ikoshn
post Mar 27 2011, 10:17 PM

thanks zizdnyll 4 all d info...

ariff02
post Mar 28 2011, 09:54 AM

346 posts

hey , is it possible if i go into mechanical engineering and than further down into marine engineering?
POP3Y3
post Mar 29 2011, 02:13 PM

thank you zizdnyll
anyway hw long does it takes to became a chief eng?
rsh.
post Mar 30 2011, 02:38 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(hahantu @ Mar 17 2011, 10:58 PM)
lucky u, still fresh, spm leaver 2010 is it? im spm 2008, hoho, rust already, hope can get the interview smile.gif
haha.
chillax bro.
im an spm 2008 leaver as well.
but im in alam edi laa.
still 1st year.
btw, you'll do fine laa.
just chill nie.

on the other hand, who got selected for the first induction? cool2.gif
ikoshn
post Mar 30 2011, 09:39 PM

rsh. - u taking DNS or DME...?

-wats with the first induction...the seniors will be there...?

Midnightjive
post Mar 31 2011, 04:43 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(POP3Y3 @ Mar 29 2011, 02:13 PM)
thank you zizdnyll
anyway hw long does it takes to became a chief eng?
I think you should think of Passing your 4th Class. Oral Exams are harder than written exams. smile.gif

But if you want to know the fastest would be 8-10 years. thumbup.gif

Added on March 31, 2011, 4:45 pm
QUOTE(seharummawaddah @ Mar 26 2011, 02:23 PM)
i've got confused whether to apply 4 marine engineering or nautical studies..

it's because  i got 10A, 1B n 1C, c is physics for my spm.....  before this, i

want to take marine engineering but after i knew my physic  is sooo worst,

i'm really worried i would unelected... what should i choose?? -.-"
Sayangnya... Do you really want to spend 6-9 months away from home? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Midnightjive: Mar 31 2011, 04:45 PM
Midnightjive
post Mar 31 2011, 04:54 PM

29 posts

For you guys and gals embarking into the Seafarers industry, you better be prepared. It is not an easy industry, but if you play your cards right,in the end you will be thankful. I have been sailing for over 10 years.

If you're in it for the money. There aren't much rich seafarers since we all know how to spend money only. rclxms.gif

If you're the type who needs someone to cry on always or check your phone every 10 minutes, don't join this career. rclxub.gif

Being away from home for 6-9 months is harder than it sounds. Imagine your love ones asking why you can't come home for raya and they will never understand your explanation. Be prepared to let everyone down. But if you manage to make it past 5 years sailing, then you can see the difference in quality of life that you have compared to your friend. (if you pass your exams la)

If you're lazy and cannot do physical work. Don't join this career. You're first few months training on a ship, you will be ragged like a kuli only. Mopping and cleaning.

If you cannot respect anyone and follow orders, don't join this career. If you are rebellious and always think you're right, don't join this career. I know I am always right ! LOL

But if you are a poor boy like me and don't have daddy's money to spend, then maybe this is the right career. If you want to bring your life out of poverty and you are willing to sacrifice, then join the sea life.

Ask yourself, WHAT ARE YOU WILLING TO SACRIFICE?

Added on March 31, 2011, 5:07 pm
QUOTE(ariff02 @ Mar 28 2011, 09:54 AM)
hey , is it possible if i go into mechanical engineering and than further down into marine engineering?
Usually its the other way around. A lot of my friends went from Marine to Mechanical and some to naval Architecture. But anything is possible when you have the money. I went into Business Administration after my COC class 1. I was a nautical student.

This post has been edited by Midnightjive: Mar 31 2011, 05:07 PM
hahantu
post Mar 31 2011, 08:09 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(rsh. @ Mar 30 2011, 02:38 PM)
haha.
chillax bro.
im an spm 2008 leaver as well.
but im in alam edi laa.
still 1st year.
btw, you'll do fine laa.
just chill nie.
on the other hand, who got selected for the first induction?  cool2.gif
haha, im just worried i cant even pass the exam, its been 2 years since I study that spm subject.

Now im busy looking for my books in the store tongue.gif

Btw, the exam is the same standard as spm? super hard or?
galapago
post Apr 4 2011, 11:06 PM

38 posts

aaaaaaa

does anybody know when we got to know whether we got selected or not?

