zeustronic
post Apr 2 2009, 10:56 PM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles
2,605 posts

syNcv9
post Apr 3 2009, 09:27 AM

FML
682 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Apr 2 2009, 10:56 PM)

EPIC, seriously can't wait.
crashtec
post Apr 3 2009, 11:00 AM

QUOTE(t3quila @ Mar 30 2009, 12:20 AM)
I guess they could build it off CoD4 with a new storyline and graphical features. For the multiplayer edge it should be just left on the fun side versus competitive. Activision would lose more than half its fans if IW they made it too realistic and tactical.

Hopefully they would still keep the perk system but cast out them pointless and imba ones. Come what may, November 10th 2009. We'll have a brilliant game to play none the less.

Just to make things clear, CoD series since MW became an Action FPS series. The tactical feel disappeared after CoD2. *Sprinting was introduced + Climbing over almost anything introduced* Pray we get Balanced, Fun and Endless hours of gameplay in this next sequel.
*hums* where'd you go, i missed you so, it feels like forever, that you've been gone *hum*

Falk mentioned that Modern Warfare and CoD will be separate?

Call of Duty - WW2
Treyarch

Modern Warfare 1/2 - Present
Infinity Ward

Honestly, there isnt a real need to change the engine, cept to enhance certain details like the omgiaccidentlyclimbedacarspacebar button.

Also, i believe they should have the option of all perks or no perks or even an in-game you can/cannot use this perk system. Its not hard to do, looking at the files. But i hope they learn from what became of pam/promod/am/damn/zombie mods that diversified/enhanced the game. Generally, all they really needed to do was to have the option of having "tournament" style maps/game modes, and "public" style maps/game modes to choose from. This at least shows that they are interested in something more than just the public eye.

Modding has helped this game stay alive but it also diversified and divided the overall community. Perhaps now they will set this straight and either make it easier to mod the game or set their own ground rules for tournaments.

Falk
post Apr 5 2009, 03:43 PM

Unlike Counter Strike which originally started off as a mod for HL, which introduced a completely new metagame and then evolved into a standalone game, the problem with CoD4's PAM/Promod/etc competitive scene is that it's an enhancement of an existing game type bundled with CoD4, and the international community has had ~10 years of 'experience' in the sense that they all kinda each 'know what they want', hence the splits between versions, etc.

As much as I'd hope for Infinity Ward to embrace the pro gaming side of things (Heck, even Blizzard's World of Casualcraft is trying to break into that market share with official support for tournaments/tournament servers/etc) I remain highly skeptical that MW2 will oblige us right out of the box. They didn't do it for CoD4 even after some moderate community interest in CoD2.

And let's face it, the amount of people playing in European/NA/Asian leagues are pretty much a drop in the bucket compared to the hordes of people playing pubs daily on X360/PS3.

The only real way it'll change is if some leagues, with their sponsors, start throwing some serious money and publicity at the game that Infinity Ward sees it fit to embrace the subculture. Unfortunately, the old saying that "Money talks" is very true here, and IW (talented lot that they are) can't afford at all to spend development time on something if only a few hundred people appreciate it in the end.

This is part of the reason we're trying to fan some life into the Malaysian (+Asian) CoD4 competitive scene. Any support we can offer to our peers at the EU/NA international level in terms of showing the popularity in competitive international gaming for Modern Warfare in these critical months up to the game's launch in November is absolutely essential.

Doing largely volunteer work marshaling and admining tournaments on weekends isn't something that remains fun for very long, but I'm putting in that effort because I do want to see Modern Warfare going places, long term. CS is on its last legs, and lets not even talk about Sudden Attack.

One thing that can make or break MW2's competitive scene in its first few months is how much IW acknowledges and supports that we exist, or failing that, how the international community reacts as a community in the absence of that support. Can they agree on a specific ruleset this time around? I'm really hoping that the Asian community will at least have some weight and voice by then, rather than us playing with our own toys while EU/NA argue over Promod/Damn mod.

