is this legal?

xenon_aniki
post Jan 7 2009, 09:02 AM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(VinluV @ Jan 6 2009, 09:21 PM)
mind sharing the link for the open source software?
yup, pls xiaomahe drool.gif drool.gif
Eventless
post Jan 7 2009, 09:22 AM

2,643 posts

Open source software is safe to modify.

Depending on the open source license used by a software, it may or may not be necessary to release the source code of the modified to your users.

In the case of GPL, any changes that you make still belongs to you and you can prevent other people from using the portion that you have created as long as you don't distribute the modified program. If you do distribute the modified program, you are bound by the gpl to make available the source code to people who uses your software.

BSD license is even less restrictive, you can go as far as using their source code to make closed software.
dylanchan1688
post Jan 7 2009, 04:57 PM

PuLu™
125 posts

QUOTE(xiaomahe @ Jan 5 2009, 07:09 PM)
hello there..

what if we got an software which is open source,, later on, i got modified some of the code inside..

so the question is?

1. is that program become my program? or belong to the original company that produce such program (like PGP)
2. Is it legal to do such things?
its called copy right... when u modify it it is called copy cat
xenon_aniki
post Jan 7 2009, 05:40 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(dylanchan1688 @ Jan 7 2009, 04:57 PM)
i dont think you modified is a copycat.
copycat means trying to produce/behave something that is very similar to something else
gengstapo
post Jan 7 2009, 07:51 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

as long u got the valid key, oem is legal
depend on how u use leh brows.gif
TechnoDude94
post Jan 8 2009, 10:23 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

I'd recommend Ubuntu Linux, its free for download and is a complete OS.

QUOTE(dylanchan1688 @ Jan 7 2009, 04:57 PM)
Another piece of bullsh*t from you? Open source means its free to modify and free to redistribute. doh.gif
TSxiaomahe
post Jan 8 2009, 09:47 PM

129 posts

what open source software do u mean here??

If it is the PGP software, u can go the pgpi.com
for this software you have to ask them to send it to you their source codes.

So far, i only focused on security software like this PGP or GPG (www.gnupg.org)

yeah, u can try linux OS as well, all their software mostly are open source.
i am using ubuntu now.

0.0183sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:44 AM