The Tailoring Thread, Bespoke. Nothing beats a perfect fit
stylophile
Mar 10 2011, 04:34 PM

i would have done away with the contrast stitching for the buttons as well.
shirt looks like it's pulling under the arms a bit, and slightly top heavy.
do get it laundered and ironed and post a new fit pic. hopefully the results will be better.
stylophile
May 10 2011, 02:11 PM

dear sifus,
i want to get some shirts made. how much does alt charge for workmanship, and also how is his pattern matching? does he do non-fused collars and cuffs?
stylophile
May 30 2011, 04:37 PM

anyone have any tips on where to get good shirting fabric around kl/pj, or even penang?
so far i have tried binwanis and gulatis, but i am looking for something different.
online sources will also be appreciated. have ordered from acorn before, but i am getting a little bored of their designs.
thanks.
stylophile
May 31 2011, 07:50 AM

i don't have kidney money. at the moment my budget is between 100-200 for a 2 metre length of shirting.
anybody need a kidney?
stylophile
May 31 2011, 04:57 PM

QUOTE(kotmj @ May 31 2011, 10:42 AM) Unless you're a 7' tall north american, almost nobody needs 2 meters of 60" shirting. Even the Swiss get by with 1.8 m. i am a 6' tall paranoid asian. i was considering 2.5m.
stylophile
Jun 16 2011, 09:33 AM

QUOTE(Loej @ Jun 15 2011, 07:48 AM) need a good tailor too! help anyone? why don't you read kot's sticky?
stylophile
Jun 21 2011, 08:37 PM

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jun 21 2011, 02:18 PM) Was at the McD drivethrough when a young, small, pimply fan cheong came out wearing a shirt in the exact Nutz fabric that I also have. He was wearing a dark tie and drives a blue New Proton Saga. Dude, use a different tailor that shirt is no good lah. From now on you people really have to suck me for me to reveal anything. damn fan cheongs. if i get my tongue pierced will you reveal mbt?
stylophile
Jul 5 2011, 04:02 PM

why don't you cut a deal with mbt, that you will reveal his identity, and thereby increase his business, only if he promises to maintain his current prices with you, or even give you a 10% discount on whatever you are paying now for the rest of your life.
i checked out ron last weekend. i found the cutting of the shirt he was wearing rather off-putting. sort of like wearing one of those full body swimsuits. also i wasn't too impressed with the workmanship.
stylophile
Jul 6 2011, 04:14 PM

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 5 2011, 10:04 PM) um, i think i prefer pubescent girls. i will send her back with mbt's name written on her somewhere special. whether loose or swimsuit-tight is something you can ask for. ron got many things right: a collar that even after inumerable launderings remains intact, a shoulder slope that was perfect (rare), perfect neckhole geometry, etc. Even the cloth was good. I still wear the shirt when i can't find a clean one though I have grown a bit too big for it. the workmanship was excellent but that was because i was very specific about the make. his standard make is indeed subpar, as is with most tailors. even with mbt i had to argue about french seams, not merely serged over. only a few tailors have a very good standard make, and alt is the only one i know of where you dun have to specify anything. Added on July 5, 2011, 10:15 pma good metaphor would be: athletic 50-year old CEO for wearing to a meeting about his compensation, not 20-year old college kid for wearing to clubs ok i will go find one. does she have to be a virgin? when you say you have grown big, is it fat or muscle mass? what would be an appropriate colour shirt to wear to a dinner party, assuming i am going jacketless?
stylophile
Jul 6 2011, 09:09 PM

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 6 2011, 08:02 PM) 1. If her hymen isn't intact i send her home without mbt's name written on her body. 2. Muscle= The Anaconda Protocol+ NitroCore34+ whey+ creatine3. Something that radiates a sense of occasion. no. 3 is a really helpful reply. what is the price range for tom ford shirting?
stylophile
Jul 7 2011, 09:43 PM

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 7 2011, 03:40 PM) Put in an order for this. I hope they still have stock.  how does it feel? designs don't look very appealing to me.
stylophile
Jul 9 2011, 04:37 PM

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 8 2011, 12:36 AM) feel varies from cloth to cloth. the one above had the best handle and sheen. i find 3 of the designs very inspired. not for those just building a wardrobe, but for those who have all the basics these are next level stuff. i don't think i can handle the next level. i don't think my boss can handle the next level. i will go for the 2nd from the right in the 1st pic (blue and white stripes) if they have it for half price. i shall wait.
stylophile
Jul 10 2011, 11:03 PM

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 9 2011, 11:17 PM) something very similar is on sale at half price at my preferred purveyor of shirtings. i ordered some already. mysterious purveyor of shirtings?
stylophile
Jul 20 2011, 10:46 PM

palace is very affordable, and that is why the nicer colours are constantly out of stock.
how the hell did your package from you know who arrive so fast? did you opt for more expensive shipping?
stylophile
Aug 29 2011, 11:51 PM

^meaning i shouldn't cuff my pants if only 1 of my legs is long?
stylophile
Sep 1 2011, 04:03 PM

QUOTE(JeffxMatt @ Sep 1 2011, 01:35 PM) ahhh, lovely. thank you Kotmj!  that wasnt so hard now, wasnt it. thanks again  it was harder than cheenoo's 3rd leg.
stylophile
Nov 3 2011, 06:59 PM