Facial Skin Care, discussions, recommendations and reviews

jonny4
post May 10 2013, 10:19 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(jobok @ May 10 2013, 10:13 PM)
how long i need to rely on medicine like benzac?

coz last time i'm did u dalacin T

but stop for a while. is a good product coz help to reduce my pimples.

but i'm tired rely on this kind of medicine....

is it i have to use it forever?
its all about the hormones.

but def u wont need to use it forever.

how old r u ?
jonny4
post May 10 2013, 10:21 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(jobok @ May 10 2013, 10:20 PM)
coming soon 27

i feel itchy...when there is pimples
if just a few den just use over the counter products. if serious better go see dermatologist
jonny4
post May 10 2013, 10:27 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(jobok @ May 10 2013, 10:24 PM)
i think it's moderate....

but i'm feel uncomfortable ......

prefer to have clean skin.......

my pimples.....kind of at the same place.....and not disappear at all

kind of 'kecut'.... then...appear again...when menstrual....
u a girl ar ?

try Benzac n see ar. dun use Panoxyl even tho a lot ppl recommend coz its too harsh.
jonny4
post May 10 2013, 10:31 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(jobok @ May 10 2013, 10:29 PM)
is medicine like benzac is the only way?
got lots of other treatments. benzac (benzoyl peroxide) is the cheapest n easiest to obtain.
jonny4
post May 16 2013, 11:58 PM

1,974 posts

For the past 2-3 months I have been trying out lower end pharmacy face cleansers. these r the brands u can get easily at at Caring, Guardian or Watsons near your house of office.

I prefer foaming cleansers that give a good amount of lather that leave my face squeaky clean.

My all time favourite cleanser is the Shiseido Men Cleansing Foam. Been using it for 3-4 yrs already. Retailing at RM95 for 125ml its expensive for me so I decided to hunt for something much cheaper.

1. Biore Facial Foam Acne Care

2. Men's Biore Acne & Oil Block Facial Cleanser

3. Neutrogena Deep Clean Foaming Cleanser

4. Neutrogena Deep Clean Energizing Foaming Cleanser

5. Hada Labo AHA+BHA Face Wash

6. Vaseline Men Refreshing Oil Control Face Wash (I can't remember the exact name tongue.gif )

Im not 100% sure of the prices coz these pharmacies always have sales.

This post has been edited by jonny4: May 17 2013, 12:02 AM
jonny4
post May 17 2013, 02:58 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(dlaz @ May 17 2013, 01:05 PM)
hi guys,newbie here in this thread.
i'm looking for a better facial care products for oily skin.i still get pimples and sometimes the big ones,even though i'm nearing 30.lol.my face is quite oily,i sweat easily.during hot/warm days i'll get sweaty fast so i guess that plays another role on my oily face.

i was using Aiken Tea Tree facial wash for the past 4 years,and its good.but i do still getting pimples.then i tried the Nivea charcoal wash and the acno striker.doesnt really do much to reduce pimples,but the charcoal facial wash is nice,really is refreshing cause its menthol.

I'm ready to try a supposedly better brand like Kiehls and etc.but which one is better from your experience,between Kiehls and Aesop?I only know those two that looks "pro".
facial washes dun do much except clean d face. its prob on the face for less den a minute. its probably better u invest in a sunscreen that reduces shine.

i have d same prob as u. during the recent heatwave my face got so oily n sweaty like disco ball. only sunscreen n oil blotters helped reduce the shine.

try using facial products for normal skin instead. those oil control face washes, toners n etc dry out d face n make it even oilier.

i tried many many brands that claim to reduce oiliness n almost none worked.

Shiseido Men used to have this product called Anti Shine Refresher n it works damm well. 8 hrs of no shine when applied to my nose. but for some reason they decided to discontinue this product. i bought the last one in Malaysia LOL. ebay might still have. if u want it. used to sell for RM130 for 30ml.

I have used the Kiehls blue line for oily/pimple prone skin. it was horrible. face wash was drying, toner was worst n contains aluminium salts like those in antiperspirants so left a weird film on my face all day. moisturizer too light to soothe the dryness.

aesop i have only used the mask for oily skin...cant remember the name. it was nice to use but too pricey for small amount.

jonny4
post May 19 2013, 10:19 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(twho @ May 19 2013, 01:59 PM)
Any particular reason you didn't try L'oreal and Garnier?
I'm also quite confused on what to get as cleansers as am prone to huge, multiple pimples once every few months.

I also noticed that Olay's Mens line has been removed from the store. Any reason for that?

I currenly use:

Loreal foam cleanser
Followed by Hada Labo Moisturizing Lotion
And then the Olay Oil control moisturizer.
IF there's pimples, i'll treat them with dalacin T and oxy cover.

Any recommendations?
i've actually tried Garnier n Loreal in the past but never liked either.

Loreal men products the fragrance is just too strong n smells like cheap generic perfume. Garnier pulak too much menthol. i've never used any other cleanser with so much menthol since. but performance wise both brands' cleansers did alright but nothing to shout about.

i guess if the cleanser isn't drying up your skin too much den it shud be ok.

No idea about Olay Men line. i know it existed but din use any of the products b4. one thing irritating bout those pharmacy men skin care lines...they just dun last long. after a while the brand just disappear fr shelves LOL. bad sales i guess.

BTW...u apply pimple treatment b4 or after moisturizer ?

jonny4
post May 21 2013, 08:23 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(twho @ May 21 2013, 01:45 PM)
Ermm.. i apply them before moisturizer, after the hada labo lotion. But the areas with pimple i usually don't apply moisturizer to it. Am i supposed to?
IMHO those pimple treatment works best when there is nothing between skin n treatment. if u got bad breakouts u can even skip toner. just wash den apply treatment.

