Which is the better institute for Graphic Design?, Help please ..

TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Dec 20 2008, 08:13 PM, updated 17y ago

66 posts

hey there,
i just graduated from highschool and im interested in studying graphic design

im wondering which college or unversity provide better graphic design course. .
im not sure which one is better so i kinda need help choosing.

im been to some edu fairs and college , im thinking Sunway College University, which provide graphic n multimedia design , i think its quite good cos it combine both graphic n multimedia in one course unlike other institutes which separate them as two individual courses.. so i think its quite good since computer stuff is quite important nowadays..
(please correct me if im wrong)

plus sunway is alot cheaper compared to Lim Kok Wing n The One Academy because in my case money is kind of a problem.(my mom asked me to study UKM cos its cheap but i dun think UKM provide design courses)

i was thinking abt Taylors too, and also Raffles in Msia, and PJCAD..
im not sure at the three of them but im sure it'd help alot to clear things off my mind

so im asking opinions from everyone and also students who are studying graphic design which is the better institute..
or is there any other better ones out there. .locally though..

thank you for reading this post , im just very confused now..
please help me out here.. seriously need help .. lol

hvaly
post Dec 20 2008, 08:16 PM

433 posts

did u go through creative multimedia courses at MMU multimedia university ?
nk89
post Dec 20 2008, 08:18 PM

37 posts

The One Academic
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Dec 20 2008, 10:04 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(hvaly @ Dec 20 2008, 09:16 PM)
did u go through creative multimedia courses at MMU multimedia university ?
nope.. i din know abt MMU n i had no idea MMU offers such courses...

is it a good university?

im interested in the advertsing business btw. .

Added on December 20, 2008, 10:07 pm
QUOTE(nk89 @ Dec 20 2008, 09:18 PM)
The One Academic
hmm... the one academy is unaffordable for me or my family ..

thanks anyway

This post has been edited by doubleu.why.ass: Dec 20 2008, 10:11 PM
mimobo87
post Dec 20 2008, 10:37 PM

y don u try alfa college?? nearby taman paramount at petaling jaya area ..
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Dec 20 2008, 11:06 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(mimobo87 @ Dec 20 2008, 11:37 PM)
y don u try alfa college?? nearby taman paramount at petaling jaya area ..
but do u know the course's fee?

thanks alot

=]
shook
post Dec 20 2008, 11:26 PM

professional stalker
854 posts

read the whole post here tongue.gif
same topic also.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=385285&hl=

TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Dec 21 2008, 12:32 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(shook @ Dec 21 2008, 12:26 AM)
read the whole post here tongue.gif
same topic also.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=385285&hl=
thanks. i appreciates it . helps alot .. haha

but still wonders which one suits me the most
rclxub.gif
j_coolman
post Dec 21 2008, 01:38 AM

185 posts

dasein,..
it's quite good oso..
B-Mecha
post Dec 21 2008, 01:53 AM

Mecha collector & Multimedia Designer
1,080 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Dec 20 2008, 10:04 PM)

is it a good university?

thanks anyway
erm...if what u want is to be a designer in advertising firm, i would advise not to enter MMU.

As a graduate from MMU FCM (faculty of creative multimedia), i don't see MMU courses help much compare to the one academy. MMU courses focus more on software skills than design sense. u can always learn the software from online free tutorial, but is the design skills that u need to learn from lecturers.

but if what u want to be is account executive or other non-design position in advertising firm, MMU is a good choice. their management courses are good. the best thing about MMU is the fee is cheaper than most private uni/college and u can easily get PTPTN to cover ur study fee + a bit of allowance. by the way, study design is an expensive subject, u need to buy a lot of art tools (brushes, colours, markers...), art material (mounting board, glue, canvas), money to print your artwork/photos (i used to print 10R/A2 size) and u really need a mid-high end digital camera (it is a must for MMU design 2nd year courses =___=)

streetfx
post Dec 21 2008, 02:00 PM

200 posts

Raffles also expensive
Mahdi1
post Dec 21 2008, 05:51 PM

TOA <<<<<<

This post has been edited by Mahdi1: Dec 23 2008, 04:41 PM
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Dec 25 2008, 04:10 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(j_coolman @ Dec 21 2008, 02:38 AM)
dasein,..
it's quite good oso..
yea ive seen it from the newspapers n all but very few ppl have mentioned them so i dunoe..
i dunoe if there good or bad ?

Added on December 25, 2008, 4:17 am
QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Dec 21 2008, 02:53 AM)
erm...if what u want is to be a designer in advertising firm, i would advise not to enter MMU.

As a graduate from MMU FCM (faculty of creative multimedia), i don't see MMU courses help much compare to the one academy. MMU courses focus more on software skills than design sense. u can always learn the software from online free tutorial, but is the design skills that u need to learn from lecturers.

but if what u want to be is account executive or other non-design position in advertising firm, MMU is a good choice. their management courses are good. the best thing about MMU is the fee is cheaper than most private uni/college and u can easily get PTPTN to cover ur study fee + a bit of allowance. by the way, study design is an expensive subject, u need to buy a lot of art tools (brushes, colours, markers...), art material (mounting board, glue, canvas), money to print your artwork/photos (i used to print 10R/A2 size) and u really need a mid-high end digital camera (it is a must for MMU design 2nd year courses =___=)
woah..it kinda freaked me out ..lol

but if i can get in i think i need to pick up a part time job or sumthing .. i asked a student from sunway, she works part time too to cover the expenses, she applied for PTPTN loan too...

i went to sunway college university open day, i dunoe but they sound not too bad..
although its not as good as maybe TOA or other big shots institute but they din leave me a bad impression..

