The All New Honda City 2009 Official Thread v2, compiled by mikelee

silverarrows
post Jan 21 2009, 09:04 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jan 21 2009, 08:37 PM)
You know - I just did a rough calculation:

That's about RM800 worth of equipment if not more. For about RM100 more you could have gotten the Pivot Throttle Controller - although I haven't used it - the advertised specs sounds really juicy smile.gif

http://pivotjp.com/product/frame-3-drive-e.html
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/855570
You are right bro...easily >rm800 setup... actually I have another set of Pivot installed at another car (Myvi) that included e-drive & e-nenpi (http://pivotjp.com/product/flame-e-drive_top-e.html) which price to pay equivalent to this 3-drive thingy.... & the way I look at it, I really no idea how to DIY to do connection & have to leave to expert installer to do the job. I still blur how this 3-drive helped to save fuel, probably it is just similar to e-drive? I don't know..haha. Can you enlighten me? rclxub.gif
silverarrows
post Jan 21 2009, 09:25 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(chris_x @ Jan 21 2009, 09:17 PM)

Surface is smooth and waxy after PPS. The shinny effect is there, and hoping it will last.

Excellent! rclxms.gif How long it will last for this waxy smooth feeling on car?
silverarrows
post Jan 22 2009, 03:55 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jan 21 2009, 10:09 PM)
I've read about the eco-pedal system by Nissan on Paul Tan's blog and I think the e-drive system has the same principle. The e-nenpi system is a MID. Your Honda comes with MID but the output is not as detailed as e-nenpi.

The link I provided does the installation for you. It only works with DBW engines. That means the new Honda City qualifies, all Toyota cars have no problems either.

From the explanation given and my understanding, it controls the throttle valve when you press the accelerator.

In normal mode - it works with the default manufacturer's programming
In eco mode - it ensures that no matter how hard you press the pedal, it will control your acceleration by limiting how much the valve opens hence saving precious fuel
In sports mode - it works in the opposite manner and speeds up your acceleration at the expense of fuel consumption. I assume this also gives you better torque in a faster period of time.

The throttle response controller modifies throttle response behavior based on the mode you select, so improvements are via electronics and software programming. In actuality, there's no HP increase at all
Thanks for the informative inputs again bro... I think I only interested on the "eco mode" that we could take advantage actively from this product to save our precious fuel... minus the "normal mode"(our car already had it), "sport mode" is a cup of coffee - not my cup of tea. biggrin.gif

I guess everyone can do eco-drive if they want to, just that to be more aware of our "golden right foot" to control the fuel acceleration... hence if want to go for "eco mode" e-drive could be a more affordable start since it is much cheaper & easy to DIY install. icon_rolleyes.gif

silverarrows
post Jan 22 2009, 04:42 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(vtec-ing @ Jan 22 2009, 04:31 PM)
i wonder why they go backward? after all the city before this has 'printed antenna' on rear windscreen  drool.gif

Imagine if the rear windscreen with printed antenna broken... how much is the bill?
silverarrows
post Jan 23 2009, 12:11 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(hush_puppies @ Jan 22 2009, 10:14 PM)
Guys.for pmm and blue color. scratches, dirt or dust on which color will be more visible ya?
I think both color will be about the same... more visible IMO is PMM. If you want to hide dust, get ASM. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by silverarrows: Jan 23 2009, 12:12 AM
silverarrows
post Jan 23 2009, 10:13 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Lowyat @ Jan 23 2009, 04:40 PM)
Since many people say PMM very dull, i aom looking the front grille.... Wondering where to get this....why malaysia honda never come with this....

I think PMM will look better if come with this front grille

U mean this one..? Since day-1 we saw this picture. smile.gif

This post has been edited by silverarrows: Jan 23 2009, 10:15 PM

silverarrows
post Jan 26 2009, 12:22 AM

29 posts

祝大家:牛转乾坤庆团圆,新年快乐驾思迪 rclxms.gif
silverarrows
post Jan 27 2009, 09:55 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(sysh @ Jan 27 2009, 09:42 PM)
I don't believe what the SAs say when they quote that they know about the tinting. My suggestion? Read up the internet and find out the facts from the fiction.

But in terms of the security film thickness, i think 4mm is more than sufficient. because if you take 6mm, there is a tendency that it will be a little taxing for your power windows motor cos there will be alot of abrasion. furthermore, the thicker the film.. you might get the film touching the side of the door. then u might just scratch the film.. not advisable either
6mil security film is working fine & I don't see any problem after 2 weeks using it. According to the tint shop, >6mil above i.e. 8mil will be considered too thick for the car windows.

This post has been edited by silverarrows: Jan 27 2009, 09:55 PM
silverarrows
post Jan 27 2009, 10:01 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(cppau @ Jan 27 2009, 08:28 PM)
Bumpy - Yes, but i will go to tyre shop to check whether they pump too much air into it.

Remember to check tyre pressure regularly i.e. after a week plus, my tyre pressure drop to 28.5 psi from the recommended 30.0 psi.

This post has been edited by silverarrows: Jan 27 2009, 10:04 PM
silverarrows
post Jan 30 2009, 02:15 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jan 29 2009, 12:57 PM)
Certain things you can get the service center to replace for free or done free on the 1st service.

- Tightening your handbrake
Heard the service sifu said it was due to disc brakes which is not as tight as the drum breaks... same "problem" with Civic or Accord? So I didn't do any adjustment on it.
silverarrows
post Feb 2 2009, 11:13 AM

29 posts

A noob question here, the standard tyre pressure for NHC is 30 PSI, how come after 1st service in SC by filling up with nitrogen gas the tyre pressure dropped to 25.5 PSI? Is this normal?
silverarrows
post Feb 2 2009, 04:06 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(sebaver @ Feb 2 2009, 03:27 PM)
Mine's always been in the range of 13.5-15 km/L so far...

