Life Sciences [List] Private Medical Universities in Malaysia, *MD / MBBS / MBBChBAO (Update-17/11/14)*

Syd G
post Oct 17 2010, 11:38 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Oct 17 2010, 09:11 AM)
Is WHO recognition an assurance of quality MBBS?
WHO's list is updated by the government of the country itself. So if MMC recognizes it, WHO will.. but it will take some time to be added in the list.

For me it was nothing more than a publicity stunt.
Syd G
post Nov 3 2010, 05:58 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...5102&sec=nation

Perdana U yo biggrin.gif
Syd G
post Nov 3 2010, 08:48 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(BrachialPlexus @ Nov 3 2010, 08:45 PM)
Pfft... Perdana U. For a brief period, I was overjoyed that an institution as prestigious as JHU would even consider setting up a branch campus in Malaysia. I guess if things are too good to be true, it probably isn't.
Sounds like MUST all over again

http://www.must.edu.my/about_history.php
http://web.mit.edu/mit-tdp/projects/malaysia.html

So what happened to the uni now? sad.gif

This post has been edited by Syd G: Nov 3 2010, 08:49 PM
Syd G
post Dec 13 2010, 01:41 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

The tuition fee may be RM450k (Monash) but the living expenses is way cheaper in MY smile.gif
Syd G
post Dec 22 2010, 01:13 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Monash requires AAA cause the competition is really2 tough.

Syd G
post Dec 22 2010, 02:00 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 22 2010, 01:15 PM)
AAA is not enough la...

here's what they require:
they don't even list down the minimum requirements.  laugh.gif
Of course la.. I was putting that to rebut BBC sweat.gif

New requirements for 2012 :

1) Excellent results (not specified anywhere..)
2) ISAT
3) Interview
4) IELTS 7.0

Syd G
post Dec 23 2010, 11:11 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Good luck.

One issue I have with 'Foundation of Science' is cost. CUCMS foundation costs RM18k vs AUSMAT (which is widely recognized) in Sunway, also 18k. I dont know how much SeGi's foundation costs but it should be somewhere around there yes?
Syd G
post Dec 23 2010, 01:09 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

MUFY also foundation what tongue.gif

But to get in, you need an average of 90% sweat.gif
Syd G
post Dec 23 2010, 02:44 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Dec 23 2010, 02:41 PM)
Why ah? I am also curious. Fees also competitive. You think Mahsa, Masterskill and Segi better?
Clinical school too far?
Syd G
post Dec 23 2010, 03:47 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Being the first helps wink.gif

Syd G
post Dec 23 2010, 05:14 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(mivec3gs @ Dec 23 2010, 05:10 PM)
i guess u r right though... student who doing locally wont lose to the overseas..  laugh.gif

but, we guess there is different in quality as the students gain the diff experience/explosure during the clinical years?
The biggest advantage is recognition.

They can hv permission to work in SG, OZ, UK, US easier compared to local IMU grads smile.gif PMS more expensive ma, need ROI smile.gif
Syd G
post Dec 24 2010, 08:46 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(Azhar Sabill @ Dec 24 2010, 08:15 AM)
how about taking MD at USM?
The title clearly states 'Private Medical Universities in Malaysia' sleep.gif
Syd G
post Jan 4 2011, 08:58 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

MMC requires certain student:lecturers ratio for MBBS courses. Prolly their teaching staff turnover is very high wink.gif
Syd G
post Jan 4 2011, 01:43 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Jan 4 2011, 01:37 PM)
In bolehland, so long you have the cookie dough, they can turn it into a cupcake even. =) what to do? the quality is definitely degrading, compared to a few decades ago when UM was well known throughout the world.
University of Malaya in 1950s is now known as NUS wink.gif

Syd G
post Jul 6 2011, 10:29 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

The tribe tribunal has spoken:
http://www.bharian.com.my/bharian/articles...M25_000/Article

Syd G
post Jul 9 2011, 03:04 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

@clevedon
You have a great results, congratulations. If you can get into a top uni in London, you can apply for JPA for Ivy League dan setara.
Syd G
post Jul 27 2011, 08:55 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Jul 27 2011, 08:13 PM)
Plz dont. AUCMS is a lie basically. my brother used to study there under the MD USU programme before changing to MSU.
Dont bother. The management is a mess. They lie to you, yes LIE. They told the parents and students that MD USU programme is an international class, everything conducted in english and recognized world wide, but everything was a lie, nothing was conducted in english as told.

MD UKM programme is a joke, almost 15 ppl fail each batch for their final exams, class conducted via video conference, Lecturers are from phillipines and pakistan. Facilities is a joke, lab equipments borrowed from a school in front of their sri serdang(kepala batas) campus. Malu wey!!! Theyre too busy funding 6 scam artist (from AC Konsortium) to do programmes for their students, (ie AUCMS idol, program cantik dan sihat bersama rosma dan salima AF) etc etc.

Seriously, AUCMS is a JOKE to all medical institution out there. Dont bother. Dato Dr Zainuddin Wazir can eat shit
If I'm not mistaken a lot of CUCMS students whom got kicked out due to the student limit fiasco ended up in AUCMS.

Basically, out of one blood sucking place to another eh?

http://aididmuaddib.blogspot.com/2011/06/a...universiti.html

--

Jom sihat & cantik!! Teeheehee
Syd G
post Jan 6 2012, 08:22 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

ponderer,

Were you forced into medicine by your parents yourself? As someone who's very aware of the current state of public healthcare in this country, I'd say being a doctor is a downgrade of my current job income-wise.

Nothing glamorous, really. The housemen bomb is already ticking - expect it to explode around 2015 when the new batch of doctors come out from newer "university colleges".

But remember, be excellent in your job. Cream will always rise to the top.
Syd G
post Jan 12 2012, 12:18 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(formalin @ Jan 12 2012, 12:03 PM)
Anybody heard of Quest International University Perak? They are starting their MBBS this year...
It's run by the same company famous for QuestNet.

Run. Away. Fast.
Syd G
post Jan 14 2012, 10:35 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

MAHSA and Masterskill both have no graduates yet. They'll be "assessed" after the first batch of graduates are out.

Btw was at the education fair just now. "Foundation" programs are heavily pushed by most colleges. MAHSA even said, come in January, do express foundation for 8 months and you can enter the med program in September.

For 2012 the cut off point needed is 3.0 .. but apparently MMC is not too happy with the "foundation" route and requires 3.5 from 2013 onwards.

Fee for MAHSA is 300k now (WOW!)..

There was a booth for QIUP but since I know how they came about, I decided to avoid the booth altogether. Had a sickening feeling about even stopping by and asking for more info..

0.0528sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:17 PM