Added on December 25, 2008, 4:19 am
QUOTE(streetfx @ Dec 21 2008, 03:00 PM)
Raffles also expensive
yea maybe but if compared to TOA OR LKW its much more cheaper...
i dunoe

This post has been edited by doubleu.why.ass: Dec 25 2008, 04:19 AM
qudeenz360
post Jan 2 2009, 05:51 PM

5,761 posts

cosmopoint smile.gif
obefiend
post Jan 2 2009, 06:58 PM

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilluminati
863 posts

he best in the wordl? the one and only lim kok wing. with over 9000 foreign stduents so that you will feel like in europe. you will have bigger network once you graduate. plus you can sample the culture and language of foreign countryw hile still living locally

its the coolest colleges who produce students with vision and awesome skills.

the college is also not pretentious having to resort to full page ads showing THE SAME ARTWORK of THE SAME STUDENT every year to give you the impression that the college is superb

the college also does not produce students likes its a degree mill and perverted its once proud legacy as one of malaysia's top colleges

LUCT is also alot more laid bag with the best student power compared to other college. you hate going to class? no problem. just as long as you show your work once a week to a lecturer you will be fine. the keyword here is INDEPENDENCE. you are not spoon fed or FORCED TO DO THINGS UNTILL YOU BLEED PUKE like the other colleges given above

dont believe the hype.. go to the colleges and check out of the environment suits your personality.

this is a paid advertispost sponsored by chicken king

tanling26
post Jan 2 2009, 08:31 PM

474 posts

the one. my friends all form there ..
Kuroda Asuka
post Jan 2 2009, 10:16 PM

56 posts

ya im voiting for the one academy too. actually im heading to the one academy for graphic design or animation because they r more creactive. if u think that its too expensive,u can go to KBU. one of my senior went there for graphic. its more cheaper. I hope that my suggestion can help u. Good luck.
penmarker
post Jan 2 2009, 11:53 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Dec 21 2008, 01:53 AM)

wat...
@_@
im going to mmu, and ur post kinda freaked me out a bit. sweat.gif
momochi zabuza
post Jan 3 2009, 09:58 AM

I never think about money, beautiful things make money
719 posts

QUOTE(penmarker @ Jan 2 2009, 11:53 PM)
wat...
@_@
im going to mmu, and ur post kinda freaked me out a bit. sweat.gif
let me add the freakiness going to mmu.

I'm unsure how about other college, but you guys better be prepared to see your artworks:

thrown away from the fifth floor
stomped on the lectures feet
torn

so just imagine. you went for an outing to take photos, stick it on the mountingboard. but it is not aligned, poorly stick-ed.. the lecturer will try to kopek your's and then:

this is how you stick pictures?
why the picture isn't straight?

zrasss.. they torn your precious artwork. if you've did better, but your photo aren't that beautiful...

my son can do more better than this
this waterfall is like my tiny little son's p*ss you know. ( because that waterfall so thin )

but in the end, those tougher challenge, improve us the students biggrin.gif

penmarker
post Jan 3 2009, 09:56 PM

2,017 posts

oh, those kinda treatments im used to already. i was in GMi. n the lecturers there were taken from their 'habitat'.. sweat.gif they really mean business when they teach..
but theyre doing it for the sake of the students. that i dont really mind la. tongue.gif
what im worried about was what he mentioned. those things to buy. art paper n markers n colors n all n camera summore. @_@ u need to buy a lot of art tools (brushes, colours, markers...), art material (mounting board, glue, canvas), money to print your artwork/photos (i used to print 10R/A2 size) and u really need a mid-high end digital camera (it is a must for MMU design 2nd year courses =___=)

crap2.. i really need a scholarship or loan. y no one told me about that.

This post has been edited by penmarker: Jan 3 2009, 09:56 PM
Resphoina
post Jan 4 2009, 10:05 AM

419 posts

That's true. I'm currently studying foundation of creative multimedia, will be entering 3rd sem soon. Im also afraid of the expenses, especially on the camera next year. I dunno if it's a must-to-buy item, but there's people that said you could try loaning it from senior, or maybe outside provider. Aint too sure. For myself, im not rich and that thing will cost RM 2k, and u'll only be using it bcs of the photography course in a sem, 4 months time only.

What momochi zabuza said is true. However, I have to admit that all those tough challenges made the students stronger. ~.~"

Whilst saying MMU teaches more on software skills, that isnt quite true. They'll create the path for you, to stroll down to the end, become a guru in softwares, that'll be up to you. Meanwhile, to explore new things along the path, that'll be up to you too. Same thing goes for design senses. I have to admit they touched briefly on both. However, if you hold the same passion as I do, I believe you'll be finding other sources, from books, online, or somewhere else about both software skills and design senses. Then, you will improve.

This post has been edited by Resphoina: Jan 4 2009, 10:06 AM
norhairy
post Jan 4 2009, 10:45 AM

23 posts

creative media at MMU
lilmisssunshine
post Jan 4 2009, 03:46 PM

hey there, im in the one academy taking advertising and graphic design and i find it not bad there though the campus is quite small but we are pushed very hard to work and i think its good. facilities are not bad too. near shopping malls and shoplot area so convenient and lecturers are usually young and fun. they graduate from the college itself but there are also guest lecturers. if ure worrying about the price, u wont get good education coz it is priced higher for a reason, the recognitions and achievements. my fees are about 56k for the whole diploma programme. and the way they push u is that, whenever u finish a semester and u failed at least one subject u cannot move on to the next semester until u pass everything so ur skills will be polished to make sure u reach the next sem and not just graduate without skills and capabilities. do not try sunway college's designing programme. i have a classmate that quit that programme and come to our college because he said he dint learn anything, its a waste of time and money. u can try pjcad too heard its not bad. hope this helps:)
Naota-kun
post Jan 4 2009, 03:47 PM

All the stars below are lights in the heavens.
1,345 posts

none. it all depends on yourself.
Resphoina
post Jan 4 2009, 09:54 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(Naota-kun @ Jan 4 2009, 03:47 PM)
none. it all depends on yourself.

