There is chances for me to fall asleep. But wouldn't stop me to get behind the team even on my bed.
If i can dream...
Liverpool Football Club- The Kop Talks 2009, Liverpool vs Pompey Sunday 0100
Jan 18 2009, 11:54 AM
2,358 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Siberia |
There is chances for me to fall asleep. But wouldn't stop me to get behind the team even on my bed.
If i can dream... |
Jan 18 2009, 11:54 AM
226 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Jan 18 2009, 01:18 PM
53 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: MMU Malacca |
REDS SIGN UP 'KACA'
Swedish midfielder Alexander Kacanaklic has signed his first professional contract with Liverpool Football Club. Kacaniklic was brought into the Academy in the summer of 2007 from Helsingborg and has performed well for the under-18 team this term. He also played for the Reds' youth side during their FA Youth Cup victory at Bristol Rovers in midweek. His new contract runs until June 2010. sos |
Jan 18 2009, 04:00 PM
4,503 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: The Far Away Venus Status: Being Insua-fied |
Jan 18 2009, 04:16 PM
4,503 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: The Far Away Venus Status: Being Insua-fied |
Rafa focused on title not contract
![]() Liverpool manager Rafa Benitez is more concerned with concentrating on the club's title challenge than discussing his contract issue, following his rejection of a new deal on Friday. The Spaniard turned down the offer of a new agreement with the Premier League club due to a disagreement with owners Tom Hicks and George Gillett over the control of transfers and youth policy. The development has left Benitez’s reign at Anfield in question with the 48-year-old non-committal over whether he will extend his current deal, which still has 18 months remaining. Hicks assured Liverpool fans shortly after the revelation on Friday that Benitez would be the coach of the Premier League leaders “for the next five years”, and he and Gillett are working hard to find a way around the impasse that has put the brakes on a renewed bond. Asked on Saturday morning whether he would put pen to paper on a new deal any time soon, Benitez was less forthcoming with his response than his employer. "I can say that I already have an agreement with one club and it is with Liverpool Football Club for one-and-a-half years," he said. "I was in contact with the owners with what was my idea and I explained why. I don't have any problems with the owners." Benitez is hopeful an amicable conclusion whereby he can commit himself to the club can be reached, he is just uncertain with regards to the timing of the negotiations. "Hopefully. But the first time they told me they wanted to talk about an extension I told them I wanted to do it in one week,” he said. "To do it for two months was not my idea and I don't want to do this so now I will finish and we will concentrate on football." Benitez wants control over transfers – which currently resides with chief executive Rick Parry – and this is believed to be the main stumbling point over negotiations of a new deal for him. Hicks expects to meet with the former Valencia coach at the end of the month to iron out the problems that have created this issue, but Benitez has refused to state whether contract negotiations are still ongoing. |
Jan 18 2009, 05:13 PM
1,658 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Spion Kop |
QUOTE(Oxigen @ Jan 17 2009, 09:39 PM) btw, I forgot to raise the question from the Anfield Tour last April on how do players travel during Merseyside Derby - do they wallk accross Stanley Park? -cheers- |
Jan 18 2009, 10:25 PM
Paper Talk
Rafael Benitez has vowed not to walk away from Anfield - if Liverpool's owners back down on his contract demands. Liverpool defender Jack Hobbs looks like staying at Leicester. Sami Hyypia has been earmarked for a Liverpool player-coach role. Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez has declared: "I will not walk out." Benitez expects Jermaine Pennant to join Portsmouth but says Daniel Agger is staying. Former Reds Robbie Fowler is set for talks with Queenslan Rafa Benitez reckons Daniel Agger is ready to turn his back on a move to Milan Liverpool are eyeing up a move for Sevilla left-back Fernando Navarro. |
Jan 18 2009, 10:57 PM
HUNT: WHY TORRES CAN LAND NUMBER 19
