kmarc
post Jan 20 2009, 09:58 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 20 2009, 09:55 PM)
Any particular reason to acquire KINSTEL?
Errr..... among steel companies, KINSTEL is the only one with "Buy" recommendation..... that's according to one research house.....

However, steel companies would probably be the last few sectors to go up..... keeping for long term but if can goreng, will do so too! biggrin.gif
kmarc
post Jan 20 2009, 11:32 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Jan 20 2009, 10:45 PM)
wow from which research house?
Can't remember. It was posted on one of blogger's website..... I did post the link a few pages back....

QUOTE(sampoo @ Jan 20 2009, 11:03 PM)
1) the ci not yet reach 950, so the upward cyle not yet complete.
2) the ci would not behave like wat happen this week with so many stocks getting major crash for 2nd times, the 1 st time should be end of oct 2008, it would rebound for majority stocks, hardly there is 3rd major crash, example like twscorp, from rm1, then rm0.5 and then rm0.25, after all it rebound. except the comapy like liqua, bsa, ....
3) the history told that feb and march is the rally months with higher chances.

my 2000 cents. smile.gif
Thx for your many cents. thumbup.gif I do hope there will be another rally. I'm just averaging down bit by bit.... still keeping my bullets just in case no rally appears.....

Canada cuts rates : http://www.businessweek.com/ap/financialnews/D95QU6H00.htm

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 20 2009, 11:42 PM
kmarc
post Jan 21 2009, 06:34 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Vv.SoViEt.vV @ Jan 21 2009, 01:08 AM)
friend, keeping bullet just in case there is rally or no rally? sweat.gif
Keeping bullets just in case there is no rally in Q1. Continuation of the bear market leading to further drop in prices, so have to average down the counters that I'm holding. That's because I believe Q2 and Q3 would be much worse as more bad news may come out from emerging markets.....

If rally, planning to offload ALL my stocks if go above my ABP.... wink.gif Only start accumulating again in Q3/Q4.....

Wow! DJIA below 8000!!! shocking.gif blink.gif CNBC (or was it bloomberg?) did show a chart regarding Dow..... showing that it has always rebounded strongly after going below 8000.... if it doesn't, it may just go further south!!! hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 21 2009, 06:46 AM
kmarc
post Jan 21 2009, 11:00 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 21 2009, 10:46 AM)
The profit doubled up, and gas pipeline tender is about rm 3b. biggrin.gif

On my broker buy list.
You mean their quarterly results came out? Any links? hmm.gif

Added on January 21, 2009, 11:01 am
QUOTE(eltaria @ Jan 21 2009, 11:00 AM)
LCL, JPMorgan still have 6-7 million shares to go... estimate 500k per day sell off.. you can say it'll last for 1 to 2 more weeks if they plan to unload all

By which, price would hit 0.4x levels... sleep.gif'

The higher than average volume this week probably came from them.
My LCL shares that I bought yesterday was from them.....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 21 2009, 11:01 AM
kmarc
post Jan 21 2009, 03:56 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 21 2009, 11:08 AM)
Only 3Q 08.
I see.... not bad....

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jan 21 2009, 03:48 PM)
US futures drop to low lvl liao.... sweat.gif
If Obama rally doesn't materialize soon, our market might just achieve a new low soon....

@Viper88 - are you getting more of ZELAN? I think it might go lower due to middle-east exposure.... see what happened to LCL sad.gif
kmarc
post Jan 21 2009, 05:44 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jan 21 2009, 05:11 PM)
I grab Zelan at 0.785 just now.
Zelan can only play swing trade for short term now.

Osk very attractive 2day..0.97 sen
I got 4500 units osk last year.. got dividen about rm 500.
Now each unit only less than rm1.. if this year dividen maintain same.. can get about 10%+ interest
Its movement is slow but dividen play is good.

Yea.. LCL drop alot..
Since I'm already holding LCL, not going to get ZELAN at the moment as I consider them to be in the same group i.e middle-east exposure.