Yes. Kinda agree with Naota-kun. Which place to further ur study is actually to brush up urself, and expose urself to that field before entering the actual one. Somewhat, to become a good one or not, it depends on urself, ur talents, ur hardwork and interest. Bad school produces good students, whilst good school produces bad students as well. tongue.gif
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Jan 5 2009, 12:22 AM

66 posts

oh my god.. ur post really freaked me out... i tot my only options would ne sunway bcos its cheaper and all ..

the one academy n lim kok wing are just too expensive..

i think maybe i should consider some other college..

wat about Dasein? anyone know anything abt it?
please tell me more

thanks everyone
rubbermilk
post Jan 5 2009, 12:30 AM

388 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Dec 20 2008, 08:13 PM)
hey there,

im  been to some edu fairs and college , im thinking Sunway College University, which provide graphic n multimedia design , i think its quite good cos it combine both graphic n multimedia in one course unlike other institutes which separate them as two individual courses.. so i think its quite good since computer stuff is quite important nowadays..

plus sunway is alot cheaper compared to Lim Kok Wing n The One Academy because in my case money is kind of a problem.(my mom asked me to study UKM cos its cheap but i dun think UKM provide design courses)

i was thinking abt Taylors too, and also Raffles in Msia,  and PJCAD..
im not sure at the three of them but im sure it'd help alot to clear things off my mind

so im asking opinions from everyone and also students who are studying graphic design which is the better institute..

I'm studying in the one academy , taking multimedia design.
i think toa is pretty good tongue.gif

raffles is in the middle of kl , pjcad student management sucks and dont start with me bout lkw. hahaha
i have friends who go there for masscomm , music and fashion design so no comment.

its really up to you , be prepared with the chinesenism in toa thats if youre coming.

you really need the passion to put up with the stress ofcourse.

i choose to be in toa last minute like the next day registration for january intake biggrin.gif

Haihzz
post Jan 5 2009, 12:38 AM

511 posts

Open University anybody check it out already?
jasonlim1
post Jan 8 2009, 01:14 AM

50 cents per pax
702 posts

if u want cheaper, why dont u try go Dasein and query... its located at setapak.
i heard from my friends who r studying there say that quite a number of one academy students who cant tahan the rising fees come over to dasein to study (can any one akademi students confirm this?), but my friends artworks are quite impressing too.
but if im not mistaken they seperate multimedia and graphic design course.

i also have another friend studying multimedia design in one academy and his artworks is most impressing

cheapest place u can study design in tarc....but dun ever go or else u'll regret...

This post has been edited by jasonlim1: Jan 8 2009, 01:16 AM
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Jan 8 2009, 11:05 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(jasonlim1 @ Jan 8 2009, 02:14 AM)
if u want cheaper, why dont u try go Dasein and query... its located at setapak.
i heard from my friends who r studying there say that quite a number of one academy students who cant tahan the rising fees come over to dasein to study (can any one akademi students confirm this?), but my friends artworks are quite impressing too.
but if im not mistaken they seperate multimedia and graphic design course.

i also have another friend studying multimedia design in one academy and his artworks is most impressing

cheapest place u can study design in tarc....but dun ever go or else u'll regret...
oh..ive heard of dasein too, but i seldom hear ppl talk abt it here so..

where is the dasein institute? isit near petaling street ?

if im goin to tarc maybe i wont study design , might study advertising or other course.no point wasting time n money there studying graphic design there..
what are the better courses in tarc ? lol

anyone has any idea?

jasonlim1
post Jan 9 2009, 02:44 AM

50 cents per pax
702 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Jan 8 2009, 11:05 PM)
oh..ive heard of dasein too, but i seldom hear ppl talk abt it here so..

where is the dasein institute? isit near petaling street ?

if im goin to tarc maybe i wont study design , might study advertising or other course.no point wasting time n money there studying graphic design there..
what are the better courses in tarc ? lol

anyone has any idea?
dasein is near wangsa maju carrefour there....its quite near to tarc setapak actually....

i think only business courses in tarc is ok lor (but u better do more survey la)

btw im a 2nd patch multimedia design graduate from tarc and currently doing advertising in utar... dun ask me why i changed my course...coz i also duno...i did it for the lulz....
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Jan 10 2009, 12:31 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(jasonlim1 @ Jan 9 2009, 03:44 AM)
dasein is near wangsa maju carrefour there....its quite near to tarc setapak actually....

i think only business courses in tarc is ok lor (but u better do more survey la)

btw im a 2nd patch multimedia design graduate from tarc and currently doing advertising in utar... dun ask me why i changed my course...coz i also duno...i did it for the lulz....
is dasein good? as in a quality institute for graphic design..

my friends sister is taking advertising in utar too..
last time i saw her she was watching chicago over n over again for her assignment or something..

ive tot of stepping into the advertising field,thats the reason why i wan to take graphic design.. but ive been thinking abt taking advertising too.. it seems like theres more chance to have a job in the advertising field but my frends's sister isnt planning to do advertising after she graduates... leaves me wonder.. lol

wat are lulz?
lol

jasonlim1
post Jan 10 2009, 02:27 AM

50 cents per pax
702 posts

Dasein is quite good in quality as far as what i have heard from my friends.

There is no such thing as more chance to get a job nowadays....when u graduate from any course also you'll be getting a hard time finding a job....unless you're extra good in what u do...

If youre really into graphic i suggest u venture into multimedia design which you will learn 3d, motion graphics and web design...Playing with softwares such as Adobe flash, adobe after effects, 3ds max is kinda fun when u finish ur artwork but during the process you'll get a big headache....

Join more competitions to gain experience while ur still studying...and if u won some medals in these competitions, it would be an added advantage to get you hired for a job

i dont plan to do advertising after i graduate too...to be honest i kinda regret to not further my studies in the multimedia design field...

lulz kinda stands for fun...

This post has been edited by jasonlim1: Jan 10 2009, 03:10 AM
Mr Lonely
post Jan 10 2009, 07:55 AM

Caero
1,201 posts

MMU or Lim Kok Wing University
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Jan 10 2009, 11:06 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(jasonlim1 @ Jan 10 2009, 03:27 AM)
Dasein is quite good in quality as far as what i have heard from my friends.

There is no such thing as more chance to get a job nowadays....when u graduate from any course also you'll be getting a hard time finding a job....unless you're extra good in what u do...

