Duke Red
post Jan 15 2009, 11:21 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Lady G @ Jan 14 2009, 11:35 PM)
haihss.......really miss watching the game with you guys....this place sad eh!
Where exactly is "this place"? Or are you speaking figuratively?

QUOTE(qspn @ Jan 15 2009, 09:51 AM)
Basically the title is out of our hands once again. It is down to United to lose it as things stands now if they win their game hand which probably they will, they will surge to the top of the table. The warning signs has be there as our inability to win matches against lower oppositions cost us. As last season we draw far too often and this bad habits have re-emerge back to the team. Now it has come back to bite us back in the @$$.
Well we still have to play them at OT so it isn't completely out of our hands. If we beat them, we'll be 2 points ahead, assuming they win their game in hand. I don't fancy our chances over there but we have been playing well against them in recent years and I'm guessing it will be about us taking our chances.
Duke Red
post Jan 15 2009, 11:47 AM

6,112 posts

Looks like we're set to lose Dagger. He's unhappy that he isn't featuring more regularly and that his demands for a $60,000 a week pay packet has so far been stonewalled. His agent has already entered negotiations with AC Milan.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/...o.html?ITO=1490

I'm really disappointed to lose a player of his ability. I think he brings so much to the team. It's not everyday you come across a ball playing central defender with an eye for spectacular goals. His most crucial goal to date has to the Champions League one against Chelsea that brought us back into the game. Not sure how accurate press reports are but he seems to have a bit of an ego and if that's the case, best to sever ties now when we can still profit from it. Still, one of the better defenders to come along in some time now. Still remember how he kept Drogba at bay for an entire game.

Added on January 15, 2009, 11:51 amDavid Gill has now responded to Rafa's comments.

“His comments on my position are totally inaccurate,” said Gill, in Macau at the launch of United’s tour of Asia, which takes place later this year.

“The reality of it is that on the FA board sit three representatives of the Premier League in Premier League chairman Dave Richards, Bolton chairman Phil Gartside and myself.

“They are elected every year by every club in the Premier League and when we are on the board we are there representing the Premier League and I am not there representing United.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/irishexaminer...1948-qqqx=1.asp

Well forgive me for doubting the validity of this statement. I think he needs to put up a more convincing argument than that. Take into consideration that Fergie has been accusing the FA of being unfair to Man Utd. Perhaps he is intentionally trying to distance himself for Gill for fear of suspicion.

Added on January 15, 2009, 11:54 amAh it seems there is a Man Utd connection after all smile.gif

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/...d.html?ITO=1490

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jan 15 2009, 11:54 AM
Duke Red
post Jan 16 2009, 10:54 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(popsoul @ Jan 16 2009, 09:11 AM)
Can't we just pay what he wants at the moment to keep him? It will be a big mistake if we let him off.
QUOTE(JonC @ Jan 16 2009, 09:18 AM)
It's that fooking agent of his i tell you. More pay for Agger equals bigger paycheck for him too.  mad.gif If he is hell bent on getting paid more, by all means go. Don't need one whose heart is not in it anymore.
I'm with Jon C on this one. We have not real insight into the actual situation but if he's being a selfish, greedy git who expects to be an automatic choice after just returning from and lenghty injury, then be off.

Why go to AC Milan? Hmmm well them being one of the giants of club football is defo a big plus. Hot women? Endless shopping? Life in general is much nicer than in gloomy England. Also, AC Milan have a reputation of playing a back four with the combined age of some football clubs. Jaap Stam? Paolo Maldini? Alessandro Costacurta? Franco Baresi? Serginho? Cafu? Leonardo? Just to name a few. Long term job security perhaps.

