With Trem Guitar..always need to tune the guitar?, trem guitar

redkord
post Dec 24 2008, 12:50 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Dec 23 2008, 12:53 PM)
u obviously have not tried a original floyd rose yet, or seen a broken ibanez floyd yet.

the hardware quality is miles apart.

original floyd rose is pure stainless steel.
ibanez are hollow metal and have some weird filling in them.
they may have changed recently, but i doubt it.
yeah.. i have not tried original floyd.. juz on ibanez.. but for me its just ok.. i dunno much about floyd thing..
i still love fixed bridge..
vassili
post Dec 24 2008, 03:19 AM

I don't care about what you think.
600 posts

i think licence will out of tune lah
zeroglyph
post Dec 24 2008, 09:57 AM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

QUOTE(vassili @ Dec 24 2008, 03:19 AM)
i think licence will out of tune lah
that depends actually. my schaller license is dead stable 95% of the time. i think gotoh is ok too. it's those cheaper license stuff that's bad.

afad
post Dec 24 2008, 11:34 AM

308 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Dec 24 2008, 09:57 AM)
that depends actually. my schaller license is dead stable 95% of the time. i think gotoh is ok too. it's those cheaper license stuff that's bad.
i dont know bout that, but my LTD licensed FR can stayed tuned for weeks,
the trick is just like u said, u need to stretch the new strings before u locked it..

for me after installing new strings, i will not locked the nut straight away,
id left the nut unlock and played the guitar as usual for 2,3 days, that is to let the strings stretch,
then will i retune and locked the nut, after that it will stayed tuned for weeks,
even if it slightly out of tuned after weeks of abuse, i still can use the fine tuner to tune it back to pitch..
sean392
post Dec 24 2008, 12:55 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Dec 24 2008, 09:57 AM)
Gotoh makes better floyds than Schaller made Floyd Rose Original and Floyd Rose II now.

Everdying
post Dec 24 2008, 01:14 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Dec 24 2008, 12:55 PM)
Gotoh makes better floyds than Schaller made Floyd Rose Original and Floyd Rose II now.
maybe cos the original floyd rose u may have confused the schaller with the MIC ones tongue.gif

yea, MIC are now making original floyd rose.
formerly was under the brand name Ping, but now they can legally put the floyd rose branding on it.

im not sure who Ping are, but i do know fender uses their tuners.
so maybe fender also owns Ping, just like how fender owns floyd rose.
so they can choose to do anything.
zeroglyph
post Dec 24 2008, 02:18 PM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

QUOTE(afad @ Dec 24 2008, 11:34 AM)
i dont know bout that, but my LTD licensed FR can stayed tuned for weeks,
the trick is just like u said, u need to stretch the new strings before u locked it..

for me after installing new strings, i will not locked the nut straight away,
id left the nut unlock and played the guitar as usual for 2,3 days, that is to let the strings stretch,
then will i retune and locked the nut, after that it will stayed tuned for weeks,
even if it slightly out of tuned after weeks of abuse, i still can use the fine tuner to tune it back to pitch..
on that note, strings actually made some difference too. some string brands are not suitable for FR bridge. i can't recall where i read that though.

QUOTE(sean392 @ Dec 24 2008, 12:55 PM)
well, in my book, gotoh and schaller are somewhat on par with each other.
afad
post Dec 24 2008, 03:15 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Dec 24 2008, 02:18 PM)
on that note, strings actually made some difference too. some string brands are not suitable for FR bridge. i can't recall where i read that though.
yeah, ive heard about it and still experimenting which string is best for my axe setup,
so far, the winner is daddario .10-.46,
currently im using ZW Sign strings, a bit disappointed with the tone tho, not my taste,
well there are lots of strings that i havent tried yet, experiment continue biggrin.gif ..
blademaster
post Dec 24 2008, 05:01 PM

1,009 posts

actually, if TS wants a cheap solution, can try to find 2nd hand Schaller's Licensed FR on ebay. I'm not sure they still make them though but it's still pretty decent.

But then, what's the point of upgrading that Ibanez.

I'd say, save up a little more, get the Schecter C-1 Hellraiser FR (with Ori FR). That guitar is seriously worth way much more than it's price tag.

TSnohal
post Dec 24 2008, 05:58 PM

Gorrila MXE
2,001 posts

@blademaster

Schecter C-1 Hellraiser .. how much is that?

and i relly like that ibanez design....
blademaster
post Dec 24 2008, 06:43 PM

1,009 posts

I think it's around USD800 so in RM will be 3k give or take.

but that guitar seriously blows away my own PRS sad.gif Hate to admit it but it's true.
TSnohal
post Dec 24 2008, 06:50 PM

Gorrila MXE
2,001 posts

RM3k!! dude.. i better go for Jackson Rhandy Rhoads 3 lol!.. or perhaps RR5...

haha...
redkord
post Dec 25 2008, 01:04 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(blademaster @ Dec 24 2008, 06:43 PM)
I think it's around USD800 so in RM will be 3k give or take.

but that guitar seriously blows away my own PRS sad.gif Hate to admit it but it's true.
whoa! are u sure? shocking.gif
blademaster
post Dec 25 2008, 06:09 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(nohal @ Dec 24 2008, 06:50 PM)
RM3k!! dude.. i better go for Jackson Rhandy Rhoads 3 lol!.. or perhaps RR5...

haha...
RR3 is about the same price but....

RR3 has lousier Pickups (SD JB/Jazz I think) compared to the Emgs 81/89 on the Schecter
RR3 is only using a License FR whereas that Schecter is using Original FR.
Plus, I don't quite like the RR3's tone. Tested one years ago and can still remember. But the Schecter totally blew me off.
Schecter comes with 24 frets brows.gif

blacktrix
post Dec 25 2008, 06:52 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

RR3 has it's own unique tone. Sure, you can compare parts and what-not, but it still sounds unique.
I LOVE my RR3.... but I also love my Zakk Wylde LP AND my Razorback 255 AND my LP-100....... each of them has it's own unique features and quality.
TSnohal
post Dec 25 2008, 07:14 PM

Gorrila MXE
2,001 posts

yeah.. still depends on user taste...

i really like RR.. haha...
sean392
post Dec 25 2008, 08:18 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Dec 24 2008, 01:14 PM)
maybe cos the original floyd rose u may have confused the schaller with the MIC ones tongue.gif

yea, MIC are now making original floyd rose.
formerly was under the brand name Ping, but now they can legally put the floyd rose branding on it.

im not sure who Ping are, but i do know fender uses their tuners.
so maybe fender also owns Ping, just like how fender owns floyd rose.
so they can choose to do anything.
No wei, seriously the Ping one, cannot compare la
but Gotoh ones a lot more consistent than Schaller now.
=/

vassili
post Dec 25 2008, 09:44 PM

I don't care about what you think.
600 posts

with that kind of money i'll rather buy the bullseye
SweetTooth
post Dec 26 2008, 08:33 AM

2,650 posts

i would get the rr3 if it had 24 frets =/
main reason why i didnt get it actually sweat.gif