I mean for the sponsorship. unsure.gif
hahantu
post Apr 7 2011, 11:29 PM

169 posts

Anyone else got interview at Alam Melaka campus on 20/4/2011?
agi5293
post Apr 8 2011, 12:53 PM

QUOTE(hahantu @ Apr 7 2011, 11:29 PM)
Anyone else got interview at  Alam Melaka campus on 20/4/2011?
yes i got it.and this my second time for alam interview sweat.gif
kasyfulrazihan
post Apr 8 2011, 02:41 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(agi5293 @ Apr 8 2011, 12:53 PM)
yes i got it.and this my second time for alam interview sweat.gif
i got that slot too! agi5298, u've been thru this before?care to share some exp? btw i got call from ALAM at 12.30 today and i didn't pick it up haha.,now i been trying to call them to ask wassup haha
TSdestroyer
post Apr 8 2011, 02:43 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(seharummawaddah @ Mar 26 2011, 02:23 PM)
i've got confused whether to apply 4 marine engineering or nautical studies..

it's because  i got 10A, 1B n 1C, c is physics for my spm.....  before this, i

want to take marine engineering but after i knew my physic  is sooo worst,

i'm really worried i would unelected... what should i choose?? -.-"
no problem. probably with that kind of result and if u keep up the hard work, u might as well become top student.

QUOTE(Midnightjive @ Mar 31 2011, 04:54 PM)
For you guys and gals embarking into the Seafarers industry, you better be prepared. It is not an easy industry, but if you play your cards right,in the end you will be thankful. I have been sailing for over 10 years.

If you're in it for the money. There aren't much rich seafarers since we all know how to spend money only.  rclxms.gif

If you're the type who needs someone to cry on always or check your phone every 10 minutes, don't join this career.  rclxub.gif

Being away from home for 6-9 months is harder than it sounds. Imagine your love ones asking why you can't come home for raya and they will never understand your explanation. Be prepared to let everyone down. But if you manage to make it past 5 years sailing, then you can see the difference in quality of life that you have compared to your friend. (if you pass your exams la)

If you're lazy and cannot do physical work. Don't join this career. You're first few months training on a ship, you will be ragged like a kuli only. Mopping and cleaning.

If you cannot respect anyone and follow orders, don't join this career. If you are rebellious and always think you're right, don't join this career. I know I am always right ! LOL

But if you are a poor boy like me and don't have daddy's money to spend, then maybe this is the right career. If you want to bring your life out of poverty and you are willing to sacrifice, then join the sea life.

Ask yourself, WHAT ARE YOU WILLING TO SACRIFICE?

Added on March 31, 2011, 5:07 pm

Usually its the other way around. A lot of my friends went from Marine to Mechanical and some to naval Architecture. But anything is possible when you have the money. I went into Business Administration after my COC class 1. I was a nautical student.
agreed. well said bro.
madcatworld
post Apr 8 2011, 02:50 PM

Hi..wanna ask about RETI - Ranaco Education and Training Institute. Anyone heard about this one? My brother got the offer there for diploma in maritime tech engineering. Is it wise for him to take this offer?

Sorry if i'm in wrong topic blush.gif
TSdestroyer
post Apr 8 2011, 03:18 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(madcatworld @ Apr 8 2011, 02:50 PM)
Hi..wanna ask about RETI - Ranaco Education and Training Institute. Anyone heard about this one? My brother got the offer there for diploma in maritime tech engineering. Is it wise for him to take this offer?

Sorry if i'm in wrong topicĀ  blush.gif
i'm not saying bad bout anybody. juz that, some of my fren who sailed onboard offshore support vessel met guys from ranaco. so far they only met ranaco student able to climb up till rating only.

i'm not sure. i might be wrong. for foreign going vessel, i don't think i've met/heard ranaco cadet before.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 8 2011, 03:19 PM
xPC12x
post Apr 8 2011, 03:30 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 8 2011, 04:18 PM)
i'm not saying bad bout anybody. juz that, some of my fren who sailed onboard offshore support vessel met guys from ranaco. so far they only met ranaco student able to climb up till rating only.