I don't dare go into financials at the moment. I'm looking at AMMB but not going to acquire any yet.... let it drop further.... drool.gif

Anyway, I'm suppose to be at the sidelines currently but my hands are quite itchy.... sweat.gif
kmarc
post Jan 21 2009, 08:42 PM

14,576 posts

Woo hoo! Good for our house loans!! rclxms.gif

Haizzz... I forgot today is the rate cut by BNM. Would have bought more goreng stocks! cry.gif
kmarc
post Jan 22 2009, 06:35 AM

14,576 posts

Dow +279 to 8228! thumbup.gif

What analyst say about Dow rebounding after testing the 8000 line still holds true! Too bad I got no time to goreng any stocks today.... sad.gif
kmarc
post Jan 23 2009, 03:35 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jan 23 2009, 03:24 PM)
Ya.. now jupiter give less interest if we just keep money in acct.. about 1.5-2% only.. last time is 3%.
Better do swing trade to make more money. tongue.gif
Did you go for OSK?
kmarc
post Jan 23 2009, 03:58 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(dreams_achiever @ Jan 23 2009, 03:53 PM)
RHBInvest also reduce its interest rate to 2.3% from previous 3.3%.
Government want all of us to spend this money rather than keeping it in bank.
To spur our country economies / growth.  smile.gif
True, true..... but I'm not touching my emergency funds.... even if I do, I would take out the money to buy some more stocks! icon_idea.gif

Added on January 23, 2009, 4:02 pm
QUOTE(viper88 @ Jan 23 2009, 03:58 PM)
Wanted to.. que too low 0.96,  12000 units din managed to get.
Saw Zelan drop to 0.77 this morning so i grab it managed to sell off
at 0.785. 

I'm aiming OSK and MPHB for defensive play.
OSK for good dividen play... MPHB for shares buy back play.. laugh.gif
These 2 counters hardly move much..more like turtle stock but i feel more safer.
Zelan still my main target for swing trade..haf to be careful tho.. this counter in bear market abit weak..but mid to long term with dividen
hope can maintain well.
MPHB share buy back? Where did you get that rumour? hmm.gif

I'm not into turtle stocks laugh.gif at the moment.... maybe later...

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 23 2009, 04:02 PM
kmarc
post Jan 23 2009, 09:50 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jan 23 2009, 04:14 PM)
U can chk MPHB announcement.. they have been aggressively buying back their shares almost 2-3 days every week. 
I told you since last year ady..  laugh.gif  you didn't chk bfr r?

This turtle stock from about  1.00 +/- can move up to 1.21 recently  oo..
Wasn't really interested as it was a "defensive" stock. Only getting defensive stock later.... that is, if I can unload my current holdings....

From the looks of it, the bear market rally has ended and now comes the loooonnngggg bear market..... sad.gif Still hoping for a last rally though... whistling.gif
kmarc
post Jan 24 2009, 07:58 AM

14,576 posts

Valuecap yet to get RM 5b booster : http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM...icle/index_html

Wished we could get some insider tips on what they will be buying..... drool.gif

Oil prices settles above $46.... baffle traders....

http://www.cnbc.com/id/28800957
http://www.businessweek.com/ap/financialnews/D95T4G3G0.htm
kmarc
post Jan 24 2009, 07:57 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jan 24 2009, 06:16 PM)
Already send out to related agencies to carry out the govnment investment. Read here:

http://www.theedgedaily.com/cms/content.js...27da00-56d4f4d2

Maybe next week can see some exciting action in KLSE?  hmm.gif
That's the 1st stimulus package. For the short term, I'm more interested in Valuecap's money! drool.gif

Anybody knows which counter would be potential targets? Wanna get some..... whistling.gif
kmarc
post Jan 24 2009, 10:51 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(AzerothJr @ Jan 24 2009, 10:41 PM)
He had mentioned that it won't be used for GLC or any company related to personal interest.
However he didn't really mentioned those company that is in-directly a GLC company due to some ministerial interest in it.
Yeah... I remember reading that the money won't be used to buy GLC companies. Only those selected "battered" stocks....

