Headphones HEADPHONES/ EARPHONES Recomendation Corner V3, The Recommendations Continues.....

TSmADmAN
post Dec 23 2008, 08:34 PM, updated 17y ago

10,530 posts

smile.gif This thread serves as a Q&A section for all new/existing audiophiles seeking advice on their new headphone purchase. The rules are simple, no flaming/bashing and try to not to spam (posting irrelevant post).

You may ask us any headphones/earphones related questions, and all of us in headphilers in this forum will gladly assist you. Don't be shy! wink.gif

When asking, please remember to STATE YOUR BUDGET. Give EXACT NUMBERS... "not so expensive la" is not a considered a budget wink.gif

Other infos like the following will also be helpful to get faster and more accurate responses.
- what you currently have (mp3 players, amps, soundcard etc)
- what type of usage (movies/ gaming/ music etc)
- source (i.e. flac, mp3 etc)
- type of music listen to (classical, jazz, metal, etc)
- personal requirements like type (closed, open, cirumaural, IEM etc).

Best of luck on your headphones/earphones purchase. smile.gif

Previous threads for reference....
Recommendation Thread V1

Recommendation Thread V2

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Dec 23 2008, 08:35 PM
TSmADmAN
post Dec 24 2008, 06:38 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(vaires @ Dec 24 2008, 05:38 PM)
hi guys..
i need recommendation...headphone for my zen x-fi..
grado sr60 rm290 or Sennheiser HD 215 rm315..or maybe grado sr80 rm388... biggrin.gif
which one is better and more comfortable...
TQ
if the type of music u listen to is the type that requires a soundstage i.e. classical etc, dont bother with grados... almost non-existent sound stage.

plus theyre supra-aural which means they sit ON the ear. not around it....

mebbe u should take a look at the audio technicas from akabane or walabies.

Added on December 24, 2008, 6:41 pm
QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Dec 24 2008, 06:38 PM)
Hurm.. Just needing your opinions guys,

Recently just gotten myself a portable player, pairing it with my HR2 is indeed wonderful, however, I've decided to take it a step further and I wish to start looking for a pair of budget IEM for isolation usage.
Budget is about RM200, using it for music only, and I seriously dislike warm/bassy sound signature (guess the Bijou is a big no for me, just to give a scale, I find the M30's bass too overwhelming and MS1's bass just nice for my personal taste), had been trying to target for the x3i as I've pretty much brought myself to be fond of its sound signature, but ah heck, I doubt anyone is selling a new set anymore. >_<

Any advises or recommendations would be appreciated. biggrin.gif
X3i no more meh??? and i thought there was a Bijou version of the X3i?

for ur budget the crossroads are pretty hard to beat. so i guess talking to yuheng about ur requirements would be the best bet....

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Dec 24 2008, 06:41 PM
TSmADmAN
post Dec 24 2008, 11:42 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(vaires @ Dec 24 2008, 08:28 PM)
i have budget for both grado sr60 and sr80...but i don't know what suits me..maybe someone can give me advice..
i use headphone to hear music(like avril songs) from zen x-fi, movies and games from laptop..
and mADmAN...what u mean by soundstage..
they said grado's are not comfortable..rite?
TQ
soundstage has been explained in earlier posts....

as for ur avril lavigne, then yeah the Grados will suit you.....grados are known to be good for rock/ metal...

in terms of the comfort... alot of people assume its uncomfortable due to the supra aural design. and alot of people do find it uncomfortable. but there are also quite a number of people who find it comfortable for hours of usage... so at the end, this comes down to the user itself.

for ur budget and music, perhaps the Alessandro MS-1 would be better compared to the Grado SR60 and SR80. most people who has the money for the SR80 would end up going for the MS-1.

but if ur worried about the supra-aural thingy, try to make ur way to 1 Utama in Bandar Utama. go to the old wing. theres an audiophile shop there near Jusco, 2nd floor if i remember correctly. go there and check out and audition the Goldring DR150. from all the descriptions ive read in head-fi, the descriptions make them sound as if the DR150 are circumaural versions of Grados. ive heard them briefly at that store and i have to say the description is pretty much accurate. the DR150 is selling about RM450 if im not mistaken.

