FeRoDo Zero brake pad, Disspointed with this pad, it SXCKS

TSralf
post Jan 11 2009, 06:18 PM, updated 17y ago

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

I have read some of the forummers review about brake pad brand, one of the affordable brand is FeRoDo ZeRo..so i have decided to replace the stock brake pad with this FeRoDo

mileage/usage: 0-10k km (6months)
product: Bosch brake pad..proton genuine oem pad

mileage/usage:10-20k km(8months)
product: FeRoDo Zero
comments:
- exhibit some noise, screeching noise ...
- it tends to get overheat, during downhill braking(Genting, balik pulau or spirit driving). Metal burning smells..YEAKKSS..It does not like high temperature as advertised, real disappointed. shakehead.gif
- not really peform during cold, it is slightly better under hard braking
- the worst is the edge tear off piece by piece, wink.gif still can use sand paper to flatten the surface but.. doh.gif doh.gif wink.gif refer pic below(d) decided to throw this away...i

a) FeRoDo Zero and BenDix Titanium stripe..

b) A fresh brake pad should have 0.9-1cm thickness.

c) FeRoDo Zero, still have 65% thickness, equivalent to ~6cm after doing 10k km...

d) Edge tear off ..

Yesterday bought two set of BenDix CT General, one for Waja..one for my PerSona.
mileage/usage: 20kkm - current
product: BenDix CT General(metal king has been discontinued)
Already clocked 200KM so far, no need bedding in as advertised.

This post has been edited by ralf: Jan 11 2009, 06:21 PM
thom_chai
post Jan 11 2009, 07:54 PM

1,830 posts

How much you bought that Bendix CT General?
maddriver
post Jan 11 2009, 08:13 PM

the madman!
1,160 posts

what brake fluid are u using...........
mindtricks
post Jan 11 2009, 08:53 PM

68 posts

nice Colgate ruler...hahaha

...anyway, what are the chances of that being a counterfeit product? or faulty

any damage to your disc's?
eau-rouge
post Jan 11 2009, 09:18 PM

counting sheeps
550 posts

maybe its a counterfeit product?
been using it for the last 5 years
never experienced such problem
imperialrealcs
post Jan 11 2009, 11:49 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

before i buy trestor advantage, i came across this ferodo zero.. the boss said this brake pad can tahan 3xx celcius only wtf..
i dont think he ned to lie firstly because im his supplier and he got berlambak stock there lol laugh.gif
how true is that
ZeroSP
post Jan 11 2009, 11:55 PM

184 posts

I using RapisStop and it serves well
jeffayn
post Jan 13 2009, 01:43 AM

67 posts

can u show the other side too ?
Crazy_Fella
post Jan 13 2009, 02:02 AM

got for ferodo formula if u really wanna get a good sports pad...it bites like hell when slightly warmed up..
crazeeclan
post Jan 13 2009, 11:57 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Jan 11 2009, 06:18 PM)
I have read some of the forummers review about brake pad brand, one of the affordable brand is FeRoDo ZeRo..so i have decided to replace the stock brake pad with this FeRoDo

comments:
--happen to mine for first 100km only..after that no sound at all
- it tends to get overheat, during downhill braking(Genting, balik pulau or spirit driving). Metal burning smells..YEAKKSS..It does not like high temperature as advertised, real disappointed. shakehead.gif
-- over heated?mine no problem at all...no metal burning smell...it work on high temp
--this is so called racing brake pad....works best under high temp..not cold temp
- the worst is the edge tear off piece by piece, wink.gif  still can use sand paper to flatten the surface but.. doh.gif  doh.gif wink.gif
---im using it for 1 year ady....clock 20k km...still no any edge tear
FYI...im using ferodo zero for my kelisa....maybe u got a fake ferodo coz there is fake ferodo in the market now.....

