◙The New PROTON PERSONA◙ V5, Proud CAMPRO always... ^^

ipohmali70
post Jul 3 2009, 11:48 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Jul 3 2009, 11:21 AM)
I got my car last week too. The beeping sound for my car is loud and clear.

I realized that my accelerator pedal vibrates around 90-100km/h although it's just very little, but still can be felt. above 100km/h or below 90km/h, the vibration seems to disappear.
I remember i read some persona owners complaint about the same issue before and from what i read the vibration can only be minimized and not permanently fixed. Is that true??

So far, only 1 complain from me. the radio reception is bad... any aftermarket antenna that u all can recommend for me to replace?

Other than that, don't really have any problem. Tueday i went to fix the alignment at an outside workshop and the foreman told me the Camber test shows that the left front wheel is abit off and needs to be adjusted. Guess, i will go back SC to ask them to fix it.

oh btw, i was reading the car manual 2 days ago and it says the running in speed limit for 4th gear is 135km/h. so meaning anything below is ok for the engine while it's new. Now i go a bit faster while running in  laugh.gif
At the fuel saving recommendation section, it is also stated "Commence driving after starting engine" and from what i understand, it's as though it's not recommended to let the engine run a while before moving the car as it will consume fuel. This contradicts with what some ppl say where we should let the engine warm up first before moving the car. Anyone has any opinion on this?

In the manual, at the last few pages where it specifies the car spec, it stated that the CAMPRO version uses multilink suspension, as for CAMPRO IAFM version, it uses torsion beam axle. Is this true?? I thought they are multilink suspension. It may be the manual not having accurate info...
Lucky for me, my SE does not have:

1. Vibration at the throttle
2. Bad radio reception

Unlucky for me, my SE does have

1. Rattling sound at the air con
2. Bad balancing (since solved outside)

The brochure for the IAFM SE claim the rear suspension is "multi link with stabilizer bar". And indeed that is what I found it to be.

For your bad radio reception, try this: remove check and clean the antenna screw. If still not solved temporary replace with another antenna from a Gen2 /Persona. If still cannot be solved that the problem lies within.

ipohmali70
post Jul 6 2009, 09:45 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(cbkhor @ Jul 5 2009, 11:18 PM)

Will book Persona M line with sales man on Monday. Any tips to get better price? the interest rate still can nego?

Did you guys get any free gift? Any further tips for future buyer like me?

Free gifts are usually not free and loaded with conditions.

What interest rate you get depend on your banking history, payslip etc. Of course you can nego with the bank directly or you can bring your business elsewhere.

ipohmali70
post Jul 12 2009, 12:01 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(saru88 @ Jul 11 2009, 10:32 PM)
huh? H-Line included GPS as well?
why proton likes to give out GPS for free ar? ...

Who says its free???

ipohmali70
post Jul 13 2009, 11:08 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(dbtel74 @ Jul 12 2009, 11:31 AM)
Can be done easily...but must get it at JPJ Perak and not other state's JPJ.
Can go personally or get a runner to get things done for you, of course you must pay the runner la.
Go early in case many people there...usually around 8.30am would be fine.
When you reach there:
1. Go to receptionist and get a form. Inform the receptionist you wish to get a number. There are 2 types, the buying number type and the running number type. Inform the receptionist which type of number you want. The receptionist will tell you to go to a certain counter. Fill up your particulars on the form first before going to the counter. Leave the number column blank so that you will fill up later once you found your number.
2. For buying type, there is a notice board with few pages of numbers being published on it. RM200 has a group of numbers to choose for, then RM300 has another group, etc. Of course, the better number, eg. 1388, will cost you RM300, and so on. Say, you choose 1388, fill up the number onto the form, then you pay RM300 + RM10 processing fee at that designated counter.
3. Running numbers, these are the numbers that is computer generated based on that-day-at-that-moment-of-that-queue reservation. If yesterday the last number reserved was 5354, then today at 8.30am it'll start at 5355. If 5355 already reserved previously by someone, then today it'll start will 5356, and so on. You pay RM10 for the number reservation processing fee ONLY. By the way, Perak running number already reached AGV 5521 as of last Friday.
Both types you will get back your form, with printed confirmation on the form itself (like when you pay for your utility bills), and a receipt. Photocopy both, then give the originals to your relative, the Proton SA, who should advise you on these procedures.
Tks dbtel74. That was really informative. Are you Perakian by any chance?

ipohmali70
post Jul 13 2009, 05:37 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Jul 13 2009, 03:14 PM)
My first service experience.