Roger Hunt believes the return of Fernando Torres can help fire Liverpool to their first title since 1990. The club's all-time leading scorer in the league is convinced the Spaniard will give Rafael Benitez's side the edge in the second-half of the season and is tipping his former team to end the campaign with championship number 19. "They can reclaim top spot if they beat Everton and this is the best chance they have had in a long time. I think they can win it and I think they will win it," Hunt said in an exclusive interview with Liverpoolfc.tv. "When Liverpool drop points the other teams don't seem to take advantage and with Torres now coming back to fitness, I expect them to go from strength to strength. "Fernando has had a stop-start season so far, but if he stays fit and gets his form back, then it can only benefit us because he has that extra bit of pace and ability to get a goal out of nothing. With him playing regularly up top, I think we'll have a great chance." Since his arrival from Atletico Madrid last summer, El Nino has developed a lethal partnership with skipper Steven Gerrard. It is an understanding Hunt feels could be crucial again this season, and he is also backing Robbie Keane to show his best form in the title run-in. "Torres has a very good understanding with Gerrard and I think that can be key," he said. "But it's not just Gerrard who can form a partnership with him. I thought when we first signed Keane that he would develop a good link with Torres because he is such a clever player. "Some say it hasn't quite come off yet, but I think Keane has shown glimpses of what he is capable of. He's scored some goals recently against the likes of Arsenal and Bolton and I think he can still have a big say in the latter stages of the season." http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N...090118-0928.htm |
Jan 18 2009, 11:28 PM
598 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jan 18 2009, 10:25 PM) Paper Talk I think Hypia staying in this season is the right thing to do. Isnt his testimony of a decades service to the club due this May ?Rafael Benitez has vowed not to walk away from Anfield - if Liverpool's owners back down on his contract demands. Liverpool defender Jack Hobbs looks like staying at Leicester. Sami Hyypia has been earmarked for a Liverpool player-coach role. Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez has declared: "I will not walk out." Benitez expects Jermaine Pennant to join Portsmouth but says Daniel Agger is staying. Former Reds Robbie Fowler is set for talks with Queenslan Rafa Benitez reckons Daniel Agger is ready to turn his back on a move to Milan Liverpool are eyeing up a move for Sevilla left-back Fernando Navarro. |
Jan 18 2009, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(hfi @ Jan 18 2009, 11:28 PM) I think Hypia staying in this season is the right thing to do. Isnt his testimony of a decades service to the club due this May ? If I m not mistaken, yes... Having him for the player-coach role reminds me of Gary Speed's role in Bolton...Probably the same idea of Sammy again? |
Jan 19 2009, 12:30 AM
QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jan 18 2009, 11:30 PM) If I m not mistaken, yes... Having him for the player-coach role reminds me of Gary Speed's role in Bolton...Probably the same idea of Sammy again? Yeah, i guess that depends on whether Hypia wants to continue playing at another club. I dont think Rafa will renew his contract but i do believe a coaching job is there for him to take. A once captain of the team, knows what we're about and is a true professional. Together with Pallegrino, their experience and contribution to football would definitely add more quality to the backroom personnel. |
Jan 19 2009, 12:36 AM
1,537 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Nintendo-Land |
QUOTE(hfi @ Jan 19 2009, 12:30 AM) Yeah, i guess that depends on whether Hypia wants to continue playing at another club. I dont think Rafa will renew his contract but i do believe a coaching job is there for him to take. A once captain of the team, knows what we're about and is a true professional. Together with Pallegrino, their experience and contribution to football would definitely add more quality to the backroom personnel. The bootroom boys i reckon... |
Jan 19 2009, 12:46 AM
Jan 19 2009, 01:21 AM
QUOTE(hfi @ Jan 19 2009, 12:30 AM) Yeah, i guess that depends on whether Hypia wants to continue playing at another club. I dont think Rafa will renew his contract but i do believe a coaching job is there for him to take. A once captain of the team, knows what we're about and is a true professional. Together with Pallegrino, their experience and contribution to football would definitely add more quality to the backroom personnel. Roy Hodgson did mention he was interested to sign hyypia so, it's not guarantee that hyypia gonna stay |
Jan 19 2009, 01:27 AM
545 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Where kiasu/kiasi lives |
Argh... Another 2 and a half hour to go... Must resist sleep...
Jan 19 2009, 01:28 AM
4,465 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Theatre of Dreams |
Jan 19 2009, 01:31 AM
Jan 19 2009, 01:37 AM
Jan 19 2009, 01:43 AM
I bet most of us are excited here. If we win, i'll be fresh awake for work, if not, cranky cranky...
| Change to: | 0.0402sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:42 AM |