Added on January 13, 2009, 12:02 pm

comments:
--happen to mine for first 100km only..after that no sound at all
-- over heated?mine no problem at all...no metal burning smell...it work on high temp
--this is so called racing brake pad....works best under high temp..not cold temp
- the worst is the edge tear off piece by piece, wink.gif  still can use sand paper to flatten the surface but.. doh.gif  doh.gif wink.gif
---im using it for 1 year ady....clock 20k km...still no any edge tear
FYI...im using ferodo zero for my kelisa....maybe u got a fake ferodo coz there is fake ferodo in the market now.....

This post has been edited by crazeeclan: Jan 13 2009, 12:02 PM
sleepwalker
post Jan 13 2009, 02:34 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

Yesterday bought two set of BenDix CT General, one for Waja..one for my PerSona.
There is a possibility that you have fakes. Where is your central groove? There is suppose to be a groove in the middle of the pad. Don't think you've worn them off.

Look at the pic below. Did yours come with the groove?

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Jan 13 2009, 02:35 PM
kev da man
post Jan 13 2009, 02:42 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

that's a fake. my ferodo zeros have a central grove AS WELL as pads that do not look reddish after 10k. ferodo zeros are known for their initial bite. does yours have great braking feel when your first depress the pedal?
shinjite
post Jan 13 2009, 02:52 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,319 posts

funny, his 1 doesn't nhave center grooves
SUSceo684

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Looks like fake pad.

Even caplang pad also wont break up like a biscuit, it only wears off.
moon*

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

most likely counterfeit product sweat.gif
kev da man
post Jan 13 2009, 02:53 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

don't know bout that, mine does XD
yyap2
post Jan 13 2009, 06:47 PM

145 posts

bro.. i think u puchased the fake one.. in market alot fake one.... when u puchase.. did it come wit a sticker??? window sticker lik those engine oil changed sticker...

I using this brand already 1 year.. no problem.... i feel it better then oem...
detomaso
post Jan 13 2009, 07:12 PM

1,896 posts

ini mesti sungai buluh pad using ferodo box.
bibbyGirl
post Jan 13 2009, 07:28 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(kev da man @ Jan 13 2009, 02:42 PM)
that's a fake. my ferodo zeros have a central grove AS WELL as pads that do not look reddish after 10k. ferodo zeros are known for their initial bite. does yours have great braking feel when your first depress the pedal?
TSralf
post Jan 13 2009, 10:13 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(maddriver @ Jan 11 2009, 08:13 PM)
what brake fluid are u using...........
It is yellowish colour, DOT4..proton oem brake fluid smile.gif

Added on January 13, 2009, 10:16 pm
QUOTE(thom_chai @ Jan 11 2009, 07:54 PM)
How much you bought that Bendix CT General?
Bendix General CT (Waja) - bought rm90 at spare part shop Butterworth, Penang
Bendix General CT(Persona) - i change at workshop, they charge me rm155(Ooouch!!, so expensive) + rm28 labour

Added on January 13, 2009, 10:17 pm
QUOTE(eau-rouge @ Jan 11 2009, 09:18 PM)
maybe its a counterfeit product?
been using it for the last 5 years
never experienced such problem
comes with box, 12,000km wrty. This FeRoDo, i used for 3months or 5k km..plenty of problems already, screeching and loud noise.

This post has been edited by ralf: Jan 13 2009, 10:20 PM
loong2020
post Jan 13 2009, 10:19 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

hmmm how much is the real price for this brake pads??...coz i bought at RM60...but the performance suxs like hell...use 2weeks cant even bite perfectly......change to other brand....maybe i got fake one as well... sweat.gif ......

hmmm..any brake pads can u guys intro??..less noise but good in braking??..budget around rm100-150
sleepwalker
post Jan 13 2009, 10:20 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(bibbyGirl @ Jan 13 2009, 07:28 PM)
Those look like rear pads. Most rear pads are smaller and does not have the central groove. Some do but most do not.
TSralf
post Jan 13 2009, 10:22 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jan 13 2009, 02:34 PM)
There is a possibility that you have fakes. Where is your central groove? There is suppose to be a groove in the middle of the pad. Don't think you've worn them off.