i'm not sure. i might be wrong. for foreign going vessel, i don't think i've met/heard ranaco cadet before.
ya lor, , is not to say anything bad about some body, but to be honest la, i have a few friends from ranacco, when they want to send their cv at a company, employees will see the first cv of where you learned previously, if the rannaco, hmmm .... cool2.gif
TSdestroyer
post Apr 8 2011, 04:01 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(xPC12x @ Apr 8 2011, 03:30 PM)
ya lor, , is not to say anything bad about some body, but to be honest la, i have a few friends from ranacco, when they want to send their cv at a company, employees will see the first cv of where you learned previously, if the rannaco, hmmm .... cool2.gif
for that part, i blame the institution. not the student.

because maybe they're lack in facilities that when shipping co come for tour, they will think that ranaco cadets lack of competency since they're given improper training because lack of facilities.

last time when we asked ranaco booth guy during education fair, they also talk bullsh*t. they don't even know how it is to work onboard. i was like wth... but we just 'layan' that guy. better go to sarawak maritime academy.
madcatworld
post Apr 8 2011, 05:50 PM

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 8 2011, 04:01 PM)
for that part, i blame the institution. not the student.

because maybe they're lack in facilities that when shipping co come for tour, they will think that ranaco cadets lack of competency since they're given improper training because lack of facilities.

last time when we asked ranaco booth guy during education fair, they also talk bullsh*t. they don't even know how it is to work onboard. i was like wth... but we just 'layan' that guy. better go to sarawak maritime academy.
guys thanks for the advice..i have no idea about this stuff sweat.gif
From what your saying it's better for him to consider another option beside this one
agi5293
post Apr 8 2011, 08:43 PM

QUOTE(kasyfulrazihan @ Apr 8 2011, 02:41 PM)
i got that slot too! agi5298, u've been thru this before?care to share some exp? btw i got call from ALAM at 12.30 today and i didn't pick it up haha.,now i been trying to call them to ask wassup haha
ok it is like this.i pass the entrance exam (which 99% i was sure i wouldn't have pass the exam but i gone through it) rclxm9.gif .after that they gave us an article and ask to prepare answers for given question.(for me about traffic jam) within 10 to 15 minutes.than they call us one by one to interview room.in this case i was the first person to be called on that day.i was very nervous but i manage to settle down and started my interview by saying"a very good afternoon sir".at first they ask me to tell about myself(in between they looking at my certificate file).secondly they ask little bit about maritime industry.(where i cant even open my mouth)but i manage to tell something about ship which i seen from movies.thank god.after that,they began to ask questions frm the article.i answer all of their question.(here actually they want to see how confident are we in our statement).hence they grab some of my point and ask more detailed answer where i think it didnt satisfy them.so just keep on telling the same answer with little alteration to them.finally they ended up saying that we will make a call if u pass this interview for the induction week. hmm.gif

i waited for one month and i didn't attend any call from them.then i called them and they said the induction week already going on.thats all, i failed cry.gif

any way i will prepare better this time.by the way kasyfulrazihan is this ur second time?u r applying for DMS or DME(me DMS but i applied for DME last time)

so we meet on 20th april uh!
kasyfulrazihan
post Apr 8 2011, 11:30 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(agi5293 @ Apr 8 2011, 08:43 PM)
ok it is like this.i pass the entrance exam (which 99% i was sure i wouldn't have pass the exam but i gone through it) rclxm9.gif .after that they gave us an article and ask to prepare answers for given question.(for me about traffic jam) within 10 to 15 minutes.than they call us one by one to interview room.in this case i was the first person to be called on that day.i was very nervous but i manage to settle down and started my interview by saying"a very good afternoon sir".at first they ask me to tell about myself(in between they looking at my certificate file).secondly they ask little bit about maritime industry.(where i cant even open my mouth)but i manage to tell something about ship which i seen from movies.thank god.after that,they began to ask questions frm the article.i answer all of their question.(here actually they want to see how confident are we in our statement).hence they grab some of my point and ask more detailed answer where i think it didnt satisfy them.so just keep on telling the same answer with little alteration to them.finally they ended up saying that we will make a call if u pass this interview for the induction week. hmm.gif

i waited for one month and i didn't attend any call from them.then i called them and they said the induction week already going on.thats all, i failed cry.gif

any way i will prepare better this time.by the way kasyfulrazihan is this ur second time?u r applying for DMS or DME(me DMS but i applied for DME last time)

so we meet on 20th april uh!
haha.,my bad.,i was on 21st not 20th.,this is my first time.,hope i make it through,good luck for all the other applicants too! i nvr been to melaka, hopefully i dont get lost haha

122 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.0372sec    0.95    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:41 AM