QUOTE(cadmus @ Aug 21 2013, 09:18 AM)
I end up buying 2 tailor made suits while i was in Egypt few mths ago.
after conversion, it's much much cheaper than in Malaysia.
Egyptian cotton. after conversion, it's much much cheaper than in Malaysia.
The Tailoring Thread, Bespoke. Nothing beats a perfect fit
Aug 21 2013, 02:23 PM
6,730 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Zion |
Aug 21 2013, 04:16 PM
Aug 21 2013, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(furiousangel @ Aug 21 2013, 05:36 PM) Anyone heard of Vincent Tailor at Amcorp mall? Looking for a tailor for new suit and shirts n my friend recommended me there. Thanks in advance for the advise. Of course. They have been around since the 80s'. They used be be at Menara Armada (AsiaJaya) and used to advertise every day in The old Malay Mail paper. And they used to advertise RM280 for a full poly suit. But that was back in the 80s. Used to pass by that shop during that time when i was a kid. I would not remember who runs the shop and what quality they have other than their shop name. But their current place at Amcorp seems to indicate they focus on ready to wear. But inside Amcorp there are at least 4 tailor shops there. So you could ask around for your needs and prices. |
Aug 21 2013, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(jutamind @ Aug 21 2013, 04:20 PM) Can the sleeve length of RTW suit jacket that comes with non working surgeon cuff buttons be shorten? I found that Marks & Spencer suit has my size but the sleeves are a bit too long Its way much easier to alter the length of cuffs without functional cuff buttons. About ruining the suit, i doubt any tailor could ruin it. But ask M&S if they do alteration first. Its probably free if they do.if yes, which recommended tailor that can do a good altering job without damaging the suit? |
Aug 21 2013, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(Zelz92 @ Jun 5 2013, 06:54 PM) This shop is one that was supposedly be a hidden secret. http://www.mysinchew.com/node/73679 But its not. Just the facade of the place did not make u think about it. Its pricey too. But they probably have what you want. Kotmj says they do not do modern suits cuts. You have to go there to know if their style works for you. |
Aug 23 2013, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(MeToo @ Aug 23 2013, 03:18 PM) since when is KFW a secret? During the canvasing time. ANyway... i find lots of these "old timers/small shops" u need to know what u are lookign for.. and be able to TELL them... if u want a decent suit. Otherwise stick to more commercial ones... |
Nov 7 2013, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(xphossis @ Oct 1 2013, 10:47 AM) Wanted to get a sports jacket for company dinner and events. I saw H&M RM149 black color last month. This month already winter i dunno still available or not. Zara is getting pricier.Should I go for Zara which cost RM499 a piece which need alteration or should I get a tailored piece? And how much would a tailored piece cost? Kindly advise |
Nov 7 2013, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(hellfried @ Nov 5 2013, 05:49 PM) My arms are too short and I have tried on may blazers and suits before. I have 2 blazers and one of them have inner lining. Can any tailor shorten the sleeves on these? I live in Penang and would love some recommendations for tailors who are into this kind of alterations. Thanks . Altering sleeves can be done by any tailor. 100% can. Unless that coat have working button holes, then maybe its hard to make it look nice. |
Nov 9 2013, 01:03 PM
QUOTE(imjowen @ Nov 8 2013, 01:02 AM) hi guys, im wondering if there is any tailor made jeans shop in malaysia? bcz when buying from the shops they always turn out to be too long/wide, is there any place tat i can custom make 1? thx!! Now this is quite rare. Most tailors make regular pants only. Denim needs machine that could handle thick fabric. U could ask around. I do think most tailors can do it. But most would not because of the heavy stitching details involved. And also those rivets (which are hard to find) if u ask for them. |
Feb 10 2014, 04:16 PM
QUOTE(ianthensome @ Feb 5 2014, 04:41 PM) Hey guys, I'm so new to all this tailor-made suits, I have very little knowledge. So here's the deal: I will need a couple (or maybe three pairs) of business suit for my work. It's my first time to be wearing a pair of suit on a normal daily basis. Buy off the rack man. Seriously less than RM500 for coat and pants. For low range u can still find at Aeon (Suave brand). Once inside u can also look at Padini, Seed, G2000 and such. Outside dept stores, look for H&M. Their suit price is low, and affordable for A brand. Uniqlo does not have suit for the moment. U can buy coat separates only now. Once u go upper (above RM500) its Zara, Massimo Dutti, Ted Baker and M&S and the likes. Those places u can buy lower when off season sale. Like a RM499 coat u can buy for RM199-239.Question: How much is the average tailor-made pair of suit can I expect? I've done a little backreading and I'm afraid I cannot afford for now RM1,000 for a pair. Maybe when I get rich ok, but for now, I'll settle for the cheap custom mades that I can wear daily. |
