QUOTE(mysa_strato @ Jul 11 2011, 12:33 PM)
Me neither, but I got it cheap so what the heck lol My Latest Fashion Haul (with photo please!), Share with us your new purchase
My Latest Fashion Haul (with photo please!), Share with us your new purchase
Jul 11 2011, 11:42 PM
180 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Jul 12 2011, 08:07 AM
2,664 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Jul 12 2011, 08:33 AM
i wrote an email to georg jensen bond street last week, requesting for a quote of the rubber strap. instead of charging me, they sent it to me for free! now, this is what we regard as customer service excellence.
it is the rubber strap for my ellipse keyring. for more info: http://www.georgjensen.com/uk/living/accessories my apologies for the low-resolution images; they were snapped in my office using my out dated cell phone. ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by attacusatlas: Nov 30 2019, 07:30 PM |
Jul 12 2011, 04:32 PM
526 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 11 2011, 09:21 PM) There is no real alternative to FP in the polo arena. I mean, what would you get? Lacoste? Phui! RL? Insipid. No real alternative, huh?The only reason I still don't have one is because I find the price preposterous. One of these days I will rob someone of his FP in a back alley somewhere. I wear Lacoste's all day long and used to have a collection of RL's. No FP's though. René Lacoste started wearing simple piqué-cotton shirts during his matches at Wimbledon and the U.S. Open back in the 1920's. He had gotten the idea from Anglo-Indian army polo players who under brutal heat, wore uniforms that included light, open-knit shirts. These shirts had minute holes to let air circulate and let sweat exit and evaporate. During this time, the traditional sportsmen were still wearing flannel and oxford shirts. Lacoste paired up with French weavers Deschamps to produce the first-ever commercial polo shirt in 1933. Fred Perry's shirts were in fact not even his own idea, but that of Tibby Wegner, who started producing polos under Fred Perry much later in 1952 after seeing the success of René Lacoste. So Lacoste is not just the reason why your FP polos exist today, but why all modern polos are still a staple of menswear. ![]() This post has been edited by CHiNO730: Jul 12 2011, 05:18 PM |
Jul 12 2011, 09:40 PM
201 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
is the history of the item really important? isn't all that matters the quality?
i honestly can't tell the difference in quality between rl, lacoste & fp. i will never pay full price for any of them. if any of them are 50% off in a colour i like, then i will probably get it. |
Jul 12 2011, 11:21 PM
3,802 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: City of Anggerik |
Let me try to articulate my aversion to the values represented by the Lacoste's & RL's of the world.
I am a maker. Spent 7 years at uni mastering the esoteric arts of mechanical design and another discipline too young to have a body of knowledge worth shit. Lived through countless 3-to-1 design critique sessions where the supervisor (himself a practising designer) would destroy my designs and ego. Everybody gets their egos bombed to pieces. The only thing that matters is an unassailable concept and sweet execution. In other words, quality of thinking and ideas. Inspiration. Good solutions to problems with many constrains. What do brands like RL and Lacoste represent in the polo arena? You start with a stock standard white polo worth maybe 50 ringgit retail. You stick an alligator/pony logo on it. Now it is worth 400 ringgit retail. What inspiration? What intelligence has been injected into the product? What design values? What culture? WHAT? I would have to be missing a very big chunk of my brain to pay a 350 ringgit premium for a brand. I don't care about your brand. I care about my brand. You would have to pay me 350 ringgit to wear your brand on my body. Now look at FP. They take the trouble to inject some design values to their polos. A pathetic amount compared to the raw intellect and massive amounts of knowledge that go into a simple engineered product, but still. FP takes more pride in their clever designs than Lacoste/RL. And I happen to appreciate the FP aesthetic. I understand what they're trying to do -- to inject visual impact into a product which nonetheless must remain identifiably FP and classic. I was once in an art gallery that was exhibiting (curated, of course) print advertisements. The FP ads were excellent. (I'm still not buying any though. They are severely overpriced.) This post has been edited by kotmj: Jul 12 2011, 11:31 PM |
Jul 12 2011, 11:40 PM
1,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
^ Bravo kotmj, well said and I have the same opinion as you.
Jul 13 2011, 07:23 AM
kotmj, while I respect your wisdom and opinion, you aversion to the values represented by Lacoste and RL must certainly cover FP as well. In nearly all cases FP offends on your points more than the others.
