Resignation Handbook, Revamp in progress 240614

TSaurora97
post Mar 15 2012, 01:12 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(Leon|| @ Mar 14 2012, 11:44 AM)
Informed by the interviewer I've selected for the job offer.
Would like to ask if their HR send me an confirmation email for the job offer to me, it's a valid procedure beside of getting employment letter before I've proof to tender if anything goes wrong?
Why not like this, instead of having sleepless nights, why not sign the letter of offer first?

Thats what I did anyway, i rush my new company HR for the Letter of Offer than only tender resignation.

Added on March 15, 2012, 1:15 pm
QUOTE(suiteng @ Mar 14 2012, 11:15 PM)
I have a situation here.  For example -

My annual salary is stated in my employment contract as : RM13,000 payable in 12 monthly payments of RM1,000 per month and a 13th month bonus of RM1,000 payable in December.

If I resign, should the 13th month bonus be pro-rated back to me?

If yes, then I need to bring up a case. Who can I approach if HR doesn't care?
see below

QUOTE(Aoumi @ Mar 15 2012, 07:12 AM)
the 13th month bonus is ur 1month contractual bonus. once you resign b4 the bonus payout your are not entitle for it anymore.

That is why a lot of people only tender their resignation after getting their bonus in the year end.
Generally I agree with Aoumi, you might also want to look back into your employment contract as to how you will be entitled to the 13th month bonus.

If your contract states your entitled to the 13th month bonus in any case, than i don't see why your not entitled to a pro-rated bonus? (or if its a badly drafted contract and doesn't mentioned that it will be pro-rated may be you are even entitled to the full amount!)

Read & understand your contract, once you have a case than only you escalate.

Added on March 15, 2012, 1:21 pm
QUOTE(joker_jr @ Mar 15 2012, 11:42 AM)
Greetings,

Maybe here a good place to ask.
How to decline a job offer after signing the offer letter.?

I got another job offer which is better than previous offer. But the thing is, I already signed the offer letter and already go to medical checkup.
While waiting to my notice period to end which is 3 month, I went to another interview and luckily got accepted. The previous offer comes from
one of big local financial company.
What I need to do? any advice?
From a Legal Standpoint.

When you sign a Letter of Offer, it constitutes acceptance, with acceptance, it becomes a contract.

If you decide to bail on the company, does the company have a cause of action against you? answer is Yes.

BUT, generally most company's won't pursue a court action, perhaps because:-

(a) too petty;
(b) too costly; and
© they can't prove they suffer any loss or damage as a result of your departure (this case will be different if you are being paid and suddenly you decide to resign prematurely without giving notice); and

HOWEVER, one thing they can do is:

(a) blacklist you.

No one like getting stood-up and left in the rain without an umbrella, if you "think" it worth the risk by all means go ahead. It's your career choice/move.

My 2cents worth of advice, don't be fickle.

This post has been edited by aurora97: Mar 15 2012, 01:21 PM
TSaurora97
post Mar 19 2012, 11:39 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(ati radeon @ Mar 19 2012, 07:02 PM)
from what i read from the earlier post, minus off the leaves from the notice period is not allowed unless we have a good relationship with the manager/superior.

will the leaves be compensated by salary?

also if i wanted to tender my resignation letter, i better pass it to my immediate manager and also to HR manager right?

but the issue now is that my manager wont be in the office tomorrow. not sure about the HR manager also, and if the HR manager got the letter the notice period should commence from the date written in the letter right?
if you intend to use leave to off-set your notice period, you need to inform your HR & Boss in advance. Note that your Boss can decline you from taking any leave or off setting your leave against notice period.

unless your boss allows you to convert leave into pay, you can consider all your leave burnt.

if you can wait, just wait until your boss come back before you tender (maybe he/she is coming back in one or two days time?). I personally feel its rude to tender without your boss having the opportunity to talk to you (normally such chats end up being awkward anyway).

in any case, if you choose the alternate route. Than may i suggest you call ahead instead, ask the officers in hr dept who deals with resignation than you serve your notice on that person. Most importantly of all, don't forget to get receipt of acknowledgment from the officer concerned.

This is important, becoz this determines when your notice period starts and end.

QUOTE(furryfluffy @ Mar 19 2012, 10:20 PM)
Yes.

