Location SMS - Send SMS with GPS Coordinates, simple and yet useful utility inside !

WaCKy-Angel
post Jan 6 2009, 04:13 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

Must use GPS ah?

Im using Blackberry v8700 without 3G or GPS...
Any way i can also do something like this without costing money to send sms?
RME-RAnger
post Jan 6 2009, 04:25 PM

763 posts

soli, 1 more question..

how to judge whether the sms u send thru "gps" is free of charge? did ur bill will stated down sms detail from time to time? Im maxis postpaid user, but my bill didnt state down the detail of sms sent...

so it very diff to judge whether it is free o not... rclxub.gif

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

anyway, really thanks for old newspaper's effort to share tis info rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by RME-RAnger: Jan 6 2009, 04:52 PM
kusha
post Jan 6 2009, 04:34 PM

851 posts

can anyone verify this?
i mean other than the poster.... is it really sending the sms thru GPS network?

sorry poster, i just need clarification from others..

hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kusha: Jan 6 2009, 04:36 PM
TSold newspaper
post Jan 6 2009, 05:16 PM

if it ain't broke, don't fix it !
1,245 posts

guys, there's this Eten user in other private forum claimed that he's been using this utility to send SMS with GPS coordinate for free....

i'm not sure is this for real and that's why i posted this out for you guys to try out.

i couldn't really check as i'm a maxis post paid user with no itemized billing, and i would like to stress out that THIS UTILITY DOES NOT USE GPRS CONNECTIVITY TO SEND SMS [ as my device has all GPRS data connectivity blocked ].

the worst scenario is that, each SMS send out using this utility will be charged as your normal telco SMS rate, nothing more !

it would be really helpful for all of us here if someone using prepaid to test it out.

note : if this utility doesn't help to send out SMS for free, i'll change the title of this thread to avoid further misunderstanding. thanks.
pcboy
post Jan 6 2009, 06:03 PM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Jan 6 2009, 02:58 PM)
I dont think the GPS system is the one that sends the sms, but using data connection. and the cost of data connection is 1 cent per kb anyway, fixed i believe, no smaller lots. so unless u're using unlimited data connection, in which case u must be using post paid, u cant do this to save a cent (data charges would have killed u, especially if AGPS for quick fix PLUS data charge for the message itself). and if u ARE using postpaid u already have got money to burn anyway cuz if u dun use it it'll just go to waste.

The fact that u cant send out the message in flight mode says much.

can someone do further testing, i'm on postpaid
yeah.. i'm using D98 plan and i'm pleased if the sms was sent using 3G/HSDPA/GPRS (data connection).. which means i can send 1000MB of sms's to my frens freely... but like i said earlier, it didn't even connect my data connection automatically.. what i did earlier is to test in what basis the program uses to send the sms.. and the result is, it uses Celcom SMS .. neither GPS signal nor data connection .. it's not free at all ..

old newspaper: no worries, this is very useful program (at least for me) as i need to know my coordinate in simple way for my job.. no need to run GPS Proxy anymore rclxm9.gif
dadarouch
post Jan 6 2009, 06:30 PM

(´;ω;`)
2,920 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ Jan 6 2009, 06:03 PM)
yeah.. i'm using D98 plan and i'm pleased if the sms was sent using 3G/HSDPA/GPRS (data connection).. which means i can send 1000MB of sms's to my frens freely... but like i said earlier, it didn't even connect my data connection automatically.. what i did earlier is to test in what basis the program uses to send the sms.. and the result is, it uses Celcom SMS .. neither GPS signal nor data connection .. it's not free at all ..

old newspaper: no worries, this is very useful program (at least for me) as i need to know my coordinate in simple way for my job.. no need to run GPS Proxy anymore  rclxm9.gif
Your siggy very dammnit. lol.
mych
post Jan 7 2009, 01:41 AM

2,068 posts

"send SMS with GPS coordinate for free"

if you read it correctly.. sending the co-ordinates at no extra charge considered free?
ahnien
post Jan 7 2009, 08:25 AM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

= =" how on earth do old newspaper bro always come out with all these stuffs ar???

lol.... but onli for built-in GPS pdas .... T_T

Added on January 7, 2009, 8:26 amIf post paid users use this method, oso quite hard to check whether using the credit or not....

This post has been edited by ahnien: Jan 7 2009, 08:26 AM
pcboy
post Jan 7 2009, 12:42 PM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(dadarouch @ Jan 6 2009, 06:30 PM)
Your siggy very dammnit. lol.
LOL gotcha! icon_rolleyes.gif
kusha
post Jan 7 2009, 04:13 PM

851 posts

thank u for that explanation. that same goes to me, because using postpaid.. don't dare to try this out yet..
shinnyx
post Jan 7 2009, 07:54 PM

215 posts

It just sending normal sms which you need to pay for it.
While the GPS function just showing where u're located right now.
It works with external GPS also.
Jcsy
post Jan 8 2009, 10:53 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

all we need is some1 on PREPAID and not POSTPAID to try once smile.gif

block GPRS
check credit
send out
check credit again smile.gif

-10 cents = fail
- 0 cents = pass biggrin.gif
phonegix
post Jan 8 2009, 03:15 PM

Cool,can it still be used now?
ahnien
post Jan 9 2009, 10:09 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(phonegix @ Jan 8 2009, 03:15 PM)
Cool,can it still be used now?
supposedly can... try it...
see the requirements smile.gif
mych
post Jan 10 2009, 03:59 AM

2,068 posts

well if you use Mapking there is a SMS facility built in as well

Added on January 10, 2009, 4:37 amnot working for Asus P535. Mapking SMS one does work

This post has been edited by mych: Jan 10 2009, 04:37 AM
kusha
post Jan 11 2009, 12:20 PM

851 posts

Added on January 11, 2009, 12:21 pm i didn't realize that mapking has sms inside it
where is it? how to use?

may u share the screenshot

This post has been edited by kusha: Jan 11 2009, 12:21 PM
Jcsy
post Jan 13 2009, 03:02 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

yes mapking has sms inside

but im not sure whether it will use our network to send that sms out
sircaddy
post Jan 13 2009, 03:53 PM

oledi tried it... still use my credit ..... sad.gif
RME-RAnger
post Jan 14 2009, 04:48 PM

763 posts

QUOTE(sircaddy @ Jan 13 2009, 03:53 PM)
oledi tried it... still use my credit ..... sad.gif
any other review beside bro sircaddy? if it is not functionable as free sms, then bro old newspaper need to change the title already... sad.gif
kEputat
post Jan 14 2009, 09:39 PM

aiyak...

mau try bUt i'm using celcOm broadban...

sO kantOi time nak donlod....

any donlod link?...

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0294sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:40 AM