Folding Bicycle like...........Dahon?, Any Idea..??? Please contribute.. Thx

etigge
post Apr 12 2013, 09:49 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(glozz @ Apr 12 2013, 06:59 PM)
Good Day,

Looking to buy 2 units of folding bikes to be brought alot when I move to Europe. The question is whether i should buy them here or in Europe? I'm looking for bikes that could handle mostly countryside riding as i intend to use them for travelling around on a train. Was thinking of getting a full 26" mountainbike which is able to fold, but any thoughts please?

thanks.
I would rather buy them in Europe if it is expensive ones but if then if your choice is Taiwanese brands, you can buy it here but the luggage charges will amount to the same difference. Countryside riding does not entail off roading right? They have tarred road on their countryside as well, my guess is a 20 inch folding bike would be compact enough to carry into trains and tubes. Before buying either here or there, you can check websites for the price difference or maybe hunt for second hand units there. This will allow you to buy a higher end bike at a lower price.

In your case, I wouldn't want to lug around a 26" foldie around. hmm.gif

etigge
post Apr 15 2013, 01:30 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(kennypotatoes @ Apr 15 2013, 12:57 AM)
hi,
newbie here..... was studying on it.....

hows the brand XDS 320?i found rm990 at klang....

but my wife going Taiwan soon, thinking to ask her bring me KHS.....

in dilemma now......

1k n 2k bike really that much different?
Go for the KHS. Rather wait then taking the XDS. smile.gif If you want to ride permanently, meaning seriously go for a better one. You can check this site out.

http://handsonbike.blogspot.com/2011/11/ch...es-what-is.html
etigge
post Apr 20 2013, 04:38 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(mockbain @ Apr 19 2013, 10:57 PM)
Unfortunately no bro..didn't take any pics...the RD broke while I was riding @ KLGCC...the KLGCC's inner road from TTDI is a slight uphill then goes downhill all the way with a few bumps until the main gate heading towards Sime Darby Convention Centre...realized the RD was broken after the main gate when I was shifting to lower gear as it was going uphill again...tough luck...sent it straight to LBS the same day...

Will be bringing the bike home tomorrow though...
It seems that the newer Neos RD is not suitable to pairing with a double chainring setups. I saw another one Visc P18 getting the RD changed to Tiagra. The Neo broke into 2 parts! rclxub.gif Those who have bought the Dash P18 and the Visc P18 should send it back to changed to another type of RD.
etigge
post Apr 20 2013, 10:23 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Apr 20 2013, 10:06 PM)
hi guys, recently I won a Lerun Folding Bike from Maybank contest

and I'm not sure what's the price that I can sell to others

please advise?
Let me know how much you want to let go? I have a friend looking for cheaper alternative to Dahons. The shops are selling for RM600 plus minus RM50, depending on how well you know the shop keeper and at the LeRun's warehouse sale, it was selling for RM500 plus.

etigge
post Apr 21 2013, 11:11 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Apr 21 2013, 11:02 PM)
Dr. Hon punya formula... kenot pakai.....  biggrin.gif
Seems Dr.Hon going for mass market as said by Samosaurus. You can however go for his son, Joshua Hon's bikes named TERN ! rclxms.gif Wonder why the son is competing with his father?
etigge
post Apr 22 2013, 12:12 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(ohmlawx @ Apr 22 2013, 10:51 AM)
Lot of fake hummer nowadays.
The Boardwalk is OK because it uses a single chainring, ie 8 speed only as opposed to Dash P18 and Visc P18 which have double chainring. I also suspect the Neos are made with cheaper materials now to cut cost.
etigge
post Apr 25 2013, 03:00 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Apr 25 2013, 01:33 PM)
why need double chainring? 7 speed is enough got the speeds these things are designed for. more speeds = more weight = less speed. foldies are for compact mobility not outright speed.
buy the most bike u can afford, no sense upgrading a foldie, parts are expensive.
7 speed is definitely not enough if you want to ride hilly areas. Sometimes we use foldies for touring also. Yes. you may say why don;t you just buy a touring hybrid. Reason is the folding capability. Most important, buy what you need the bike for! tongue.gif If you want to commute around your Taman, then even Raleigh will do. In some instance, we ride and when we reach the destination, we don't feel like riding back, we call a taxi and put the bikes into the boot! blush.gif