If youre really into graphic i suggest u venture into multimedia design which you will learn 3d, motion graphics and web design...Playing with softwares such as Adobe flash, adobe after effects, 3ds max is kinda fun when u finish ur artwork but during the process you'll get a big headache....

Join more competitions to gain experience while ur still studying...and if u won some medals in these competitions, it would be an added advantage to get you hired for a job

i dont plan to do advertising after i graduate too...to be honest i kinda regret to not further my studies in the multimedia design field...
lulz kinda stands for fun...
but i heard dasein has not multimedia courses..

i wan to study graphic design basically is bcos i couldnt think of anything else that interest me.. and i like to draw with pen or pencil .. even when i study resulting the not so remarkable results ..lol
but not so sure about handling softwares or computer 3D stuff.. but i know 3D or multimedia this are very useful and its important so i better study abit abt it also la.. haha

do u mind telling me wat course are u taking now?
what job or field would u like to venture into after u graduate?

=]

Added on January 10, 2009, 11:18 pm
QUOTE(Mr Lonely @ Jan 10 2009, 08:55 AM)
MMU or Lim Kok Wing University
Creative Media in MMU ?
they have foundation on creative media...
but after foundation.. the have afew degree courses but i dont really understand wat the courses are..
=.=
dam paiseh

whats interface design n media innovation n digital media?
n virtual reality?

just to clear my head off...
lol

This post has been edited by doubleu.why.ass: Jan 10 2009, 11:18 PM
jasonlim1
post Jan 11 2009, 01:07 AM

50 cents per pax
702 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Jan 10 2009, 11:06 PM)
but i heard dasein has not multimedia courses..

i wan to study graphic design basically is bcos i couldnt think of anything else that interest me.. and i like to draw with pen or pencil .. even when i study resulting the not so remarkable results ..lol
but not so sure about handling softwares or computer 3D stuff.. but i know 3D or multimedia this are very useful and its important so i better study abit abt it also la.. haha

do u mind telling me wat course are u taking now?
what job or field would u like to venture into after u graduate?

even for graphic design...its about handling softwares such and adobe photoshop and illustrator and good imagination nod.gif (good drawing skills comes in handy when u want to present your idea to ur clients on the spot)....well, theres always digital drawing using
"vacom" (duno how to spell it) for sketching. even for 3d animation, you'll need to do some sketching before u start modeling it.

and as i had posted in earlier posts, i had a diploma in multimedia design and now currently pursuing degree in advertising rolleyes.gif
after i graduate...i dont intend to do advertising (juz like ur sis fren) nor multimedia design. hav to take care of family business which has nothing to do with what i had studied before...lolz doh.gif
samson1618
post Jan 11 2009, 04:49 PM

Bibo?
1,056 posts

erm dude
take your time have a look 1st X D

how do you guys define good in the design school?

TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Jan 12 2009, 01:45 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(jasonlim1 @ Jan 11 2009, 02:07 AM)
even for graphic design...its about handling softwares such and adobe photoshop and illustrator and good imagination  nod.gif (good drawing skills comes in handy when u want to present your idea to ur clients on the spot)....well, theres always digital drawing using
"vacom" (duno how to spell it) for sketching. even for 3d animation, you'll need to do some sketching before u start modeling it.

and as i had posted in earlier posts, i had a diploma in multimedia design and now currently pursuing degree in advertising  rolleyes.gif
after i graduate...i dont intend to do advertising (juz like ur sis fren) nor multimedia design. hav to take care of family business which has nothing to do with what i had studied before...lolz  doh.gif
yeap.. i think if im taking design course graphic design is wat im gonna go for ..

oh i see.. well atleast u have a family busines to take care of..

im actually kinda freaked out that ppl keep telling me that the salary is pretty low for a graphic designer.. u see.. the thing is im not just making money for myself.. i think i need to provide for my family too ..after all my parents cant work forever right?
so if its really true that the salary does not look good im afraid that i have to opt for another course to study like accountancy or business or watever..
cos im scared that my parents pay the high course fees for me to study design courses and at the end i get very low pay job which is not something that anyone would like isnt it?

cos thats wat almost everybody go for and they always tell me that all companies need ppl to count money they want many accountants or something like that .. so atleast u hav a safer job n theres always room for accountants. .
(something that is not so risky i guess thats the way to put it,or something that will make money or more profitable such as busniess studies,oil n gas engineers or other engineer or pilot n aviation they make money lol)

but the problem is i dunoe i can tahan looking at numbers or not cos i suck at maths n add maths

im sorry this is so long winded.. im just a lost kid trying to find the right way out.. very confused..

or have anyone heard anything about design or art management course, its more like a management program..
i heard of it for the first time today ..pjcad is offering the course..

anyone heard of Alfa art college?

the lecturer told me Dasein is more popular among chinese so it might not be so er.. international?
compared to other college which hav both chinese and foreign cultures .. which is mixed la..
i dunoe if its important or not .. but i think i would like to sharpen my english speaking skill as u can read that im not that fluent in english , written maybe but speaken i tend to stutter abit n the words i needs dont usually come up when i need them.. lol

and also anyone know anything about pjcad's graphic design course?

i think ive listed down to dasein, alfa and pjcad..

well .. i can say that goin to edu fairs created more troubles for me.. biggrin.gif

oh n btw..jasonlim.. my form5 classmate has the same name as u .. haha

Added on January 12, 2009, 2:02 am
QUOTE(samson1618 @ Jan 11 2009, 05:49 PM)
erm dude
take your time have a look 1st X D

how do you guys define good in the design school?
lol
actually ive been looking everywhere already .. i dun wan to start so late too ..
ive went to many educational fairs ..
n i think i finally settle down with graphic design but i get more n more worry abt the decision that ive made...
n now im like 80% graphic design 20% (somethng else) lol
-.-
talk about determination..
cry.gif

er.. i think mostly will be the reputation or the college/university, quality or the students n graduates,n teachers, their teaching methods n so forth..

