5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

My Latest Fashion Haul (with photo please!), Share with us your new purchase

kotmj
post May 21 2011, 12:38 PM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

The place to go to is the POS MALAYSIA "MEL & KURIER" building a (farish) walking distance from LCCT.

The place is really low grade. You go in after surrendering your driving laisen, and enter this semi-decrepit place with custom officers and such. Go to office No. 1, give them the notification you received from Pos Laju. Then go to Counter 2 which is the warehouse counter. The warehouse is really low-grade. I am something of a logistics/warehousing expert, and that warehouse is the most decrepit and low grade I have seen. It is also tiny, from which follows that only an infinitesimally small percentage of parcels will be detained simply because their warehouse is so small.

Your parcel is then given to you. Now you have the choice of running out of the building with your parcel with 4-5 obese, unfit, middle aged customs officers unbuckling the holsters to their pistols in an attempt at taking aim at you, or you can put the parcel at the counter and open it for them to inspect.

There were 3 Pos Laju "runners" (the sort who do this for you when you pay them RM49.50) who were opening a parcel next to me. They took out a a cheap toy bow and arrow. But there was more in the box. They retrieved a cast metal hobby rifle, the sort you can kill with if you load it with a ball bearing. The parcel was declared as "archery toy set". The toy set will be delivered, the rifle detained.

There were many parcels all around me. It is very easy to steal a few. The customs guy said my beg is "mahal sangat oh!, pergi klang sana you boleh tengok mereka buat custom untuk kau." I said the klang stuff must be very teruk. "You punya beg feshen lama lah, baru tengok macam buruk lah." I said that's because it is cotton. "Canvas," he said. These people know the names of stuff.

I ended up paying 10% on the cost of both the item and postage. No big deal.

Now having breakfast at LCCT. LCCT reminds me of Pudu bus station last time.

[attachmentid=2226291]

This post has been edited by kotmj: May 21 2011, 06:59 PM
kotmj
post May 21 2011, 03:13 PM

3,802 posts

I should add that I had very high expectations of that bag, given the cost and the fact that even PG carries one.

It manages to exceeed my expectations. Imagine the most robust bag possible. This bag is 2X as robust.

I thought it would be similar to those canvas bags you see in Sg. Wang except more refined. But it's totally different.
kotmj
post May 21 2011, 06:33 PM

3,802 posts

QUOTE(guest54321 @ May 21 2011, 05:59 PM)
The housefly excreting atop the nice bag is absolute win.
I told you LCCT is like Pudu Bus Station...
kotmj
post May 25 2011, 12:08 AM

3,802 posts

QUOTE(stylophile @ May 23 2011, 02:49 PM)
wow big hint. time to go get me one.

Added on May 23, 2011, 2:54 pmholy mother of all that is holy. that's one expensive bag.

did you buy it from the official website or from a 3rd party? if it's from the official website, and the brand was stated on the packaging, then it's no wonder you got taxed.
Got it for $168 + $41 shipping. It's from a famous retailer on SF.

Added on May 25, 2011, 12:14 amHave to call them (I use skype) to get that price, since discounting is discouraged by the manufacturer.

This post has been edited by kotmj: May 25 2011, 12:14 AM
kotmj
post May 31 2011, 03:37 PM

3,802 posts

^Looks great, how much? I ask because my brother will become a father this weekend and I may buy something like this for him.

My hand forged knife arrived just now. It is everything I wished it would be and more.
kotmj
post Jun 1 2011, 12:58 PM

3,802 posts

The real appeal of the knife is the way it feels in the hand. I read somewhere that stuck on wooden handles are rather utilitarian and not "luxurious" the way western knife handles are. What nonsense. The burnt chestnut handle, impregnated with what seems to be carnauba wax, has a D-profile (like Shun knives) and is just marvellous. It feels warm and natural to the hands, unlike the resin and steel handles of stainless steel western knives.

