 2009, 11:41 PM)
Hello all! i just buy 2nd hand iphone about a couple of weeks ago(newbie). i want to share with all of iPhone user in LYN about their opinion and knowledge in iPhone restore. hope all of u can support. Thanx=)
My Question As a Start:

1) How Often You Guys Restore Your iPhone?

2) What is the most important software that you will installed in new restored iPhone?

3) Can you guys with us here any goods and interestings software and application..

Thanks All For Support!

wub.gif  cool.gif  whistling.gif  icon_question.gif
DO NOT restore...if dont know what u r doing.....!!!!
omnimech
post Jan 18 2009, 12:05 PM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

Restore for ?
I dont see any reason to restore the iphone.

Its not like windows, need to sei mang reformat. rofl.
SUSMike3300
post Jan 18 2009, 02:33 PM

6,866 posts

Back in the 1.1.x firmware states, every time new firmware has been released I will always restore and jailbreak it as new firmware improves performance and stability. In 2.0.x and above, I rarely do a restore unless problem occurs. A lot of work has to be done restoring a locked iPhone is more hassle and than breeze.
TSazsmartz
post Jan 19 2009, 11:53 AM

167 posts

aiya.. i believe all of us 'rarely' restore iphone.. what i'm going to share here is when we restore or buy new iphone, what is the most important software or mods u going to have... aiya...
g3n0c1d3
post Jan 19 2009, 02:50 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

restore+Jailbreak+cydia+SBsetting+SwirlyMMS+biteSMS+latest apps from apple+latest game frm itunes= my iphone
midoban
post Jan 21 2009, 03:23 PM

37 posts

irealsms+swirlymms+boss pref+pocketmoney+idb+ucweb+send contact+power word+mobile files+wefit+show 24
TSazsmartz
post Jan 21 2009, 11:44 PM

167 posts

yea... i'm using firmware 2.2, jailbreak+cydia, bosstools, bossprefs, sbsetting, swirlymms, bitesms.. then come myiphone..

is there any comment of upgrading to iphone 3g?
gengstapo
post Jan 21 2009, 11:56 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

i restore , mine whenever i wish to
specially when ive got NBTD
magazine
post Jan 21 2009, 11:57 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(azsmartz @ Jan 21 2009, 11:44 PM)
yea... i'm using firmware 2.2, jailbreak+cydia, bosstools, bossprefs, sbsetting, swirlymms, bitesms.. then come myiphone..

is there any comment of upgrading to iphone 3g?
dun feel any major difference between 2g and 3g, the only thing major is the speaker sounds alot better now

stick to ur 2g for now, and gps cost money with google maps
TSazsmartz
post Jan 22 2009, 02:03 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(magazine @ Jan 21 2009, 11:57 PM)
dun feel any major difference between 2g and 3g, the only thing major is the speaker sounds alot better now

stick to ur 2g for now, and gps cost money with google maps
huhu... yeah.. i like ur advice.. i buy my iphone 2g @ used condition.. battery life is about 2 days.. is it a normal battery life for iphone?(maximum usage of sms, call about 1-2 hours everyday) or u think that i have problem with my battery? one more thing, do the battery life also depend on what firmware u are using?
magazine
post Jan 22 2009, 04:39 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(azsmartz @ Jan 22 2009, 02:03 AM)
huhu... yeah.. i like ur advice.. i buy my iphone 2g @ used condition.. battery life is about 2 days.. is it a normal battery life for iphone?(maximum usage of sms, call about 1-2 hours everyday) or u think that i have problem with my battery? one more thing, do the battery life also depend on what firmware u are using?
Yes thats about the battery life for ur condition, dun worry, i used iPods before, and i can say that all ipods battery are awesome, including iphones.

and yes, newer firmware may have better optimisation , hence longer battery life
sugen
post Jan 22 2009, 01:26 PM

1,358 posts

I had done the DFU restore twice.. Then JB it.. No problem so far..
TSazsmartz
post Jan 24 2009, 12:31 AM

167 posts

huhu... that's why i'm stick to iphone.. but still not satisfied coz buyin 2nd hand sets... proud if can buy new set :-(

Edoras
post Jan 24 2009, 07:32 AM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(azsmartz @ Jan 24 2009, 12:31 AM)
huhu... that's why i'm stick to iphone.. but still not satisfied coz buyin 2nd hand sets... proud if can buy new set :-(
People no longer use 2G phones which limited their speed to GPRS. Its nearly obsolete.
Nowadays people are using 3G and some of them have 3.5G speed.
Apple is quite late is developing HSDPA (3.5G) iPhones whereas other vendors have made it as a standard features..

mikestrok
post Jan 28 2009, 11:40 AM

106 posts

My iphone suddenly touch screen is not working.. cant slide to answer if a call comes.. no sensation at all...what to do ?
Is this a known problem with the iPhone or with unlocked iPhones? I rebooted it by holding the Home key and the shut down key on the top. it still now working..

So my final option is to restore my iphone via itunes.. any specific "procedule" need to take care??
And how to jailbreak?

davidgary73
post Jan 28 2009, 11:44 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(mikestrok @ Jan 28 2009, 11:40 AM)
My iphone suddenly touch screen is not working.. cant slide to answer if a call comes.. no sensation at all...what to do ?
Is this a known problem with the iPhone or with unlocked iPhones? I rebooted it by holding the Home key and the shut down key on the top. it still now working..

So my final option is to restore my iphone via itunes.. any specific "procedule" need to take care??
And how to jailbreak?

Follow the guide provided with the link below to jailbreak your iPhone to firmware 2.2.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/790913

mikestrok
post Jan 28 2009, 12:00 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Jan 28 2009, 11:44 AM)
Follow the guide provided with the link below to jailbreak your iPhone to firmware 2.2.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/790913
Thanks bro David.. but mine is version 1.1.3.. i really have no choice but to restore it..
do u think my problems ( touch screen jammed / cant even slide to answer ) can resolve by upgrading / restore my phone??
my whole are stuck.. only can on and off..
g3n0c1d3
post Jan 28 2009, 12:49 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(mikestrok @ Jan 28 2009, 12:00 PM)
Thanks bro David.. but mine is version 1.1.3.. i really have no choice but to restore it..
do u think my problems ( touch screen jammed / cant even slide to answer ) can resolve by upgrading / restore my phone??
my whole are stuck.. only can on and off..
wah.... its time to upgrade...!!!
TSazsmartz
post Jan 31 2009, 01:12 AM

167 posts

hehe... why sometimes my iphone get laggin when someone call me.. can slide to answer:-( is there any comments?

0.0175sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:28 PM