This post has been edited by doubleu.why.ass: Jan 12 2009, 02:02 AM
jasonlim1
post Jan 12 2009, 10:13 PM

50 cents per pax
702 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Jan 12 2009, 01:45 AM)
yeap.. i think if im taking design course graphic design is wat im gonna go for ..

oh i see.. well atleast u have a family busines to take care of..

im actually kinda freaked out that ppl keep telling me that the salary is pretty low for a graphic designer.. u see.. the thing is im not just making money for myself.. i think i need to provide for my family too ..after all my parents cant work forever right?
so if its really true that the salary does not look good im afraid that i have to opt for another course to study like accountancy or business or watever..
cos im scared that my parents pay the high course fees for me to study design courses and at the end i get very low pay job which is not something that anyone would like isnt it?

cos thats wat almost everybody go for and  they always tell me that all companies need ppl to count money they want many accountants or something like that .. so atleast u hav a safer job n theres always room for accountants. .
(something that is not so risky i guess thats the way to put it,or something that will make money or more profitable such as busniess studies,oil n gas engineers or other engineer or pilot n aviation they make money lol)

but the problem is i dunoe i can tahan looking at numbers or not cos i suck at maths n add maths

im sorry this is so long winded.. im just a lost kid trying to find the right way out.. very confused..

or have anyone heard anything about design or art management course, its more like a management program..
i heard of it for the first time today ..pjcad is offering the course..

anyone heard of Alfa art college?

the lecturer told me Dasein is more popular among chinese so it might not be so er.. international?
compared to other college which hav both chinese and foreign cultures .. which is mixed la..
i dunoe if its important or not .. but i think i would like to sharpen my english speaking skill as u can read that im not that fluent in english , written maybe but speaken  i tend to stutter abit n the words i needs dont usually come up when i need them.. lol

and also anyone know anything about pjcad's graphic design course?

i think ive listed down to dasein, alfa and pjcad..
well .. i can say that goin to edu fairs created more troubles for me..  biggrin.gif

oh n btw..jasonlim.. my form5 classmate has the same name as u .. haha

As far as i know, graphic designers pay is quite low at the beginning but in the long run, im not sure...art directors pay is high lolz...
my english sux too...half bucket oni rclxub.gif

and yah...dasein majority is chinese....i dont remember seeing any other races when i go and find my friend there... biggrin.gif
its ok to ask alot of things...we duno thats why we ask...
oh ya... im bad at maths too...failed my add maths XD doh.gif

but the most important thing is that u need to keep pushing urself and keep learning/exploring no matter what college/uni you're in.

jason is a very common name biggrin.gif i have a few friends named jason too but not the same surname biggrin.gif

B-Mecha
post Jan 13 2009, 01:01 AM

1,080 posts

TS, be honest to you, graphic designer is really really low pay job (especially fresh graduate, 1200-1600 omg). if u really think about earning good money, u need to either have really good skills to apply MNC agencies, or start your own freelance / company to take design job. start building your network, join those exibition, design show to increase ur exposure. if u think of working in small design house, most of them will promise tons of work, low pay, many OT (usually they dont pay ur OT). It is normal for agency to state the job requirement with u need to MULTITASK (maybe 5-7 small project?)+ TIGHT DEADLINE (2 day for a website?)+ WORK UNDER HIGH STRESS ENVIROMENT. yea i know this sounds depressing but this is the truth, very little client will pay much for design.

a slightly better position could be production field where they might pay u better depending on your position (editor, motion graphic artist, 3D, VFX etc). but u might have really weird working hours if involve filming. web designer provide better salary from the start. but it would require you to have both creative skills and minor scripting knowledge like html, css, javascript, flash which will easily boost your salary to 2k+.

if u really passionate for design, other than ur normal assignment, u must keep track with the latest design trend, software / tools. Always look for tutorial and do better and better. you might seems good in uni / college but your skill could be 3 years behind the industry standard. dont be like me...only know how to play online game last time (i would be so much better if i invest 20% of my online game time to study).

never heard of the 3 college u mentioned there, if u want a better & more recognize degree cert, MMU is worth it.
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Jan 13 2009, 11:27 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(jasonlim1 @ Jan 12 2009, 11:13 PM)
As far as i know, graphic designers pay is quite low at the beginning but in the long run, im not sure...art directors pay is high lolz...
my english sux too...half bucket oni  rclxub.gif

and yah...dasein majority is chinese....i dont remember seeing any other races when i go and find my friend there... biggrin.gif
its ok to ask alot of things...we duno thats why we ask...
oh ya... im bad at maths too...failed my add maths XD doh.gif

but the most important thing is that u need to keep pushing urself and keep learning/exploring no matter what college/uni you're in.

jason is a very common name  biggrin.gif i have a few friends named jason too but not the same surname  biggrin.gif
long run is how long? lol
i dunoe if i can become art director lol
me too.. half bucket.. lol

haha.. i fail my add maths in school too. sweat.gif

oh god.. im just gettting more n more confuse.. i seriously think that i should take something not so risky as design courses..
or maybe design management.. lol

Added on January 13, 2009, 12:00 pm
QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Jan 13 2009, 02:01 AM)
TS, be honest to you, graphic designer is really really low pay job (especially fresh graduate, 1200-1600 omg). if u really think about earning good money, u need to either have really good skills to apply MNC agencies, or start your own freelance / company to take design job. start building your network, join those exibition, design show to increase ur exposure. if u think of working in small design house, most of them will promise tons of work, low pay, many OT (usually they dont pay ur OT). It is normal for agency to state the job requirement with u need to MULTITASK (maybe 5-7 small project?)+ TIGHT DEADLINE (2 day for a website?)+ WORK UNDER HIGH STRESS ENVIROMENT. yea i know this sounds depressing but this is the truth, very little client will pay much for design.

a slightly better position could be production field where they might pay u better depending on your position (editor, motion graphic artist, 3D, VFX etc). but u might have really weird working hours if involve filming. web designer provide better salary from the start. but it would require you to have both creative skills and minor scripting knowledge like html, css, javascript, flash which will easily boost your salary to 2k+.