Anyway, news from Maybank Investment Bank, saying that the government is expected to decide on toll rates for 9 expressways next week (which were due for upward revisions early this year). They remained "Overweight" on toll concessionaires for their defensive earnings models.

Among those listed, PLUS and LITRAK (as always, being picked for their defensive qualities) was the top pick.

From their analysis, I'm thinking of going for LITRAK for the potential rally (?), good dividend and long-term investment (if it doesn't rally)

Would an announce of an increase in toll rates cause a price jump? hmm.gif

Here's an excerpt :

Government to decide on toll hikes next week?
- Next week, the government is expected to decide on toll rates for nine
expressways, which were due for upward revisions early this year.
- Nationalisation of toll roads is not commercially sensible; the money
could be better spent on new alternative roads and upgrading.
-We remain Overweight on toll concessionaires for their defensive
earnings models, expecting sanctity of existing contracts to prevail.

Decision time next week? We understand that the government will decide
next week, if toll charges at nine expressways will be raised. This includes six
toll roads where rate adjustments due early last year were postponed by a
year, in return for total compensation of around RM242m: NSE, NKVE, FHR2,
Penang Bridge, Sprint (Kerinchi and Damansara Links) and Ampang Elevated
Highway. The others, which are due for rate hikes this year, are the Sg Besi
Expressway, New Pantai Expressway and Kajang Ring Road. Indications are
that motorists will have to pay more on most of these toll roads, while a rate
hike at the NSE may be deferred by six months. Also, the Penang Bridge may
not get its wish (again). We estimate total compensation to be RM120m for the
rate hike deferment at the NSE (six months) and Penang Bridge (one year).

Nationalisation not sensible... Nationalisation sends an extremely negative
signal to businesses and investors on government’s “integrity”. As we had
highlighted on 13 Mar ’08, toll concessions, just like any other businesses,
compensates the concessionaires for major capex, financing costs and the
inherent business risks (in particular, traffic). A progressive toll rate is a
necessity for toll structures that depend on rising standards of living. The
problem arises when living standards do not rise fast enough. The strong
resentment towards toll hikes in the past was partly also due to poor
dissemination of information on the concessions’ costs and the bankable
required return on investments to the public. We had also noted earlier that the
government and concessionnaires have to educate the people towards a payculture.
This has been partially addressed with toll concession documents
being declassified for public viewing since early this year.

… people’s money could be put to better use. Nationalisation of toll roads
would use taxpayers’ money to “subsidise” paying motorists. Also, road
maintenance and upgradings post nationalisation burdens the government.
Expropriation clauses are clear in toll concession agreements that the
government must compensate and assume the concession debts, should it
take back the concessions. We estimate that just to take back the NSE
concession alone, it could cost >RM25b to pay off PLUS and to settle its debts.
Instead, the amount could be better spent on upgrading the existing federal
trunk road which run almost parallel to the NSE, and improving public
transportation, especially in the Klang Valley, Penang and Johor Bahru. The
construction and upgrading of alternative routes also serves the government’s
objective of fiscal stimulus under current trying economic conditions.

Maintain Overweight. We retain our Overweight call on toll concessionaires
for their defensive earnings models, expecting sanctity of contracts to prevail.
Also, dividend structures should remain intact, with net yields (due to the single
tier tax system) remaining good at >5% at current share price levels. We retain
our Buy calls on PLUS Expressways (PLUS MK; TP: RM3.20) and Lingkaran
Trans Kota Holdings (LTK MK; TP: RM2.88). In 2008, PLUS share price had
outperformed the broader market: PLUS -9% vs. KLCI: -39%. We expect this to
continue into 2009 as investors seek refuge in defensive stocks.