Looks like we've renewed our interest in Upson in light of Agger's impending departure.

http://www.metro.co.uk/sport/football/arti...0&in_page_id=43
Duke Red
post Jan 16 2009, 11:16 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Jan 16 2009, 11:06 AM)
As far as I'm seeing the situation, there's won't be smoke without fire. Last time, I'm stuck in this kinda feeling is when God left us.
Well I personally won't go as far as to say that. Fowler had at the time already firmly entrenched himself in Liverpool folklore breaking scoring records while Agger has had one good season before injuries sidelined him. Many of us shed tears of sorrow when he left which was followed by tears of joy when he returned. I won't disrespect Fowler but putting Agger in his class smile.gif

'The God's Prayer'
Our Fowler
Thou art is scoring
Robbie be they name
Thy transfer has been done
On a free as it is in January
Give us this day our favourite red
Alonso will give you the best passes
As Carra stops those who pass against us
Deliver us the title
And lead us not into relegation
For eleven is your number
Forever and ever
Our man

Won't get this unless your Christian.
Duke Red
post Jan 19 2009, 02:12 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jan 19 2009, 02:07 PM)
Apa itu pd?  rclxub.gif
Erm Port Dickson?
Duke Red
post Jan 20 2009, 12:28 PM

6,112 posts

Much has been made about our mettle and how whether or not we'll crumble under the pressure of leading the Premiership. Let us put things in perspective however; we're only at the top because our rivals have been dropping points. Remember when it was coined that "no one wants to win the Premiership this season"? Because of this we become title contenders to Premiership leaders at some point and we've never been so close to the top in a long long time. We have flattered to deceive and our rivals poor early season form boosted our status, not by our own doing. If we don't win it, will it be because we succumbed to pressure? No, it will be because of the return to form of Man Utd or Chelsea for that matter. We've been dropping silly points at Anfield for the past few seasons, it's nothing new.
Duke Red
post Jan 21 2009, 03:39 PM

6,112 posts

I have this to say on the issue of football and religion; that the two don't mix, just like polictics and sports. You will always get a handful of people who adopt "higher than thou" views and try to impose them upon others. Just like I think banning yoga is stupid, I think not supporting a football club that has "Carlsberg" emblazoned across the chest of their players is dumb.
Duke Red
post Jan 23 2009, 02:36 PM

6,112 posts

Not sure how true this is but it's interesting all the same.

JUVE WANT KUYT FOR £28M - REPORT

Juventus are ready to launch a £28m bid for Dirk Kuyt, according to frankly unbelievable reports in Italy.

Il Corriere Dello Sport claims that negotiations will begin next week as Juventus seek a replacement for Pavel Nedved.

The Czech star's agent Mino Raiola has told Juve that he will not accept a pay-as-you-play deal so the Old Lady have apparently turned to Kuyt instead.

Any bid would inevitably test the relationship between Liverpool boss Rafael Benitez and the club's American owners as Kuyt is clearly one of Benitez's favourite players.

That's quite a fair bit of money.
Duke Red
post Jan 23 2009, 02:47 PM

6,112 posts

Some of you may already have heard, but here it is anyway.

Kuwaiti billionaires line up £500m bid for Liverpool

Al-Kharafi family in discussions to buy Anfield club from American owners

By Ian Herbert
Friday, 23 January 2009

Liverpool are engaged in covert talks with one of the wealthiest families in Kuwait, with a view to the sale of the club. The Al-Kharafi family has a collective wealth put at around £8bn, with the most significant member involved in the prospective purchase of Liverpool understood to be Rafed Al-Kharafi, nephew of patriarch Nasser, who was linked with the potential purchase of Newcastle United last year.

Though it had been thought that Liverpool's current American owners, Tom Hicks and George Gillett, who have been seeking a new owner for months now, may have settled on a figure of £350m – the total sum of the club's debt – it is understood that they may secure £500m for a sale from the Kuwaitis.

Two of Hicks' key allies at the club, finance director Philip Nash and commercial director Ian Ayre, have been in Kuwait this week, ostensibly seeking finance for the stalled development of the club's new stadium and though it is as yet unclear whether the two – very much in the Hicks camp – have yet had direct discussions with the Al-Kharafis, the events of the week point to a move towards a sale. One possibly outcome is that that the Al-Kharafis might buy out the 50 per cent share of Hicks' co-owner George Gillett, comfortably the less well off of the two owners and deeply frustrated by the current struggle to settle manager Rafael Benitez's contract issue.

The money the Al-Kharafis could bring – made from the family's construction, engineering and telecommunications businesses – is vitally needed, with Hicks and Gillett having conceded weeks ago that they do not have the capital to progress the new stadium project and Benitez still forced to sell players before he can buy.

