The All New Honda City 2009 Official Thread v2, compiled by mikelee

tillerman
post Jan 27 2009, 10:17 PM

32 posts

I experienced below:

-Engine sound seems quiet to me. Whenever you driving up to a narrow hill or even speeding in any car, engine

sure sounds bad smile.gif

-NHC is a bumpy car, perhaps is an disadvantage but this car is good and stable when your make sharp corner

compare to Vios which is not bumpy and doesn't seems as stable as NHC. Need to check with SA and technician

about this, as bumpy make too much uncomfort feel!!!

-NHC air condition doesn't cool up the car faster, will complain to my SA about this.

-NHC wiper washer nozzles which shoot out soap for front windscreen, it is sharp! BECAREFUL whenever you

washing your car, I cut my thumb finger while washing this car. Again complain to SA.

-Fuel consupmtion: So far the most is 14.9km/l average! Is this good? How far can you car go with full tank?

So far 400KM and highest speed is 110km/l as I use to go in NKVE for a full tank pump max range. Should we

wait till 5000KM or second service which it may have better FC? Will make some complains for my first service

as even they said is it just checking and not changing anything. Vios E specs is 110KG ligther than NHC E spec

sad.gif where does this weight come from?

-The sound system is nice & sharp. Just sit and enjoy the audio system while driving :-))

- Tinting: I am using V-Kool Elite. Doesn't seems promising as the heat from the Sun still feel hot. 98% UVR &

94% IRR??? How come it still feel hot? I experienced bad customer service and technician expertise is not as

good as I expected when they setup this film. Even after I asked them to redo all windows, I found dust or

sand which stuck in the tinting, wonder is this normal as they told me that in any tinting is 90% dust free

(The best they can do??) and they said their V-Kool film is much more ticker compare to others so it is

difficult to ensure 100% dust free? After they redo for all window, I was happy until the next day when I wash

my car I found the main windscreen at front still have bubble and soap spot in it!!! so Piss OFF! X(

ARrrgghhhh....!!! I will get back to them to redo for me again!

-Tyre pricing for NHC 16" which is using Good Year. Hmm, still can't get it market, as I ask few tyre shop,

and they told me that this model is specially manufacture for NHC and the price is RM200++. Wonder anyone have

more idea about this?

-Alarm, really low sound. I hardly can hear it when I was sitting in my house or in a car with engine started.

Why dun they include the honk + alarm which is same as Vios? I have checked with SA and technician, and they

confirmed that no adjustment can be done on this car alarm? Anyone have any idea on this? No alarm sound will

be intiated whenever you open your car boot or open your car door with your keys, this is same with Civic. but

motion move when will trigger your car alarm.

-Rear car seat can be lower\ narrow it down to a better position for lying down and sit with comfort. Front

seat is just nice as it does support your back, make me feel relax when driving.

-Viewing when driving: Rear and front is hard to judge, as I can't see anything, may be installing a front

sensor which altis or good car have will help.

-I do not find any slipped at rear bumper for now.

-Accessories: Modulo body kit can be get outside in any accessories shop. Some of the accessories shop told me

that the modulo grill might be available after CNY or next 1 or 2 month ahead. BUT keep in your mind that any

installation which involve wiring cutting or replacing will VOID your car warranty such as installing the sill

plate which have led in any accessories shop will make you say BYE BYE to your warranty. Always check with

service center for warranty term and conditions, not with your SA as salesman will say anything to earn money.

Thats all for now. Hope more sharing from you guys smile.gif

tillerman
post Jan 27 2009, 11:56 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Jan 27 2009, 10:35 PM)
Good review there tillerman. About the tint, my dad has the same tint and there was no dust or bubble from the first day. Anyway, give it 2 weeks to fully dry and if u see dust or trapped bubbles, go back to them.
hmm, actually after changing all screen window still manage to get to spot out few minor dust. The most obvious is at front ant rear. I still feel that not satisfy.