if u really passionate for design, other than ur normal assignment, u must keep track with the latest design trend, software / tools. Always look for tutorial and do better and better. you might seems good in uni / college but your skill could be 3 years behind the industry standard. dont be like me...only know how to play online game last time (i would be so much better if i invest 20% of my online game time to study).

never heard of the 3 college u mentioned there, if u want a better & more recognize degree cert, MMU is worth it.
wow.. sweat.gif

do u mind sharing ur story then? what u studied n i guess u are a designer now?
the pay is so low .. i dun understand why ppl still wan to pursue.. maybe for the job satisfactory?
but for someone not from a wealthy family(me) i guess its not a good choice.. or its a risky one..

i think u are talking about multimedia design isit?
im thinking graphic design woh.. or do u mean that multimedia design courses gets more money ? lol

im a science student in high school so i dun hav any skill like those student in art class... all i can do is just draw .. like those jap comic style.. sweat.gif
but also not VERY VERY good that kinda stuff.. sweat.gif

lol.. not a online game fan..but im still lazy to study .. sometimes i hate myself for that .. lol

ive considered MMU too,, but some lecturer told me MMU is more emphasized on multimedia design..

This post has been edited by doubleu.why.ass: Jan 13 2009, 12:00 PM
B-Mecha
post Jan 13 2009, 03:04 PM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(Resphoina @ Jan 4 2009, 10:05 AM)
That's true. I'm currently studying foundation of creative multimedia, will be entering 3rd sem soon. Im also afraid of the expenses, especially on the camera next year. I dunno if it's a must-to-buy item, but there's people that said you could try loaning it from senior, or maybe outside provider. Aint too sure. For myself, im not rich and that thing will cost RM 2k, and u'll only be using it bcs of the photography course in a sem, 4 months time only.

What momochi zabuza said is true. However, I have to admit that all those tough challenges made the students stronger. ~.~"

Whilst saying MMU teaches more on software skills, that isnt quite true. They'll create the path for you, to stroll down to the end, become a guru in softwares, that'll be up to you. Meanwhile, to explore new things along the path, that'll be up to you too. Same thing goes for design senses. I have to admit they touched briefly on both. However, if you hold the same passion as I do, I believe you'll be finding other sources, from books, online, or somewhere else about both software skills and design senses. Then, you will improve.
no offence but i hope things will be as good as u said till you finish the study. 1st year is all design foundation (lines, colour, shape, form etc). 2nd year onwards are software + photography. 3ds max, flash, maya and others. be honest, if u depend on the lecturer to lead you to become the guru in softwares, good luck man. i can remember the times where the student even need to teach back the tutor how to use photoshop. not all of them but most of them know nothing and only know how to talk crap. even in beta year 3d class, they just follow the slide n read (for my class's tutor). please, i dont pay u to read slide for me, i need ur skill, ur experience to guide me to do good work, not stand there n read article. especially when u choose ur major...hopefully u wont have the same experience as my year, all of us blur and dont know what the heck they teach. everything is a mess. luckily that time i'm able to have some better discussion with trustful tutor to lead us better (and i learn a lot) else really dont know how i'm gonna pass.

about photography, actually i appreciate the class (btw, photography class during my batch is 1 whole year, not 1 sem). i learn quite a lot from there, especially how to make the work more lively and presentable. as i know...u can buy 2nd hand camera from senior (a lot of them willing to sell) it is a must have thing. agree with you on the finding sources. online tutorial is one of the best thing ever on internet.

TS, about graphic design, be honest...it is kinda a basic for all sort of media design (video, 3d, web desgin, print design, advertising etc). by study graphic design alone is not enough. as i see the market, graphic design student will be accepted to be graphic designer (for prints, ads, banner, magazine editor etc), illustrator (storyboard artist, concept artist, fine art artist etc). there is not much room for you to go if u only aim as graphic designer. multimedia course like mmu offered is focus on media like animation, interactive application, web design, game, motion graphics, 3d where u will be trained to use ur graphic design skills in various media. your skills will be valuable when u can apply the creative idea and visual skill to the media. That gives a very solid reason for company to hire you (and pay you more) since your work will be able to directly contribute to the final deliverables (which is the final artwork, eg a complete workable website).

i'm a web designer for 2.5 years working in a singapore design agency (still a junior designer). u need to really love your job else you wont want to have this job with the salary u get as a degree holder.
s7ran9er
post Jan 13 2009, 11:08 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

For MMU, yes the cert may help a bit but personally whenever it comes to design, portfolio is very important and so is your presentation skill. With a good presentation skill you can sell your design easily (defend your design). smile.gif
obefiend
post Jan 14 2009, 12:15 AM

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilluminati
863 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Jan 13 2009, 11:08 PM)
For MMU, yes the cert may help a bit but personally whenever it comes to design, portfolio is very important and so is your presentation skill. With a good presentation skill you can sell your design easily (defend your design). smile.gif
i like the word defend your design. when does defending crosses the rubicon and start becoming delusional. I saw a lot of young studenst these days who are so full of themsleves and they can't take a bit of critique. they realluy believe that their artwork is the bomb.

i persoanlly never tried to defend my design. i try to make them see it from MY POV.
B-Mecha
post Jan 14 2009, 11:42 AM

1,080 posts

as i see it...most student will be very proud of their work (which is what lecturer teached them). but the thing is, when client pay money to u, what is their goal and expectation? functionality and result is what they aim for, art doesnt mean much as long as dont ruin their cooperate image. thats y there are tons of hard sell crappy ads out there.

as long as u can present your work well, explained ur "value" to the interviewer, you can get the job smile.gif
nlcsharon
post Jan 14 2009, 04:57 PM

22 posts

MIA-malaysian institute of art

RM 26k

TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Jan 16 2009, 02:21 PM

66 posts

thank u all for replying ....

really appreciate it..

i wonder if u guys feel as lost as i am when u were choosing design courses as ur tertiary education..
worrying about being nt as good as others..
worrying abot future carreer paths/options n of cos salary ..
dont really hav many good information on the salary thou .. lol

anyboy knw anyting about design management course?