The prospects of a sale were looking slim with Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid al-Maktoum, the ruler of Dubai, now out of the picture. But there were rumours earlier this week that financier Amanda Staveley, who had brought al-Maktoum back to the negotiating table after their initial bid to buy Liverpool was dismissed in favour of the Americans in 2007, had become actively involved again in a prospective sale.

There are suggestions that Gillett has not been involved in the trip to Kuwait this week – and that he and Liverpool chief executive Rick Parry, an ally, have been kept out of the tentative discussions. But Gillett is the more likely to sell – and the Kuwaitis becoming minority shareholders is a possibility. Though Liverpool's current £350m bank facility was extended for six months earlier this year, there are doubts as to whether it will continue beyond then – with the two banks, Royal Bank of Scotland and Wachovia, both severely by the global financial crisis.

A £500m deal, to include taking on the club's debt, was all but agreed by one mystery buyer in the autumn but with a deal seemingly minutes away from signing, it went up in smoke for reasons which have never become clear. It now appears that the prospective buyers on that occasion were the Al Kharafis.
Now the first thing that comes to mind is of course whether or not we'll become another Man City. Well I bolded what I feel is an important point. Unlike rich oil Sheikh's that amassed their wealth through their country's natural resource, the Al-Kharafis are businessmen and let's hope that they will have a business model in place. This will hopefully ensure that we don't go around throwing huge wads of cash all over the place.
Duke Red
post Jan 23 2009, 03:10 PM

6,112 posts

Another good piece from Guillem Balague.

Duke Red
post Jan 23 2009, 04:01 PM

6,112 posts

Robben? Please no. He looks like a 60 year old and he's as frail as one as well. Look how he went down when Pepe tapped his cheek. Even Rafa could not contain himself and with a good dose of sarcasm remarked that they should have sent in an ambulance, the way he went down.

On the issue of Carlsberg going out the window if the Kuwaiti's come in what about Benayoun? How often as Ben Haim turned out for Man City under the new owners?

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jan 23 2009, 04:03 PM
Duke Red
post Jan 23 2009, 04:55 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Fyrekat @ Jan 23 2009, 04:26 PM)
Lotsa people who have the same religion practice things differently. Just because Muslims in Malaysia do things a certain way doesn't mean that's the way it is the world over.
I've not said much on the topic of religion but my 2 cents is that we should not confuse muslims who are a little more open, to those who preach that yoga is a practice that will deviate ones path. They aren't the same people. Extremists will find any reason to complain, it's what they live for.
Duke Red
post Jan 26 2009, 09:48 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(king_eric @ Jan 26 2009, 02:18 PM)
haha... already deciding who's your next opponents ??? better dun jinx urself ... it might be Everton VS Doncaster..
Apparently you missed the "IF" in his statement.
Duke Red
post Feb 2 2009, 10:44 AM

6,112 posts

Elated as I am having done the double of Chelsea, I'm not so sure we're better equipped than them to challenge the Mancs. Have we just done our bitter rivals a favour? Although we won the league title the last time we did the double over Chelsea, we certainly don't have the same cutting edge as the team back then and one wonders if we are capable of stringing together sequence of wins.

I'll summarise my thoughts:

Mike Riley
Had an abymsal game to be honest. Perhaps he's making up for all the times he ruled against us in favour of the mancs? Whatever it may be, I felt he was too impulsive in sending off Lampard. Although his studs were raised and his foot was high, so was the ball. At least Alonso didn't start writhing in pain like Kalou did when he went down under a nothing challenge.

Steven Gerrard
Was rightly booked for a blatant dive. Ok so maybe it wasn't all that blatant but he anticipated the contact and went down too early. A little gamesmanship from our captain? Is it a sign that the lads are feeling a tremendous pressure on their shoulders now that we are actually still challenging for the title at this point? In previous seasons we would already be out of it.

Jan Obi Mikel
Nothing much to say except that I found what Andy Gray said about him really funny. "I've never seen a player get so worked up over a nothing challenge". Well something to that effect anyway.

Bonsingwa
I've no idea how he got away with literally booting Benayoun off the pitch. For the benefit of those that didn't see the incident, Benayoun was shielding the ball near the touchline trying to run the clock down. Bonsingwa proceeded to place his boot on Benayoun's lower back and extended his leg, sending the Israeli sprawling forward off the pitch. Here's the kicker though, the ref awarded a free throw to Chelsea.

