TSlightning69
post Jan 8 2009, 09:21 AM, updated 17y ago

2,298 posts

Could PlayStation get the axe?
Some Sony "sacred cows" scheduled at slaughterhouse

By Mike Smith

Drastic cost-cutting is in Sony's future, and the games division could be one of the business lines on the chopping block.

That's the specter raised by a Times of London piece published Monday, which credits anonymous company sources with news that a massive restructuring program, beginning in a few weeks, will "abolish or fundamentally alter many of Sony's long-established business practices."

That doesn't necessarily mean the end of the PlayStation, but it's hard to see Sony quitting any of its major markets, PlayStation or otherwise. Can you imagine shopping for a TV without checking out the Bravia line, or for a laptop without looking at Vaio?

Although Sony's games division reported improving performance last year, it still lost over $400 million in the third quarter of 2008, and although the PS3 is the most expensive of the three major consoles, it's by far the costliest to produce. After a disappointing holiday season and the prospect of harder economic times on the horizon, could Sony's games division be contemplating a software-only future?

Source

Here is my opinion...last year was suppose to be year of the PS3, but it didn't happen. Sony's exclusive games did not help move the PS3 while the XBOX360 price cut and Gears of War 2 help Microsoft move twice as much console compare to the PS3.

Sony decision not to cut the price of the PS3 turns out to be a very bad decision. I am not surprise if Sony's shareholder would vote to axe the Playstation.

SWATwolf
post Jan 8 2009, 09:25 AM

431 posts

woohoo! 1st! laugh.gif
ajis
post Jan 8 2009, 09:25 AM

plastic love
3,554 posts

hai mr lightning69 biggrin.gif ...happy new year
PhoenixByte
post Jan 8 2009, 09:26 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

ah mann..i'm third?
ajis
post Jan 8 2009, 09:29 AM

plastic love
3,554 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 8 2009, 09:26 AM)
ah mann..i'm third?
kohkohkoh...lambat...lambat rclxs0.gif
SWATwolf
post Jan 8 2009, 09:32 AM

431 posts

dun be sad at least u r top 3 tongue.gif
Microsuck_360
post Jan 8 2009, 09:34 AM

241 posts

yeah post#7... laugh.gif
ajis
post Jan 8 2009, 09:36 AM

plastic love
3,554 posts

you guys wanna go yamcha?
honoreric
post Jan 8 2009, 09:36 AM

159 posts

I'm on that point Mr. Lightning. Its very disappointing that Sony makes their stance of not giving a price cut, i think one of the reason is due to the fact that Ps3 owns a blu-ray disc drive. It's already considered the cheapest Blu-ray player on the market, further price reduction might decrease its reputation.

I found it quite disappointing for what's releasing on Playstation on 2008. After all the hypes created for it, it doesn't sound promising so far. IN fact, i really think Xbox 360 got all the shocking news, especially hearing that Xbox360 will have Tekken 6 and Final Fantasy Xiii.

I'm not a fanboy of any of the console, in fact i owned both the consoles. However, looking at a neutral perspective, i do think Sony need to do something real quick, or maybe plan ahead for Ps4 =P.
Microsuck_360
post Jan 8 2009, 09:40 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(ajis @ Jan 8 2009, 09:36 AM)
you guys wanna go yamcha?
if u in kl can la...

back to topic..yeah 2008 a little bit disappointing..hope 2009 will be great.. icon_rolleyes.gif
HHH816
post Jan 8 2009, 09:44 AM

97 posts

2009 got ff13. sony will win...
TSlightning69
post Jan 8 2009, 09:45 AM

2,298 posts

If you guys wanna go yamcha...go elsewhere. I hope moderator do justice to people who spam!!!
SUSihavenoavatar
post Jan 8 2009, 09:47 AM

72 posts

no worries 2009 will be great year for ps3..
cwl_ykh
post Jan 8 2009, 09:47 AM

5,114 posts

omg im late!! im #14!!! happy new year abg kilat!!

This post has been edited by cwl_ykh: Jan 8 2009, 09:47 AM
tommyfai
post Jan 8 2009, 09:49 AM

408 posts

QUOTE(HHH816 @ Jan 8 2009, 09:44 AM)
2009 got ff13. sony will win...
well.. i think it will effect much MGS4 is famous too ??? doesn't move ps3 anyway.. too expensive..
TSlightning69
post Jan 8 2009, 09:52 AM

2,298 posts

Tell me anything that is sony and cheap....none!
pengotor.diver
post Jan 8 2009, 09:54 AM

so be it..world still spinning what..
no money dun buy la..
cheerio!

This post has been edited by pengotor.diver: Jan 8 2009, 09:55 AM
HHH816
post Jan 8 2009, 09:55 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jan 8 2009, 09:52 AM)
Tell me anything that is sony and cheap....none!
psn
cwl_ykh
post Jan 8 2009, 09:56 AM

5,114 posts

i like psn it is selling cheap thing there n i like it!!
TSlightning69
post Jan 8 2009, 10:00 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(pengotor.diver @ Jan 8 2009, 09:54 AM)
so be it..world still spinning what..
no money dun buy la..
cheerio!
Got money...buy other brand cheaper some more better than sony!!! That is what i call smart consumer.!!!

13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:55 PM