The Best Free Kick Taker, Vote and add your choice...

Apis_LuaLua
post Sep 19 2009, 02:37 AM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Sep 17 2009, 01:53 PM)
Yup I mentioned Mihajlovic much earlier in the thread but you are right, younger posters would not have heard of him. What made him that much more special was that he played at centreback.
yes.. suddenly i remember Ian Harte.. where is he now.. heh
rook-ie
post Sep 19 2009, 06:17 AM

138 posts

if i'm not mistaken, mihajlovic goal's rate from free kick is unbelievable...
hehe...thats why he is the best...
Duke Red
post Sep 22 2009, 10:23 AM

6,112 posts

Ian Harte did take a fair share of freekicks for Leeds but he never really scored too many. I could do a google search to find out where he is now but where's the fun in that eh? I know he went to Spain to play for one of the weaker sides (Zaragoza? Getafe?). One of em I'm guessing. He's since returned to the Premiership hasn't he? Birmingham/Stoke? Anyone? C'mon, don't google it smile.gif
joe405
post Sep 24 2009, 11:16 AM

239 posts

Beckham, roberto carlos, zidane, del piero
Duke Red
post Sep 24 2009, 11:30 AM

6,112 posts

Ok Ian Harte's with Cardiff now. Noticed that because he scored in their 2-1 defeat in the league cup.
blinky
post Sep 24 2009, 11:57 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Sep 24 2009, 11:30 AM)
Ok Ian Harte's with Cardiff now. Noticed that because he scored in their 2-1 defeat in the league cup.
Ian Harte and Gary Kelly (sp?), used to be the best full-back partnership in the league! tongue.gif
Duke Red
post Sep 24 2009, 11:59 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Sep 24 2009, 11:57 AM)
Ian Harte and Gary Kelly (sp?), used to be the best full-back partnership in the league!  tongue.gif
Well back then Leeds used to be the best in the league eh?
giotto
post Sep 24 2009, 12:07 PM

3,051 posts

Oh well, i remember Leeds breaking our hearts in the 02-03 season where Viduka and gang beat us 3-2 to give Man Utd the title.

Ironically, it was under the ex-Arsenal great of O Leary that put Leeds in such a shambolic position now. He went on a buying spree buying every other player at a premium and when Leeds failed to qualify for Europe, it went south and the rest they say is history.
cannavaro
post Sep 24 2009, 12:57 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Besides Mihajlovic, can you guys name one player who has scored a hattrick from freekicks alone? As far as I know there's none.
niuchin
post Sep 25 2009, 03:29 PM

98 posts

Currently it is CR9. The new ball lends itself to his 'knuckleball' kick.
niuchin
post Sep 25 2009, 04:12 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(jackanory @ Aug 29 2009, 06:33 AM)
what list is this.. no Zico & Ronald Koeman..or even Maradona? go watch older world cup videos and you'll know how good these 2 were.. esp Zico.. makes everyone else on this list fairly average.. except maybe juninho
Maradona is a great free kick taker too. Not only did he score highlights goals , he made a lot of assists from set pieces, through trickery and cunning.

Thats separates him from other players like Pele, Eusebio, Beckham,George Best or Weah.

Thats why he is the Greatest, a complete Legendary player.

This post has been edited by niuchin: Sep 26 2009, 04:45 AM
skystrike
post Sep 25 2009, 05:16 PM

back to normal
1,279 posts

QUOTE(niuchin @ Sep 25 2009, 03:29 PM)
Currently it is CR9. The new ball lends itself to his 'knuckleball' kick.
but his scoring rate from fk is kinda low...
ayanami_tard
post Sep 25 2009, 06:12 PM

40 posts

shunsuke nakamura

i saw him playing.thing that interested me the most that he don't just score pefect free kick,but other nicely done goals as well

(especially his goals vs rangers)

i really looking forward to see him shine in espanyol
cannavaro
post Sep 25 2009, 07:52 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(niuchin @ Sep 25 2009, 04:12 PM)
Maradona is a great free kick taker too. Not only did he score highlights goals , he made a lot of assists  from set pieces, through trickery and cunning.

Thats separates him from other players like Pele, Eusebio, Beckham,George Best or Weah.

Thats why he is the Greatest, a complete Legendary player.
I thought his right leg and head is rather weak? Footballing wise I mean
niuchin
post Sep 25 2009, 09:20 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(ayanami_tard @ Sep 25 2009, 06:12 PM)
shunsuke nakamura

i saw him playing.thing that interested me the most that he don't just score pefect free kick,but other nicely done goals as well

(especially his goals vs rangers)

i really looking forward to see him shine in espanyol

Agreed. Someone said "Nakamura is so good, he "could open a tin of beans with his left foot".
Best left foot artiste in football right now.

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Sep 25 2009, 07:52 PM)
I thought his right leg and head is rather weak? Footballing wise I mean
Maradona used his head and let his limbs do the 'talking'

This post has been edited by niuchin: Sep 25 2009, 09:26 PM
niuchin
post Sep 26 2009, 12:31 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ Sep 25 2009, 05:16 PM)
but his scoring rate from fk is kinda low...
True, his conversion rate is low but its overly compensated by the number of freekicks he garnered at the top of the box!
Especially when he was at OT where Fergie, his 'daddy', has lots of Official friends in High Places. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by niuchin: Sep 26 2009, 12:33 AM
rEDs
post Apr 21 2010, 12:56 AM

җ- Z e B r a H e a D -җ
2,213 posts

Woot he score again via free kick yesterday match (al-gharafa 1st goal)...and ALL about 5 to 8 free kick target-on-goal.Save by keeper.
Was at the Heir Apparent Cup semifinal yesterday between Al-Gharafa vs Qatar Sports Club.

The stadium - Al-Sadd Stadium (Romario & Mauro Zarate former club)

The crowd

The specialist

The game

Another shot

The victory - immediately after game, opponent players rush for his shirt.

The moment (sorry low profile)

Ref & linesman were wearing Italian referee jersey rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Sebastian Soria is Uruguayan nationality but act as Qatar current striker. He was opponent striker(QSC).
I wish Malaysia got game like this were ticket is free seating rm10. End of game lucky draw, 25 laptop, 20 blackberry, 5 wii, 5 psp, 10 flight ticket(not mention where..) ..this is just semi final..if final sure got something better.

Sheep319
post Apr 21 2010, 01:05 AM

how do i post
6,364 posts

WOAH. A picture with the man himself! DAYM!
IcyDarling
post Apr 21 2010, 05:02 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(niuchin @ Sep 26 2009, 01:31 AM)
True, his conversion rate is low but its overly compensated by the number of freekicks he garnered at the top of the box!
Especially when he was at OT where Fergie, his 'daddy', has lots of Official friends in High Places.  whistling.gif
no wonder la... CR's daddy only willing to work for his son. Nowadays MU player drop on the penalty box, no penalty or sometimes kena yellow for diving sad.gif Bloody hell. Lets sack Sir Alex Ferguson.
earthdome
post Apr 21 2010, 07:20 AM

kato rosa
715 posts

oh.i just noticed this thread. am voting for recoba cause he plays for inter and im biased tongue.gif.. but he's not on the list.

recoba is also one of the player who can score from corner kick (still remember it as it's his last season and last goal at inter. his curvey shot is simply amazing.

my vote goes to mihajlovic

12 Pages « < 10 11 12Top

0.0442sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:38 AM