jasonlim1
post Jan 16 2009, 11:18 PM

50 cents per pax
702 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Jan 16 2009, 02:21 PM)
thank u all for replying ....

really appreciate it..

i wonder if u guys feel as lost as i am when u were choosing design courses as ur tertiary education..
worrying about being nt as good as others..
worrying abot future carreer paths/options n of cos salary ..
dont really hav many good information on the salary thou .. lol
anyboy knw anyting about design management course?
i totally duno anything when i chose my course....i simply take only sweat.gif
no need to worry bout not being as good as others....coz there are lots of people better than u for sure...

today my lecturer told me that a good copywriter can earn as much as 20-30k per month...my lecturer say one lolz...(any working as copywriters here? care to confirm this?)
Shinja
post Jan 17 2009, 02:38 AM

112 posts

lulz...say yes to The One Academy
why? ....alot lenglui sweat.gif
jasonlim1
post Jan 17 2009, 10:43 AM

50 cents per pax
702 posts

QUOTE(Shinja @ Jan 17 2009, 02:38 AM)
lulz...say yes to The One Academy
why? ....alot lenglui  sweat.gif
lolz ts has a female tag la...nid a place where there is alot of leng chai...lkw for rich boys tongue.gif ..duno where got lotsa leng chai...
B-Mecha
post Jan 17 2009, 11:18 AM

1,080 posts

TOA got a lot of rich boy also... dont underestimate them... maybe next to sunway pyramid is an advantage? since it is so near to pub & nightlife... really need to resist temptation
jasonlim1
post Jan 17 2009, 01:30 PM

50 cents per pax
702 posts

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Jan 17 2009, 11:18 AM)
TOA got a lot of rich boy also... dont underestimate them... maybe next to sunway pyramid is an advantage? since it is so near to pub & nightlife... really need to resist temptation
dun forget pyramid itself... before class shopping, break time shopping, after class also shopping....everyday also shopping lolz
RedDot
post Jan 17 2009, 06:14 PM

In general... i think:

1) TOA - good at producing nice visual (at least presentable), good art sense, some are quite creative, but not so good at presenting ideas when come to presentation part. Good place to go if you want to be designer, illustrator, animator, art director, multimedia designer.

2) MMU - Its a University, they do have proper structures for the syllabus. So you learn more than just technical skills. Apart from learning the creative subjects, you need to learn alot of other subjects such as Law, Management, IP, philosophy... etc. You have the chance to learn alot of different things a little here and there, but it is up to your interest and what direction you want to go.
Good place to go if you want to be an Account executive, Creative Director, Management Team, Art director, Producer, of course you can also become more into technical person such as designer, illustrator, animator, art director & etc. Its a self learning place, so it depends on your own initiative. There are good & bad students produced from here. If you are good you will be good other otherwise. Last but not least, there are some below standard lectures.... so up to you.

3) TAR - They have just introduced the Multimedia course few years ago. I did see lately there are some good works from them. Many ppl went there study mainly because the fee is more reasonable. Not so good at presenting idea and come out with the entire concept / strategy.

4) LKW - Fashion show place for rich students (Just general perception, does not apply to all students), somehow when come to presentation skill at bring out their ideas / concept, i think they are not bad.

SUSwilsonjay
post Feb 18 2009, 07:12 PM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

may i know any graphic designer here have degree? locally or else where?
nickilala
post Feb 21 2009, 04:17 PM

elusion
594 posts

no better art academy.. is yourself..you must learn & learn to improve your creative mind. smile.gif
SUSwilsonjay
post Feb 21 2009, 04:23 PM

1,605 posts

i am learning myself now..=.=..its just that i wanna ask anybody did further their studies?
bluesky87
post Feb 22 2009, 12:23 AM

965 posts

Some say experience is more important in our industry and some vice versa. In the end of the day I think no harm for both just depends on which path you choose. For me it's pretty simple, got extra money then go ahead for higher education. Having financial problem then gain working experience instead.
mybiebie
post Feb 23 2009, 12:24 AM

1,419 posts

that's the spirit....
KeithCheeFB
post Feb 23 2009, 08:59 PM

373 posts

hi~ i am goin to be one of the TOA student~
i am doin the degree programme in advertising graphic+ illustration~
do i nid to get a good pc? and also a DSLR?? or the school have partners selling them at lower price~

btw~ any advice on this course???

thx~
SUSwilsonjay
post Feb 23 2009, 09:43 PM

1,605 posts

QUOTE(KeithCheeFB @ Feb 23 2009, 08:59 PM)
do i nid to get a good pc? and also a DSLR?? or the school have partners selling them at lower price~

thx~
yup...u should get a laptop(prefer) with a good gc for softwares like photoshop,etc...and dslr..u can try to borrow from the college...
bluesky87
post Feb 27 2009, 02:46 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(KeithCheeFB @ Feb 23 2009, 08:59 PM)

thx~
Actually all these question you should have ask your lecturer instead after you're into the program. What if you stop halfway or something? I would say if you really need it and affordable then go ahead if not then just use the facilities provided by college but it'll be quite a hassle though. About PC you don't need an extreme one as you'll mostly be using Photoshop and Illustrator only don't think will involve any video work therefore a standard one will do (around 2k). DSLR depending on your outline course also depending on how much interest you show in photography.
OKLY
post Feb 27 2009, 03:03 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(bluesky87 @ Feb 27 2009, 02:46 AM)
Actually all these question you should have ask your lecturer instead after you're into the program. What if you stop halfway or something? I would say if you really need it and affordable then go ahead if not then just use the facilities provided by college but it'll be quite a hassle though. About PC you don't need an extreme one as you'll mostly be using Photoshop and Illustrator only don't think will involve any video work therefore a standard one will do (around 2k). DSLR depending on your outline course also depending on how much interest you show in photography.
True that, if the computer is able to run the programs decently without lags then it is good enough. However, I would actually prefer a bigger monitor if you're going to work with these programs as it would be easier if you have more viewing space on your monitor. biggrin.gif
KeithCheeFB
post Feb 28 2009, 12:08 AM