Look at the pic below. Did yours come with the groove?

Mine does not have center groove wink.gif sad.gif
crazeeclan
post Jan 14 2009, 10:32 AM

542 posts

my ferodo have center groove.....use it 1 year ady...still nice...very bite even after harsh driving n braking....

This post has been edited by crazeeclan: Jan 14 2009, 10:33 AM
maddriver
post Jan 14 2009, 12:11 PM

the madman!
1,160 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Jan 14 2009, 01:19 AM)
hmmm how much is the real price for this brake pads??...coz i bought at RM60...but the performance suxs like hell...use 2weeks cant even bite perfectly......change to other brand....maybe i got fake one as well... sweat.gif ......

hmmm..any brake pads can u guys intro??..less noise but good in braking??..budget around rm100-150
what car?
jeffayn
post Jan 14 2009, 07:01 PM

67 posts

The Gen2 front for ferodo zero does do not have grooves....

what I can suspect is that it is a re-made brake pads. In short recycle brake pads......

what they do is to bake again the brake pad friction material again on the exisiting ferodo base metal.. so they can sell back as ferodo without questioning .....

if you really wan to know what is happening give the ferodo guys an email...i am sure they will glad to assist you ... you might wan to send the brake pad back to uk and let them know what kind of shit ferodo is doing here ...
loong2020
post Jan 14 2009, 08:08 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(maddriver @ Jan 14 2009, 12:11 PM)
what car?
persona...any recommendation maddriver?? biggrin.gif ....rm100-150..important is less noise.on cold and braking in traffic jam
Beach_Boy
post Jan 14 2009, 08:33 PM

:D
8,456 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Jan 13 2009, 10:13 PM)

Bendix General CT(Persona) - i change at workshop, they charge me rm155(Ooouch!!, so expensive) + rm28 labour

comes with box, 12,000km wrty. This FeRoDo, i used for 3months or 5k km..plenty of problems already, screeching and loud noise.
mine does screech, but only during HARD(i mean real hard) braking, but my mech already warn me about this, cuz this pad is slightly larger in size compare to my previous one, so it's inevitable
mine bites good, feels good, so i think i'll still use it on my next pad change (on a wira, btw)
MR_alien
post Jan 14 2009, 09:09 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

any good brake pad for proton saga BLM?
i dn't wanna change at SC cuz it's not within the warranty
detomaso
post Jan 14 2009, 09:40 PM

1,896 posts

if dun have center groove. u might use metal saw to make a groove
the_catacombs
post Jan 14 2009, 10:11 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(detomaso @ Jan 14 2009, 09:40 PM)
if dun have center groove. u might use metal saw to make a groove
is the groove important??...
sleepwalker
post Jan 15 2009, 10:17 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jan 14 2009, 10:11 PM)
is the groove important??...
The central groove works like a slotted disc by releasing any hot gas that is trapped between the pads and the disc to provide maximum contact between the 2 of them.
kev da man
post Jan 15 2009, 01:53 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

QUOTE(bibbyGirl @ Jan 13 2009, 07:28 PM)
that one is rear pad la laugh.gif see the size also know tongue.gif

QUOTE(ralf @ Jan 13 2009, 10:13 PM)

3 months? most likely fake or re-manufactured laugh.gif
original ferodos come with a sticker for your windshield
darkdevilrey
post Jan 16 2009, 12:41 AM