I went for my first service last monday on 6th July at the Mutiara Damansara Platinum Center.
Reach there bout 7.15am, but there's already a person waiting there despite the service center opens at 8am. Then more ppl came, counter opens, got my number and waited for my turn.
Then my turn came and i told him the things below:

2 complaints:
1. Radio reception bad
2. Accelerator pedal vibrates around 90-100km/h

Non-complaints:
1. No Magnatrap
2. No engine oil additive
3. No break oil / gearbox oil additive
4. Ensure dun pour all the engine oil until above the max line indicator

I told him other ppl in other SC pours all the engine oil until above the max line, but the SC person said that the engine requires all 4 liters of oil, hence it's right to pour all. He then said it might be their cars are older and their dip stick min max line is not correct as the old batches has this problem according to him.
But then after servicing my car, i checked mine the next morning when the engine is cold, it's still above the max line  vmad.gif
Stupid liar...
Guys, any idea roughly how much engine oil our campro iafm requires? thinking of buying my own engine oil, then pour out a bit first before passing to the SC next time.

The SC person says it will take roughly up 11.30am to finish. I was like wth... so simple task requires 3 hours...
Anyhow, i went to nearby mamak and waited patiently. Then came a call around 9.30 from SC. He said the radio reception problem needs more time to rectify and asked if i can leave my car until afternoon or not. I told him i cant as i'm working in the afternoon and say nvm, i'll come again another time to have that fixed.

Then 10.10am, he called again and said car ready for collection. That's good, faster than the estimated 3 hours. Went back there, then saw the service slip, it said advise the customer to leave the car for 2 days to get the radio reception problem checked. i'm like OMG... then i asked the SC person, he says better leave here 2 days coz very troublesome, need to open this and that to check wiring etc... i fed up already and said ok la, next time la.

As for the pedal vibration problem, he says the foreman/mechanic took out a round to test, but say no problem. He then said when it revs at around 2.7k-2.8k, that's when the power comes in for the engine, and probably it makes it vibrate a little. Ok la, since very minor issue to me, so i also didn't insist much on this from them.

In the end, my total cost of servicing is around rm89. Paid rm50 in voucher and another rm39 in cash.
Last friday, managed to test my car at highspeed on a highway. was able to go until 180km/h until i had to slow down back due to curving road.
i can say it's stable just got loud wind sound.
Darkangel, congrats on your being smart on NOT being conned by SC like I was.

The other day I was at the SC buying spare parts and they mentioned 4.2 lts (WTF!) for the Campro engine. I almost got into a friendly argument with them. Camonlaaaa, If 4.2 then you'd always be asking customers for the extra 0.2 lts but no right????

I'm guessing 3.5 lts in the max for the Campro engine. Next trip I will pour out 0.5 lts and give the rest t them for the fillup. Remember that you can always bring your own oil just remember to use 20-50 grade that's all. And drill it into their brains that you'd not settle for the stupid Magnacrap or AntiBac scam or else they manager can pay for it himself.

They have the persistent habit of "make dunno" even if you instruct them on the unnecessary add-ons but when they deliver the car they claim that its done.

ipohmali70
post Jul 13 2009, 05:40 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(din_kaixa @ Jul 13 2009, 04:22 PM)
wanna ask something. how much is the service charge for 20k mileage? i'm using persona manual. need to check sbb takut kena ketuk by service centre
I think someone here did gave a 15 or 20k service review but you'd have to trawl for the info. Whatever the costs is remember this:

You have the right to bring your own oil. Make sure 20-50 grade. Make sure they don't overfill.
You have the right to reject all unnecessary add-ons such as Magnacrap, anti bac, engine wash, oil additive, petrol additive etc.

ipohmali70
post Jul 14 2009, 07:34 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(Hypro @ Jul 14 2009, 12:20 PM)
YES, they said is included in the service schedule vmad.gif
Let them show it to you and compare with your manual. By the way is the car wash/engine wash in the manual?

