Studying in Australia (V 3.0), Read front page or be prepared for warn

-Jonathan-
post Feb 7 2009, 01:41 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Feb 6 2009, 08:25 AM)
So I presume you showed them documents at the check-in counter?
Actually, not as daft as it sounds. One of my friends got a hair cut kit for Christmas, and I do know people who have not stepped into a barber in yonks, simply because cutting hair is damn expensive in Australia. As people have mentioned, prices average about $10-15 for a simple cut. Still cheaper to buy a kit and cut yourself.

For guys, probably get used to longer hair than you would in Malaysia. For gals............any gals want to chip in something for the front page?
Speak of the devil

That's a 2 years span of NOT cutting my hair. And yes, not even layering nor anything affiliated with the slight modification to my hair. It's not because things are expensive here, but it's just not getting the right mind set to have it chopped off. Furthermore, company and customers doesn't feel that much offended speaking to someone that has a hair that fairly resembles a working professional. That's the working culture i've come to accept.

On a more fairly loose term, i've been reading previous posts and i do find it offensive that some of you planning to come down under have the thought of bringing every single damn thing just because of the fear of spending that extra nickel. Toilet rolls, Reams of A4 papers, thongs, undies, and every single damn thing that you spent around RM20 in Malaysia and going to spend less than AUD10 here. The mentality of penny wise pound foolish needs to be tagged on the forehead for some of you.

Yes, food is expensive here, but that doesn't mean you've got to ship the whole box of instant noodle or seasoning to Australia. I swear for every time i hear people even thinking of bringing food over, i'd get enough nickel to sink Singapore.

This post has been edited by -Jonathan-: Feb 7 2009, 01:51 PM
-Jonathan-
post Feb 7 2009, 02:27 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 7 2009, 02:21 PM)
haha.
How are you surviving with the heat? thumbup.gif
the same way i've been surviving with my equal hot girlfriend.
With my pants down.

and air cond
-Jonathan-
post Feb 8 2009, 09:22 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Feb 8 2009, 12:27 PM)
Which one is you and which one is your girlfriend?

As for me, I can't stand long hair, so every 5-6 months I throw in the towel and shave my head. Its not too bad in winter, but in summer I can't sleep with the mass of hair being one nice heat pack.

After doing the math, I find that fresh food is not much more expensive, and sometimes actually cheaper in Australia. Naturally kaya is going to cost more than Malaysia, but what's wrong with Nutella?

You cannot come to another country and live like what you did in Malaysia. Yes, I do miss kolo mee, but I actually have taken a liking to Beef pies (just make sure you have tissues at hand). I can't stand it when I see ethnic Chinese (Malaysian, Singaporean, Hong Kong, Taiwanese, China Chinese) eat their excessive soup noodles with newspaper under the bowl and bones scattered all around. Especially when they never bother to clean up.
While I can understand bringing in supplies for the first 1-2 days, 4-5 days is probably a bit much. Woolies and Coles is not that far away. My first meal in Australia on the evening I landed was Red Rooster.
I know where your mind is set on Haya. and yes, i'm the one on the left, though you just needed the confirmation from me.

To each their own. I'd go commando to relief some air than to shave my head.

Suggestion #1 : Once you reach Australia, assuming you coming in fresh with no affiliation, head down to the nearest supermarket (Coles/Safeway(Woolworths)) and get yourself some fresh pack of biscuits, bread with spreadings. Anything after 6, or in some places, 8, your in for a hard time looking for food. Give yourself a couple of days to settle down and get cooking utensils, but in the mean time, don't save up on food. Spend a little more to fill your stomach and enjoy your first extraordinary stay in Australia. Only once you've settled down, then you start cooling off your expenses and tightening your belt.

Some maths for you freaks if paranoia is your middle name.

I came to Australia with $2000 cash on hand. That lasted me a month and probably 4 days. I threw in another 1.5k the next month to get all the necessary things to kick start a LIFE. That includes cooking utensils, printers, washing machine and all other jamborees you define in life.

The first 1-3 months, i find it really hard to control the expense. And yes, i came alone with no contacts whatsoever.

Once everything settled down, $1000 is the max i went, with an inclusion of $650 for rent. So you do the maths.

Monash Clayton, staying in Clayton, with regular trips down the City for the usual "OH im a tourist look at me"

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Feb 8 2009, 01:12 PM)
LOL... mee list. And yeah you won't find mee hun kueh here also...

kolo mee = 干捞面, similar to your dry wantan mee.