If hr manager not in get stamp from second in charge.
TSaurora97
post Jun 30 2012, 11:50 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(cutejams2004 @ Jun 28 2012, 12:02 AM)
Hi All,

I tendered my resignation today. I have to serve one month notice period and I have got like 13 ALs to offset. Hence, meaning by mid July I'll be on leave already. However, my current company is very sticky is allowing to join my other company during that time. According to them, I have got to wait till the official 1 month completion. Can they enforce this?

And my future employer is willing to buy me out. So in that case, does that mean they would have to offset my ALs first, and the company then pays the remaining 2 weeks?
It your current company aware of the buy out?

If annual leave is not taken into consideration for the buy out, the new company may end up paying more... you might want to argue for your 13 AL days be included in ur notice period.
TSaurora97
post Mar 27 2014, 05:25 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

Other than persons subject to employment act, the rest of us unfortunate bunch are subject to the terms and conditions contained in our offer letter. So whatever we signed, that would become the terms and conditions of our engagement. Now the keyword one should note is “consent”, the act of signing the letter of offer indicates that you have consensually bound by the terms and conditions offered by the company.

Now your employer has indicated that he/she would like to introduce some funky new terms and conditions in which you are no agreeable and also you have pointed out a super clause in which the employer has discretion to change the terms and conditions of the offer in which you have accepted.

Changes per se to an arrangement must always be consensual, in this instance there should be supplemental issued and you will have to sign off in order for the new conditions to take effect.

To go one step further, why not your employer revise your salary downwards since they are at it?

If a person promises you something but delivers another mid stream, it’s fair to say you can walk away from that promise as well since the very essence and nature of the arrangement has been changed.

TSaurora97
post May 15 2014, 06:31 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(dimstar @ May 10 2014, 07:14 PM)
hello guys need advice on this matter

My staff, frequently absents from work and there have been multiple warning letters issued to him, so instead of terminating i gave him a final offer, to provide me an undated resignation letter(with his signature), and if such problems persist again, the resignation letter will be delivered to admin/hr for due process

My question is, is it wrong/illegal for me to do something like that?to ask a staff to prepare a resignation letter beforehand
(he already has 3 warning letters - same offense)and this is like the final straw for me

can he take action against me for doing so?

any reply would be greatly appreciated
Anything bordering of being legally contentious and prone to dispute, I suggest you seek a solicitors advice. An open forum such as this is not an appropriate venue to address your concerns.

TSaurora97
post Jun 20 2014, 05:27 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ Jun 5 2014, 01:56 PM)
I am in a dilemma here.

I have been working for my previous company for 1 year. Now after checking through my epf statement,

I noticed that that employe didnt pay my epf contribution during my 6 months probation period there. After the probation, then they started to pay my epf.

I have inquire from my previous employee,  his reason is ita the company policy to no pay epf during probation period but it is not written anywhere in my employment contract which I still keep.

Do I have a case in these situation?
Funny thing is, if probation can circumvent paying EPF to staff... any tom d*** and harry firm would have done the same. Lodge a complaint to EPF, they are generally very efficient and probably know how to advice you better. I think you have a good chance of... well that's provided you lodge a complaint with EPF.

http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/en/employers/faq

» What is meant by service contract?

» What is meant by employee?

QUOTE(cristiano7mu @ Jun 19 2014, 08:55 PM)
please advise on my situation

I am currently on 2 years bond which requires to pay the remaining months of salary if break the bond.

I gave my CEO a letter that I have decided to leave and hope to get mutual consent to disregard the remaining bonding period. He then signed and instruct the HR to process my resignation . However it did not mentioned whether I still need to compensate or not.

Therefore, i gave a second letter to confirm waiver for my bond and this letter was later rejected. I was told by CEO  he wanted to consult the Management Team including compliance/legal department.

So first letter was signed with instruction to process but second letter is considered rejected. HR has return both letter to me.

My question is am I consider resigned? since no communication after that even though HR said not yet consider resigned. I am worried later after the management meeting/discussion they insist i have tendered resignation and force me to compensate the company for the remaining months.
It all boils down what you put in your first letter, mind to share the contents?

There's too many moving parts but the devil is in the details i.e. your 1st letter.