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Dec 24 2008, 11:43 PM
TSmADmAN
post Dec 28 2008, 02:37 AM

10,530 posts

isnt there a HUGE price difference between the HD555 and the HP8900???? dont really think its a fair comparison....

but for me... for rock. id go with the phillips. sennheiser's laid back sound signature makes them unsuitable for rock/metal. takes the energy out of the music.

but wat would be better would be the Grado SR60 for less than 300 or the much better Alessandro MS-1 for about 4xx
TSmADmAN
post Dec 29 2008, 01:00 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(barjoyai @ Dec 28 2008, 04:40 AM)
ukraine..
like i sid id go for the phillips....

but im a sennheiser hater... coz also like i said...their laid back sound signature really isnt suited for rock/metal.... and i listen to metal...ALOT.

it would of course be best if u could audition them first.
TSmADmAN
post Dec 30 2008, 01:30 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(slicker_192 @ Dec 30 2008, 01:13 AM)
hi guys...im looking for cheap n superb earphone... i just buy st2pid sonic gear ear pump .....it not that good actually..... i think my ipod touch earphone is more better..... so this time i decide to buy CrossRoads Mylarone Bijou...do u think this earphone is good???..please recommend me the best earphone...hehehe....smile.gif
wah no budget ah??? is it ok if we recommend u an earphone that costs over RM1k?

next time state ur budget

and yes mylar is good.
TSmADmAN
post Dec 30 2008, 05:15 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ Dec 30 2008, 04:39 PM)
madman,

you remember at another thread you recommended me the AT AD500 for my gaming / surround needs

i forgot to ask you, what offerings from other brands at the similar price range (300-400) that I can test out also cos i don't want to rush in and just test one hp tongue.gif
for around that budget, i dont bother recommending anything else for gaming.

so i wouldnt know....mebbe one of the sennheiser perhaps?? HD555 mebbe?
TSmADmAN
post Dec 30 2008, 05:25 PM

10,530 posts

that highly depends on u....

i truly doubt that any other closed headphone in that price range can beat it...but thats just me and ive havent heard any other headphones in that price range.

plus the comments on head-fi seem to agree with me too biggrin.gif
TSmADmAN
post Jan 7 2009, 08:34 PM

10,530 posts

ALL IT should have a few Shures and Senn earphones...

around ur budget too i think
TSmADmAN
post Jan 15 2009, 12:52 AM

10,530 posts

a seprate headphone and mic would ne much better imho...

just like motherboards...integrated is usually a no no
TSmADmAN
post Jan 18 2009, 02:10 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(rxy @ Jan 17 2009, 02:39 AM)
could anyone here help me?i am wandering between sennheiser hd 515 and alessandro ms1..i saw the review that the latter sounds better than the previous but i also like the previous's style.the circumaural headphone.could u pls gv some advice to me?
Sennheiser and Alessandro basically has 2 opposite sound signatures....senn is warm and laid back... alessandro/ grado are more in your face..

anyway...if ur in KL/PJ head over to 1 Utama and check out the Goldring DR150. its in the audiophile shop near jusco in the old wing.

priced about RM4xx which is about the same as the MS1

you get circumaural with sounds similar to Grado/ Alessandro. but dont simply buy...make sure you audition it first. they should allow u to audition it....coz they allowed me to audition it...

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Jan 17 2009, 11:20 AM)
Nobody know any 5.1 headphone?
Or it doesn't exist at all?
it exists....just that nobody gives a shit about 5.1 headphones....they are abominations....freaks of nature.... an embarassment to word "headphone"

headphones always has and always will be better in stereo.
TSmADmAN
post Jan 19 2009, 06:02 PM

10,530 posts

like others said...sounds like shit....

and its just a useless gimmick....

speaker placement is too close to be able to give u proper surround.

if u want proper surround then get 5.1 SPEAKERS.