Sarawakian's kolo mee is probably different though.
pony tail... sweat.gif not my type... my head will be on fire. tongue.gif

I find it more offensive to label people with the mentality of a scrooge. It's not foolish to bring all those stuff to Australia provided that your baggage allowance is sufficient. Of course, reams of A4 paper and toilet rolls won't save you much due to the weight and bulk; and it'll be dumb to attempt to ship one's entire room over from Malaysia.

But if one's able to bring boxes of food over, by all means do it. The price of noodles/wheat/rice products in Aust. have soared crazily since last year, and if one's able to save 50-100 ringgit by doing so, why not? A 200g Nescafe powder costs RM10+ per packet back home, it's probably almost double the price over in Australia after conversion... so if you bring 10 bags which only amounts to 2kg you'll save approx RM100. A hundred bucks may not seem much, but it's still parents' hard-earned money.

Choose wisely about the stuff you pack.... and don't forget the 7kg hand luggage which often excludes your laptop. A grand total of 37kg is bloody enough. And please, don't chug your textbooks along, zap 'em from your library.

Like I said, if anyone has spare weight in the baggage especially the 30kg student allowance, fill it up with stuff that you'll be able to save money with. With all the clothes and toiletries and miscellaneous necessities, chances are you'll amount to around 24, 25kg with 5 more to go; might as well put it to good use by bringing stuff you can't find in Aust /you'll be able to save money with instead of wasting it.

LOL at the nickel sinking S'pore comment though, but when you think that Sporeans are now able to spend 1:1 with their SGD while our ringgit is still shit as ever, you can't smile anymore sad.gif
I'm sorry darling, i find it offensive that you label people labeling other people as a scrooge. Furthermore, the derivation of labeling is only correct when it's finite. That's a mere assumption done up there.

Scrooge is a big word to put in there. Offensive might i add. Mine was mere poking at the state of paranoia some have just because everything in Australia is multiplied by 2.3xxxx.

I mean, C'MON, i came to Australia worried about not bringing enough clothings, and there i had people poking fun of me thinking that i was going to live in a third world country.

With 27 or 37, whatever the weight limit is for a student, it's a very very small amount when we come think of it.
Let's bring some logic into this whole thread. This is all about Studying in Australia. Yes, we give the benefit of doubt that we've spawned lots of information and has helped students enrich their trip here. But ultimately, it's all about studying.

I'd rather spend those weight bringing text books, save hundreds in Malaysian ringgit then to worry about spending the extra nickel just in case food costs RM60. Well, yes, initially if you venture outside for food, it's going to cost at least AUD10, but i am a firm believer that you should enjoy the first week or two and then start to be vary of what you spend later on. I've seen people bring boxes of instant noodle, and spam it a couple of days only to know that it's not the way to do it at the start. Later on, once the exam kicks in, and the stress of a relationship begins to develop, an instant noodle or two will help. But then again, a box of instant noodle (20 packs, 30 packs) is only AUD10.

If there's one thing i would love to have when i was here first time, would be to hug my bolster every.single.night. And yes, in my few years here, i still haven't had the luck, of finding a shop that sells bolster. SO BRING YOURS!

This post has been edited by -Jonathan-: Feb 8 2009, 09:29 PM
-Jonathan-
post Feb 10 2009, 09:05 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

I'm due to be up in Brisbane for a business trip this week or early next week. I would like to spare time to meet up for lunch (maybe) or even for dinner. That is..if anyone in Brisbane is interested.

I'll have a few other business trips to Sydney, NZ and Singapore, so if i match the names to faces, that'd be great.

-Jonathan-
post Feb 18 2009, 05:50 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Feb 18 2009, 02:11 PM)
The ultimate irony is that gunpowder is put in the same controlled item list as maps. But there is no shortage of people able to obtain gunpowder during the festive seasons. Getting detailed maps in Malaysia is near impossible.

Not sure where Google gets their street data from through, but it is reasonably accurate.
No shit.
I keyed in SS15 to Thailand, and the huge long list of directions were returned.

Zoom into KL's road system, all you see is interconnected spider web

Zoom into Melbourne's road system, you see very symmetrical boxes.

As a tourist, just bring in any small map. Carrying a Melway while walking does not help but put a label on your forehead. Put in some effort if you know where you are going, just head to google map and type in the location. You can't go wrong there. I don't own a GPS or Melway, but every time i'm supposed to drive up to somewhere i know before hand, google map's been the most trusty tool ever conceived. Yes, even the distance were pin point accurate.

0.0505sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:03 AM