When you said look for them back, which v-kool service center you are refering to that your father car dun find such problem for v-kool tinting? I fixed mine at Jalan Meru Klang, Klang, Selangor. wonder how can I totally not get any problem like dust, bubble or soap spot that they did not fix this problem even after redo?

This post has been edited by tillerman: Jan 28 2009, 12:01 AM
tillerman
post Jan 28 2009, 12:12 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(sebaver @ Jan 27 2009, 10:57 PM)
Clocked up about 800 km on my new baby already, and this is what I have to report on my car...

1. Fuel consumption - City driving = 11.2km/L...  Highway driving = 15.3km/L. The best I could manage was 17.1km/L at one point. hehe..

2. Ride is a little too bumpy for my liking, but car feels quite stable when taking sharp corners at speed.

3. The rubber lining outside the car at the top my front windscreen is coming off, i just noticed it a while ago. Managed to fiddle with it a little and tuck it back in. Will complain to my SA.

4. Engine seems is quite noisy, not sure if its because the engine hasn't "break in", or poor sound dampening. Engine is quite silent if u tap gently on your accelerator/at lower speeds, but when you try to overtake or when you climb steep hills, the engine sound becomes very obvious.

5. No complaints on the cooling of the air-conditioning - yes it still can't beat my old Wira in terms of cooling effect, but its good enough for me. And yes, as chris_x mentioned, yes, its a little loud at 3rd / 4th speed.

6. I'm not sure if my alarm is working. Will have to check with technician / SA. I've tried doing what tai kor andyjyneo suggested - i.e; sit in the car, activate alarm and start moving - I can't seem to hear anything... Or is it the alarm is too soft to be heard?!? blink.gif

7. In D mode, gear response is pretty satisfactory.

8. In S mode, there seems to be a slight time lag when using the paddle shifters. It takes maybe 1-2 secs before u feel the gears change.

9. Agreed with tillerman - the rear and front driving view is hard to judge despite a week driving my car.

10. I went to quickly check my bumper after reading bro chris_x's comment on his slipped bumper - it's still pretty much in tact, thank god.!
My question and opinion:

- What is the total range you can go for one full tank pump? How much is your one fuel tank pump?
- Anyone have the best way to have highest FC? I was wondering that is NHC possible to beat to beat IDSI which make record of 26.9KM/L? If it isn't, it should at least make it to near 21km/l to 24km/l
- Sharp corner is stable!
- The rubber lining is peeling off too. I forgot to state this just now. Will complain to my SA too sad.gif
- Honda website and advertisement promises better aircond feature such as quietness and faster cooling compare to previous gen, but doesn't sound promising. No matter how will complain to my SA.
- For the alarm you have to wait for a momeny till it be initiated 10 to 15 seconds, then you will find it working. No matter how soft it was when u stand outside of the car or sitting inside this car you will still hear it.
- Wonder if anyone facing problem when driving up to hill when. When you stop your car up toward a hill, which your car is narrow up, in D mode gear, anyone car start dropping back? Heard from one of my friend having this problem. So far I just tested in normal hill not those Genting type. Heard that this is because NHC is too heavy 1140 for S spec and 1160kg for E spec.
- S mode eat up a lot of fuel. Lagging for 1 seconds will take, may be this is because of DBW tech???
- Yes rear and front is really crazy man!! Possible if can get front sensor will be good : ) but still we have to wait till warranty is over.

Added on January 28, 2009, 12:17 am
QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jan 28 2009, 12:07 AM)

2. Your fuel consumption is good. You should be able to achieve 480km on a full tank easily. If it's on highway, I think hitting 600km also no problem.