More gears more options on maintaining your cadence and also easier for hill climbs.
etigge
post Apr 25 2013, 03:53 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ Apr 25 2013, 02:20 PM)
hehe sometime the little boy in you will urge u to do something with the bike... like adding light here and there add pannier when all is done u will want to do more... in the end when you add up the cost it will be almost the same with the high end bike.
I started with an Eco C7 and my wife's also an Eco C7. My daughter's is a Speed P8 so her bike is OK. I started with my bike and I modified to 8 speed and then I got a Kinetix rim and modified to 9 speed and transfer the 8 speed to my wife's bike. We ride in Cahaya Alam one day and it was tough, so I was thinking of getting an 18 speed. The cheapest was Java Fit at RM1600 and next one Hasa's, over 2K. I still prefer Dahons but it's almost 3K for 18 speed.

Then LeRun's warehouse sale came along and I sapu all the Sora cranks at RM80 each. Went around searching for the Octal link BB and finally found it. Went to GW cycle and bought 3 FD adapters for Dahon at RM130 each and also 3 Shimano 2300 FDs. That's the cheapest braze on FDs at RM70 each. Add in shifters and the total cost for the 2 speed front chainrings conversion is RM400 with the shifters and also cable. I saved on labour as I can do it myself.

The weight increase is quite small as the components quality is lighter than the original components but the ride is most definitely better! thumbup.gif I got almost 2 sets of original Eco C7s Dahon's components lying around. Harder is to find a frame all all those components. sad.gif

For those interested, here's the breakdown on the modifications.

Kinetix rims (second hand) RM400 , 9 speed cassette (Alivio) RM80 , LX shifters RM 150, LX RD RM50 ( warehouse sale), 2300 FD RM70, Sora cranks RM80, Shiman0 Octal link BB RM50, Dahon FD adapter RM130, Avid V-brakes and levers RM120, SR saddle (for big backside rider) RM140, Duccas seatpost and handlebar RM 310, sealed bearing headset from GW Cycle RM80 plus cables and colored housing RM60 and that's RM1720 plus the initial cost of the bike 1K, that's 2.7K. If I can sell off the old parts, it becomes cheaper!

Old parts left, 7 speed freewhell cogs, Shimano Tourney RD, 7 speed grip shift, seat post, saddle, original 52T crank, original rims and tyres, V-brakes and brake levers, handle bar.

user posted imageuser posted image
etigge
post Apr 27 2013, 03:51 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(storm04 @ Apr 27 2013, 02:51 AM)
i'm planning to get a folding bike as i have space constrain at home
I dont really have a fix budget but max rm2k i guess.

i'm looking for easy maintanence and hopefully lasting bike.
i'll be using it for exercise maybe around d housing areas, around some lakes, etc. (exercising indoor with exercise bike sucks...)

any suggestion?

btw, feedback on this pls?
http://www.groupon.my/deals/national-deal/...116&a=715827970

tks!
With your budget, get a Dahon Speed P8. If you hunt around you can get around 1.8K. If you want more gear ratios you can get the Dash P18 which is slightly over your budget but I think it can be bought for 2K. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Apr 29 2013, 09:16 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(storm04 @ Apr 28 2013, 10:26 PM)
i'm getting the java fit... thanks for the advice!
Take a look at this also. One left, he has 2 in the beginning. icon_rolleyes.gif

http://bicyclebuysell.com/view_item.php?id=179695
etigge
post Apr 29 2013, 10:01 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(cikli77 @ Apr 29 2013, 05:57 PM)
Hi sifus.just want to know,can a standard dahon rims upgraded to novatec hubs?
It can be done but the front fork needs to be pulled apart as Novatec (mountain bike hubs) have wider hubs for the front. If you are using Dahon Eco C7 (like mine) the fork is steel and it can be done but I am not sure about aluminium forks though (as in Speed P8). Another hard part is finding Novatec hubs or any hubs for that matter which have 28 holes rear and 20 holes front. As for the rear hubs the quick release can tighten the little gap.