The Korouchi (orange peel) finish on the blade is wonderful. Everything about the knife is wonderful. The balance, the handle, the beauty. Only RM260 shipped EMS from Japan. Unbelievable.
kotmj
post Jun 1 2011, 06:24 PM

3,802 posts

Took a pic over the lunch hour:

Added on June 1, 2011, 6:29 pm
QUOTE(ynot @ Jun 1 2011, 05:31 PM)
not yesterday recent.. just sharing since a stroller appeared.
one from many of my son fashion haul, Dior milk bottle smile.gif

user posted image user posted image
There is something sad about this...

This post has been edited by kotmj: Jun 1 2011, 06:29 PM
kotmj
post Jun 1 2011, 06:31 PM

3,802 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 1 2011, 05:31 PM)
You would think he was talking about some katana with blade folded 100 times etc...  hmm.gif
these people used to be katana makers... until japan lost the war then they all had to make a living making kitchen knives, so cham...
kotmj
post Jun 2 2011, 06:50 PM

3,802 posts

^All you need now is the H belt ...
kotmj
post Jun 4 2011, 09:44 PM

3,802 posts

Atta to Dunhill sales fan cheong:

"You know, just took delivery of my Bently last week. It was a long wait; those island monkeys have no respect for Asians and put me at the bottom of the waiting list. If you're not Arab they don't look at you, you know? Well anyway, the 2 weeks wait was worth it. The bummer is, found out that my LV luggage set doesn't match the interior of the car, so I'm on the lookout for a new set of bags..."

This post has been edited by kotmj: Jun 4 2011, 09:54 PM
kotmj
post Jun 7 2011, 12:57 PM

3,802 posts

is that pouch corrected grain?

Added on June 7, 2011, 12:58 pm
QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Jun 7 2011, 12:55 PM)
yeah, silly, isn't it? for that price i could have procured something more common, luxury and widely-accepted (in this forum especially), and receiving all the limelights and admirations from ppl saying "wow! nice XXXX! how much?"
you mean white mountain?

This post has been edited by kotmj: Jun 7 2011, 12:58 PM
kotmj
post Jun 17 2011, 10:20 PM

3,802 posts

^how much for that fp?
kotmj
post Jun 17 2011, 10:24 PM

3,802 posts

ughh. i might jump if 250. but 350 is too much for me.
kotmj
post Jun 19 2011, 12:53 PM

3,802 posts

kotmj
post Jun 21 2011, 12:35 PM

3,802 posts

It is a highly sophisticated lighting setup. The trousers were lying on my bed next to the bedroom window.

Added on June 21, 2011, 12:44 pmI told The Freak to get himself a Canon S95.

Added on June 21, 2011, 12:46 pmBut I've really come to appreciate the Olympus XZ-1's Super Macro feature...

This post has been edited by kotmj: Jun 21 2011, 12:46 PM
kotmj
post Jun 22 2011, 12:45 AM

3,802 posts

Pics from the hotel room are unbelievable.

What sort of tailors have you used Chino?
kotmj
post Jun 26 2011, 09:44 PM

3,802 posts

Have you tried Richard Lim yet?
http://www.styleforum.net/showthread.php?t=243288
kotmj
post Jul 2 2011, 12:39 AM

3,802 posts

FP should branch out into pens and and baby strollers... Do they make baby clothes?
kotmj
post Jul 3 2011, 02:38 AM

3,802 posts

I think Charles Tyrwhitt is at the low end of the Jermyn Street RTW makers. No better than Brooks Brothers. Fluffy, wooly cottons, fused to the eyeballs, tent-like fit.

Hilditch & Key and T.M. Lewin make better shirts. The latter also have slim fit lines.

However, all of these RTW makers use relatively cheap cloths except for the premium range. If you want to have shirts made from stunningly good cloth (not to mention really good fit) then bespoke by a masterful shirtmaker is the only way to go. The cloths woven for the bespoke trade are a whole category better than the RTW stuff, and are not available in RTW.

I use thin plastic collar stiffeners myself. They are more pliant than metal ones.

This post has been edited by kotmj: Jul 3 2011, 03:13 AM
kotmj
post Jul 5 2011, 08:46 PM

3,802 posts

my next fesyen haul coming in soon, hope i dun hv to go to lcct. it's a duffel that matches my briefcase.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0718sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:15 AM