Nokia Nokia E71 Thread V2, Messenger of Steel!

MrLarner82
post Jan 14 2009, 04:35 AM

Hiya everyone, just found this site and it looks really good.
i just hope someone with a large brain can help me, because i am useless.
basically i have recently got the nokia E71 and what an amazing phone, i am using it on the 3 network.
i have a few questions which i hope someone can answer...

1- i have been told i get 1Gig of free interent each month, how much is 1gig? because i dont have a clue.

2-i have wireless internet at home so is it possible for me to connect my phone to that instead of using the 3's internet so i dont get charged?
if so, how do i do this?

3-do i get charged for sending and recieving e-mails? because i go through alot of them each day.

4-some how i managed to sort my 2 e-mail address's out so that they come straight through, and i get a message tone to let me know i have mail. does this mean i am always on the net? and will i get charged for this?

5-what is this garmin that everyone is going on about? because i have noticed my battery wont last more than 2 days.
do i have this garmin and can i get rid of it? is it needed?

I REALLY HOPE SOMEONE CAN GET BACK TO ME ASAP BECAUSE IM WORRIED TO DO ANYTHING ON THE PHONE AT THE MOMENT.
THANKS IN ADVANCE GUYS.
Glen.

This post has been edited by MrLarner82: Jan 14 2009, 04:42 AM
MrLarner82
post Jan 14 2009, 07:23 PM

QUOTE(n20nine @ Jan 14 2009, 08:43 AM)
G'day Glen,

Looks like you are on 3 Mobile smile.gif I got mine from them, but did not get the 1GB data package deal, so I have to pay extra for the X-series package.

OK, so here goes :

1. 1GB or 1000MB approx. is quite a lot to use on a phone. I cant really give you a good estimate, but you can check your usage on your phone. Go to Menu -> Log -> Packet data. (Be aware that 3 includes downloades & uploades in the 1GB data plan, so you should sum up the all sent & received data figures. Also, you should reset the data once your billing cycle ends so you can track your usage for the month.

2. If you have wi-fi @ home, you can do so. All you do is click on WLAN Scanning at the bottom of your home screen and it should detect your home wi-fi network. If you're on the go, you can switch to your 3 mobile's 3.5G connection.

3. You do get charged for sending and receiving emails, but you dont have to worry about it since you get the 1GB data plan, sending & receiving emails dont take up much bandwith. Again, you should check your data usage for a better estimate. Once you get past the first few days of checking your usage, you should be able to get a good estimate.

4. Looks like you have push email enabled. Yes, you are always on the net but you wont get charged seperately if you do not exceed the 1GB data limit.

5. Garmin is a GPS software, supposed to be pretty good. Unless you really rely on GPS, you dont need to bother. I personally like Google Maps, as far as Australia is concerned, its very much accurate. Your battery life will suffer if you have push email enabled. I tried it and I find that I dont get stellar battery life.

Cheers mate.
thanks alot for this help mate, but im still abit baffled, im new to all this phone internet stuff, basically....
you said...
''If you have wi-fi @ home, you can do so. All you do is click on WLAN Scanning at the bottom of your home screen and it should detect your home wi-fi network. If you're on the go, you can switch to your 3 mobile's 3.5G connection. ''
where is this WLAN scanning? you said at the bottom of my home screen but i cant see it.
and once i have found it, do you suggest that when im at home, to leave it on WLAN and when i go out, change over to 3 mobile 3.5G?
if so, how do i do this?
i know im a pain and seem stupid but im new to all this.
thanks alot in advance mate.

MrLarner82
post Jan 15 2009, 01:22 AM

thanks alot for this help mate, but im still abit baffled, im new to all this phone internet stuff, basically....
you said...
''If you have wi-fi @ home, you can do so. All you do is click on WLAN Scanning at the bottom of your home screen and it should detect your home wi-fi network. If you're on the go, you can switch to your 3 mobile's 3.5G connection. ''
where is this WLAN scanning? you said at the bottom of my home screen but i cant see it.
and once i have found it, do you suggest that when im at home, to leave it on WLAN and when i go out, change over to 3 mobile 3.5G?
if so, how do i do this?
i know im a pain and seem stupid but im new to all this.
thanks alot in advance mate.
MrLarner82
post Jan 15 2009, 06:36 AM

QUOTE(julnoel @ Jan 15 2009, 05:33 AM)
if you're on the go and there's no wifi available then it would just keep on scanning for the wifi lor (: i guess that sort of drains battery so most of the time you'd turn it off, even at home. I mean you have a pc at home right? :/ so why would you use your phone. I dont know but for me, I only turn it on when I'm looking for something, and if wifi is available then I'd use wifi, if not its 3g (but sometimes i have problems with 3g as well). Once I'm done looking for wad I'm looking, then I just switch it off and go about my normal business. It auto detects the 3g network, so there isnt a need to change over to 3g or wadever like that. But wifi yes la, u need to scan, but thts abt it smile.gif
Because sometimes i just want to check facebook and cant be arsed to turn the laptop on,
so is there a way i can just turn the internet on my phone off and then when i am at home, put it on through WLAN?
if yes, how do i do this, can u give me a step by step please.
thanks in advance.
Glen.

This post has been edited by MrLarner82: Jan 15 2009, 06:37 AM
MrLarner82
post Jan 24 2009, 07:51 AM

to update my firmware, is it as simple as downloading nokia software updater, connect the usb, back up my files, update software then restore my files, is it as easy as that, or will i come across some problems?
I have also been on the nokia software updater and its telling me phone is up to date and the software i am using is... 100.07.76
is this correct or is there a newer 1?
i only got my phone 3 weeks ago.

This post has been edited by MrLarner82: Jan 24 2009, 08:17 AM
MrLarner82
post Feb 18 2009, 03:22 AM

im new to all this updating but i want to update my nokia e71, can anyone give me a step by step of how to do it please.
i have msn if it'll be easier to help me that way.
cheers guys.
MrLarner82
post Feb 18 2009, 04:00 AM

i already have nokia software updater, byt when i plug my phone into my laptop and open up the nokia software updater, it tells me there is no updates but im sure there is because i have had my phone about 3 months now and it has not been updated at all.
MrLarner82
post Feb 18 2009, 04:44 AM

AP or Original Avvaxx Set??? what is this?
im new to this mate so please bare with me.
i really dont know what you mean when you say AP or original avvaxx set?
if it helps, i got the phone from the 3 network about 3 months ago and i got it off the 3 website.
does that help?

Added on February 18, 2009, 5:51 amSomeone please help me here, im desperate for these updates. sad.gif

This post has been edited by MrLarner82: Feb 18 2009, 05:51 AM

0.0162sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:35 PM