Added on July 14, 2009, 7:52 pm
QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Jul 14 2009, 01:33 PM)
i tried the rds and Local too and it didn't work. feel like getting a separate antenna like the glass mounted antenna. but i think it will void some warranties as it it involves tampering of wiring.

my car mileage now about 1800, and FC i'm getting is like 9l/100km. It's about rm65 worth of fuel for 400km... I didn't base on the odometer coz it's not accurate. it shows 6.xl/100km for mine too.
i find that shell gives me more mileage than petronas. wonder if other fuel is better or not.
You're right bout the FC . In addition, the FC meter is for decoration only. It doesn't have a real function.

http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=89636

Added on July 14, 2009, 7:55 pm
QUOTE(Hypro @ Jul 14 2009, 02:11 PM)
Becarefull when you get there, and ask in detail what ever things that going to be charge for your service.

All the unnecessary things can save up more than RM50 above
I think way way way more than RM50!

Added on July 14, 2009, 8:10 pm
QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jul 14 2009, 05:21 PM)
wondering right. for my first 1k service.. 5k and 10k service.. must i sent it to a proton authorised SC?? or can i sent to a non authorised SC .. would tat void my warranty? i read so many peoples post complaining about their services.. very scary ler..

usually the 1st 1k right.. thy usually change just the engine oil and oil filter right? if there isnt any problem with the car thn i better sent to my own trusted SC??
Best you send to SC because unexpected things tend to happen in the first 10k.

Yes a lot of people complain about scams by SC. It is indeed scary. Read carefully this forum before you go and you'll save yourself plenty of heartaches.

1st 1k- Yes, engine oil and filter only

Engine oil you can bring yourself.
Make sure 20-50 grade.
Make sure you pour out 0.5 litres of the oil before you give it the them so they can overfill the engine and cause it to leak.

Oil filter buy from them. Only 12.22
Drain Plug gasket. 2.54 (If I remember correctly)

Make 101% clear to them (they tend to forget very easily) and REJECT the stupid Magnacrap and all other nonsense like car wash etc.

http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=89017

Total you spend at the SC = RM 14.74 only. Pay no more than that. Nothing else is needed.

Prepare to spend 3-4 hours at the SC for something Ah Beng can do in 10 mins.

By the way there is no such thing as a trusted SC. All SCs are scammers. If you let your guard down even for a moment, they'll cheat and overcharge you like what happened to me.

This post has been edited by ipohmali70: Jul 14 2009, 08:10 PM
ipohmali70
post Jul 14 2009, 08:23 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(cheeann @ Jul 14 2009, 08:18 PM)
thenu mai tell them it's ur car n not his car so y bother 2 add tis n tat 2 ur car? ?  laugh.gif
I don't think you got it cheeann. Hypro was basically scammed, like I was. That's all.

You can tell then you don't want this and that but the SC flers have short memories. Before you know it you 're billed for things you don't want them to do.

ipohmali70
post Jul 14 2009, 08:56 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jul 14 2009, 08:42 PM)
thanks guys!!!! real help!!! usually with my old car ill stand by the mechanic and watch thm do their business.. but am not sure with the proton edar Sc and all.
With my regular Ah Beng I'd trust him with my life (9 years already) but not the SC scammers.

Be careful guys!

ipohmali70
post Jul 14 2009, 09:56 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(dbtel74 @ Jul 14 2009, 09:51 PM)
Problems will not be solved, ever since the persona se launched last year august...do not expect much from the sc people...none of the proton sc mechanics are qualified...you'll have to bear with it.

Some said change the antenna, others said turn on the loc and RDS, yet others choose to keep quiet...

I too face the bad radio reception and the metal clunking sound at the steering when making all turning...what can I do? Car worth about 60k (lowest price for sedan car in the market), ALL proton sc and it's mechanics are unqualified and conning their customers...what can I do? meh give up lor...after the 3 'free' services, meh say to hell with all the proton sc lor...
Sorry to say it Bub but I share your sentiment. Warranty or no warranty, I'd cabut after the 3rd so called "free" service, but not before I claim kaw-kaw for the famous Persona klunking sound.