Silly Fools
1,156 posts

6cm left or 6mm left oh??? blush.gif
sleepwalker
post Jan 16 2009, 06:46 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Jan 16 2009, 12:41 AM)
6cm left or 6mm left oh??? blush.gif
Don't ask stupid questions. We all know it is a typo and unlike you, we have common sense and we can read the ruler which shows it as 6mm and not 6cm.
maddriver
post Jan 16 2009, 06:48 AM

the madman!
1,160 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Jan 14 2009, 11:08 PM)
persona...any recommendation maddriver?? biggrin.gif ....rm100-150..important is less noise.on cold and braking in traffic jam
u can try my pads, just click on my signature for more info....... those are 0 to 550 degree pads, so more than enuf for daily use, and priced within your budget tongue.gif
darkdevilrey
post Jan 16 2009, 11:35 PM

Silly Fools
1,156 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jan 16 2009, 06:46 AM)
Don't ask stupid questions. We all know it is a typo and unlike you, we have common sense and we can read the ruler which shows it as 6mm and not 6cm.
haha, y so mad oh?

no question is stupid.

if u dun ask then keep quiet is stupid.

we have to correct the mistake otherwise type wat also use common sense to sense lo? rclxub.gif

chill la brother, wats wrong wit u?
the_catacombs
post Jan 17 2009, 01:36 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jan 15 2009, 10:17 AM)
The central groove works like a slotted disc by releasing any hot gas that is trapped between the pads and the disc to provide maximum contact between the 2 of them.
oh... thank u sifoo... notworthy.gif

then whats the point some mechanic skim of the sides of a brake pad before installing??.... means make the edge not 90 degrees.... unsure.gif

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Jan 16 2009, 11:35 PM)
haha, y so mad oh?

no question is stupid.

if u dun ask then keep quiet is stupid.

we have to correct the mistake otherwise type wat also use common sense to sense lo? rclxub.gif
chill la brother, wats wrong wit u?
but if u ask 6cm thickness for a brake pad... i also angry lah.... vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
jeffayn
post Jan 17 2009, 06:21 PM

67 posts

But seriously I do not recommend anyone to cut a groove on the newly purchase brake pads....

the groove is actually design by the various manufacturer, some do have some dont, some have like multiple groove.. is very much depend on the manufacturer....

just always get from a trusted source.. and trust me, you foreman is a good source.. because if you got complaint go there , pin them on their neck so they will do the fixing up...

try to avoid spare part shop.. they are the real crook.. even the good guy also have to become crook. haha... and they no need warranty u ..
loong2020
post Jan 18 2009, 12:14 AM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(maddriver @ Jan 16 2009, 06:48 AM)
u can try my pads, just click on my signature for more info....... those are 0 to 550 degree pads, so more than enuf for daily use, and priced within your budget tongue.gif
is it noisy when cold/ when stop and go conditions?? like traffic jam.
maddriver
post Jan 18 2009, 07:55 AM

the madman!
1,160 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Jan 18 2009, 03:14 AM)
is it noisy when cold/ when stop and go conditions?? like traffic jam.
sometimes....... remember, these are performance pads....... there might be slight sound, slight dust and slight makan discs, but definately stop the car when u need to.........
loong2020
post Jan 18 2009, 10:39 AM

Senior Star
771 posts

hmmm..ok..thanks...comparing with bendix, this pad is better in terms of highspeed braking and emergency brake rite???....bites better than bendix??
maddriver
post Jan 18 2009, 09:43 PM

the madman!
1,160 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Jan 18 2009, 01:39 PM)
hmmm..ok..thanks...comparing with bendix, this pad is better in terms of highspeed braking and emergency brake rite???....bites better than bendix??
bendix no fight........ u need to compare my pads with endless or mintex 1144/1155
shinjite
post Jan 18 2009, 09:45 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,319 posts

