Location SMS - Send SMS with GPS Coordinates, simple and yet useful utility inside !
pcboy
Jan 6 2009, 05:40 AM
just test it out lor... switch off your network coverage... turn on this program n let GPS sends the sms.. look succeed or not.. Added on January 6, 2009, 6:28 ami've tried this with network offline.. it switched my gps on and searched for the signal n get the coordinate.. but it cant be sent if turn the network off.. which means it uses our telco network.. then i turned ON my network.. when i sent the sms, it didnt even connect to internet (data connection) which means it used my celcom sms.. if it uses data connection, we still can get free sms!! lets pray i wont get my bill Rm10 persms  lol ..but its still a good n simple program to know our current coordinate and straight away send it to other ppl.. thnks old newspapers.. i really need this This post has been edited by pcboy: Jan 6 2009, 06:28 AM
pcboy
Jan 6 2009, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(Baronic @ Jan 6 2009, 02:58 PM) I dont think the GPS system is the one that sends the sms, but using data connection. and the cost of data connection is 1 cent per kb anyway, fixed i believe, no smaller lots. so unless u're using unlimited data connection, in which case u must be using post paid, u cant do this to save a cent (data charges would have killed u, especially if AGPS for quick fix PLUS data charge for the message itself). and if u ARE using postpaid u already have got money to burn anyway cuz if u dun use it it'll just go to waste. The fact that u cant send out the message in flight mode says much. can someone do further testing, i'm on postpaid yeah.. i'm using D98 plan and i'm pleased if the sms was sent using 3G/HSDPA/GPRS (data connection).. which means i can send 1000MB of sms's to my frens freely... but like i said earlier, it didn't even connect my data connection automatically.. what i did earlier is to test in what basis the program uses to send the sms.. and the result is, it uses Celcom SMS .. neither GPS signal nor data connection .. it's not free at all .. old newspaper: no worries, this is very useful program (at least for me) as i need to know my coordinate in simple way for my job.. no need to run GPS Proxy anymore
pcboy
Jan 7 2009, 12:42 PM
QUOTE(dadarouch @ Jan 6 2009, 06:30 PM) Your siggy very dammnit. lol. LOL gotcha!