After that I'd go straight to my trusted Ah Beng. Been with him for 9 years already. I trust him to do the right thing and he trust me that my cheque (yes I pay by cheque) clears.

ipohmali70
post Jul 15 2009, 10:04 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(cbkhor @ Jul 14 2009, 11:31 PM)
By the way, where do you usually go for Ah Beng in ipoh? Mind sharing? maybe I can go there also...smile.gif
Yes I can. I will pm you.

ipohmali70
post Jul 15 2009, 10:09 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(dbtel74 @ Jul 14 2009, 11:35 PM)
dear ipohmali, have you contacted your personal workshop about the metal clunking issue? once solved, please let me know, i'll balik kampung to fix it after the 3rd service...i wouldn't trust those sc buggers anymore...
after the 3rd service, i will install the stupid ignition light too, where my old wira used to have it also...RIDICULOUS!!!
I went to my Ah Beng workshop yesterday but I only spoke to him about the oil capacity for the Campro engine. He couldn't remember the exact quantity but he NEVER fills more than the max mark.

The I told him the SC overfilled the engine oil TWICE to me and they claim 4.2lts and he went : TLMCH!!! Hai meh???? Yau mou kaw chor ahhh???? Chorng tou kam meong chou???

"Really???? Are they nutss??? Even the SC does that???"

I forgot to ask him about the klunking sound and like you I too want to wire the ignition light like my 2002 Wira.

Added on July 15, 2009, 10:10 am
QUOTE(Hypro @ Jul 15 2009, 10:04 AM)
dbtel, I also want to fix the ignition light and the seat belt light too, just don't know which workshop can do it. Anyone do it and can share the place that you go? Thank you notworthy.gif
You can go to any reputable accessories and auto electrical shop.

Added on July 15, 2009, 10:14 am
QUOTE(Hypro @ Jul 15 2009, 10:03 AM)
Yesterday night I open my bonnet and check the engine oil level, I found out that the level is way too high above the MAX level doh.gif

Sigh, now if u ask me to go back to the SC and complain about this problem, I can 1000% confirm to you, I don't care to do so. Who know after that got another scratches from them again!!!

Now don't how to drain the extra engine oil out rclxub.gif
No don't do like cheeann said (loosen drain plug). The drain plug gasket may go out of shape and leak. Instead go to any workshop and get the vacuum for oil suction. Just suck out a little bit till the oil is at or below max.

Usually the workshop won't charge you or they charge you only a little bit. In case they don't charge you, be a good customer and offer them 2 or 3 ringgit for their trouble.

Added on July 15, 2009, 10:15 am
QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Jul 15 2009, 01:38 AM)
do u guys realize that our steering wheel is not mounted exactly on the middle of the dashboard?
the dashboard is slightly to the right. sigh, can't they even design this correctly.
Yes my SE suffers the same thing too.

This post has been edited by ipohmali70: Jul 15 2009, 10:17 AM
ipohmali70
post Jul 15 2009, 10:33 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(cheeann @ Jul 15 2009, 10:26 AM)
then if u're so smart then u can go round ard kl/pj n find those which mechanic got d vacuum oil suction who will only charge ur rm2-3~  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif
if u can let d engine cool down n proper way n wrench can jus release d excess engine oil without damaging d plug gasket like wat u said~  doh.gif  doh.gif
No brother, I don't consider myself smart but I try my best to help those in need.

I do not know that the vacuum oil suction is rare in KL/PJ.

Here in Ipoh its pretty common. If you're nice guy, they don't want to charge anything for minor stuff.

You're 100% right. Hypro can still use a wrench an drain off the oil. If he's careful enough he won't damage the aluminum gasket.

ipohmali70
post Jul 15 2009, 10:38 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(Hypro @ Jul 15 2009, 10:21 AM)
Hahaha... I don't think I dare to DIY as I also don't know what is going to happen after that. But when I saw the engine oil level I really  rclxub.gif How come Proton service center so "PROFESSIONAL" some more charge customer kaw kaw and also labor fees vmad.gif
Good for you brother! Don't DIY if you don't know how. Just go to Ah Beng and he'll do it for you. Don't go to SC. They spend 2 hours to do what Ah Beng can do in 10 minutes. And then they will "send" it to another car wash (which you are not aware of) and this time come back with a dent on the panel.