RS pads are not bad....using them myself, it really stops
maddriver
post Jan 18 2009, 09:46 PM

the madman!
1,160 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jan 19 2009, 12:45 AM)
thanks for the positive feedback notworthy.gif
post Jan 18 2009, 11:54 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jan 18 2009, 09:45 PM)
wah tailou of coz can stop le ... or else u wont be posting , i also scared lor like that ... bila mau dyno ?
shinjite
post Jan 18 2009, 11:57 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,319 posts

have to run in the engine first ler....when wanna dyno I call you along ler
loong2020
post Jan 19 2009, 06:25 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(maddriver @ Jan 18 2009, 09:43 PM)
bendix no fight........ u need to compare my pads with endless or mintex 1144/1155
well..since u said bendix no fight.but alot ppl say bendix good on bitting..im gonna try ur brake pads..lolz...haha...where is ur shop ah??....see when i free drop by ur shop.. biggrin.gif ...probably friday if can...coz right now im using METAL KING (not bendix)..some brand...highspeed braking ok ok only....

oh yea...just wanna ask why sometimes i drive or turn the steering, got brake screeching noise? like metal rubbing each other...the sound only from right wheel....and i notice the right wheel dust is more than left ones.....whats the problem???

This post has been edited by loong2020: Jan 19 2009, 06:30 PM
maddriver
post Jan 20 2009, 12:08 PM

the madman!
1,160 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Jan 19 2009, 09:25 PM)
well..since u said bendix no fight.but alot ppl say bendix good on bitting..im gonna try ur brake pads..lolz...haha...where is ur shop ah??....see when i free drop by ur shop.. biggrin.gif ...probably friday if can...coz right now im using METAL KING (not bendix)..some brand...highspeed braking ok ok only....

oh yea...just wanna ask why sometimes i drive or turn the steering, got brake screeching noise? like metal rubbing each other...the sound only from right wheel....and i notice the right wheel dust is more than left ones.....whats the problem???
have u tried bleeding the brakes?
xiaowakka
post Apr 5 2009, 10:12 PM

I think I facing same problem or even worse..

Here are the brake pad after using just only 1000km..

I changed this brand before 300km I went go genting, it should be run in.

But cases happened when I was at genting when I going downhill again and against. I can feel brake not really perform due to I step very hard on brake paddel, but car will go onwards.
ABS works but not from front, just only rear. I think brake from rear perform better than front.

Sad sad.gif
hipeys88
post Apr 5 2009, 10:39 PM

wah, but weird,alot people got no complains. im using bosch powerplus, so far abit spongy. what about ur ferodo?
AoiNatsume
post Apr 6 2009, 08:28 AM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

Maybe a little off topic, but do try Mintex, been using them awhile now and they brake very well for my car. (Waja GSR)
TSralf
post Apr 6 2009, 08:48 AM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(xiaowakka @ Apr 5 2009, 10:12 PM)
I think I facing same problem or even worse..

Here are the brake pad after using just only 1000km..

I changed this brand before 300km I went go genting, it should be run in.

But cases happened when I was at genting when I going downhill again and against. I can feel brake not really perform due to I step very hard on brake paddel, but car will go onwards.
ABS works but not from front, just only rear. I think brake from rear perform better than front.

Sad sad.gif
佳礼论坛 的 xiaowakka 啊?

Gossh, i can confirmed that it is a low quality brake pad... wink.gif hmm.gif
adriankhoo153
post Apr 6 2009, 09:00 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Apr 6 2009, 08:48 AM)
佳礼论坛 的 xiaowakka 啊?

Gossh, i can confirmed that it is a low quality brake pad... wink.gif  hmm.gif
Hmm, from the picture, what to see woh? I am total noob. Lol. blush.gif
xiaowakka
post Apr 6 2009, 04:46 PM

佳礼论坛 的 xiaowakka 啊?

Gossh, i can confirmed that it is a low quality brake pad... wink.gif  hmm.gif
blink.gif blink.gif 被你发现了。。你怎么知道的?