TSaurora97
post Jun 20 2014, 06:12 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(cristiano7mu @ Jun 20 2014, 05:55 PM)
the first letter is with me now...

i just mentioned...in summarise version

anyway i have check with HR n was told i will need to agree on the compensation only consider resign. So now i am not consider resign. is that the norm?
Based on your "summarised" version of your letter. Two elements missing when did you serve your notice and what is the amount to be compensated.

A clear example would be say...

With that element missing, did you actually resign? Answer is "No".

Next, to me your letter could be "interpreted" as a mere inquiry. Since you mention "mutual agreement", your resignation is condition upon the management agreeing to your proposal.

Lastly, it was a close call i would say on part of your CEO. Had he signed the letter without giving proper thought as to the content. He would have screwed himself.

Your position now is back to "status quo".

TSaurora97
post Jul 10 2014, 04:58 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(wildan03 @ Jun 30 2014, 12:52 PM)
Hi, i have a question regarding resignation.

Can the boss reject our resignation letter?
Your resignation must be clear, concise, understandable, legible and unconditional. If you fulfill what I have mentioned, there is NO reason why you boss should reject your resignation letter.

TSaurora97
post Jul 18 2014, 02:15 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(NickTan147 @ Jul 17 2014, 08:38 PM)
I have a doubt right now, I sign a agreement with my company that I cannot work with a company that has same/related business for a year. I was offered much higher salary by competitor, should I go for it? If yes, what will be the effect is someone in the company report to boss that I work for competitor?
That would depend what you have agreed with your current employer in your employment contract.

Contract Act 1950 is the most often quote provision
28. Agreement in restraint of trade void
Every agreement by which anyone is restrained from exercising a lawful profession, trade, or business of any kind, is to that extent void.

There is some suggestion that reasonable restrictions imposed on an employee maybe acceptable. For instance, you are not allowed to work within 1 KM from your existing employers office. This is of cause fact driven and very subjective as it depends on perception (or in other words who has the better lawyer).

Also consider whether you signed-off any Non-Disclosure Agreement. Even if your employer can't nail you based on restriction of trade, they can still do so because of the special knowledge that you have acquired during your employment. Most common this would be your "customer list".

TSaurora97
post Jul 30 2014, 01:55 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(TomRiderss @ Jul 28 2014, 11:54 AM)
Dear all,

I am just wondering, let say this company A. The employee have to work OT everyday until 8 or 9.

In the offer letter, it is only until 6. And its also stated that employee may have to OT. But the problem is OT everyday. Better they jst indicate the working hour until 8 instead of 6 since that all of us go back at 8 or 9. OT oso no allowance or can be replace by leave etc...

Any legal action can be taken? Jst wondering wink.gif

Thanks a bunch friends!
As far as I know there is no maximum hours that one can work in Malaysia, so if a person decides to work for 24(48,72 etc.. until he dies, whichever is earlier) hours theoretically that is possible.

Since there is no law, then you fall back to what is reasonable and the contents of your contract. There is a couple things you can do…

(a) talk to management about your concerns and see their reaction. Hopefully, they will recognize your efforts and give some concessions.
(b) if talks fail. You may want to write to management instead. If you are “asked” to work OT everyday up until 8-9pm then you might need to establish that such events have in fact transpired and the reasons why management require you to work for such long hours beyond the contracted period.

With a response from management, you “may” be able to take up the matter with labour department. Bear in mind, once you shake the tree, you better be prepared to reap the consequences (or look for a new job [or if you intend to stay on no bonus or increment for you]).

Unlike salary, I believe OT (similar to bonus or increment) or such other OT perks are given at the discretion of the company.

To answer your question… “Maybe” is the best answer, it all depends how much facts you have. If you are in need of a job, I suggest you don’t make it an issue until you find a new job. If otherwise, just leave your current job. Your employer is abusing you.

TSaurora97
post Sep 9 2014, 02:00 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(KaLs @ Aug 27 2014, 12:42 PM)
Hi, i have a question here. I have been working for 7 months now and i am receiving the confirmed staff amount of pay. But i did not sign the confirmation letter. Base on my appointment letter it is 2 weeks notice termination by both party before probation and 2 months after confirmation.

Please advise that which status i am in now since i did not sign the confirmation letter.
I give to you straight up. Your still under probation. Yes, you may serve 2 weeks notice.

