All Things About BLU-RAY | V10, happy BLU year 2009

aiman04
post Jan 4 2009, 09:01 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Morning everyone. It's V10 but the BLU community still hidden in the PlayStation section. sad.gif

When will we reach the general community?
aiman04
post Jan 6 2009, 06:17 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

I added 3 titles from the B2G1 this morning list to place order later today when it's on. But now when the offer is on, I see this in my cart:

So,

Total before B2G1:

16.99 + 13.99 + 12.99 = 43.97

Total during B2G1:

(22.95 + 20.95 + 17.95) - 17.95 = 43.90

Wow!!! This B2G1 offer saves me a total of US$0.07 !!! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
aiman04
post Jan 13 2009, 10:25 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

This thread is moving in light speed? I think I posted on the first page just a few days ago. Now already page 28? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jan 14 2009, 12:31 AM
aiman04
post Jan 15 2009, 07:23 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 15 2009, 06:44 PM)
B2G1 promo,  but increase price few days  before promo?  tongue.gif
I regret not buying anything from this B2G1 offer, I could have saved 7 cents! laugh.gif
aiman04
post Jan 22 2009, 07:55 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Jan 22 2009, 07:49 AM)
Eagle Eye and Tropic Thunder dropped to $19.99. Buy! Buy! Buy! rclxms.gif
Thanks for the heads up bro. thumbup.gif

aiman04
post Jan 28 2009, 08:07 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Jan 27 2009, 10:01 PM)
I just use RM20+ cable from playasia with free shipping ph34r.gif
I found a 2m HDMI at Carrefour Kepong for only RM20+ too. thumbup.gif
aiman04
post Feb 1 2009, 02:32 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

OT:

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

Year One

Land of the Lost

This post has been edited by aiman04: Feb 1 2009, 02:38 PM
aiman04
post Feb 3 2009, 08:05 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Sparrow BD discussions will never end ar? Even in the audiophile section there are a few threads talking about it. laugh.gif

I'm starting to re-watch all my BDs, I've found a new experience watching them. Can't believe my eyes been cheated all these years. doh.gif

But, half of them still not watched at all. laugh.gif
aiman04
post Feb 3 2009, 12:06 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Eh, you guys been watching on 100" pj screen, how can 50" be elite... laugh.gif

It's not about the size, but it's the plasma technology itself. Since I've been watching on a plasma, I realized how fake the PQ an LCD TV. Not just my LCD, but any LCD TV I have ever seen. The 100/200Hz or LED backlight features etc are not actually enhancement, but actually to solve the problems/weakness of the LCD technology itself. Vibrant colors? Sure, but is it real? tongue.gif

PQ on plasma is so real, really deep and 3-dimensional I feel like watching out through a window. Realistic colors resulting in realistic fleshtone, make me wanna reach out and touch Jennifer Connelly's face in Hulk. And the black levels, oh my God, so inky deep. Marvellous! thumbup.gif

Never expected there would be so much improvement watching BDs, I just expected to see better PQ on Astro and DVDs.

When you calibrate a TV, you'll have to tone down the TV brightness so that the standard below black level bar is equal as the background (or 0%), giving pure black while you should be able to see the 2% standard brightness bar. I'm able to achieve this with my plasma TV.

But my LCD TV, when I match the standard below black bar to the background, it is still not true black, the background is like looking at a 2% standard brightness even though it should be 0%, and the 2% bar is like 4%. When I tone down the brightness more to get true black, the 2% bar disappears, meaning I will be losing data at 2% standard brightness! So, to see all the data in the picture I must set brightness 2% above standard, which won't be true black. doh.gif

And about full HD, yes, I'm seeing something new as well with BDs. There are 2,073,600 pixels for a BD movie, I've always wondered where those pixels gone on a 720p display which only has 921,600 native pixels. The best way to get all the details is sending 1080i signal, but even that's interlaced. But, to see improvement in full HD, the screen must be big lah, and not sit too far, that's real life common sense already. We see how beautiful that girl across the street, but as we're getting closer only then we'll see how "smooth" the skin on her face really is. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Feb 3 2009, 12:07 PM
aiman04
post Feb 3 2009, 01:13 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Feb 3 2009, 12:16 PM)
BEWARE !!! SUPER RACUN !!!   rclxm9.gif  laugh.gif  tongue.gif

*** aiman04,can share how to print $$$ ?  hmm.gif  tongue.gif  rclxm9.gif
I borrowed the money printer from one of our elites here, all of them have 2 or 3 of it. tongue.gif

QUOTE(mpyw @ Feb 3 2009, 12:21 PM)
wah...congrats on the new fullhd TV....I can only afford HD ready set nia...notworthy.gif

Added on February 3, 2009, 12:48 pm

Released Feb 10!!! all 3 together.....here come Spielberg!!!
But I can't afford to get your TV, which costs double the amount I paid. laugh.gif

Eh, Back to the Future? Feb 10? Such short time to announce? Got any link?

BTW it's Robert Zemeckis, Spielberg only executive produced. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Feb 5 2009, 08:57 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

If your BD says PAL or NTSC, than it's not HD. laugh.gif

There's no such thing as PAL or NTSC for HD video. Those labels could refer to SD special features/etc, not the main content.