May 28 2014, 01:06 AM
Jul 13 2014, 02:47 PM
Sep 22 2014, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(juudai1990 @ Sep 21 2014, 07:24 AM) Hi everyone, Actually waste of time and money. The charges is too high that you could probably buy another one from off season stores. The most biggest risk is the whole suit would probably be disassembled and rebuilt back again and the collar, shoulder, chest area are the hardest to alter. You might end up with a dud later. Experienced used suit owners would tell you taking in 4 inches is too much than taking in 1 - 1.5 inch everywhere.I got a very cheap Calvin Klein jacket for USD20 but the thing is the size is 42regukar while mine is around36-38 short... How much will it costs to alter it to fit me?? I am at new york now and i get quoted USD100 to alter it in Chinatown... Thanks |
Sep 22 2014, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(sheffbatik @ Aug 8 2014, 12:31 AM) Hi, anyone heard tailor name taufik nong. kinda famous with Malaysian artist doing suits with him, can any sifu have a look at his work? I don't see him any different than any independent tailors that have artist as customers in their resume. If he want to be different he has to make something different. That camo suit jacket that he made with short body could make him famous. He needs something very different to attract new customers. Having artist and celebs is one way. But really putting effort into the design would open roads overseas.Taufik Nong Instagram Taufik Nong Facebook |
Sep 22 2014, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(bambookenzo @ Sep 22 2014, 11:12 AM) anybody know is button liew at kota damansara good?..heard won lots of price...anybody know price range for a pair of working pants? Cheezy marketing skills. |
Sep 23 2014, 06:31 PM
QUOTE(Kj42 @ Sep 23 2014, 03:58 PM) The body, yes you can cut it to taper at the waist closer to body to give you slim waist effect. The sleeves no. Remember the angle from the shoulder armhole? Its already fixed at that diameter. If you reduce the sleeve circumference the armhole cannot adjust, then you end up with a carrot sleeve (if there is one). Narrow on the bottom big on the armpit. |
Sep 24 2014, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(gzavincent @ Sep 24 2014, 09:39 AM) Guys, I am currently working in Singapore, and the tailoring price here is really expensive. I will be back to KL on November for about 5 days (inclusive of weekends). If you are getting shirts, why not get them from Spore? Which probably have better choice for branded ones.Any good and fast tailor to recommend around KL or Klang area? I need the shirts to be done within 2/3 working days. Budget for one shirt would be about RM200 or so. |
Oct 30 2014, 07:39 PM
I remember seeing a Japanese video, where they used a type of transparent sheet that iron on from the inside of such tear. And it almost 99% invisible mended the tear. I cannot find the video anymore. Neither does the uploaded told us what the material is. I think i saw it once in Daiso, but was skeptical because there is no english word on it. Though the user guide picture seems to indicate such.
Jan 31 2015, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(nas445 @ Jan 30 2015, 08:53 PM) You can buy one almost like that for less than RM5. Really!!! I have one. I googles at this Kent brush and its synthetic bristles. The same kind the RM5 have. The handle on the Kent is probably made with better wood. But seriously would you ask wadafak would u want a synthetic bristle brush for 200 bucks when u should pay 200 bucks for an animal hair one? |
Feb 28 2015, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Feb 26 2015, 05:59 PM) you don't call him; he call you. it is by invitation only but you must prove that you are in the league of pure breed gentlemen. Got until that snob level meh? first step: register yourself in thekerbau.com. i kid you not - THEKERBAU, not buffalo, mind you. 2nd step: talk intelligently in the forum; never, ever talk like MOP or else you can kiss daylight goodbye. 3rd step: contribute - buy ONLY thekerbau.com approved (SF approved may not be appropriate in certain cases) pocket squares, shoes (no, no Pedro), ties. wear them with pride and discuss them in the forum. 4th step: you wait........patiently........ |
| Change to: | 0.0614sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:27 PM |