I quite sure the ferodo brake picture I posted at here are not imitation. laugh.gif

But really weird i dont even can find any ferodo zero information on website or even on ferodo website doh.gif

Added on April 6, 2009, 4:52 pm
QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Apr 6 2009, 09:00 AM)
Hmm, from the picture, what to see woh? I am total noob. Lol.  blush.gif
this is original myvi used hitachi brake pad.
and this is ferodo brake pad which after used just only 1000km and come out some black colour thing peace by peace.

so, which you prefer to use? ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by xiaowakka: Apr 6 2009, 04:52 PM
loong2020
post Apr 6 2009, 06:10 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

rclxub.gif some shop sells ferodo rm60 only..same packaging...
TSralf
post Apr 6 2009, 07:58 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(xiaowakka @ Apr 6 2009, 04:46 PM)
blink.gif  blink.gif 被你发现了。。你怎么知道的?

I quite sure the ferodo brake picture I posted at here are not imitation.  laugh.gif

But really weird i dont even can find any ferodo zero information on website or even on ferodo website  doh.gif

and this is ferodo brake pad which after used just only 1000km and come out some black colour thing peace by peace.

so, which you prefer to use?  ohmy.gif
brows.gif 老子有去"爱车一族"潜水的 rolleyes.gif

The local FeRoDo is from TomYamLand aka thailand, no longer from UK smile.gif
adriankhoo153
post Apr 7 2009, 11:55 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(xiaowakka @ Apr 6 2009, 04:46 PM)
blink.gif  blink.gif 被你发现了。。你怎么知道的?

I quite sure the ferodo brake picture I posted at here are not imitation.  laugh.gif

But really weird i dont even can find any ferodo zero information on website or even on ferodo website  doh.gif

so, which you prefer to use?  ohmy.gif
Ohh, meaning that it should have smooth surface huh. Icic. trhanks, will check mine bendix MK. laugh.gif
vios2002
post Apr 7 2009, 02:19 PM

167 posts

you can try other brand like EBC... braking power is good too
xiaowakka
post Apr 7 2009, 10:09 PM

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Apr 7 2009, 11:55 AM)
Ohh, meaning that it should have smooth surface huh. Icic. trhanks, will check mine bendix MK.  laugh.gif
i not mean smooth surface..
but really mine ferodo brake pad is too weird not because it having that kind of surface, just because it come out black colour thing peace by peace make me feel not comfortable.
Ferodo is soft brake pad, and myvi original brake pad is hard surface brake pad, should be abit different.

But wont you realise my posted picture about ferodo brake pad surface is quite different with RALF brother posted picture?

Added on April 7, 2009, 10:10 pm
QUOTE(ralf @ Apr 6 2009, 07:58 PM)
brows.gif 老子有去"爱车一族"潜水的 rolleyes.gif

The local FeRoDo is from TomYamLand aka thailand, no longer from UK  smile.gif
原来你的记性那么好 rclxms.gif

No wonder why i cant find any information at Ferodo website doh.gif

Added on April 7, 2009, 10:11 pm
QUOTE(loong2020 @ Apr 6 2009, 06:10 PM)
rclxub.gif some shop sells ferodo rm60 only..same packaging...
i purchase with the price RM85 biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by xiaowakka: Apr 7 2009, 10:11 PM
ahpaul82
post Apr 7 2009, 10:25 PM

.:保罗:.
3,795 posts

佳礼论坛 的 xiaowakka 啊?
hehe,
i just want to ask about this ... rolleyes.gif
呵呵~
xiaowakka
post Apr 8 2009, 07:49 AM

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Apr 7 2009, 10:25 PM)
hehe,
i just want to ask about this ...  rolleyes.gif
呵呵~
wei.. dont duk爆me whistling.gif
richnet
post Jul 31 2009, 11:47 AM

279 posts

Ferodo Zero normally should cost around RM120++ if not mistaken...
I got mine and been on track for twice, braking power is good but just that it fades off real fast.. hehe now starting to have squek sound.. time to change another set of pads dy... smile.gif