Next my question. do you need the job and have you found a job? If you have yet to do so, I suggest you find a job before you quit your current job.

QUOTE(shenngau @ Aug 27 2014, 10:14 PM)
Did you receive the email from HR or your manager for your confirmation? If yes, even though you didn't sign the confirmation letter, you are considered agree/accept your confirmation as you didn't reject it.
Of course this is arguable but to keep your good reputation, I think you should serve the 2 months notice.

All the best to you. smile.gif

Regards,
a IT guy with 7 years working experience
Confirmations are generally signed-off for a very good reason, it entitles you to enjoy certain benefit in which a probation staff do not enjoy. It also entails more cost for the company. A one sided confirmation is like… “hey I sent you RM 1,000”, does it mean the money has indeed arrived? The only way to confirm therefore, is for the person to “take additional measures” or to sign-off on a letter that would indicate the appropriate response.

This is a reminder to all probation staff, certain company will take you for a ride. They tell you 6 months probation but at the end of the 6 months, they will just sit quiet until you make noise. Imagine, as a probation staff you lose out on medical, bonus, increment benefits etc…

If a company can’t honor a simple arrangement, I think as an employee you are better off elsewhere.

This post has been edited by aurora97: Sep 9 2014, 02:08 PM
TSaurora97
post Sep 9 2014, 03:25 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(dororo @ Aug 14 2014, 11:52 PM)
my friend is having resignation problem below:
Based on her current employment contract in company A, she needs to serve 2 months of notice period or payment in lieu of notice.
Now, she got an offer from company B to buy her out for 1 month. Thus, she tendered her resignation for 1 month only and requested to buy out another month. However, the company A does not accept that. Instead, company A wants her to serve full 2 months before she can leave.

What can she do if she has already signed the offer from company B?
Solution?

If company A is so hell bent on having the person work for another 2 months. Just pay 2 months compensation (1 month from your NewCo and 1 month from your own pocket).

If the company can read, it’s either notice period or payment in lieu of notice.

If the company insist, you say you will refer the matter to labor department. No point arguing with the employer.

TSaurora97
post Jan 13 2015, 07:24 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(popeye3rd @ Jan 13 2015, 05:27 PM)
Hi all,

I've signed my Letter of Employment with Company A and due to join them in few weeks time. As usual, better offer just came and I decided to join Company B instead after serious consideration.

I'm planning to let Company A know that I won't be joining them as soon as possible to avoid further inconvenience to them. I've read the contract throughly for 'breach of contract' terms to avoid any penalty but I couldn't find any. Is there any other terms that I should be wary of? Any advise?
If you have physically joined the company. Story might be a bit different.

As you have mentioned that you are due to join them in a few weeks time, that seem to suggest your not physically in that company yet.

Technically you have a binding contract, but because the company did not suffer any lost or commence paying you any salary, they won't be able to claim your salary as compensation. The worse they can do to you is blacklist you.

There is therefore breach but what is the loss suffered to the company? Other than some minor inconvenience.

It would be a courtesy to inform your employer a heads up this is to mitigate the fall out.

TSaurora97
post Feb 4 2015, 12:36 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(aeratholas @ Jan 31 2015, 12:29 PM)
Hi, I like to know if the job contracts says a minimum work period of 1 year must be committed or I'm liable to compensate the company with one month's salary and the job have a 3 months probationary period. Does the 3 months probation add into the 1 year minimum work period or it starts after you've been confirmed? Thanks.
lack of details.

normally a probation period would exclude the commitment period. Once you have been confirmed, your one year commitment period will commence.
TSaurora97
post Feb 4 2015, 12:37 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Jan 30 2015, 10:48 PM)
Guys anyone have experience in resigning during probation period??? What is best excuse to tell them you want to resign after 3 month??
no reason required. Just state you are resigning based on the terms and conditions of the LO you have signed.
TSaurora97
post Mar 14 2015, 02:06 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Feb 11 2015, 10:03 PM)
Omg. After reading this thread I farked up badly guys. I am in the small hospitality/hotel industry. I resign when I was mentally very angry with some senior staff. When hr interviewed me I told them how bad were the senior staff. Literally bad mouth all of them.

Reading this thread this was a huge mistake. Will i be having a hard time getting a job in this industry now??
I don't think it's as bad as resigning 24 hours without giving any notice, HR will practically blacklist you from every job site available in Malaysia.