This post has been edited by Falk: Apr 5 2009, 03:47 PM
syNcv9
post Apr 5 2009, 08:26 PM

FML
682 posts

O___o. Agree. XD.
DeathAdder
post Apr 5 2009, 11:23 PM

My aim is that we at least get a vote in TCA.
SnapperJR
post Apr 6 2009, 12:03 AM

I should be able to arrange for such in the future but I'm too lazy to start the process.

For MW2 I should think by now it'll be patently unsupportive of the competitive scene out of the box, what that is what mod support is for. As long as they AT THE VERY LEAST give mw2 as much mod support as cod4 got, then I'm not particularly worried, competitive mods will come out, and the CoD community are particularly "unified" at the moment, they see the benefits of give and take so that they can be unified and represent one single mod ruleset so that it can be used in tournaments globally.
Falk
post Apr 6 2009, 03:09 AM

Well yeah, I really hope that the community (specifically the one immediately surrounding the well-known names in modding) learnt a thing or two from the ridiculous amount of shit-flinging that's been going on in the past two months or so over what mod to use.

SnapperJR
post Apr 6 2009, 06:17 PM

QUOTE(Falk @ Apr 6 2009, 03:09 AM)
Well yeah, I really hope that the community (specifically the one immediately surrounding the well-known names in modding) learnt a thing or two from the ridiculous amount of shit-flinging that's been going on in the past two months or so over what mod to use.
Well the shit-flinging made for some really entertaining posts to read tongue.gif
t3quila
post Apr 6 2009, 06:35 PM

Shit-Hadoken!
Falk
post Apr 6 2009, 08:47 PM

QUOTE(DeathAdder @ Apr 5 2009, 11:23 PM)
My aim is that we at least get a vote in TCA.
Just occured to me. Go register "www.themwalliance.com" now and we'll be set starting November. :V
reifukai
post Apr 7 2009, 08:20 AM

QUOTE(Pro-MX @ Mar 28 2009, 12:02 PM)
thats the problem when malaysia cc all have low-end hardwares that only cater dotards which doest even have a mid-range graphic card but u got a point there though
izikill. try come to our HQ.. tbun 2 wangsa maju.. here pc are always up to date..
Pro-MX
post Apr 7 2009, 10:09 AM

Izay
1,259 posts

yea i heard of it.....pc over there have some nice specs....pj area CC really sux wei

This post has been edited by Pro-MX: Apr 7 2009, 10:09 AM
zeustronic
post May 12 2009, 08:50 AM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles
2,605 posts

Modern Warfare 2 Gameplay Reveal Promo

[ESP].quack
post May 12 2009, 03:50 PM

Validating

i hope it doesnt turn into another damn Battlefield game with vehicles. Hopefully less perks and i hope there is not *TAKEDOWN* like in the vid =.=
chocolate^fudge
post May 12 2009, 03:57 PM

63 posts

i 2nd that quack.
syNcv9
post May 12 2009, 04:50 PM

FML
682 posts

If IW is listening to noobs on Twitter for Live feedback last time, I guess there will be more perks and weapons. And sure the stupid "reality" things will come out. You see wtf got Judo?

If vehicle is available then forget about it unless there's competitive mod by IW itself, then there's hope.
chocolate^fudge
post May 12 2009, 04:57 PM

63 posts

i tot thats what i heard. IW going to make it as open as it can to make sure we can mod it like hell. =P im pretty sure it can be highly competetive.
Falk
post May 12 2009, 05:41 PM

Refer to the original CoD4 trailer. There's a lot of animations that exist solely for single player/cinematic purposes. :P I mean, how much of that trailer's content do you see ending up in what the big EU/US leagues use? (i.e. Promod today)

Also Infinity Ward's single player portion of games are famous for their scripted vehicle missions. (all the way from CoD1's 3rd level to CoD4's finale) I'd actually be extremely surprised if you -didn't- see a glimpse of that in MW2's trailers.

This post has been edited by Falk: May 12 2009, 07:25 PM
Belphegor
post May 12 2009, 07:13 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(ESP.quack @ May 12 2009, 03:50 PM)
i hope it doesnt turn into another damn Battlefield game with vehicles. Hopefully less perks and i hope there is not *TAKEDOWN* like in the vid =.=
How about the takedown similar to knife? Just that you need to takedown the knife the fella.. tongue.gif

88 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:00 PM