Dunno how much they charge in KL/PJ area but in Ipoh, stuff like this its free or only a couple of ringgit.

ipohmali70
post Jul 15 2009, 08:05 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(seongmeng @ Jul 15 2009, 11:53 AM)
hi,have you tried that by turn off the aircon while make the left turn? the front knocking sound is gone, i have tried quite a number of times, it works! I really suspect this knocking sound is coz by something happened on the aircon compressor when making the left turn. Can more of you verify this? tongue.gif
This is new to me. Will check it out and report accordingly.

Added on July 15, 2009, 8:10 pm
QUOTE(roiss @ Jul 15 2009, 07:14 PM)
My engine oil is far above the MAX level as well. I haven't done my 1st service yet.  mad.gif
This is not good for the engine. Go to the SC or better still, Ah Beng, to have some of the oil sucked/released out.

SC = 2 hours. Free if they don't scam you with other stuff.

Your trusted Ah Beng = 3 minutes only.

This post has been edited by ipohmali70: Jul 15 2009, 08:10 PM
ipohmali70
post Jul 15 2009, 11:24 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(dbtel74 @ Jul 15 2009, 11:21 PM)
hmm, guess everyone knows this issue already loong2020. If we can go inside the workshop and pour the engine oil ourselves, there is no issue at all. Who doesn't know if we pour ngam ngam 3.5 ltrs, our cars would be lighter acceleration and lower fc? But then, we are not allowed to go inside the workshop and monitor those sc buggers' works leh....haiz...

by the way, I tried switching off the air-cond, still i can hear the klunk, klunk, klunk sound when I made those turning....
Will commence Project Klunking sound tomorrow.

ipohmali70
post Jul 16 2009, 04:44 PM

1,133 posts

PROJECT KLUNKING SOUND - RESULTS

Car: Persona SE

Car was driven over moderately rough corners for a few rounds.

Air con switched on:

Left turns only - Klunking sound each time
Right turns only - Klunking sound approx half the time only

Air con switched off:

Results similar as if air con switched on

Note there was 1 time on a straight moderately rough road. The klunking sound can also be heard.

ipohmali70
post Jul 16 2009, 08:27 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Jul 16 2009, 07:38 PM)
tested again...aircond off turning left got sound....right sometimes....(i think same)...so on and off aircond is the same....but i suspect is the bumper area(collision bar/foglamp holder which is near to the car metal body)/banana leaf(wheel arch plastic water blocker)
Hmmmm... I agree that it sound like its from that particular place but I'll check it out tomorrow.

Added on July 16, 2009, 8:30 pm
QUOTE(godprophet @ Jul 16 2009, 07:58 PM)
Hi. I'm from Kuching and is new here. I just got my Persona H-Line(black) less than 2 weeks ago. Already run about 140km. Have no problems with the car except for some minor issues.  My driver door panel sometimes make knocking sound while driving. Otherwise, I'm very satisfied with the car's performance. thumbup.gif  However, I'm not satisfied with the paint though.  1 day after I got the car I noticed some short white lines which look like cuts on my rear bumper and another 2 small scratches on the driver side pillar! mad.gif  I also noticed a tiny little dent under the chrome line at the rear.  Will the SC fix it for free in my 1st service?
Welcome to the famous Persona klunking sound phenomena. This thing is still being discussed. Jump right in!

Sorry for the scratches and dents but SC will not fix it for you after you've accepted the car.

This post has been edited by ipohmali70: Jul 16 2009, 08:30 PM
ipohmali70
post Aug 22 2009, 01:26 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(cbkhor @ Aug 22 2009, 07:40 AM)
... By the way, do any of you guys have the radio manual? I do not have it and some buttons need to clarify the functions, e.g: there's one label "TA" what does that do?
Very easy. Go to your sales agent and just ask him to photostat a set from the original.

0.0692sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:42 AM