What is salary package after completing MBA course

fuzzy
post Jul 23 2014, 09:19 AM

*pew pew pew*
6,659 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Jul 23 2014, 09:18 AM)
What industry are you in?

I'm with manufacturing MNC although my job is more towards product development & product management.

Trying my best to move out of this industry.
I'm in Banking, specialising in Rewards smile.gif
silverwave
post Jul 23 2014, 10:50 AM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jul 23 2014, 09:19 AM)
I'm in Banking, specialising in Rewards smile.gif
That's good, banking is always better than manufacturing. smile.gif
Topace111
post Jul 23 2014, 09:50 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Jul 22 2014, 01:02 PM)
Correct me if i'm wrong but it's the bigger companies that will appreciate these top schools right?

Most people out there just want to get the certificate with the cheapest cost if they just want to work in Malaysia. I feel it's so wrong.
You are right, any place can offer MBA, its almost like pisang goreng nowadays.
Hence only those really stand out will attract employers attention like FT100.
Rationale is because good MBAs have very stringent requirement.
Common requirement for good MBA normally will be:
1) GMAT marks (normally >600)
2) Minimum number of working experience in large MNCs or consulting company
3) Good underlying degree

If the university doesn't prescribe such requirement, you should know the quality of their students right?
Take for example, INSEAD MBA holder from Singapore normally earn $10,000 and above. That is roughly RM25,000 per month and RM 300,000 per annum. You will hardly find any employer paying that amount unless you are a senior manager with a very established Fortune500 companies.

MBA does not give you automatic passport (common misconception). It just complements or validate your existing ability. Most go for MBA to get the alumni network. For example, Stanford, Harvard and Wharton shares a common portal where the biggest companies headhunters will go. They have exclusive right on that, that's why you don't see companies like Microsoft, Google, Oracle put jobs ads.

Most people take MBA to work overseas. Best is MBA from US. UK normally very hard to get PR there due to lack of demand but they have good scholarship programs.
Drian
post Jul 24 2014, 10:56 AM

4,968 posts

Seriously if you're really good you wouldn't need to create a thread to ask the salary package after MBA.

rabloo
post Jul 24 2014, 11:07 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Jul 23 2014, 09:50 PM)

If the university doesn't prescribe such requirement, you should know the quality of their students right?
Take for example, INSEAD MBA holder from Singapore normally earn $10,000 and above. That is roughly RM25,000 per month and RM 300,000 per annum. You will hardly find any employer paying that amount unless you are a senior manager with a very established Fortune500 companies.

MBA does not give you automatic passport (common misconception). It just complements or validate your existing ability. Most go for MBA to get the alumni network. For example, Stanford, Harvard and Wharton shares a common portal where the biggest companies headhunters will go. They have exclusive right on that, that's why you don't see companies like Microsoft, Google, Oracle put jobs ads.

Most people take MBA to work overseas. Best is MBA from US. UK normally very hard to get PR there due to lack of demand but they have good scholarship programs.
Ditto thumbup.gif
silverwave
post Jul 24 2014, 11:54 AM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Jul 23 2014, 09:50 PM)

Totally agree. smile.gif
quintina
post Aug 18 2014, 02:25 PM

QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Sep 25 2011, 10:13 AM)
I beg to differ. The real reason should be because UPM itself is not even qualified to provide a decent MBA course. Those prestigious business school around the world come with extremely expensive school fees for a lot of reasons (exclusivity aside). The course structure, exposure are definitely a few of the main selling points here. Some even include a internship placement in world renowned companies, Fortune 500, top IB's and so on.

As for the issue regarding quality control of MBA students, that's another funny thing about MBA programs in Malaysia. I've once compared the minimum requirement of MBA program in certain decent business school(both local and oversea), and I found out that in Malaysia: Basically ANYONE that has a degree can just enroll into most of the MBA program, with or WITHOUT relevant working experience. Heck, I don't even see any MBA program in malaysia that requires minimum GMAT score of 600/800 to be at least qualified for MBA course enrollment. Havard, INSEAD, Wharton, LSE, some of them even go to the extend of requiring GMAT score at least 760/800 to be able to be qualified. My point here is GMAT is not actually THAT difficult, but it serves at the most basic filter and provide some basics and fundamental of management.