You unfortunately may not be able to work for the same company again...

That's my hunch. Also, i think "exit interviews" are complete rubbish.

QUOTE(Prothero @ Feb 13 2015, 04:40 AM)
Guys, I have a question~

Let's say I am going to enter a company (A) on the 1st of March 2015.

Then, I got a better job offer which is what I have been waiting for, and I should be entering the new company (B) on May 2015.

Is it ok if I were to work for just one month then resign, then join the dream job I am waiting for? Let's say the notice period is one month. So I tender resignation on 1st April, leave on 1st May.

Is this an acceptable move or something that will create a negative view on my career?
Contractually, you have done nothing wrong. You followed the one month termination notice period.

So... if you want to play the game smart, just don't tell you employer the real reason your leaving! This shouldn't create a negative view on your career.

In the end, what is morally/ethically wrong, may not be legally wrong.

QUOTE(steven1107 @ Feb 28 2015, 12:24 AM)
i want resign. should i inform my superior through phone before im tender letter to my manager?
it's always better to tender your letter first before you may any subsequent move. Otherwise, they think you not serious.

TSaurora97
post Mar 18 2015, 01:29 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(rickyro @ Mar 16 2015, 11:33 PM)
Hi guys... I need some help in this situation...

My story is here https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3524557

my resignation countdown should begin from the day i pass to hr or my boss must sign my letter first, i passed it her few days earlier before i passed another copy to hr as she kept the letter to herself. My boss doesn't want to let me go, still pestering me to stay on...

What's you guys opinion on this?
Unless there are other Clauses in your contract that are not "standard in nature"...

Notice of termination starts from the day you serve your notice. It doesn't matter whether your boss approves of it or otherwise.
TSaurora97
post Mar 20 2015, 12:52 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(aeratholas @ Mar 19 2015, 11:54 PM)
When we tender resignation from the company and have to serve a notice period for example 2 months, are we still considered as an employee for the company during that 2 months?
yes.
TSaurora97
post Mar 23 2015, 12:59 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(TheThing @ Mar 23 2015, 11:34 AM)
Hello. A question to ask. What if after tender resignation, initially agreed to serve 3 months notice. But serving half way, decided to ask for early release maybe let's say not wanting to serve the final month. Is this allowed? Does it also depends on company and boss?
Of course allowed, you pay for the balance remaining notice period.

You should be able to find the words "salary/pay in lieu of notice period".
TSaurora97
post Mar 30 2015, 02:35 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(TheThing @ Mar 29 2015, 10:15 PM)
Sorry, disturb again. I have  a colleague that resigned last year. He was informed to leave immediately after they found out he will be going to a competitor though he had informed company that he will be serving full 3 months notice. End of day, he told me he decided to just leave without compensation. Question is can the company actually force employee leave early without even compensation (legally). For this colleague, he told us that he does not want to make a big deal,hence he just left after all handover without getting any compensation at all. but he is management level so i guess that amount of compensation might not be such a big deal for him

So, if let's say I resign (no job offer yet) and told company that i will be serving the full 3 months as stated in contract but instead they tell me to leave immediately? According to my research, company should compensate full 3 months of salary + annual leave balance. What if they do not want to compensate and insist i leave as soon as complete document and company belongings handover? What are the steps or procedure that I should do/prepare?

Please help as I plan to tender soon but fear if the same thing happen to me like mentioned above but of course in my case not joining any new company yet. Of course, this might not happen but I want to be prepared.

Thank you
No need to apologize, it’s a forum where people exchange ideas. If I know all the answers in the world, I probably would not have come to a forum in the first place.

I think the distinguishing factor is when…

(a) the Company ask you to leave; and

(b) you resign yourself and subsequently the Company allow you to go off early.

I did say, most employment contract will say salary in lieu of notice. Since notice has been served, the condition has been fulfilled and therefore it may be construed as though you have resigned on your own accord. This in turn mean, the Company in releasing you early is merely fulfilling your wishes.

That’s why certain people prefer to be “asked to leave” as opposed to tendering. The more famous term is giving one person a rope to hang himself.

If you tender, you will receive no compensation and there will be no adverse impact when you join your prospective employer in the future.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0534sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:24 AM