Building A Website., Need some advice

nash9701
post Jan 9 2009, 09:22 PM

looking for a bright future...
1,356 posts

i once learn Dreamweaver on my own, b4 that Frontpage..and it a nice software to build website especially handling CSS coding...in fact my friend in Cosmopint oso use Dreamweaver...i just learn for "suka-suka" as i'm not and IT student and not really expert, just for my general knowledge...then I try Joomla coz my friend use this for his website...now he manage the Kulim High Tech Park website...but creating website really give me a lot of knowledge...just sharing my little experience

(^___^)
karhoe
post Jan 9 2009, 11:49 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Jan 9 2009, 07:26 AM)
Well usually people use joomla or drupal for websites (never tried them before, so no input for you mate) and wordpress for blogs (quite easy to use, thats why it's for blogs)

Btw I code with only notepads and wordpads. I dont use Dreamweaver and any other software laugh.gif

The idea is to include your header that is connected to a CSS (Cascading Style Sheet) that controls the outlook of the website.

Design wise, CSS is the way to go. Learn that.

EDIT: Hosting and Domain name registration wise ... (One piece of advice: DON'T HOST THEM TOGETHER) and Serverfreak and Dynadot is good enough. I'm so far contented with their service. Godaddy sucks though, they only concentrate on marketing their product like Microsoft.
Can I know why is it not advisable to get domain + hosting under same registrar?
djzen
post Jan 10 2009, 03:24 AM

Startup life!
2,873 posts

getting domain+hosting from the same company is fine, but:

1) make sure its a well known company (in which many cases we will not know)
2) as long as you have full control over the domain. (ownership, etc.)

sometimes companies dont want you to change hosting companies so they refuse to release your domain after a quarrel.

Added on January 10, 2009, 3:24 amEDIT: note that it happens not very often, but it does happen. most companies release it - some after a lawyers letter.

This post has been edited by djzen: Jan 10 2009, 03:24 AM
karhoe
post Jan 10 2009, 08:09 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(djzen @ Jan 10 2009, 03:24 AM)
getting domain+hosting from the same company is fine, but:

1) make sure its a well known company (in which many cases we will not know)
2) as long as you have full control over the domain. (ownership, etc.)

sometimes companies dont want you to change hosting companies so they refuse to release your domain after a quarrel.

Added on January 10, 2009, 3:24 amEDIT: note that it happens not very often, but it does happen. most companies release it - some after a lawyers letter.
Well, as long as the WHOIS information are all my personal details, it means the domain is mine right? I could change nameserver from the provided control panel as well
TSCyberTroop
post Jan 10 2009, 10:13 PM

743 posts

Ok I got another question to ask, does all domain providers such as serverfreak support joomla software?
khairolnizam
post Jan 11 2009, 12:06 AM

ouh.. ok..
1,153 posts

yes. most provider supports joomla..
djzen
post Jan 11 2009, 12:36 AM

Startup life!
2,873 posts

yea, they support joomla. at the same time you can install blogs and forums too biggrin.gif
stereokumonomu
post Jan 13 2009, 10:38 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(johntxy @ Jan 9 2009, 08:16 PM)
ah. take a look at giztech.com.my is that the drop down menu you are saying? If so i'll pass you the module name and you can download it.
@johntxy

can i have the module name too?.. icon_question.gif

0.0160sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:12 AM