Only SD video got PAL (576p) or NTSC (480p). HD video is either 1080p or 1080i.
aiman04
post Feb 6 2009, 08:26 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Welwitchia, is the 24p playback on the PS3 is set to ON? Go to VIDEO SETTINGS, at the BD 1080p 24Hz Output (HDMI) try change the setting to AUTOMATIC.

I think when it's on, PS3 will try to playback all BD video contents at 24Hz even though it's not. Maybe can try it.
aiman04
post Feb 6 2009, 02:43 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 6 2009, 02:04 PM)
250 for 2 Blu-ray discs and 1 DVD.. kinda of pricey lor..
The price is for the trilogy boxset, each movie 2 BD and 1 DVD for Digital Copy. So total 6 BD and 3 DVD.

US$55.99 from Amazon is very reasonable:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001PPGAKS

The Bourne Trilogy is the one that's pricey, US$64.99 for only 3 discs. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Feb 6 2009, 02:54 PM
aiman04
post Feb 6 2009, 02:53 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Feb 6 2009, 02:51 PM)
Eh, it's US$55.99 la for a 9-disc set!! Dats bladi reasonable. Y wait2 & watch dvd instead... pre-order now!! tongue.gif biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif
Oops, sorry, typo. tongue.gif

Fixed. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Feb 6 2009, 09:37 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Feb 6 2009, 06:58 PM)
Cool feature this... to track price changes at Amazon.com:
Amazon Price Tracker
The other way is to add your items you intend to buy to your cart and leave it. Every time you check the cart, there will be an alert box on top if there is any change of price. This way only the titles you wanted is tracked.

I have almost 100 items in my cart, every few days I'll check it, when the price is right I can just move to cart and checkout. thumbup.gif
aiman04
post Feb 11 2009, 08:44 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

THE DAY THE EARTH STOOD STILL
Street Date: April 7, 2009
Prebook Date: March 11, 2009
Price: $29.98 U.S. / $43.48 Canada (Two-Disc DVD)
$34.98 U.S. / $45.98 Canada (Three-Disc Special Edition DVD with Digital Copy)
$39.99 U.S. / $49.99 Canada (Three-Disc BD with Digital Copy)

Notice the price diffrence between the DVD and BD? Only $5 for both US and Canada.

And what's the price diffrence between DVD and BD in Malaysia? At Speedy I can see local region DVDs selling for RM29.90, some even lower than RM20, and region 1 DVDs for RM69.90. But BDs all between RM149.90 to RM169.90. doh.gif

They got their BDs direct from distributors, their cost of importing is not as high as what we've been spending to get from Amazon.com. The most reasonable RRP for BD should be RM99.90 in my opinion, and maybe RM119.90 for new titles. Or if they still want to maintain at RM149.90, they can give minimal 30% all the time like Amazon.

I know we can still get cheaper than that from Amazon but at least it's fair to the general public.

aiman04
post Feb 13 2009, 10:51 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

OT: Trailer

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

aiman04
post Feb 14 2009, 08:14 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Feb 14 2009, 01:04 AM)
** fanboy mode ON**

I bet it will look stunning on BD! thumbup.gif
More stunning than the first one for sure, this is so huge! "We're gonna need a bigger boat!"

Better version of the trailer:

Expect to see this on BD in November. I plan NOT to see it in cinema, seeing movies for the first time on BD is priceless. Who's with me? brows.gif

Looks like have to upgrade the screen size again. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Feb 14 2009, 08:54 AM
aiman04
post Feb 14 2009, 08:59 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

For a Jedi you must have patience to avoid the darkside!!

Yeah, the cinema is a dark place. laugh.gif
aiman04
post Feb 21 2009, 07:18 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

New Terminator 2 Releases Confirmed
Posted February 20, 2009 03:46 PM by Josh Dreuth

Lionsgate Films Lionsgate Home Entertainment has announced that they will release 'Terminator 2: Judgment Day - Skynet Edition' to Blu-ray on May 12th. Additionally, Lionsgate will release the 'Limted Edition T2 Complete Collector's Set', a six disc set which will feature the Blu-ray release of the film along with Extreme Edition DVD and Ultimate Edition DVD versions of the film and a digital copy.

Technical specs have not been detailed at this time, though you can expect the typical 1080p AVC and DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack. Extras, which span over eight hours, include quizzes, games, featurettes, and more.

Blu-ray.com

Two More Pixar Films Coming the May
Posted February 20, 2009 03:09 PM by Josh Dreuth

Walt Disney Home Entertainment has announced that they will bring the two Pixar films 'A Bug's Life' and 'Monster's Inc' to Blu-ray on May 19th. Both titles will be two-discs set, featuring a digital copy of the film on a separate DVD. Technical specs have yet to be announced at this time, though it is expected that both releases will receive 1080p AVC video and DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack encodes.

Extras for these two films will include all the features on the previous DVD releases, including the following Blu-ray exclusive extras:

* A Bug's Life Introduction by John Lasseter
* Roundtable with John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton, Kevin Rehr and Darla Anderson
* Storyboard animations
* BD-Live
o Movie Chat
o Movie Mail

Monster's Inc
* Roundtable with Pete Docter, Lee Unkrich, Darla Anderson, and Darla Anderson
* Interactive Game
* BD-Live
o Movie Chat
o Movie Mail
o Disneyland Tokyo attraction

Blu-ray.com

Yes!!! But where's my favorite PIXAR film, Finding Nemo? It was scheduled to release last year but postponed. cry.gif

0.1213sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:25 AM