3. The front parking sensor for the Altis isn't good but isn't as sensitive as I like it to be. If you want to get front sensors, I suggest u get 4 cell version as those will be more sensitive.
I feel that in city driving it is painful. FC is not efficient. I never hit 480km range, but the most is 400 +- Km ( this is adding up city and highway driving~~ so sad) cry.gif

4 Cell version? hmm, wonder if install this kind of accesories will void warranty? I believe that it involve a lot of wiring. Do you or anyone have any idea on pricing and information about this? I saw once on Mercedes E class of my friend car, the sensor was good and they have light indicator on this Merc dashboard drool.gif

Hope to hear more from you guys thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by tillerman: Jan 28 2009, 12:17 AM
tillerman
post Jan 28 2009, 01:15 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(sysh @ Jan 28 2009, 12:40 AM)
Think after we pool all the niggles and minor problems that we have experienced with the City, we should write / type in to Honda Malaysia so that they can rectify this problem for the next batches..and in the mean time, repair the 1st batch. Anyhow these things are quite normal. The price you pay for being in the exclusive '1st batch'
Good idea. Anyone have the idea how to do this and how to make it effective. I believe there were much more problem yet to come, just need time to explore around, but last time I heard that we need to make a team or a big group before they can actually or focus on our complains.

Added on January 28, 2009, 1:33 am
QUOTE(bluesky87 @ Jan 28 2009, 01:13 AM)
Any idea how do we know when they're producing second batch and we're getting second batch? From the SA? HM?

By the way guys there is a question I wanted to ask long ago, why is there necessary to cover up our number plate when posting picture? Mind explaining please?
No idea on that. For the car plate, hidden means, the necessity of privacy. : )

This post has been edited by tillerman: Jan 28 2009, 01:33 AM
tillerman
post Jan 28 2009, 01:58 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Jan 28 2009, 01:50 AM)
Hi All, thanks for the input & comments. This thread is really useful as I'm considering the new City too. So far based on the info in this thread, below are common problems raised.

1) Engine loud when press hard
2) Floating feeling
3) Aircond noise high or not cold fast enough
4) Alarm too soft / no panic alarm button

Just curious. Before the new City, what car are you guys driving?
For 42 litres petrol tank, I think 450-500 kms is not bad at all.
I believe after the engine has run-in, hitting 600kms is possible?
There are few more consideration:
- Unstable RPM when going up hill
- Recommendation of V-Kool as their authorized tinting is not a good idea, as I have face bad service and bad manner in talking to me and customers. Found dust and end result of tinting were not fine (even after redo the whole car), as there were bubble and soap stain in tinting film (Somemore it was at front screen, image this!)
- Bumpy feeling.
- Dangerous Wiper washing nozzle which shoot out soap to your front screen as it was sharp
- plastic\ rubber at top is peeling off by itself.
tillerman
post Jan 28 2009, 10:17 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jan 28 2009, 09:24 AM)
1. Typical characteristic of all engines
2. Typical for Japanese cars
3. Check with service center
4. Check with service center

For heavy footers - the car should still average 430km. Normal drivers should have 460 ~ 480km range. Careful drivers can probably stretch it to 520km. When you engine runs in, fuel economy should improve but to hit 600km, that's a little far fetched unless you're going highway all the time.

I'd like to add that any car will work harder when going uphill so don't be surprised to see the RPM jumping because of constant gear switches. And whether if it's a BMW or Merc, if you rev the car to 4k RPM, the engine noise is going to be audible, it's just a matter of how much firewall and sound insulation has been done to isolate that sound.
RPM is really unstable when going up hill. You can try to ue Waja VS NHC. I tried few time. Btw, when does "engine run in" is consider run in? Floating? Wonder is it that you driving too fast when you have that feel, so far I am ok with it. Air Cond and alarm really is a problem! We really need to find way to contact Honda Malaysia, service center outlet doesn't help much as they blame it was production problem which is they can't do much. so sad! cry.gif and so angry! vmad.gif
tillerman
post Jan 28 2009, 02:07 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(sebaver @ Jan 28 2009, 10:43 AM)
-- S mode eating up a lot of fuel? Not too sure about that... Whilst in S mode i try not to rev my engine to >3k RPM, cos the engine's still new. Correspondingly, the fuel consumption indicator shows that my consumption in S mode is in the range of 14-16km/L when i engaged in S mode.
- I think by the time you wait till your warranty period is over, you should be able to estimate your car's front + back dimension's pretty well.! hehe
with S mode you can still runing with 14-16km/l? what is your speed?
After warranty is too long to really estimate my car front and rear.
tillerman
post Jan 30 2009, 03:52 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(W.ROOK @ Jan 30 2009, 02:28 PM)
Welcome to the Family! rclxms.gif