As the title of MBA itself suggests, does it make sense to you for a fresh graduate to enroll into a MBA program right after graduation? I've had one colleague last time working as a mere drafter. She took part-time MBA in some local university and all she did was probably online lecture, some coursework based assignment, and occasionally attend some lectures during weekends. She didn't even know what is a GMAT and when she said "GMAT or not doesn't matter lah, as long as I finish every coursework, pass the paper test, get the cert, then I can get MBA already". I was speechless. I guess the MBA is just like another MSc/master program that solely intended for salary increment and slightly positive career advancement.

Maybe these are the reasons why MBA is 'cheap' and not well recognized by the employers in Malaysia.

p/s: Anyway, I heard that Boston Consulting Group in Malaysia only hires MBA graduates from Harvard and INSEAD, and the starting pay is about 10k for fresh. Not sure how that works out for them.
I am considering to take up the offer for UPM part time MBA program, could you please share some insights/ view as I am not sure about their teaching/course quality although they branded themselves as the only AACSB Accredited school in Malaysia. Many thanks.
Neutrals
post Aug 19 2014, 08:12 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(quintina @ Aug 18 2014, 02:25 PM)
I am considering to take up the offer for UPM part time MBA program, could you please share some insights/ view as I am not sure about their teaching/course quality although they branded themselves as the only AACSB Accredited school in Malaysia. Many thanks.
from what I know, local universities master courses are only recognized by companies in Malaysia.

countries like Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, USA, UK, and Canada, may not recognize our local uni master courses.
pegasus1101
post Oct 30 2018, 09:40 PM

41 posts

Is this a good place for MBA? Thinking of taking MBA since my job so relax. worked 5 years already. Very comfortable already so I think time to do MBA part time since I am working. Is this WAWASAN Open U good for MBA? Their MBA is called CeMBA. Commonwealth Executive Master of Business Administration (CeMBA). Sounds cool

http://www.wou.edu.my/cemba

This post has been edited by pegasus1101: Oct 30 2018, 09:41 PM
eviee729
post Jul 4 2019, 09:21 PM

36 posts

What kind of jobs should a graduate MBA look for?
wywy2020
post Jul 4 2019, 10:05 PM

1,636 posts

QUOTE(eviee729 @ Jul 4 2019, 09:21 PM)
What is the expected salary?
Topace111
post Jul 5 2019, 11:18 AM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(eviee729 @ Jul 4 2019, 09:21 PM)
1) Are you an experienced staff + MBA = Look for jobs that fit your experience
2) Limited experience + MBA = Look for fresh entry job
3) If your MBA is top 30 FT = look for high-end fresh entry job or middle management
http://rankings.ft.com/businessschoolranki...ba-ranking-2019

eviee729
post Jul 8 2019, 01:43 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Jul 5 2019, 11:18 AM)
1) Are you an experienced staff + MBA = Look for jobs that fit your experience
2) Limited experience + MBA = Look for fresh entry job
3) If your MBA is top 30 FT = look for high-end fresh entry job or middle management
http://rankings.ft.com/businessschoolranki...ba-ranking-2019
5 years experience in manufacturing sectors only as an inventory executive. cry.gif cry.gif

do you think can opt for position in assistance manager?
Topace111
post Jul 9 2019, 09:20 AM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(eviee729 @ Jul 8 2019, 01:43 PM)
5 years experience in manufacturing sectors only as an inventory executive. cry.gif  cry.gif 

do you think can opt for position in assistance manager?
You can always apply and try. Nobody will know the result. My statement is just based on my normal observation.
longinusshortleg
post Jul 9 2019, 09:23 AM

139 posts

RM50 per month increment.

Because we don't need anymore managers in Agile world.

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0180sec    0.20    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:26 AM