U dun feel oily using hada labo lotion n olay moisturizer together ? hada labo lotion edi quite moisturizing.
jonny4
post May 22 2013, 03:51 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(twho @ May 22 2013, 02:53 PM)
Sometimes it feels oily when i apply to much moisturizer.
The hada labo moisturizing lotion is like a toner. Water based. So im not sure whether it does enough without another moisturizer.
Was thinking of getting the hada labo milk moisturizer to rplc the olay. Would it be better?
maybe u can try skipping moisturizer for a few days to a week n see how it goes. coz if ur skin is oily putting on too much moisture will clog pores.

the hada labo milk moisturizer is pretty thick n heavy. when i used it it felt like it neva fully absorbed even when i use a small amount.
jonny4
post May 24 2013, 09:54 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(degraw1993 @ May 24 2013, 06:48 PM)
so above of all the products which one of those you would recommend? hey i just wanna share with you  and i don't know whether it's the effects or but since i've been using shisheido men cleansing foam and lotion and moisturizing it seems there's too many tiny blackheads on my cheeks and chin. do u know what's wrong? help me cause i don't have many blackheads until now. should i just use the cleansing only?
i would recommend the Neutrogena Deep Clean Foaming Cleanser.

I have no idea wat is wrong.
jonny4
post May 24 2013, 10:03 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(degraw1993 @ May 24 2013, 09:59 PM)
maybe my skin's producing oil too much?  hmm.gif
only u will know man
jonny4
post Jun 4 2013, 11:43 PM

1,974 posts

Last week i bought a new tube of facial wash...its called Senka Perfect Whip. It's actually made by Shiseido. Cost me RM19.90 for a 120g tube. Only available at those big Watsons in shopping malls.

This cleanser foams up really well. a pea size amount (maybe smaller) when lathered produces a lot of foam. d foam is really soft n dense almost like whipped cream texture. after rinsing n drying my face i din experience any tightness. face felt comfortable. i even use it as shaving foam coz of the foam texture n density. Cleansing power is alright too n it felt weird coz normally lots of foam+decent cleansing power=tight face. fragrance is very minimal n calming, doesn't linger once u rinse it off.

overall a very good cleanser for only RM19.90.

if any of u guys on a hunt for a cleanser maybe u can check Perfect Whip out.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Jun 4 2013, 11:47 PM
jonny4
post Jun 13 2013, 06:20 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(amyrox @ Jun 13 2013, 04:48 PM)
may i ask, where to get aesop product here in malaysia?
http://www.aesop-europe.com/find-us/asia/malaysia

i can guarantee the 1U counter is still there. others im not sure.
jonny4
post Jun 17 2013, 06:20 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(SilentSerpent @ Jun 17 2013, 05:39 PM)
abang jonny4 memang pro
mesti muka hensem and jambu

im contemplating between laneige homme and lab series. gonna buy either one soon. currently using the lab series sample and its kinda good. havent tried laneige yet.
my skin is oily.
your opinion on this?
hahaha your flattery has worked.

I tried Lab Series b4 n i neva liked any of their products. i find their products too harsh especially the ones for oily skin. clay mask is pretty good. but its been discontinued. i feel their products kinda not as innovative n effective compared to brands like Laneige Homme n Shiseido Men.

Laneige Homme i have only tried the old versions. the current new lines i no try b4. maybe zenyusof can help u out coz he tried the new Laneige Homme b4.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Jun 17 2013, 06:21 PM
jonny4
post Jun 17 2013, 09:32 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(zenyusof @ Jun 17 2013, 09:08 PM)
Abg jonny, this one is for oily skin?
should be ok for oily skin coz its those foaming type of cleansers.
jonny4
post Jun 18 2013, 08:52 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(SilentSerpent @ Jun 18 2013, 10:26 AM)
and what do you mean by innovative (in this situation)
yeah it costs a lot. but lab series is slightly more expensive i think.
ive been using the sample for a few days and it feels quite good actually. there's a marked difference, or is it just psychological effect?  tongue.gif
maybe im gonna try the sample for laneige first before i buy. looks like laneige seems to be getting good reviews here in lowyat.
their products have not changed much dats y.

try to stay away from the lab series scrub n oil control solution. its too harsh n would prob do more harm den good/
jonny4
post Jun 29 2013, 05:39 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Pmc @ Jun 29 2013, 04:49 PM)
anyone using clay mask? wanna find mask for oily skin/whiteheads.. but prefer clay mask, those that u apply that time it's wet and after it dries only clean it with water. anyone?
i used to apply clay mask often but didn't seem to make much difference. quite a hassle also applying mask. skin smoother n slightly less oily but only temporary. so i kinda feel its a waste of money. i was using expensive ones. Lab Series n Shiseido were some of the brands i used.

There's a brand called queen helene mint julep masque that is pretty cheap. but cant get in malaysia. try looking in LYN sales or ebay.
jonny4
post Jun 29 2013, 05:59 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Pmc @ Jun 29 2013, 05:56 PM)
thanks.. will try to look around.. last time i use clay mask from st ives, but now they not selling it anymore. my nose area became very oily full of whiteheads..  shocking.gif  so need to look for solution fast.
those pharmacy masks i dun like. too much perfume.

try using those nose strips like Biore Pore Pack
jonny4
post Jun 29 2013, 06:03 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Pmc @ Jun 29 2013, 06:00 PM)
might try biore. their facial cleanser is not bad at all
which cleanser u using ?
jonny4
post Jun 29 2013, 09:35 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Pmc @ Jun 29 2013, 08:28 PM)
biore the light blue color, for oily skin one. and sometime use st ives apricot scrub
dun use d apricot scrub. its too harsh for d face. might cause breakouts.

29 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 >Top

0.0225sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:06 AM