Nokia Nokia E71 Thread V2, Messenger of Steel!
naziaf
Dec 29 2008, 08:28 PM

QUOTE(scofield @ Dec 29 2008, 11:37 AM) sigh..need to pay for coreplayer..any free software that can be use for playing videos? You can try DivX Player for Mobile. It's free if I'm not mistaken. QUOTE(julnoel @ Dec 29 2008, 08:07 PM) wanna update the firmware must go to shop is it.. You can update using Nokia PC Suite software that came with your phone. You'll need to be connected to the internet of course  And dun forget to backup your phone data first before updating (if you haven't updated to the latest firmware already).
naziaf
Dec 30 2008, 02:37 PM

QUOTE(booooster @ Dec 29 2008, 11:01 PM) lol it is the lower front but nokia mic are good quality so even if u cover the mic it wil still record some sound  So we can't manually "mute" the phone by covering the lower left mic?  I'm so used to it (I know about the Mute soft key when we're in a call).
naziaf
Dec 31 2008, 11:16 AM

QUOTE(toytoy @ Dec 31 2008, 12:50 AM) Checked the price juz now in Tesco and the lady told me E71 Zitron set is RM1440 and willing to take my N80 for RM250. Is that a good price? My N80 is around 2yrs+ Which Tesco is that?
naziaf
Dec 31 2008, 03:58 PM

QUOTE(repusez @ Dec 31 2008, 03:35 PM) anyway, does anyone how to look for phone number in the phone, here is my situation, i got a phone number 12345678 , it belongs to a contact in my phone. but i forgot who it is, how do i find out who owns that number. i tried using the search button and key in 123456 but it seems like it cannot search phone number but search contact name only. hope you can understand me I understand you. You can try calling the number and the registered contact name should appear on the screen. If that doesn't work, try adding +6 before the phone number (coz sometimes the number is registered with the country code prefix. Once the name appears, hang up!
naziaf
Jan 2 2009, 12:15 PM

RM1450 Zitron from e_trade_pj.
naziaf
Jan 6 2009, 10:58 AM

I have a problem.
When I go to Media->Images, the screen will be blank (I'm assuming it's searching my memory card for images). Options key doesn't do anything, so I can only exit. When I access Images again, it will only show pictures stored in my phone memory. None from memory card.
So I checked Tools->Memory->Options->Memory Details. There are no Images, Documents, video files etc listed at all.
I think this is a problem with the phone scanning the memory card. Is there a way for my E71 to manually fix the card corruption? I hope there's a simple solution. I tried removing and inserting the card again but it doesn't fix it.
Just an update. I can still access/view the files through File Manager though.
This post has been edited by naziaf: Jan 6 2009, 10:59 AM
naziaf
Jan 7 2009, 07:08 PM

QUOTE(sgojita4 @ Jan 7 2009, 01:08 AM) n 2nd, my battery is quite loose.. if i open the back cover than i flip it downwards my battery dropped.. is it norm or juz me? hows the solution? thanx.. I dont have this problem. I need to put a little bit of effort just to get the battery out. Check the mounting that holds the battery. Maybe it's worn out or sth.
naziaf
Jan 16 2009, 11:03 AM

QUOTE(mykomputer @ Jan 16 2009, 10:34 AM) Question: Does invisible shield obstruct opening the battery cover? Can we open the cover easily? Nope. There are 2 separate shields for the back. 1 for the batery cover, one for the rest. I don't personally have the I.S, I just read it from the thread that sells it. Can someone who has the I.S installed on their E71 post some pics? This post has been edited by naziaf: Jan 16 2009, 11:09 AM
naziaf
Jan 16 2009, 10:10 PM

Arika-chan,
Thanks for the review on ur IS-equipped E71. If I were to get d IS, covering the chrome surface is a MUST! Now dat you've mentioned it, I think I'll opt for normal hp skinning. I dun really need a scratch-proof cover, just as long as it keeps my E71 clean while maintaining d shiny' naked phone look. Hehehe.
naziaf
Jan 18 2009, 01:29 PM

QUOTE(JohnDoe789 @ Jan 18 2009, 01:21 PM) guys, is there any silicon skins for e71? because im afraid that if i keep using my fingernails to press the keys, the printing will fade off. There is. I have one. But it doesn't cover the keyboard if that's what you're hoping for. Just the D-pad, soft keys and call/end button.
naziaf
Jan 20 2009, 09:02 AM

Same with me. Takes arond 5 minutes to lock-in to the satellite. So have to plan ahead if I want to use GPS *sigh*
naziaf
Jan 21 2009, 03:22 AM

To those who have upgraded to the latest firmware, can you check if font color in Contacts is still black? This has been a problem with the previous firmware where you can't see the contacts list in a dark background.
naziaf
Jan 21 2009, 09:21 AM

QUOTE(mykomputer @ Jan 21 2009, 06:57 AM) It is still black... but on white background. I'm using the black personal theme where the default background is black. Aaah...thanks a lot for the info!! I really appreciate it. I'm gonna upgrade right away
naziaf
Jan 23 2009, 04:56 PM

I just updated to the latest firmware and I noticed the clock screensaver is stuck. The clock doesn't move anymore.
naziaf
Jan 23 2009, 11:24 PM

QUOTE(jon_jai @ Jan 23 2009, 08:04 PM) Yap, that's why im using the other one. thats the only bug i found on this new firmware Which "other" firmware were you referring to? I'm interested
naziaf
Jan 28 2009, 12:09 AM

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Jan 27 2009, 10:02 PM) but nokia's unpredictable and how does this fair up against blackberry bold? I saw a few articles on the net on head-to-head comparison between E71 and Bold. I didn't read it thought but I'm sure, for the price, BB Bold got pawned!
naziaf
Feb 6 2009, 09:17 AM

It means u can see light coming out thru a small gap between the top soft keys, D-pad and the screen.
naziaf
Feb 6 2009, 10:10 AM

I didnt have this so called leakage when my phone was brand new. I had a problem with the keypad (feels bouncy for the ones nearest to the screen)and Nokia replaced it with a new one. Since then, the leakage appeared.
My theory is that since manufacturing pushed the keypad all the way up to minimize the gap, they sacrificed the keypad alignment. So in my case it was time the keypad gave up and started to misalign and make squeaking sounds when pressed.
naziaf
Feb 13 2009, 01:36 AM

I think it suits everyone. As long as it has the features you need and use most often.