empire23
post Jan 22 2009, 09:50 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(RBR @ Jan 22 2009, 03:54 AM)
In most states, you can convert your Malaysian licence to a full Australian licence.  However, you must still sit for the theory and practical test (no need to go through P-plates).  But if you do that, they will punch a hole in your Malaysian licence to invalidate it.  I have a hole in mine and I am wondering how I explain to JPJ when I want to renew that eventually wink.gif
Well, QLD doesn't punch holes in licenses. Got my Aus license, my taxi and limo license and they generally didn't care much about my old one except for the 3 years driving experience requirement, that they were anal about.

Anyone here sat for a Q-Ride test for the R class of License?

Added on January 22, 2009, 9:53 pm
QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 22 2009, 12:15 PM)
why should they destroy your other driving licence?........there is no rule that says one can only own one driving licence.......

in any case, oz allows dual citizenship, so there is no problem with someone having aussie and another country's passport........so i don't see what's the issue with a mere driving licence.....
Transport, no matter what the state are usually staffed by a bunch of cunts. Fact.

Best part about Malaysian licenses is the unlimited demerit point. In your face double point penalty tongue.gif

This post has been edited by empire23: Jan 22 2009, 09:53 PM
empire23
post Jan 25 2009, 03:25 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Back from Belmont, i drove back 150km and took an impressively giant shit (2 days worth lehhh...)

Now must upgrade license, get Permit to Acquire and get awesome USP. Now if only i could get a class R for a .50 Cal M2 laugh.gif

This post has been edited by empire23: Jan 25 2009, 03:26 PM
empire23
post Jan 25 2009, 08:25 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Jan 25 2009, 05:39 PM)
Hey , I asked UNSW about their postgraduate studies but their reply does not really clear my thought.

I saw in their website stating that the duration for postgraduate ( engineering ) is 1 year. However, I am aware that Australia degre is 4 years. However, I got a BEng from UK which is only 3 years. Therefore, Im not sure whether the duration for me would be different or not.  Anyone know about this ?

Also, I believe UNSW is the best engineering uni in australia. However is it also good for Electrical and electronic field ?

Update:

I just checked the requirement for master in UNSW

Master of Engineering Science

A recognised four-year Bachelor degree in an appropriate area of engineering with Honours 2/2 or equivalent or an average of 65% in performance over the final two years.

Graduate Certificate of Engineering Science

A recognised three-year Bachelor degree in engineering or science with an average of 65% in performance over the final two years. Graduates from a four-year science or engineering Bachelor degree who do not meet the entry requirements for the Master of Engineering Science will also be considered.

From what I see here, I will need to take certificate first before going for master if I were to apply using BEng from UK as it is a 3 year program. Can anyone tell me whether i interpreted it correctly ?

As a result, a total of 2 year needed if i apply using BEng from UK. God, I can get Msc in UK with only 1 year... Hmm..
Simple answer would be, no, you can't, you're technically not post grad to them and you will have to finish their undergrad studies, progbably 8 to 12 units and attain an Aussie BEng before moving on to an Aussie MEng. So in reality, it'll take you a total of 1 year (2 to 3 sems) + 1.5 years (3 Sems) to attain an Aussie MEng.

Currently using the Engineers Australia grading system you're still technically a Technologist and not a Professional Engineer.
empire23
post Jan 25 2009, 09:30 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Jan 25 2009, 09:12 PM)
Omg so it takes 2.5 years to complete the postgraduate in australia ? ... -.- thats crazy .... mmm I do aware that 3 year program will be referred as Technologist but Im not sure whether its referring to their own degree or all the degree out there.

Anyone could attest this ? ... izzit really 2.5 years to complete a Master in engineering if apply with BEng (Hons) from UK?
They will ask you to do more units to get up to the level of an Aussie 4 year degree. Honors is only awarded if you complete with a high CGPA which usually means you can jump to a full PhD. So generally Aussie honors can't be attained by merely grinding through 1 extra year.

You will be likely requested to do 1 year to get your degree up to Aussie BEng standard. Then the standard duration for an MEng after that is 1.5 years, shorter if you do research and are able to produce enough meaningful results to warrant exemptions, this HEAVILY depends on whether you kamcheng with you research supervisor and your personal level of performance. For a Coursework Masters. 1.5 years is standard.

