Folding Bicycle like...........Dahon?, Any Idea..??? Please contribute.. Thx
etigge
Jul 25 2013, 11:34 AM

QUOTE(jackiewong @ Jul 25 2013, 10:13 AM) if that is the price for marathon plus HS 348.. then im more than happy to get it for that price.. cuz it is considered cheap.. referred to the Schwalbe's home page.. the tire for 20x1.35 is priced at USD52.55, if converted.. it cost more than RM150 per tire.. seem like I need to call rodalink whether they carry this model anot.. The Schwalbe has a Marathon Supreme and another Marathon PLUS! And that also differs in with wire bead and folding, I think the Marathon Plus is harder to find locally and if I am not mistaken it cost over RM200 each. The Marathon you see normally cost about RM180 a pair at some LeRun's dealer and it's shodded on some Dahon models formerlly.
etigge
Jul 27 2013, 10:40 AM

[quote=adriankhoo153,Jul 27 2013, 09:40 AM] How much is Schwable apple cost? Doesn't see rodalink, usjcycle or sen aik selling this. Where to get this tyre? Is it expensive? [/quote I think dealers for LeRun like Chin Aik can order it for you. Problem is LeRun always gives the best selling items to their own Rodalink outlets. Indonesian owners, what do you expect? They should cost about RM150 to RM170 a pair and also noted was the newer version has different tread pattern than the older ones. Also note that Schwalbe has a factory in Indonesia and only models manufactured in Indonesia are imported here so some models might not be available. As I said before, bad company hogging the good brands!  Even worse is the bad service from the Rodalink outlets here.
etigge
Jul 27 2013, 11:50 PM

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jul 27 2013, 08:58 PM) What's the correct seat post height? Must the seat post higher than the handle? There was a recent posting on the correct seat height. Usually the legs are slightly bent when the pedal is at the lowest position, just a sight bend. As for handlebar on folding bikes, it's to your liking, off course it must be comfortable. Some like to hunch a little , some a bit upright.
etigge
Jul 27 2013, 11:55 PM

QUOTE(Arcarius @ Jul 27 2013, 05:04 PM) Will definitely give DTH a try once my Apples gives out or botak. That may be many miles more though. On another note, will changing rear hub to 4 sealed bearing unit give much of a difference? This is in reference to Dash P18. Itchy to upgrade. I will give an honest opinion. Mine is a 4 sealed bearing one (Novatec) and it's not not much different. Off course any improvement is critical in competitions but we are not in competitions, are we? Advantage is more to the hubs not getting loose as in cone ball bearings where you need to readjust it. Once the cone ball bearing setup gets a bit loose, the rims tend to wobble slightly. If it is too bad, the rims might rub againts the brake pads and makes pedalling tougher.
etigge
Jul 29 2013, 04:07 PM

QUOTE(mbax @ Jul 29 2013, 11:01 AM) It's a 14 or 16 inches wheel. But if you like compact and able to handle the fast cadence of a 16 incher, it's worth the bargain.
etigge
Jul 29 2013, 06:24 PM

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jul 29 2013, 05:18 PM) With the budget of under RM1.5k, will u go for Tern C7, Java Fit or Dopperganger 211 assault or Dahon Broadway? Dahon Broadway ?  Is it Dr. Hon Boardwalk? Most rider will go for the Java Fit because of the specs and also the number of gears but IMHO, I will take the Tern C7. The construction of the frame is the best among all but sadly the components are the worst among all. If you are in to joining rides with other riders, be prepared to spend more on upgrading in future if you take the Tern. Still. I will go for the Tern. GW cycle is selling the same Tern with an upgraded front crank making it 14 speed for RM1600.
etigge
Jul 31 2013, 12:02 AM

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jul 30 2013, 05:09 PM) Talking bout mini pump, I see some selling with the co2 thing? That one should be easy to pump rite? Why hand like hulk if it's easy to pump?  co2 catridges are not cheap either!
etigge
Jul 31 2013, 01:10 AM