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 24 2009, 10:55 PM
kmarc
post Jan 27 2009, 03:11 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 27 2009, 09:56 AM)

Last night, US existing home sales is a pretty good number. When real estate in US stablise (which is the root of subprime and current financial mess) then economy recovery can be expected even a mild one which is a good sign for the stock market. Real estate market stablise will stop the sprillaring down effect or viscous cycle of the recession.

So watch tightly the housing number, once its turns, then market can turn because it is the root cause of massive writedown and financial difficulty by banks.
It was indeed a surprise that the home sales post surprising gains last month. It could be the turning point but as what analysts are saying, the trend needs to continue to show a true improvement in the housing market.

With aggressive stimulus packages being implemented in many countries, the predicted new low in Q2/Q3 '09 seemed to be more improbable.

Hmmmm.... looks like I might have to revise my plans..... of going long-term rather than selling off all my stocks in Q1.....

Of course, I still want to do some gorenging! biggrin.gif

Bullish outlook in China? http://www.cnbc.com/id/28864909

A big rally coming? http://www.cnbc.com/id/28857259

Like Valuecap? http://www.cnbc.com/id/28865881
kmarc
post Jan 28 2009, 09:23 AM

14,576 posts

Aikes! I lost track of time! Thought today was still a holiday...... sweat.gif

Hope can goreng some stocks today..... rclxms.gif
kmarc
post Jan 28 2009, 10:02 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(YuNGSeNG @ Jan 28 2009, 09:55 AM)
Any comment of LCL ? It is keep droping, good time to buy now ?
Don't buy yet. Looks like JPMorgan is unloading more of their stocks......
kmarc
post Jan 28 2009, 10:22 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(YuNGSeNG @ Jan 28 2009, 10:17 AM)
But why seem like the seller side are less ?
JPMorgan still have 7 millions shares to dispose of. The prices will probably go down some more....

http://lcl.listedcompany.com/newsroom.html/cat/365
kmarc
post Jan 28 2009, 11:59 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jan 28 2009, 10:49 AM)
LCL drop alot today..
This counter no big player support... difficult to bounce back in short time.
Now seek help from Govt ady...... in critical stage ady.. sweat.gif

DJ MARKET TALK: LCL Down 17.5%; Seeks Credit Aid From Govt-Report
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0241 GMT [Dow Jones] Interior design company LCL (7177.KU) down 17.5% at 42.5 sen in active trade on weak earnings outlook after the Star daily reported Saturday company seeking credit aid from government to weather global economic slowdown. The Star reported, citing LCL's Chief operating officer Abdul Hakim Asmaun as saying, slowdown disrupting company's plans as banks tighten credit facilities. "If possible, we need Malaysian government support," says Abdul Hakim. Players are selling "because they view the comments as negative on LCL's earnings," says one dealer. Company, which is due to release 4Q results end of next month, reported 9-month net profit of MYR26.7 million vs MYR16.6 million year-earlier. (ECH)

Contact us in Kuala Lumpur. 603 2692 5254;
MarketTalk@dowjones.com

Click here to go to Dow Jones NewsPlus, a web front page of today's most important business and market news, analysis and commentary: http://www.djnewsplus.com/access/al?rnd=hZ...LYpnI%2FA%3D%3D. You can use this link on the day this article is published and the following day.

(END) Dow Jones Newswires

January 27, 2009 21:41 ET (02:41 GMT)

==================================

1st day KLSE open after CNY oso not much vol.. alot traders/investors stilll on holiday... rolleyes.gif
Yeah, just read that today. Wanted to buy some more at 0.410, decided to wait.... now went up!!! doh.gif

I think it will still go down if JPMorgan unloads more of their shares....
kmarc
post Jan 28 2009, 03:05 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(chilaxis @ Jan 28 2009, 03:03 PM)
Morning session was mild, but I noticed the volume picking up now.
Yeah, suddenly everybody buying. 700 lots of SIME snapped up just like that....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 28 2009, 03:06 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0942sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:01 AM