The point of a polo was function. Anybody with a brain can put stripes, use different combinations of materials, and come up with a creative logo. You make it sound like what FP is doing is something terribly unique that RL and Lacoste cannot hold a candle to. Lacoste has over 300 product SKU's for their polo style alone. How many does FP have? "You start with a stock standard white polo worth maybe 50 ringgit retail. You stick an alligator/pony logo on it. Now it is worth 400 ringgit retail." This is precisely what FP is doing with their Made in China polos, except w/a fancy crest instead of an alligator/pony. At least Rene Lacoste can be credited with bring the polo into the limelight, with which hundreds if not thousands of fashion labels have been influenced by this in some way or another. To you such sartorial significance may not be worth the "400 ringgit retail" but by that same token, adding stripes and colours does not in any way make FP superior. ![]() "We were the first to put lines in our collar." I'm not against FP at all. Simply put, if I had a choice between the two, I'd choose Lacoste for the reasons above. Added on July 13, 2011, 7:49 am QUOTE(stylophile @ Jul 12 2011, 09:40 PM) is the history of the item really important? isn't all that matters the quality? i think history is incredibly important. fashion is one part history, one part art, one part function, and one part style.i honestly can't tell the difference in quality between rl, lacoste & fp. i will never pay full price for any of them. if any of them are 50% off in a colour i like, then i will probably get it. quality wise, you might be right, although FP's are made in China and Lacoste's are made in Peru. This post has been edited by CHiNO730: Jul 13 2011, 07:49 AM |
Jul 13 2011, 08:59 AM
2,324 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Shah Alam |
i respect all of you guys perspective on polos. its just awesome. as for me, i wear a polo just in terms of design and attractiveness. i kept my dior polo that my father give at my house, and bring the soda polo here with me in my uni just because the dior looks too plain. in my view, design is numero uno, brand and price goes 2nd.
Jul 13 2011, 10:17 AM
683 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 12 2011, 11:21 PM) Let me try to articulate my aversion to the values represented by the Lacoste's & RL's of the world. enjoyed reading your words, but the world didn't end with 3 brands of polo..I am a maker. Spent 7 years at uni mastering the esoteric arts of mechanical design and another discipline too young to have a body of knowledge worth shit. Lived through countless 3-to-1 design critique sessions where the supervisor (himself a practising designer) would destroy my designs and ego. Everybody gets their egos bombed to pieces. The only thing that matters is an unassailable concept and sweet execution. In other words, quality of thinking and ideas. Inspiration. Good solutions to problems with many constrains. What do brands like RL and Lacoste represent in the polo arena? You start with a stock standard white polo worth maybe 50 ringgit retail. You stick an alligator/pony logo on it. Now it is worth 400 ringgit retail. What inspiration? What intelligence has been injected into the product? What design values? What culture? WHAT? I would have to be missing a very big chunk of my brain to pay a 350 ringgit premium for a brand. I don't care about your brand. I care about my brand. You would have to pay me 350 ringgit to wear your brand on my body. Now look at FP. They take the trouble to inject some design values to their polos. A pathetic amount compared to the raw intellect and massive amounts of knowledge that go into a simple engineered product, but still. FP takes more pride in their clever designs than Lacoste/RL. And I happen to appreciate the FP aesthetic. I understand what they're trying to do -- to inject visual impact into a product which nonetheless must remain identifiably FP and classic. I was once in an art gallery that was exhibiting (curated, of course) print advertisements. The FP ads were excellent. (I'm still not buying any though. They are severely overpriced.) "You start with a stock standard white polo worth maybe 50 ringgit retail. You stick an alligator/pony logo on it. Now it is worth 400 ringgit retail." if you stand by the words above, you shouldn't even look at FP in the first place.. they are also selling a standard white polo with a laurel logo retailing for RM300-350.. quality wise i personality do not think FP is that great either.. This post has been edited by teNtiOn: Jul 13 2011, 10:18 AM |