Assuming 14km/L, its about 12.8 sen per km.
Haven't really pushed my car, but fastest I've done is 100-110km/h as the engine is still new. At that speed handling is still quite good.
Last Friday after 1st service on highway drive for ~360KM (pushed to 110--140km/h) plus some city drive... total ~430KM at the 1st low fuel flash (think still got ~10 litre left in tank), average FC showed in panel is 16.4 km/l

This post has been edited by silverarrows: Feb 2 2009, 04:14 PM
silverarrows
post Feb 2 2009, 04:54 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(sunnytkl @ Feb 2 2009, 04:35 PM)
if it's 16.4 km/l.... the FC is really good

I think that is not so accurate by estimate how much fuel left in your tank. The better calculation

How far you can far with new full tank / total liters on next full tank pumped
I did estimate 10 litre left in the 42 litre tank because I pumped RM56(31 litre) for the full tank which is the same amount from the last full tank... that time I was pushing from it Rm56 to RM60 then unexpectedly my car vomited out the precious fuel... doh.gif

Added on February 2, 2009, 5:01 pm
QUOTE(dstyx @ Feb 2 2009, 04:39 PM)
shocking.gif  I can only dream of such FC. How come my FC so high 1 ar  cry.gif ?
I think maybe the 5th gear on the high speed made the difference?

This post has been edited by silverarrows: Feb 2 2009, 05:01 PM
silverarrows
post Feb 3 2009, 08:52 AM

29 posts

Added on February 3, 2009, 9:07 am
QUOTE(ralf @ Feb 2 2009, 08:18 PM)
damaged the City  wink.gif  rclxub.gif  cry.gif

spent few hours to remove the paint imperfection
Sorry to see your ASM kena scratched like that ... anyway, amazing products there to cover the paint imperfection

Added on February 3, 2009, 9:18 am
QUOTE(dstyx @ Feb 2 2009, 06:25 PM)
Somehow I have the impression that cars now days are being stole by towing away or forcefully drag you out instead of breaking in and driving it away.
Claim a new car from insurance then... tongue.gif
QUOTE(sysh @ Feb 3 2009, 01:22 AM)
Any other models? Has anybody used these locks before?
My only concern is if the brake-lock doesn't fit our car  rclxub.gif
I wouldn't mind getting one. Do let us know how much both models will cost.
Do let me know yah
I tried Autolock 1440, seems like it is not fit to use in NHC, but u may try it from your friend's or purchase from Tesco, if really cannot fit u still can return for refund tongue.gif. Consider Locktech brake lock from Thailand, more secure & convenience but the selling price is easily for two Autolock but IMO it is worth the price you pay as it has double lock system and prevents car from starting engine when it is locked. However I found it is a bit disturbing when you wearing a thick sport shoes, meaning the space on top of the break pedal somehow will be taken to fit this guy.

This post has been edited by silverarrows: Feb 3 2009, 09:34 AM

silverarrows
post Feb 4 2009, 07:07 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(dstyx @ Feb 4 2009, 06:55 AM)
Oh shit. If not mistaken the original costs around RM200. How exactly do we glue the thing? Btw, guys how's your radio reception? Is it good? Mine's not so nice. Zee zee sha sha a little.
i replaced the original one with the third party made for Waja or Myvi one... it looks OK. nod.gif
silverarrows
post Feb 4 2009, 04:38 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(foocy2001 @ Feb 4 2009, 12:04 PM)
Got picture ah? How much?
less than RM15...kena cabut or lost also never mind. I don't have the pic right now but as long as u get the similar size it looks almost the same as the original one.
silverarrows
post Feb 5 2009, 05:33 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(anson81 @ Feb 5 2009, 05:08 PM)
anyone know where to install this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=30VVSQ-EBVU&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lmKFw77KcjI
wanna know some autolock thing....
I am kinda like this "upgrade set" to do these auto thingy. thumbup.gif thanks for sharing

Added on February 5, 2009, 5:34 pm
QUOTE(sharinganez @ Feb 5 2009, 05:30 PM)
oo..  i wonder...
can i put this on my new city?
change NHC 's eye  brows.gif
is it legal?
Real Optimus Prime will come to town with the angel eyes...

This post has been edited by silverarrows: Feb 5 2009, 05:34 PM
silverarrows
post Feb 6 2009, 05:31 PM

29 posts

Pictures from Paul Tan.... do u think ASM looks like white color in these picture?

silverarrows
post Feb 9 2009, 11:01 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(xenothrix @ Feb 9 2009, 03:42 AM)
is this locktech or compatible set?
Pro: Very convenience to lock & unlock compared to Autolock.
Con: It fits well BUT somehow it will take certain space on top of break pedal which is sometime will stuck with your shoes.

This post has been edited by silverarrows: Feb 9 2009, 11:04 AM
silverarrows
post Feb 9 2009, 09:59 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(alwintwk @ Feb 9 2009, 09:06 PM)
hey bro..i install this lock about RM280 somewhere in sunway..
this lock is design to fit our NHC..so dun worry on wherther it will block ur feet or shoes,when it in locking position of coz it will block ur feet,but when u unlock it..it wont block u..although u think it might block ur feet when driving..i quite happy with this lock so far..convinence,save space and fast lock/unlock...  rclxms.gif
That's a very reasonable price! Does it stop you from starting engine when it is in lock position?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0252sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:19 PM