Maddriver,
where's your signature? cannot find eh...
can PM me your contact? (btw, still remember me bo? last time AW proton saga guy from Penang)
TSralf
post Jul 31 2009, 10:40 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(richnet @ Jul 31 2009, 11:47 AM)
Ferodo Zero normally should cost around RM120++ if not mistaken...
I got mine and been on track for twice, braking power is good but just that it fades off real fast.. hehe now starting to have squek sound.. time to change another set of pads dy... smile.gif

Maddriver,
where's your signature? cannot find eh...
can PM me your contact? (btw, still remember me bo? last time AW proton saga guy from Penang)
oh..another old time AW forummer here smile.gif
richnet
post Aug 3 2009, 07:02 PM

279 posts

just got my brake pads changed just now and done the 1st cycle of bedding in already.. gonna bed it again tonight... smile.gif

it is a Ferodo Zero pads and it cost me RM120.
after 1st cycle of bedding, no squeel sound, and the brake started to feel good already. somehow, it still shows abit of 'green fade' effect... smile.gif
H20
post Aug 4 2009, 08:20 PM

17 posts

How about AFI magnum or techstar? anybody try it before? I'm using Bendix metal king titanium, not satisfy with it.. almost no brake when it's cold.. and quite easy to fade when high speed driving at East-West Highway, grik-jeli (lebuhraya timur barat). I'm driving Waja with ABS btw.

Edit:Typo

This post has been edited by H20: Aug 5 2009, 01:53 AM
maddriver
post Aug 4 2009, 11:18 PM

the madman!
1,160 posts

QUOTE(H20 @ Aug 4 2009, 11:20 PM)
How about AFI magnum or techstar? anybody try it before? I'm using Bendix metal king titanium, bot satisfy with it.. almost no brake when it's cold.. and quite easy to fade when high speed driving at East-West Highway, grik-jeli (lebuhraya timur barat). I'm driving Waja with ABS btw.
The bandix pads are much better than the afi

Added on August 4, 2009, 11:19 pm
QUOTE(H20 @ Aug 4 2009, 11:20 PM)
How about AFI magnum or techstar? anybody try it before? I'm using Bendix metal king titanium, bot satisfy with it.. almost no brake when it's cold.. and quite easy to fade when high speed driving at East-West Highway, grik-jeli (lebuhraya timur barat). I'm driving Waja with ABS btw.
The bandix pads are much better than the afi

This post has been edited by maddriver: Aug 4 2009, 11:19 PM
pillage2001
post Aug 9 2009, 05:57 PM

1,990 posts

Just saw this thread.....the so called ferodo brake pads looks used. :S
loong2020
post Aug 9 2009, 08:00 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

what is the proper way to bed in new brake pads and brake disc that have skimmed......??? hmm.gif .......is it must drive 100km, brake until 40km, and repeat the whole step until the brake become spongy???
LiteUser
post Aug 10 2009, 12:36 AM

23 posts

very easy seller in lowyat nowaday if not good they easily say fake one rclxms.gif
zyong88
post Oct 15 2009, 08:26 PM

26 posts

i think this is not ori one, cause i have been using for ferodo zero for all my car, wont facing this kind of problem, and if it is for front breke pad, should be a grove there gua....
andrekua
post Oct 15 2009, 11:58 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Nowadays a lot of spare parts originated from Thailand already. Even my Vios brake pad original is Made in Thai. They claimed its Japan but god knows la. The one from Thais dont have the groove. Groove usage, Im not sure but most will say that it serve as an indicator of brake wear. If groove gone, time to change. Braking wise not a problem. Its better than Made in Malaysia one as a lot of Toyota owner complaining about local made brake pads too soft cant bite well. Not only that, it also create much more brake dust.
Kent Goh
post Nov 23 2009, 12:26 PM

79 posts

With and without groove are depends on brake pad design. There are two possible things you might mean by "Groove" to people in the brake industry.

1) A slot that is ground down into the pad usually in the center is used to prevent cracking, reduce tangential stiffness, reduce fade, and clean corrosion off the rotor.