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Jul 31 2013, 12:15 AM) wanna get a foot pump and keep in the car ... any good one below RM100? I bought mine for 40 bucks only with pressure gauge. Beto cost another 15 bucks extra.
etigge
Aug 1 2013, 11:01 AM

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Aug 1 2013, 09:39 AM) 1. Kali Chakra Plus Helmet - RM160 2. Knogg Blinder R - RM230 3. Bottles x2 - RM20 4. Wellgo QR Pedals - RM160 5. Finishing Line Dry Lube - RM50 6. Cateye Micro Wireless - RM150 7. Top Tube Bag - RM45 8. Royal Selle Ariel Saddle - RM150 9. Ultrafire Torchlights and Velcro Mount - RM60 10. China Blinkers X2 - RM10 11. Padded Shorts - RM60 12. Gloves - RM45 Total - RM1145 To get list 1. Foot pump - budget RM50 2. Tires - budget RM150 3. New chains - budget RM100 Why do you need new chains?
etigge
Aug 1 2013, 11:19 AM

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Aug 1 2013, 11:09 AM) I dont know but I might need a second opinion coz mine really looks worn.. No one brings spare chains when they ride out rite...hahaha As long as the chain doesn't slip, it's still OK. When it slips, it either the crank or the chain.
etigge
Aug 2 2013, 09:06 AM

QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Aug 2 2013, 08:59 AM) Breaking News... Just to share... People always tell me center fold is not so good or strong.. But i not understand what they say.. Now i understand, this is what they mean... [attachmentid=3566181][attachmentid=3566182][attachmentid=3566183] This is the Jetstream!  What did you do with it? How did it happened and how old is the frame? If it is less than 3 years old, I think you can claim for a new frame.
etigge
Aug 5 2013, 03:39 PM

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 5 2013, 02:27 PM) How is Velo Plus compare to SR Freedom?  Which one more comfort for long duration ride?  I am using the SR Freedom. This is my fourth saddle and for normal 20 to 30 kilometers ride, they seem OK. Any further than this, the butt still pains, maybe due to the distance, my weight or maybe just wrong design of the saddle. The main painful parts are the pelvic bones and I think the saddles are too wide and a saddle even wider is better as the edge of the SR Freedom is pushing the pelvic bone and if the saddle is broader maybe the edges won't pinch the pelvis or even maybe a narrower one is the answer as the edge of the saddle does not reach the pelvic bones. But the whole body will be resting on the crack of the butt, hahaha!  BUt I have a size 40 inch butt so it might be the same case with other riders. Another drawback of the Freedom is it is very hard to buy a saddle bag as most saddle bags have the clips that is bolted to the rails and the Freedom's rail is too far in. This post has been edited by etigge: Aug 5 2013, 03:42 PM
etigge
Aug 6 2013, 08:46 AM

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 6 2013, 08:41 AM) Can we fit Topeak Aero Wedge with tradisional strap? Not those quick release clip type.  If the saddle bags uses velcro straps, then it is possible to hang under the seats!
etigge
Aug 6 2013, 08:50 AM

QUOTE(H2D @ Aug 6 2013, 01:20 AM) i'm talking about the moonsaddle bro...  i dun think it will be available here, cos it is very 'unknown' saddle.. i got it direct from AUS... Moon saddle.......hmmm........... one slip and down onto the top tube and the whole perineum plus your scrotums will be affected. Hahaha!
etigge
Aug 7 2013, 03:17 PM

QUOTE(nis_eric @ Aug 7 2013, 10:15 AM) Hi guys.. maybe my question might not be relevant in this topic, but anyone knows where I can find the spare parts for Dahon bikes in KL/PJ area? I am thinking of modifying some of the components for a better ride..  Dahon main retailers Rodalink don't actually modify components but you can upgrade it though like adding carriers or changing seatpost or adding a bag etc but not really upgrading the components. Maybe you can post what do you actually want to modify then maybe I can answer your question specifically. My Eco C7 , two of it actually has only the frame, fork and handlepost as the original part while the rest are all replaced!
etigge
Aug 7 2013, 11:52 PM