Added on January 30, 2009, 2:33 pm
The New 308 really tempting.  drool.gif
But one major concern about these contis...maintanance.
Other than that I really like the car.
Yupe biggrin.gif

Consider which car have higher resale value, low FC and easily obtain spare parts is best for Malaysian.
tillerman
post Feb 2 2009, 12:41 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Feb 1 2009, 11:42 PM)

Tried purposely with Garmin Nuvi and Smart Tag when entering Smart Tunnel... No issues with that...
Wow, nice device u have there : )

I just using my hp it self N82 with Garmin software : )
tillerman
post Feb 3 2009, 03:55 PM

32 posts

Sigh, second visit to V-Kool service center at Meru Klang. Bad service and manner when talk to me, as they giving reluctant action to change the main win-screen at front which contain soap stain. Forcing me talk impolite and make sure they do it correctly. After changing everything look nice and my eye feel ease with clean win screen. The only thing that they siad to me was that the dust-free capability when they installing is just 90% dust free, other 10% is subjective to the enviroment winds and dust flying around. How unreasonable!

Tmr I will be going to service my car 1000KM service, but my car reached 1.5k KM and a lot of complain to be made:
-Double top rubber is peeling off
-Front left door have improper paint finishing
-Front bumper have tiny scratches when I get my car.
-High FC even when driving slow with low RPM(1.5RPM to 2RPM & speed max to 110). highest AVG KM\L is 15.7km. Max TRIP to go is below 400KM/L. Wonder what was the problem that causing this HIGH FC.
-When pulling hand brake and stop up a narrow hill, car still slip down.
-Car allignment.(Was told by SA that within 3000KM allignment and balancing is still FOC, check with your service center)
-Air condition is not cooling and hot at rear seat, took long time to cool up the whole car space.
-Air condition sound is loud when you switch to your air condition to blow at face and foot.
-RPM unstable when going up hill.
-Car is bumpy. Guys is this common to your car?
-Tyre sound is loud when driving at highway. Was told that this is because of our NHC specially designed tyre which is 195 Good Year 16". I can't this tyre outside for now, and heard from few tyre shop that this type of tyre is expensive.

Guys, which center you feel the best in term of efficiency, quality, friendlines and customer service?

Heard that USJ Subang is really good? I currently facing some problem with some service center in term of customer service and SA friendliness.
tillerman
post Feb 3 2009, 04:51 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(LunaCry @ Feb 3 2009, 04:24 PM)
I think ur front bumper scratch cannot complain since u drove the car on the road de...
Before i drove my car out of the dealer showroom, I checked through and manage to inform them and make them to take picture : P

Hope tomorrow will settle my problem else will try to contact honda malaysia calling 1800 88 2020 for further advice for my complains.