2) A scoring mark going tangentially on the surface of the pad, generally means that at some point in time previously a small piece of iron disloged itself from the rotor and compacted onto the pad surface. It was then dragged across the pad surface until it ejected from between the pad and the rotor. In this case you'll generally also notice a similar wear path on the rotor.

As seller speak, Ferodo Zero need to run in with soft braking style for roughly 100-150km and Bendix MKT 400'C and GCT 350'C no need. Both performance are good enough enough for street use and also depends on driver braking style, transmission and vehicle weight.

Ferodo ZERO are made in thailand and Bendix GCT/MKT made in malaysia.
I try both pad and both serve me very well.
jolipoli81
post Dec 13 2009, 05:40 AM

Look at all my blinks
1,256 posts

can somebody help me verify is this real or fake ferodo?
this is for front waja
cost RM100 only

I've ask some shop why this doesn't have the center groove, they said because this is from Australia, but it's still genuine ferodo zero, what you guys think?

radi0head
post Dec 13 2009, 07:30 AM

A Shocker
2,759 posts

comments:
- the worst is the edge tear off piece by piece, wink.gif  still can use sand paper to flatten the surface but.. doh.gif  doh.gif wink.gif refer pic below(d) decided to throw this away...i
a) FeRoDo Zero and BenDix Titanium stripe..

b) A fresh brake pad should have 0.9-1cm thickness.

c) FeRoDo Zero, still have 65% thickness, equivalent to ~6cm after doing 10k km...

d) Edge tear off ..
whoa... u r comparing a ferodo zero (performance pad) with a bendix (better than norm pad) and u said the bendix are a better use?

u might get a used or recon wan tho... i dono but i've used ferodo zero and it surely doesnt wear so fast... and i do drive fast... whistling.gif

wink.gif

thefryingfox
post Dec 24 2009, 01:42 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

what about pumatech? are those good stuff also? i was quoted for 100 bucks and compare them to atleast bendix?
huakenny
post Dec 24 2009, 10:21 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Dec 24 2009, 01:42 PM)
what about pumatech? are those good stuff also? i was quoted for 100 bucks and compare them to atleast bendix?
rm100 is good price, where u ask and the pad is how many 'c?
yyap2
post Dec 31 2009, 08:35 AM

145 posts

guys!!~~ who say there no information on ferodo zero... do u all know ferodo is Aust product.... I been using this brand long..

pls go to www.ferodo.com.au for the product infomation...

kobe10
post Jan 1 2010, 11:08 PM

Yyap2, I think i should bring in Ferodo brake pad for Lowyat forumer.hahaha... Need go do some studies again first....
Andy0625
post Sep 17 2010, 02:06 AM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

reviving this topic for the benefits of all.
SUSTham
post Sep 19 2010, 05:07 AM

1,576 posts

Ceramic pads are the way to go these days.

Good stopping power, doesn't scratch or wear out your discs
fast like metallics/semimetallics do (never did like them), low
brake dust.

The only downside of course, is shorter lifespan than metallic pads.
But that is a normal compromise - softer pads = shorter lifespan.

Bendix has ceramic pads.

http://www.bendixbrakes.com/products/frictionPremium.php

The other good ones are Kevlar (as in body armor) pads.
EBC makes them, but I hear that EBC pads are not really
suited for Malaysian roads/weather, poor stopping power.

Mintex has always made good pads, nonmetallic, somewhat
expensive. The agent is in Kepong, forgotten the name.
The last I asked for my old car some years ago, they were
$150 a pair.

http://www.mintex.co.uk/

SR20
post Nov 23 2012, 12:23 PM

79 posts

There are some fake Ferodo out there not sure if I bought the fake one, Last few month going downhill from genting using rawang old road, pad overhead and malfunction, have to stop by rest until the pad colddown, the time with my wife, luckily manage to stop the car on time before it went completely out of function....what an bad experience
post Nov 23 2012, 05:04 PM

maybe can try acdelco brake pads

0.0291sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:54 AM