When I bough my WTB rims (original Dahon Dash rims), the former owner already shodded it with a Novatec hub and I don't know where he sourced the 28 holes hub from. If you find any, please let us know! icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Apr 30 2013, 12:35 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(cikli77 @ Apr 29 2013, 11:27 PM)
I ride a dr.hon d8.i saw novatec do41sb front do42sb rear having 32 holes.so this is not suitable for stock rim.but some say it can fit birdy java etc but not sure dahon.ive checking some site but cant really find the right info.u r lucky to get a complete kinetix comp with cool hub.yup happy to share if i found the right hub.btw if anybody wants to sell their kinetix,pls pm me ya.
If you can find a 28 hole Novatec rear hub, it can be fitted on the Dr.Hon. Kinetix rims are sold at Rodalink for about RM800 per set with the rims. Then the front is sealed bearings but the rear is not but better than the stock wheelsets. It's the narrow front hubs that is special to Dahons. GW cycle in Kota Kemuning also stock wheelsets suitable for Dahons but be prepared to pay high prices. GW Cycle can also modify your bike to 16 speed or even 18 speed.

Another option is to order 20 inch rims (get a double walled) from Taobao with 32 holes. After getting the rims, you can practically use any mountain bike hubs, even American Classic or Chris King.

This post has been edited by etigge: Apr 30 2013, 12:42 AM
etigge
post May 14 2013, 08:57 AM

295 posts

There's a trip next month!

rclxms.gif Starts from Kepong ETS station. Hop onto train, with folding bikes in bags only!)
Alight in Rasa but I think KKB is nearer! Got to be discussed.
Set up and cycle to KKB and then straight on to Chilling Fish Santuary.
Back to railway station to take the train back!

Anyone interested? I will post it here once it's official. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post May 15 2013, 02:12 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(babyshey @ May 15 2013, 12:25 AM)
Hi guy, I owned broadwalk D8, after riding for some times I feel like the bike is not powerful enough to go up hill ( of coz I know I don't have the stamina too tongue.gif) I've been cycling around Taman cahaya and it's hard for me when it's uphill.

I was planning to upgrade/trade in my bike...what's your recommendation- whether upgrade the current one with more gears or get a better bike? What bike do u suggest
The Boardwalk D8 is quite a good bike thumbup.gif You will loose trying to sell it off. I ride the Eco C7 which is an even cheaper version but have since modified to higher specs components. I have no problem now riding up even Genting Peras. As for yours, changing your front to double chainring is not hard as you don't need the expensive FD adapters as the Dahon C7s. You can get a 34.9mm oversize clamps for the FD. You need to get a left hand side shifter for it. I saw many in GW cycle. But the left and the right will be different though or get another trigger shift set which will be easier to shift. Hunt for a cheap double chainring like FSA or even a second hand Sora. With 18 speed after modifications, should be easier to ride hilly roads.

Here's a nice looking Dahon Boardwalk D8 thumbup.gif

etigge
post May 15 2013, 10:25 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(babyshey @ May 15 2013, 09:31 AM)
Had read some of his blog on his upg of D7 to 20 speed..not sure how much he spent on this but must be a lot >.< and that's also another reason why I'm still contemplating to trade in to get better bike. For my case, if upgrade to 18 speed, roughly how much does it cost?
I started mine,(I have to upgrade 3 bikes as I have 3 in the family), when I went to the LeRun warehouse sales where I bought 3 sets of Sora triple chainring cranks for only RM80 each. It's an old model but suffice. Let's talk about per bike here. I have to source the BB and I manage to find it for RM50 each. Add another RM120 for a pair of shifters and another RM70 for a Shimano 2300 FD and finally an FD adapter for RM130 from GW. As for yours you don't need the adapter as your seat tube can accomodate a clamp style FD but the Eco can't. Another RM10 for the cable. In total RM460 to upgrade the front crank.

It's cheaper if you upgrade yours to 16 speed and not touch the 8 speed at all. If you go for 9 speed it's going to cost a bomb because the rims are hard to source and expensive. For 9 speed it's only available in cassette type hubs and I thinks yours is a freehub type. when you factor in wheelsets, cassette, RD, you might as well sell the Boardwalk and find another bike.
etigge
post May 17 2013, 09:20 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(sakamoto @ May 16 2013, 11:30 PM)
Hi all,

No offence to dahon and other high end bike riders, I have my 1st trs folding bike with rear suspension(comfort 2.0), than I later cnc a alu post to replace the shock, to save energy for long rides, and now I have seal bearings on both f and r hubs, and running with Altus 8 speed rd. After five month of riding , my trs folding bike clock near to 2000km, sort of getting bored of it, so looking for upgrade,  I have buddy riding mup8 and speed p8. I did not see any advantage over mine trs. Interm of speed, weight and performance.