Added on February 3, 2009, 4:52 pm
QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Feb 3 2009, 04:16 PM)
That's why I boycotted V-Kool after incidents again and again happened to my and my family's cars.
learned the mistake.next time. go for other tinting X((

This post has been edited by tillerman: Feb 3 2009, 04:52 PM
tillerman
post Feb 5 2009, 07:34 PM

32 posts

Send to my car for 1k KM service. So far nothing been change but they did fix my complain:

-Tyre sound. Unable to fix it is from the Good Year tyre.
-At top of the car, we have two line of right hand side and left hand side of plastic. This two is peeling of by itself. They said that it cause by the clip is not fix properly. They have ordered for my car, will wait for their news.
-Car allignment for 2nd time, the car allignment is fixed for free as long as your car does not exceed 3000KM trip.
-Air conditioning not cold enough. They have change the compresor and ensure the gas for air con is full and new. Improve air conditioning.
-Aircond sound. This is unable to fix due to it manufacturing defaulted setting. They tested on new batch of NHC and the first batch of NHC, when both tested, blowing on foot and face the sound is kind of annoying. Hope that Honda Malaysia will get some bug fixing for this problem.
-Engine high FC. They have resetted and tune the FC by computer. I do not know how they did it but, they said its done. I will try out and see whether the FC really improving. Still they said FC will improve after 5k and 10k KM trip services.
-My bumper with some stone hit deep into bumper during delivering the car to me. They fixed my bumper by redo paint job on the whole bumper (Front). Everything is as good as new.
-Car is bumpy. This can't be fixed but however they tried to reduce the bumpy feel by doing something, so far felt better.

Hope no more problem after this. Cross my finger XD

tillerman
post Feb 6 2009, 01:22 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(sysh @ Feb 6 2009, 12:12 AM)
I think my car alignment isn't all that good either. Think it's pulling slightly to the left. Think when I go for the 1k service, I'll ask them to check on that.

What are you getting for your FC previously. I'm barely maintaining 14km / liter in 70% city-traffic jam driving. I don't know whether it's good or not.

Question: How'd you get the front-seat (rear) aircond blowers to work? I'm not one to read manuals, and it's in the glove compartment now..so can't check? Which setting on the dial should it be? Cos I can't feel it blow at all..
14km/l = 1.8/14= RM0.12/KM which is good thumbup.gif

To test full tank pump try:
Try to pump ur petrol when ur E light is up to full tank. Reset ur TRIP and this will also reset the AVG for KM/L. Start your journey till the E light is turn back on. Check ur TRIP total, then let say ur TRIP is 400KM, and the last full pump is RM69 or RM71, then take RM69/400KM=0.17, this meant that your trip per KM is about RM0.17/KM blush.gif

For your aircond blower to work below ur front driver and passenger side, just turn to your air condition mode control dial to Face & feet or just to feet, but you'll hear a loud sound. rclxub.gif

Added on February 6, 2009, 1:23 am
QUOTE(sebaver @ Feb 5 2009, 09:57 PM)
Can I know which SC did you send it in to??
Klang Actmar. But still people recommending me to USJ area for better servicing

This post has been edited by tillerman: Feb 6 2009, 01:23 AM
tillerman
post Feb 9 2009, 02:16 PM

32 posts

i get locktech at RM340
tillerman
post Feb 13 2009, 06:40 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Feb 13 2009, 06:19 PM)
I wish to change my rims to proper 16' that can fit 205 tyres also... But expensive
205 = higher FC
tillerman
post Feb 14 2009, 02:28 PM

32 posts

opps, forget to say

My car E-spec DLB 7th Jan 2009
tillerman
post Feb 15 2009, 04:18 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(cppau @ Feb 15 2009, 03:34 PM)
My car fc getting better and better, when i 1st got my car average 13km/l or less. And now i'm getting 14 - 15km/l.
Driving in house area was a bad or even during jam, the AVG might be lower than 10 or higher than 12 depending on traffic situation. Driving at highway in slow speed around 80KM/H with rpm not more than 2K RPM, will be nice for you too look at the AVG meter as i get 19.9KM/L, however it depend on your traffic situation and how frequent you press your break.
tillerman
post Feb 16 2009, 12:37 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(anson81 @ Feb 16 2009, 12:21 PM)
Hey guys, anyone have solution to the Radio receiver problem??
Check with ur service center

0.0250sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:35 PM