QUOTE(nis_eric @ Aug 7 2013, 05:01 PM) Hi etigge, I've a Dahon Metro D6 which I bought in Japan in 2010 and the metal handle bar starts rusting. I'd seen some pretty cool modified folding bikes while I am in Malaysia, but I doubt it will be easy to find those Dahon spare parts in Malaysia. An example of a cool modified Dahon bike: http://handsonbike.blogspot.com/2013/03/gu...dahon-tern.htmlI think the gears and cranks should not be a problem to have the parts upgraded to a racing bike Shimano or SRAM parts, but the original parts, such as changing the handle bar to a alloy ones etc might need some searching on the internet. Just wondering if someone here might know where I can get it here in Malaysia/Singapore..  The handle post or the handle bar (I don't know which you are referring to) can be found in Rodalink and also I saw the Dahon original handle post sold at GW cycle in Kota Kemuning. It's not that hard to find. Either that or you can call Keen Keen Wong as he also has aftermarket handle post. Here: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=530...&type=1&theaterHere's another from online bicycle shop. http://www.bicyclehero.com/us/dahon-repair...andle-post.htmlNot susah, my friend
etigge
Aug 7 2013, 11:59 PM

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 7 2013, 06:53 PM) Still undecided which second foldie to get. My first foldie is Raleigh Ugo. I wan something more faster and lighter. Smoother ride and comfort too. Jave Fit looks good but Tern and Dahon with rm1.5k can only get basic setup as same with Raleigh Ugo. Any other better option bike. Really love Tern but can only get C7 which component is the about the same with Raleigh. Btw how much is Tern Link D8 cost? Anyway place can get cheaper price! van urban perhaps? Tern are good bikes  . The cheapest and most basic is the Tern C7 and as said, it's a 7 speed unit and the Tern D8 is 8 speed for a few more hundred bucks. I would suggest though to take the Tern C7 as it comes with Shimano Tourney rear derailleur but this is not the winning point. The winning point is, the frame has a rear derailleur hanger as opposed to the D8 which uses Neos RD which are screwed at a different location compared to Tourney. This means you can only change to other Neos RD or get a modified RD adapter which is hard to find and also not part of the original frame attachment. With the C7, you can easily upgrade to 9 speed Shimano RDs and shifters and cassette. Van's is not the cheapest place you can get the Terns, that I can bet with you. Shop around!
etigge
Aug 8 2013, 04:59 PM

QUOTE(ianlti @ Aug 8 2013, 02:22 PM) The frame of C7 And D8 is different, the folding of c7 is same as the dahon internal folding. tern D8 is external fold, fold faster but slightly bigger. D8 is bang of the buck, C7 wheel set cannot be upgraded with 8+ speed cassette, only D8 can go from 8-9-10 speeds. I would say if you want, you should go with the D8 and slowly upgrade. you can check out the TERNout@sg facebook group of SG for more Poison upgrades. Kind of ironic...huh! Get the D8 you get better folding and easy upgrades to 9 or 10 speed because of the cassette freehub BUT no RD hanger on the frame and can only use Neos RDs. Unless you put in an adapter, which is screw onto the frame on the outside as shown. This adapter is available in Singapore but not here.  Buy the C7 you can upgrade to Shimano or SRAM RDs, (8.9 or even 10 speed) but you need to change the hub or rather the whole wheelset as the original hubs where the freewheel is on the cassette and not the hub. These are limited to 8 speed only and even 8 speed is already hard to find. Then again if you are into upgrades, sooner or later the rims will be changed anyway since the original ones on Tern D8s are not that superior anyway. Spend another RM400 you get a better dual layered rims with Novatec sealed bearing hubs!
etigge
Aug 8 2013, 05:25 PM

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 8 2013, 04:58 PM) I am the guy who like to modified bike. So do u think Speed P8 is good? The new Dr.Hon Speed P8 has it's specs changed. Schwalbe Big Apples are not the original tires now, the brake levers are plastic (both the levers and the v-brakes needs to be changed!). the seat post pump is not given now, the shifters are not SRAM anymore but the cheap looking green colored Dahon shifter, there's no rear carrier, the seats are not Biologics anymore. Other than that, it's the same