Maybe other riders can show me those point I have miss.......

I just bought a releigh Ugo for the frame, do you think I make a right move?
No offence either here also! tongue.gif If I want to ride mostly on the tarmac, I don't really advise suspension at all. It just makes another point for maintenance. The rear sus has pivoting points which can become loose in the later years but off course it depends on how long you want the bike to last. As why I choose Dahons is, they are under warranty for 3 years and as warranty for components, that's not really important as they are mostly entry level components and I can't expect them to last anyway. I have changed most of it anyway! The joint is where it's important and Dahon's patented joint is why I choose to invest in it and also the guarantee of withstanding 105 kg rider! blush.gif

Have you tried riding your friends MU or Speed? If you haven't ride it, you can't really compare. Everyone can reach the destination given time and also the fitness of each rider or the type of bike. Even my grandfather used to ride from Pulau Betong to Bayan Lepas frequently on a single speed monster in the yesteryears. It's a matter of your determination but mostly, I have to admit it the pride of owning a branded bike also. It's part of making us enjoying the bike. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post May 17 2013, 08:08 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(oracle @ May 17 2013, 04:15 PM)
Hi guys,

I'm planning to get the Dahon Dash P18, but as I read the reviews, found that the 2013 model has some problems such as brakes and the RD & FD. Is this still worth to buy?  If I am to upgrade this bike, where should I go to and whether it's worth it to upgrade?
Johnny, the owner of My Bike Shop in Bandar Utama is selling his trusty Dahon Dash 18. He has also modified his rear hubs to sealed bearings. Call him thumbup.gif
etigge
post May 18 2013, 06:24 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ May 18 2013, 04:45 PM)
bro if u like the style of old p18, wait for johnny...  biggrin.gif
I second this ! thumbup.gif Johnny is probably in Putrajaya or somewhere in a race.

I try not to buy at Rodalink though. Their service is lousy! Also no flexibility at all. Their technical knowledge is lacking also. This is what we called " Sei Pan Pan ". Although I have bought quite a number of components especially Biologic components, I still refuse their membership card.

Their knowledge is at par with the bike shop in Bdr Mahkota Cheras where I once wanted to change my 7 speed to 8 speed and he adamantly says , " it cannot be done ! He proceeded to explain a whole lecture on technicalities which I can't understand! biggrin.gif " Then I asked him to just change the freehub that I have brought along. Then he cannot undo it! blush.gif I then said, " it's OK" and went home and do it myself. He was the reason I bought the bike tools kit! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: May 18 2013, 06:33 PM
etigge
post May 18 2013, 08:06 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ May 18 2013, 06:50 PM)
Hi etigge, how much you paid for your bike tools kit? How much? Brand? Where you bought.?

Anyone here can recommend one?
Just the el cheapo 'Bikehand' . I got it for RM180. I think can find in any bike shop or if they don't have just order from them.

This post has been edited by etigge: May 18 2013, 08:07 PM
etigge
post May 20 2013, 10:22 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ May 20 2013, 10:03 AM)
i oso newbie but if not mistaken normal mtb hub can fit foldies hub due to normal hub is wider also the hole count is not the same.. this is what i encounter with the eco7.. but for hummer not sure whether it use normal hub or not.. if it use normal hub that is same with mtb hub then you will be safe.. but it will cost you a bomb to upgrade.
Check the number of spokes. If there are 32 spokes, changing the hubs is easy as most mountain bike hubs are 32 holes. If it is 28 like Dahons, then a bit hard to source. There are 28 hole hubs but needs to be hunted. As for the width, my wife's Eco C7 fork can be widen to fit in a normal width hub. I did that to install a quick release.

The most expensive part of a folding bike other than the frame/fork is the wheelset. Also check if the original hub is a freewheel or a cassette type. If it is an 8 speed, then it is usually the cassette type and changing it is easy. icon_rolleyes.gif

12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0616sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:18 PM