Martin Skrtel
Had a brilliant game IMO. His combination of pace and power kept Anelka really really quite. It isn't difficult to see why Dagger can't get a game.

ANFIELD
Did anyone notice how Anfield was absolutely buzzing last night? The fans didn't stop from start to finish and the decibel levels went through the roof. Legend says that when the odds are stacked against us, the 12th man that is the Kop can literally help by sucking the ball into the net. It's why we normally attack the Kop end in the 2nd half of games. Well was it divine intervention that helped us last night, or was it Mike Riley? smile.gif

Where are we now?
The obvious answer would be "2nd'. There is some consolation for Chelsea in that the mancs still have to host us and Arsenal at Old Trafford and there is every chance they may drop a couple of points at home. Also we cannot discount that fact that relegation threatened teams will fight like cornered animals come end of the season and even the big sides may find this old adage to be true; "it isn't the size of the dog in the fight, it's the size of the fight in the dog". We're 8 points better off than we were at this stage of the competition last season which is why we're 2nd. All things said and done, we're improving even if we don't win it this time round. I am certainly glad we led the pack for the first time at some stage this season but I can't realistically say I expect us to win is this time round, not yet.

Penang
OT. I'll likely be in Penang on Thur till Fri. You Northern blokes around?
Duke Red
post Feb 2 2009, 01:33 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(GulaV @ Feb 2 2009, 11:09 AM)
It's hard to be a Liverpool fan. Hated by everybody.. don't we?
It's a claim that I've seen Chelsea and Man Utd fans make as well to be honest. I'd like to think however that there is a distinction between hating a club, and hating it's fans. While it's understandable to hate or envy Man Utd and Chelsea for their success, it's unthinkable that anyone can envy our achievements in recent times, with the exception of Istanbul. So what is it then? Do they hate our club or do they hate us? I'm leaning towards the belief that older fans (watching football since the 70's/80's) would hate the club because of ths success we had. Younger fans just hate our fans for constantly reminding them who the most successful club in England still is, regardless of how long that still holds true for.

It can also be annoying to hear us talk about Liverpool fans all the time but little do they realise we're referring to our fans around the world, and not us. Why can't we be proud of how loyal and passionate our bethren are? They may question the fact that we think Liverpool have the best fans around but who cares what they think? It's what we think that matters? You don't be no. 1 by doing all you can to bring everyone else around you down to your level or lower. It all starts with belief, and as Napolean Hill said, "What the mind and conceive and believe, it can achieve". I have that belief, do you? Think back to Istanbul. Think back to how the club and the players always acknowlege the fans. Think about what other greats like Cruyff and Maradona say about our fans. Think about how despite losing to Chelsea in Cardiff, we set the record for loudest noise in a stadium, albeit only temporarily. I don't care what they think for I know we're loud and proud.

Added on February 2, 2009, 1:41 pm
QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Feb 2 2009, 01:13 PM)
peter cech? shaky? are you sure?
he was marvelous too as well. if not we would have gotten the lead early in the game.
I didn't think he was "marvelous". As Martin Tyler remarked, he didn't really have any difficult saves to make. Just to add, he did look a little rattled early on which led Martin Tyler to exclaim that he must be cold, as it was an unusually cold day given that it's near summer. He almost scuffed a shot from Mascherano early on.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Feb 2 2009, 01:41 PM
Duke Red
post Feb 2 2009, 05:20 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(jason991 @ Feb 2 2009, 04:11 PM)
haha...so now every ppl praise benitez back?
typical human nature...
Do you even have anything to back your statement up? I seriously am getting really tired reading such comments. So in your book, it's wrong to be happy we won if we aren't still totally convinced of Rafa's decisions. This should also then mean that it would be wrong for someone like you to cuss him if he gets us relegated, am I correct? Posts like yours suggest it's a cardinal sin to question Rafa. Tell you what mate, I rate constructive criticism over blind faith any time of the day and I think you'll come to find in time, that the former is more beneficial to one's personal development.

