Studying in Australia (V 3.0), Read front page or be prepared for warn

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 20 2009, 08:03 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Jan 20 2009, 06:22 PM)
really? i was there for 4 years and used my malaysian license. of course polis never stopped me. soooo i dunno if i was legal or not hahaha. but yeah my uni said it was ok. check online. or call your uni counselor
Luckily you never have to make a insurance claim or brushes with the law. Otherwise you will really get to know whether it's ok or not.
SUSOptiplex330
post Feb 1 2009, 09:20 AM

12,696 posts

They specializes on student travel and air ticket from them are given 30-kg luggage allowance. And I find their online web search for cheap fare pretty efficient.

http://www.msl.travel/Public/Default.aspx

SUSOptiplex330
post Feb 1 2009, 11:19 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(quantum @ Feb 1 2009, 09:26 AM)
any students travelling overseas with MAS are automatically given 30kg provided you book the correct type of ticket. Remember to inform your travel agent
What is this "correct type" of ticket? I always thought there is only 1st class, Business Class and Economy Class. Is there such thing as Student Class to qualify for 30-kg?

SUSOptiplex330
post Feb 1 2009, 12:14 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(QuackSilver @ Feb 1 2009, 12:08 PM)
yup. not too bad myself at the moment. ouch that sucks
what he meant by "correct type" of ticket is a student ticket which is basically just an economy class ticket but has more luggage allowance
I do not know such student ticket even exist. I have a student friend who bought MAS ticket and he has to write letter to MAS HQ to seek increased luggage allowance. Another has to resort to begging the check in counter to carry 30-kg. Hence my asking, what "correct ticket"?

Whereas if buying ticket from MSL, 30-kg is automatically given to every student on every airline. You only have to prove you are a student by qualifying for a RM20 international student card. RM20 is nothing when I found out airline charges RM175 per kg for excess luggage to UK.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Feb 1 2009, 12:20 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Feb 3 2009, 08:29 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(alwayshappy @ Feb 3 2009, 06:21 AM)
Customs will not be going to check anyone's laptop/ hard disk drive. The machine will scan through your baggage, if there is nothing quarantined stuff inside, it's ok. As long as you do not bring any quarantines stuff, the check-out inspection process is pretty fast.
I would not want to bring pirated software installation disc with me through their custom. But I think it's perfectly ok if you have it installed inside your computer because nobody is gonna check what's installed. The chance of them doing that is 1 in a million.

SUSOptiplex330
post Feb 3 2009, 11:15 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 3 2009, 08:43 AM)
they are NOT interested in contraband softwares lah.......they are looking for
1.drugs
2.explosive/bombs
3.plant and animal parts that may bring in diseases to affect their agriculture
I would not want to risk it with contraband software in my luggage. I have heard of a case whereby they did grill a person carrying them through custom. Western countries are much more serious about these thing. Would you want to risk that? I wouldn't.

SUSOptiplex330
post Apr 12 2009, 11:19 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 9 2009, 07:38 PM)
swt =.="
is ur course good in monash uni?
monash is 1 of the Go8...
how to ans ur ques?

Added on April 9, 2009, 8:57 pmbtw any1 know wat place at melbourne can "yam cah" at late nite beside hungry jack or other fast foods?
sometime feel boring at home then wan go out to have a tea
Why is GO8 considered good? Is it because they are good academically or because they are big or because they are old?

In other words, what are the criteria for being in GO8?

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 19 2009, 09:31 AM

12,696 posts

Here is a nice site providing historical currency records. What I liked best is the "Long Term Charts" on the left hand side of the panel. There you can plot graph to give you a better pictures of trend.

Looking at A$ vs RM. I reckon it will not go pass 3 to 3.10 as has happened in 2003, 2005, 2007 & 2008 and now 2009. Since it has never gone higher than 3.10, I don't think it will do so this time as well. In other words chances of it going down is higher than going further up. Just my 2 sen.

http://www.ozforex.com.au/

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 19 2009, 05:19 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 19 2009, 12:32 PM)
much of the fluctuations between myr and aud hinges on the fluctuations between aud and usd.......remember, till 2006, the myr was pegged to the usd.........

based on current value of myr vs usd, it is unlikely the myr-aud rate will go significantly more than the current 3.1 or so........however, if there is intrinsic weakness in the myr, it can go beyond 3.1.........

whatever, it would seem that now is a bad time to convert myr to aud, as it is near its historical high.......parents/students should have hedged the funds 1st quarter 2009 when it was at a near historical low........
I believe hedging is for big companies etc so how do a typical parent hedge except to buy AUD straight away

0.0458sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:24 AM