Games on Multiplatform, Good or bad Idea??

TSThrust
post Jan 10 2009, 11:07 AM, updated 17y ago

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

I personally think it's a bad idea.... If a game goes multiplatform, the PC version will sure to be pirated or being distributed through torrents. Hence, gamers will obviously get the PC version instead of console version.

PC ports such as Prince of Persia was directly ported from the console version. Hence, it can only display resolution of up to 1280x720 only. WTF!! doh.gif (I swear to god I am not throwing in a penny for UBISOFT titles ever again).

Games on consoles offers better piracy protection especially on PS3 where until now, there's no fake copies of games available on this platform.

Multiplatform games will hinder and prevent developers from maximizing a console's hardware capabilities. (They need to detune the software so that it is able to run on weaker consoles).

These are a few points that i am able to think of... anyone have more comments to be made, please post... I would gladly hear comments from other gamers. smile.gif

colt_508
post Jan 10 2009, 11:09 AM

Baru masuk darjah satu (^_^)Y
8,194 posts

Play Original and Enjoy rclxms.gif
TSThrust
post Jan 10 2009, 11:12 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(colt_508 @ Jan 10 2009, 11:09 AM)
Play Original and Enjoy  rclxms.gif
Relax bro! I believe I own more original titles than 90% of the forummers here wink.gif I'll always get original titles if it is deemed worthy. (I dare to admit that I torrented Prince Of Persia PC version, glad I did so tongue.gif)
gundamalpha
post Jan 10 2009, 11:12 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Depends, games like RPGs, racing sims, FPS, action are better developed exclusively. Ports like arcades, older PC games and sports are better off with multiplatform IMO smile.gif
Bancho
post Jan 10 2009, 11:15 AM

329 posts

yes..I don't mind as long as can the game that I want
colt_508
post Jan 10 2009, 11:27 AM

8,194 posts

QUOTE(Bancho @ Jan 10 2009, 11:15 AM)
yes..I don't mind as long as can the game that I want
same to me...
qudeenz360
post Jan 10 2009, 11:30 AM

5,761 posts

QUOTE(colt_508 @ Jan 10 2009, 11:09 AM)
Play Original and Enjoy  rclxms.gif
yeahh bebeh... enjoyy biggrin.gif
trogdor1oh1
post Jan 10 2009, 11:36 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 10 2009, 12:12 PM)
Relax bro! I believe I own more original titles than 90% of the forummers here  wink.gif  I'll always get original titles if it is deemed worthy. (I dare to admit that I torrented Prince Of Persia PC version, glad I did so tongue.gif)
How long did it take by the way?
Torrents are ultra slow on my end.5kbps if I'm lucky.
TSThrust
post Jan 10 2009, 11:38 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(trogdor1oh1 @ Jan 10 2009, 11:36 AM)
How long did it take by the way?
Torrents are ultra slow on my end.5kbps if I'm lucky.
mmm.... about 1 week plus sweat.gif
colt_508
post Jan 10 2009, 11:45 AM

8,194 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 10 2009, 11:38 AM)
mmm.... about 1 week plus  sweat.gif
DL for 24/7 nonstop? shocking.gif
TSThrust
post Jan 10 2009, 11:47 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(colt_508 @ Jan 10 2009, 11:45 AM)
DL for 24/7 nonstop? shocking.gif
Nope! Nite time during weekdays, 24hours during weekend. (You need to do port forwarding to achieve fast download bro). Hey! we can't discuss torrenting in forum. It's not allowed.
Breaktru
post Jan 10 2009, 11:53 AM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 10 2009, 11:07 AM)
I personally think it's a bad idea.... If a game goes multiplatform, the PC version will sure to be pirated or being distributed through torrents. Hence, gamers will obviously get the PC version instead of console version.

PC ports such as Prince of Persia was directly ported from the console version. Hence, it can only display resolution of up to 1280x720 only. WTF!!  doh.gif (I swear to god I am not throwing in a penny for UBISOFT titles ever again).

Games on consoles offers better piracy protection especially on PS3 where until now, there's no fake copies of games available on this platform.

Multiplatform games will hinder and prevent developers from maximizing a console's hardware capabilities. (They need to detune the software so that it is able to run on weaker consoles).

These are a few points that i am able to think of... anyone have more comments to be made, please post... I would gladly hear comments from other gamers.  smile.gif
Don't know what's your problem but I can play Prince of Persia at 1680x1050 . rolleyes.gif

Multi-platform is actually good .. but still , peoples tend to complain and compare about everything .

This post has been edited by Breaktru: Jan 10 2009, 11:55 AM
PhoenixByte
post Jan 10 2009, 11:57 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

I dun mind multiplatform as long as the console fanboy dun come in and say my version ROXXXXORS...For me..the more gamer to a game..the more fun it will be in discussing it.

I only hope one day we can get cross platform multiplayer smile.gif
ben_ang
post Jan 10 2009, 12:01 PM

ITS JINX NOW.POWDER FELL DOWN A WELL
2,013 posts

y not multi-platform? i got a PC lying around, do i need 2 buy another console 2 play games? then i need a PS3, a Xbox all in my room?
colt_508
post Jan 10 2009, 12:06 PM

8,194 posts

I wish Pikachu was in Xbox, Old Snake in Wii, Halo in PS3 rclxms.gif

Sankyou
PhoenixByte
post Jan 10 2009, 12:11 PM

798 posts

then encik Petir will hv more modal to attack happy.gif
colt_508
post Jan 10 2009, 12:26 PM

8,194 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 10 2009, 12:11 PM)
then encik Petir will hv more modal to attack happy.gif
guess what?
SniperSnake as a special guess and Samurai with the Funstation rclxms.gif
PhoenixByte
post Jan 10 2009, 12:30 PM

798 posts

I want Gears Of War on the PS3!!! biggrin.gif
colt_508
post Jan 10 2009, 12:35 PM

8,194 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 10 2009, 12:30 PM)
I want Gears Of War on the PS3!!! biggrin.gif
I want God Of War 3 on Xbox360!!! biggrin.gif
PhoenixByte
post Jan 10 2009, 12:37 PM

798 posts

Newest Zelda on BOTH 360 and PS3 smile.gif

0.0239sec    1.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:14 PM