For the record, I still have doubts over Rafa's choice of tactics sometimes but that doesn't mean I won't celebrate if the club wins, afterall the club is what matters most, no?
Duke Red
post Feb 3 2009, 10:38 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Feb 2 2009, 05:49 PM)
not sure if i will be outstation but what's your plan? you're putting up at which part of Penang?
I'll probably be in Trader's Hotel. Have an event at City Bayview on Thur night but it's a simple dinner thing and I have to be there for formality really. Any idea where I can watch the game? Don't want to run the risk that the hotel won't have the channel.

QUOTE(Jonno @ Feb 2 2009, 06:36 PM)
Perhaps because monstar that lucky snot is there at the match? He went with Phil senior, Phil junior can't make it to the game. Boasted about it to me...  mad.gif  vmad.gif
Good for him lah. Phil's a season ticket holder right? **** must have got a really good seat man. Can just imagine him revelling in the atmosphere and singing his young lungs out. Bet he picked up a match programme as a souvenior as well.

QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Feb 3 2009, 02:04 AM)
robbie keane's off to tottenham, and bosingwa walks away scotfree from murder! and chelsea fans are yelling that we got decisions going our way, how laughable.
I get really annoyed when people claim we were lucky to have won. Put it this way, I an another few posters have always mentioned that you make your own luck. The more you try, the luckier you get, this is a fact. Try not having a single shot on goal and see if luck will bring you a goal. Why do you think some players opt to blast a free kick through a wall, knowing that chances of the ball hitting a player is really high? They are either hoping for a deflection or a small gap to open up as the wall jumps. Yes, there is a degree of luck involved but it would not have gone it had the player not made an attempt.

Did we get lucky against Chelsea? Well if we did it's because we pushed forward at every opportunity, not because Mike Riley sent Lampard off. Having said that, did they thank Rob Styles for "robbing" us of 3 points last season when Malouda launched himself into Finnan? Did they thank the ref for not awarding penalties in successive games when Tiago and Gallas both clearly handled in the box. It's a thing called karma mate.

Robbie Keane's sale was more a signal of intent than anything else from Rafa if you ask me. He didn't sanction the $20 mil purchase in the first place and it's common knowledge that he's asking for full control over the transfers of players, which is why he's holding out on his contract offer. I personally have no regrets over Keane leaving. He had a brilliant season at Spurs but average ones prior to that. In the end, his touch has seemingly deserted him at Anfield. To be fair though he's had to play either really deep or own his own with Torres out for much of the season. In either case, he was clearly a player that Rafa never wanted.
Duke Red
post Feb 3 2009, 11:53 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Fyrekat @ Feb 3 2009, 11:17 AM)
I'm more concerned about the timing of the sale than anything else. Even if Keane wasn't the player Rafa wanted, selling him now doesn't change anything beyond being a show of managerial muscle and signaling that he has the control of transfers. That will help come summer. It doesn't help in the run in towards May this year.
QUOTE(Monstar @ Feb 3 2009, 11:27 AM)
I think Rafa sold Keane for 2 reasons.

1) We would not be able to get a better offer during the summer.
I agree with Monstar's point. Keane may have done more this season than any of our other forwards but it's only because he's played in more games. Who knows if N'Gog or Babel may flourish if they received the same opporunities as Keane has?
Duke Red
post Feb 3 2009, 03:29 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(yfchin2 @ Feb 3 2009, 03:25 PM)
i couldnt agree with this..keane have his quality and he shown wat he can do in liverpool..but too bad RB get use to lone striker and keane only be used when torres is injured..when torres is fir,no matter how good is keane,he is to be benched.....
But isn't that a good enough reason to sell him? Each manager plays his own way and Rafa clearly is comfortable playing with only 1 recogniseable striker supported by wingers i.e. Kuyt & Riera. During his days with Valencia his favourite for the lone striker role was Mista and he was ably supported by the likes of Vicente, Aimar, Rufete, etc. Keane may or may not be good, but if he doesn't fit into Rafa's formation then best sell him while he's still worth a fair bit. The point I think Rafa is trying to make is that we should not just buy players, but players that are right for the club.
Duke Red
post Feb 3 2009, 04:00 PM

6,112 posts

Well it's obvious Rafa didn't sanction the purchase of Keane, for that amount anyway so evidently Parry does have a bigger say in the matter than you must imagine. Confrontations between managers and owners are nothing new which is why I'm surprised some are expressing doubt. Look at Mike Ashley and the fracas he created at Newcastle.

0.0537sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:04 PM