Are we to re-post all that was posted yesterday?
All Things About BLU-RAY | V10, happy BLU year 2009
Feb 25 2009, 02:23 PM
2,316 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Back to BLU...
Are we to re-post all that was posted yesterday? |
Feb 25 2009, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(KimirR88 @ Feb 25 2009, 08:39 PM) usd increase already.... so cant buy bd.... High now compared to when? Last week? It's been around that rate since months. The increase was steady since May last year, and settles down at current rate for around 2 months already. 0.1 difference in a week is normal.Added on February 25, 2009, 8:46 pm dont buy now... very high exchange rate.... I miss the days in 2007 to early 2008, the rate was only around 3.20. Anyone remember BOGO? The last one was just before Xmas 2007. Good old days. This post has been edited by aiman04: Feb 25 2009, 10:33 PM |
Feb 26 2009, 07:01 PM
5 star AQ/PQ review for Ip Man:
http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/movies.php?id=4226&show=review That's for the same HK release from PA or YA. |
Feb 28 2009, 10:23 AM
50Hz, 60Hz, 100Hz and 200Hz are not in the multiple of 24, so 3:2 pulldown will be applied for 24p source. Simple reason, can these numbers be divided by 24?
However, at 24 frame per second, there are too few frames to makes up a perfect smooth motion, but at least that's the way it was filmed. This means there will be some jerkiness during fast motion shots, usually noticeable during left to right panning shot (in cinema I see blurry effects rather than jerkiness). The bigger refresh rate of the TV will create more frames, but they'll only be duplicates. This is what the AMP/MF/IFC trying to do, doing interpolation rather than duplication, smoothing it out, which will make the picture the video-like effect (camcorders usually records at 60Hz). So if you want to turn AMP/MF/IFC on or off, totally up to your liking. But make sure you turn 24p setting to on/automatic in the PS3/BD player to avoid the pulldown (making the frame interpolation in the multiple of 24). But there is a catch, this AMP/MF/IFC is not perfect. They're supposed to be frame interpolation, not duplication. The TV will create intermediate frames using certain algorithms based on the information from adjacent frames. Sometimes it's inaccurate, thus giving ghosting and possibly re-introducing judders on fast motion shots. If the response time is not fast enough, when someone throws a ball, you might see 3 balls flying instead of one. For rontt88 case, I think the reason is the combination of both 3:2 pulldown and the AMP. Maybe the 24p setting was turned off, while the AMP was turned on. Make sure the 24p is on, but the AMP is optional. This is just from what I understands, hope the sifus can correct me. My 2 cents. AMP - Auto Motion Plus (Samsung) MFP - Motion Flow (Sony) IFC - Intelligent Frames Creation (Panasonic) This post has been edited by aiman04: Feb 28 2009, 10:26 AM |
Feb 28 2009, 12:30 PM
Eh, you guys never explore your PS3 yet? Go to video settings, there's option to turn 24p to on/off/automatic.
My BD35 also has this option. |
| Change to: | 0.2339sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:12 AM |