So do the math, = 1.5 + 1 = 2.5

Add another few months while waiting for your research to be validated and accepted and that's 3 years generally. Welcome to Academia, take your seat on the neverending train of disappointment.
empire23
post Jan 25 2009, 10:46 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(TY_AA @ Jan 25 2009, 09:43 PM)
Hmm, maybe that's true. But I know someone with a Glasgow Eng degree that did his Masters in UNSW in 9 months. But then again, he had work experience between the 2 degrees.

This was in 1980s though. So it is very likely not the same now.

EDIT: According to this link Handbook
"Entry Requirements:    An Honours degree in engineering or a related discipline from a tertiary institution recognised by UNSW."

So I'm guessing your best bet is to send in your qualifications and see if your university is "recognised" by them or not.

And the Duration states 1.5 years. And 2 years for Electrical.
Work experience can help take up to 50 percent off most masters courses if you can prove that you've been doing research as part of your job.

And yeah, 1.5 years to 2 years is the standard here for a Masters, UK usually 1 year.

The degree will be recognized, but the thang is you'll get less exemptions, or a prior study condition.
empire23
post Jan 26 2009, 05:16 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(oceanblue123 @ Jan 26 2009, 02:58 PM)
Guys, talk is always easy. I am one of the victims when I first come to Melbourne. If I received this service then, I would have save myself heaps of money and time and effort.
I had no one here when I first arrived. I did meet a few friendly Melbournians, who guide me on directions to move around city. But I had been through terrible time to familiar myself with this city. Melbourne is a city designed in gird, but the directional signage and public transports are too confusing for me as well as a lot of my friends.
There are a few of my Juniors are coming over to Australia, if people like 'alwayshappy' and 'KVReninem' can kindly invested your time and effort to help them and accommodate them temporary (I can't take day off because most of them arrive on weekday, and my room is too small), that will be very much appreciated. Free of Charge of cause.
If any of you can kindly provide these services for free, can you please leave me a message and that actually prove that we do not need this Melbourne International Student Service.
Also, my advise too all new international students: Due to the economic cirsis spreading to melbourne now, a lot of people actually selling their house and rent. Besides, there are more and more migrant from China and India, it is really hard to find cheap renting without knowing people. Guys, before you comment on settlement in Australia is such a stress free process, you better watch up what you said. You may end up getting new students in trouble.

Anyways, Happy New Year to all of you.
I believe in the adage of "you're an adult, sort it out". When asked by my parents what was my plan when i arrived in Aus, i simply said, "i'll figure it out when i get there". Plus i didn't even buy a map, all i got was some shitty bus route map of Brisbane and the rest was just up to imagination. I have never regretted the choice i made, sure it's hard, but it does teach you the fundementals early on. And no the directions on aussie signs are pretty much clear as long as you have a decent command of english, it's not even hard lah.

And yes, alot of us students do actually accomodate juniors temporarily while they're looking around, they pay their share of rates and i'm happy and of course, don't bloody masturbate in my bed, that's for me to do tongue.gif. The only opinion i'm offering is that people should learn to go on their own, that's why you come out this far, to get an education and not necessarily a totally academic one at that. Best advice i can give potential students is to roll with the punches, and take everything as a learning experience.

Come to think of it, it was all in good fun i swear laugh.gif
empire23
post Jan 30 2009, 03:51 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Hay guys, i wanna start a definitive guide on doing Australian paperwork, from taxes, to licenses and even medicare forms. Hope you guys can contribute.
empire23
post Mar 18 2009, 03:05 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Anyone got their Stimulus cheques yet?

I'm waiting for the ATO to refund by GST and send me 900 dorrars which i will use to stimulate the firearms industry.

Anyways i heard that the Govt is offering GST deductions for ABN holders who use the car for legitimate work purposes, anyone got a indepth look into that?

This post has been edited by empire23: Mar 18 2009, 03:10 PM
empire23
post Mar 18 2009, 09:28 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Mar 18 2009, 08:01 PM)
how do you claim gst? wink.gif
Most people can't but since i collect GST i can claim lower GST sales in my BAS via deductions.
empire23
post May 5 2009, 10:21 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ May 5 2009, 08:39 PM)
Hey guys, anyone staying in Rockhampton ? Just wanted to know how Capricornia College is .
I haven't stayed there, but i've made a visit while cruising the The Bruce. It's basically quite decently developed, you'll find nearly everything you need except a nightlife there, something like Toowoomba. The only catch is that unlike me, you don't have the luxury of driving down to brissy or the coast tongue.gif

0.0441sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:29 AM