Nokia Nokia E71 Thread V2, Messenger of Steel!

mykomputer
post Jan 6 2009, 11:43 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(Apis_LuaLua @ Jan 6 2009, 01:24 AM)
i am in dillemma now.. getting e71 or 5800.. any advise? heh
Same predicament as me. I just need to sync my outlook contacts and calendar. currently using a winmo 6 device.

For those e71 users who sync with outlook. how is the calendar time. I work with few people who are at different timezone. So when they schedule a meeting at GMT 8am, MY time 4pm. Does E71 shows 4pm?. or 8am (This is what my old SE K750i shows)
mykomputer
post Jan 9 2009, 08:42 AM

333 posts

guys, i have a question. Do the screen size adequate for GPS usage?
mykomputer
post Jan 9 2009, 09:14 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(mrhenree @ Jan 9 2009, 08:53 AM)
more than enough. when i drive, most of the time i just listen when navigating.  smile.gif
Thanks. Are going to get a 5800? brows.gif
mykomputer
post Jan 9 2009, 10:03 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(mrhenree @ Jan 9 2009, 09:23 AM)
owning 5800.  smile.gif
How about E71 vs 5800. I'm thinking of getting one of them. Right now doing the survey and info gathering.
mykomputer
post Jan 9 2009, 10:19 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(mrhenree @ Jan 9 2009, 10:08 AM)
my advise. get 5800. dun trade/sell away your e71 yet. use for 1 week. u will know what u want. we trade? in 1 week time, u dun like, trade back lo. i'm bored for 5800. after all it's still a phone. i'm a young man who dressed up in corporate look weekdays. e71 still my cup of tea.
So your advice is to get the E71. I use my phone (winmobile) to sync up with my office outlook calendar. Lots of meeting. Right now looking for one with gps support.
mykomputer
post Jan 9 2009, 09:10 PM

333 posts

mrhenree,
how about the battery life of e71 for normal usage? From what I read, it is outstanding.
mykomputer
post Jan 14 2009, 04:35 PM

333 posts

Plan to get 1 today. One shop (in BJ Penang) offering Zitron set RM1500 (including mobisecure extended 1 year warranty)
mykomputer
post Jan 16 2009, 10:34 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(haVocasta @ Jan 14 2009, 07:46 PM)
currently im using invisible shield from zagg..got it frm tan_alliance in garage sale..yeah it wraps 70% or ur E71..juz the installation process relly need to b done in 'vacuum' place (no dust and wind at all)..plus im also using Pdair book-type pouch, got it from james lee..hehe double extra protection  thumbup.gif ..actually im prefering using the pdair during in the office as it soo elegent and match with office attire..while during hang out at night im preferring my E71 naked (with invisible shield)..  wub.gif
Question: Does invisible shield obstruct opening the battery cover? Can we open the cover easily?
mykomputer
post Jan 17 2009, 01:56 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(n20nine @ Jan 17 2009, 01:46 PM)
i followed her guide too, it works, i can confirm that, but my battery life went down the drain. Although I deleted the cardrunner.dll file, battery life didnt really improve, so i removed it.
Maybe need to downgrade to garmin 4.2xxx
mykomputer
post Jan 17 2009, 10:52 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jan 17 2009, 10:36 PM)
not suitable the keys very small only.
I think i got big and fat fingers tongue.gif I just use the tip of my fingernail to type sms. If you want to type fast, need to use both fingers.

Btw Just try to downgrade to Garmin 4.2xx. See how the battery life. Now left 71%. I plug out from the charger at 8am this morning.

Have flash the phone to latest firmware and 15 minutes of gpsing.
mykomputer
post Jan 20 2009, 09:22 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(naziaf @ Jan 20 2009, 09:02 AM)
Same with me. Takes arond 5 minutes to lock-in to the satellite. So have to plan ahead if I want to use GPS *sigh*
For me, it is a mixed result. I got the satellite signal between 15 seconds to 3 minutes. Maybe due to the location i am at.
mykomputer
post Jan 21 2009, 06:57 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(naziaf @ Jan 21 2009, 03:22 AM)
To those who have upgraded to the latest firmware, can you check if font color in Contacts is still black? This has been a problem with the previous firmware where you can't see the contacts list in a dark background.
It is still black... but on white background.
I'm using the black personal theme where the default background is black.
mykomputer
post Jan 30 2009, 05:08 PM

333 posts

Black And Red Nokia E71 Now On Nokia’s Site. Source
Nokia Europe website here.

A tetris game for your E71. S Tris2. Download the 320x240 version for your E71

Btw this game is a freeware. There is not a link anywhere on the page above to any crack or pirated stuff.

This post has been edited by mykomputer: Jan 30 2009, 05:23 PM
mykomputer
post Jan 30 2009, 09:38 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(scofield @ Jan 30 2009, 08:11 PM)
damn it..that black one looks awesome!!
Your next purchase rclxms.gif
mykomputer
post Jan 31 2009, 12:31 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Jan 31 2009, 12:25 AM)
what does that mean? its an AP set? according to the seller, this is not an ap set.
If your phone warranty is not by Zitron or Avaxx then it is an AP set.
Btw the price is about the same in Penang. Here is the price from one of the forumer "bdl"
E71 ... rm1,460 (AP warranty set rm1,330) ** NEW **

mykomputer
post Feb 2 2009, 05:23 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(Sauce @ Feb 2 2009, 12:28 PM)
The search address is not functional if you download the free map from Malsingmaps. Those with functional search address feature are using the 229 Gold or newer version of the map. Those are the cracked map, or they made contribution to get it.
I'm using the map from malfreemap, so far so good.
mykomputer
post Feb 2 2009, 06:25 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(Sauce @ Feb 2 2009, 05:56 PM)
woah, i din know got this thing call malfreemaps, looks alot more updated than the malsingmaps, with custom logo sumore. thanks thanks
rclxms.gif
Yeah, they update the map quite frequently. And those custom logo, nice ..... thumbup.gif
mykomputer
post Feb 3 2009, 11:45 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(scofield @ Feb 3 2009, 09:26 AM)
now that i have pointed some of you here to the right direction of installing garmin..i need a big favour from you guys..anyone kind enough to teach me how to put in the malfreemap on garmin.. tongue.gif  what are the things that i need to download and where to put it in..thanks guys..
I put the gmapsupp.img created by the malfreemap installation into the \Garmin\ folder in my memory card.
Latest update for Malfreemap is on Feb 2. Now version 1.40
mykomputer
post Feb 10 2009, 11:19 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(si4000 @ Feb 10 2009, 11:11 PM)
hi guys, just to check if this phone able to sync with Microsoft Outlook? Wanna confirm this before i buy..... thanks.
I'm syncing with my outlook calendar, contacts and tasks.
mykomputer
post Feb 13 2009, 07:11 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(dinodegil @ Feb 12 2009, 10:02 PM)
guy...can share with me what is 3rd party software i can install for  my E71??
There are a lot of apps for S60 devices. You can also browse through the other symbian thread to look for one.
I have installed in my phone few apps such as
1. Jbak taskman (Task manager)
2. S60spoton (Torchlight)
3. Stris (Tetris clone)

0.0235sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:33 PM