otherwise, stereo headphones that can emulate surround sound is MUCH better.
TSmADmAN
post Jan 19 2009, 10:17 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(slackerzkiddo @ Jan 19 2009, 06:37 PM)
hi sifu sifu .
i'm planning to buy a headphone mainly for gaming and  listening to music .
budget around 400+
preferably from AKG or BOse
Recommendation please
QUOTE(enriquelee @ Jan 19 2009, 06:44 PM)
hmm.gif This sounds good to me.
Any recomendation?
QUOTE(DEVICLOT @ Jan 19 2009, 10:11 PM)
ATH-A/AD500, nice headphone...
another vote for the Audio Technica A/AD500
TSmADmAN
post Jan 28 2009, 01:40 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(sinja @ Jan 28 2009, 01:28 PM)
Hi. I'm getting a IEM this weekend. Any input is appreciated. Thanks.

Budget : 100

Must be:
- Comfortable
- Circumaural (closed/semi-open)
- Available in a Selangor/KL shop

Music:
Soft
Pop
General
no such thing as circumaural or supraaural IEMs... IEMs (In Ear Monitors) are the ones u put inside ur ear... aka ear dildos.

so which one u want??? IEM or HEADphone?
TSmADmAN
post Mar 27 2009, 11:06 AM

10,530 posts

HD650 requires an amp to properly shine man... and ur ursage only with PSP??? like not worth it imho laugh.gif

i think something like the Audio Technica A/AD 900 would suit better... runs perfect unamped and has a HUGE soundstage. price should be around 1k.
TSmADmAN
post Mar 27 2009, 11:32 AM

10,530 posts

Audio Technica you should look for walabies or akabane in the bulk orders section....
TSmADmAN
post Apr 16 2009, 03:47 PM

10,530 posts

RM300.....

FiiO E5 + Crossroads MylarOne Bijou

both available at bulk order section....

balance if possible... get an ipod line-out cable...try and search in garage sales for DIY cable makers who can make them...
TSmADmAN
post Apr 22 2009, 07:41 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Lipyueng @ Apr 22 2009, 12:19 AM)
i don think need an AMP, DAC is more important... but... anyone know how to let this baby burn in? need how long time and what music should i use?
a DAC only converts digital signals to analog....it doesnt amplify...

in order to hear them it needs to be amplified. getting a DAC without an amp is useless as itll only provide lineout level signals.

if u go back to the bare basics....a soundcard is typically a DAC+Amp combo. including ur onboard soundcard.
TSmADmAN
post Apr 23 2009, 01:16 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(butter finger @ Apr 22 2009, 08:24 PM)
Guys,

As quoted above, I just came back to Malaysia last Sat with 2 units of CX300. I gave one to my gf and after lisntened to a few songs she said it is a fake. She googled and found some articles about fake / genuine CX300. However those articles are back in year 06 or 07. I believe some manufacturers had improved their imitation of CX300 over the years as I cant really distinguish whether they are fake or not.

My gf claimed that the SQ is not really great as compared to what she demoed in Machine MV. Well, to me it is not that bad considering the price and I have not listen to the original. My gf is rather pissed off and bothered whenever she thinks of it and I would appreciate if anyone would help me out.

I am staying in Seremban and will be going to Low Yat this Sat (25.4.09). To all proud user of original CX300 users, mind if you able to bring along your CX300 for me to have a look / listen if you guys happen to be at Lowyat this Saturday? Or if there are user living in Seremban it will be better. If anyone interested to help me, kindly pm me. Your help will be much appreciated.
when ur gf tested the earphones in MV... was the source the same as the one u brought back? i.e. ipod nano vs ipod nano?

difference in source could play a major role in different sounds...same goes to audio files as well....

QUOTE(Lipyueng @ Apr 22 2009, 11:13 PM)
Yo, Mr MadMan, any nice DAC+Amp intro? better to be a portable one... budget is around RM600 below or above a bit... someone say if i take iBasso D2, it will make the cx500 warmer... does not really improve the sound quality...
portable? no idea. never heard any of the ibasso's before. suggest u consult walabies and yuheng about portable DAC+amp

but some possible options include the ibasso, govibe petite and the new govibe vulcan mini...dunno the price of any of them though tongue.gif
TSmADmAN
post Apr 23 2009, 02:10 AM

10,530 posts

AD700....definitely the AD700

0.0536sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:45 AM