Jul 13 2011, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Jul 13 2011, 07:23 AM) kotmj, while I respect your wisdom and opinion, you aversion to the values represented by Lacoste and RL must certainly cover FP as well. In nearly all cases FP offends on your points more than the others. not all fred perry are made in china; M12/2010 world cup series/fred perry x asos limited edition/100 years collection are made in uk, F1153/F1102/M120 are made in japan, about half of fred perry laurel, blank canvas and fred perry x raf simons collections are made in portugal. there are also made in scotland and italy fred perry polos.The point of a polo was function. Anybody with a brain can put stripes, use different combinations of materials, and come up with a creative logo. You make it sound like what FP is doing is something terribly unique that RL and Lacoste cannot hold a candle to. Lacoste has over 300 product SKU's for their polo style alone. How many does FP have? "You start with a stock standard white polo worth maybe 50 ringgit retail. You stick an alligator/pony logo on it. Now it is worth 400 ringgit retail." This is precisely what FP is doing with their Made in China polos, except w/a fancy crest instead of an alligator/pony. At least Rene Lacoste can be credited with bring the polo into the limelight, with which hundreds if not thousands of fashion labels have been influenced by this in some way or another. To you such sartorial significance may not be worth the "400 ringgit retail" but by that same token, adding stripes and colours does not in any way make FP superior. ![]() "We were the first to put lines in our collar." I'm not against FP at all. Simply put, if I had a choice between the two, I'd choose Lacoste for the reasons above. Added on July 13, 2011, 7:49 am i think history is incredibly important. fashion is one part history, one part art, one part function, and one part style. quality wise, you might be right, although FP's are made in China and Lacoste's are made in Peru. btw, fred perry doesn't merely produce twin tipped polo. fred perry knitted polos: ![]() fred perry x raf simons collection. the material of grey/back is a mixture of cotton and copper: ![]() ![]() fred perry laurel (left and right) & stussy blank canvas (middle): ![]() ![]() please don't get me wrong. i do own a fair bit of lacoste polos; i am just sharing some info so that ppl won't misunderstand that fred perry are all made in china and only available in twin tipped. This post has been edited by attacusatlas: Nov 30 2019, 07:35 PM |
Jul 13 2011, 10:46 AM
Jul 13 2011, 06:30 PM
32 posts Joined: May 2010 From: Lowyat.NET HQ |
This just arrived today from Singapore =) I'm a very happy camper
![]() SBTG Friends & Family SB Dunk Low Premium This post has been edited by th1rt3en: Jul 13 2011, 06:31 PM |
Jul 13 2011, 07:01 PM
2,324 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Shah Alam |
Jul 13 2011, 10:00 PM
411 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
Am I the only person here who thinks FP design is mmm, ugly??
Prefer Lacoste over FP anytime. |
Jul 14 2011, 07:23 AM
atta,
yes, i am completely aware that FP produces more than just collar tipped polos. I was just commenting on the ad itself - and yes, my apologies for generalizing that all FP's are made in China. I do concede that there are other regions where the fabric is woven and the shirt is put together. regardless of what my opinion is on with FP vs Lacoste, I salute you sharing your posts as our forum readers may not share my opinion and would love to see the huge store full of FP's polos that you have. in the end it is about sharing, and many would not agree with my style, choice of products/brands, etc. regardless, i still post away. take for instance a recent acquisition. my good friend with a fine taste in fashion says he'd prefer a fine example from Carmina vs what I have chosen below. ![]() |
Jul 14 2011, 01:48 PM
180 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(newx @ Jul 13 2011, 10:00 PM) i don't think that it's ugly but it's just nothing special. I'm not much a polo shirt man, only have 3, 2 polo RL and 1 burberry.. rarely wear them only in the summerbtw chino that's a nice pair of loafers |
Jul 14 2011, 02:41 PM
4 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Jul 14 2011, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Jul 14 2011, 07:23 AM) atta, Screw those who cannot agree with your style; we don't live in a communist country. Style is really a matter of preference and it is very much personal. Just buy and wear what you like the most and comfortable with.yes, i am completely aware that FP produces more than just collar tipped polos. I was just commenting on the ad itself - and yes, my apologies for generalizing that all FP's are made in China. I do concede that there are other regions where the fabric is woven and the shirt is put together. regardless of what my opinion is on with FP vs Lacoste, I salute you sharing your posts as our forum readers may not share my opinion and would love to see the huge store full of FP's polos that you have. in the end it is about sharing, and many would not agree with my style, choice of products/brands, etc. regardless, i still post away. take for instance a recent acquisition. my good friend with a fine taste in fashion says he'd prefer a fine example from Carmina vs what I have chosen below. ![]() |
Jul 14 2011, 06:17 PM
^ completely agree. cheers to that!
Added on July 14, 2011, 6:18 pm QUOTE(dr3w @ Jul 14 2011, 01:48 PM) i don't think that it's ugly but it's just nothing special. I'm not much a polo shirt man, only have 3, 2 polo RL and 1 burberry.. rarely wear them only in the summer thank you sir. I was debating between this one and the signature green-red "web stripe" and decided on this for its understated appeal and more formal appearance. btw chino that's a nice pair of loafers sometimes i have to lay low and control my urge to be flashy. i assure that this is only temporary though. This post has been edited by CHiNO730: Jul 14 2011, 06:20 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0344sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:01 AM |