373 posts

thxx~~ i cant reli wait to go to skul~ haha~

thxx for ur advice---

thxx

bluesky87
post Mar 2 2009, 03:54 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Feb 27 2009, 03:03 AM)
True that, if the computer is able to run the programs decently without lags then it is good enough. However, I would actually prefer a bigger monitor if you're going to work with these programs as it would be easier if you have more viewing space on your monitor. biggrin.gif
Haha true also almost forget about that but IMO people will go for at least 20 inch nowadays? IMO 19 inch is good enough but of course the bigger the better especially if the program you use require dual screen (After Effects). Cheers wink.gif
Dolldoll
post Mar 2 2009, 11:34 AM

63 posts

Hi, i just went to the Road Show in Penang yesterday. I am searching for a good suitable reasonable college/academy for art/design like you. I just want to share my story.

I got a huge headache while choosing one of the suitable college. Apparently, like you said ,i think TOA is too pricey but the weird thing is , i asked them yesterday , they said the whole diploma course only need like 50k++ for 3 years , as far as i heard, people said they usually need about 100k to complete the course , so i never want to go there since is so expensive but i don't know why they marketing assistant insisted only 50k++. (If its true , i might consider studying there) After all ,the 100k maybe included living expenses and all .BUT I NOT SURE.

LKW i won't think of it. Honestly, yesterday i have enquirer a few colleges like TOA ,Dasein, Pjcad , Alpha, Equator. I can't make up my mind yet cause there are lot of disadvantages and advantages for every college. But what's on my options NOW are Dasein and TOA. Other than that, i had been looking up on the internet for more colleges. I heard people said MIA is not bad. But cause i am not from KL , and my parents are busy on weekdays, i can't visit their campus yet. Visiting the campus is a MUST! Hopefully i can find a time to visit. smile.gif
After visiting, doing comparison, everything , i hope i can find one i want. ^^

P/S I heard Dasein marketing excustive said, they need us to have strong english speaking skills, so we can present our portfolio to the best. Portfolio is already a problem ( i scare i can't catch up) , speaking english even more problematic for me. I seriously need to improved ! So what i mean is , if Dasein need good speaking skills, TOA will be much more strict on this , right? GOSH!!
B-Mecha
post Mar 2 2009, 12:30 PM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(Dolldoll @ Mar 2 2009, 11:34 AM)
Hi, i just went to the Road Show in Penang yesterday. I am searching for a good suitable reasonable college/academy for art/design like you. I just want to share my story.

I got a huge headache while choosing one of the suitable college. Apparently, like you said ,i think TOA is too pricey but the weird thing is , i asked them yesterday , they said the whole diploma course only need like 50k++ for 3 years , as far as i heard, people said they usually need about 100k to complete the course , so i never want to go there since is so expensive but i don't know why they marketing assistant insisted only 50k++. (If its true , i might consider studying there) After all ,the 100k maybe included living expenses and all .BUT I NOT SURE.

LKW i won't think of it.  Honestly, yesterday i have enquirer a few colleges like TOA ,Dasein, Pjcad , Alpha, Equator. I can't make up my mind yet cause there are lot of disadvantages and advantages for every college. But what's on my options NOW are  Dasein and TOA. Other than that, i had been looking up on the internet for more colleges. I heard people said MIA is not bad. But cause i am not from KL , and my parents are busy on weekdays, i can't visit their campus yet. Visiting the campus is a MUST! Hopefully i can find a time to visit.  smile.gif
After visiting, doing comparison, everything , i hope i can find one i want. ^^
P/S I heard Dasein marketing excustive said,  they need us to have strong english speaking skills, so we can present our portfolio to the best. Portfolio is already a problem ( i scare i can't catch up) , speaking english even more problematic for me. I seriously need to improved ! So what i mean is , if Dasein need good speaking skills, TOA will be much more strict on this , right? GOSH!!
for most private uni / collage the study fee alone will be around 13-15k per year (equipment, exam fee, money spent for assignment are not included). living expenses is depend on the person's lifestyle, very hard to give u a proper figure. about english speaking skills, u can always train ur english during the 3 years study, try to mix around with some friendly english speaking friends and that will help a lot for your practice.
OKLY
post Mar 2 2009, 04:30 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(bluesky87 @ Mar 2 2009, 03:54 AM)
Haha true also almost forget about that but IMO people will go for at least 20 inch nowadays? IMO 19 inch is good enough but of course the bigger the better especially if the program you use require dual screen (After Effects). Cheers  wink.gif
Yes, 20" monitors are becoming a standard today especially those who work as designers. 20"-22" is somewhat recommended these days. smile.gif
bluesky87
post Mar 2 2009, 06:01 PM

965 posts

Go for dual monitor as for long term wise it is really advisable but please do more research before buying or you'll go wrong with both at once.
OKLY
post Mar 2 2009, 06:50 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(bluesky87 @ Mar 2 2009, 06:01 PM)
Go for dual monitor as for long term wise it is really advisable but please do more research before buying or you'll go wrong with both at once.
As for a student, I don't think the dual monitors is needed. Let's not get to far towards the professional designers, we're still talking about students here and it isn't practical for students to be getting dual monitors as they wouldn't be utilizing it. smile.gif
bluesky87
post Mar 2 2009, 09:20 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Mar 2 2009, 06:50 PM)
As for a student, I don't think the dual monitors is needed. Let's not get to far towards the professional designers, we're still talking about students here and it isn't practical for students to be getting dual monitors as they wouldn't be utilizing it. smile.gif
Ops sorry kind of taken away from the thread already but I guess there isn't any harm for future purpose but you've got your point bro nod.gif
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Mar 3 2009, 12:16 AM

66 posts

thank you guys for all ur advises..

actually ..

now i have narrowed down to a few colleges..

which are

pjcad, alpha, saito,or maybe dasein..

and i am really worried about the money u get as a designer..
gosh i think i hav a family to feed man ..
lol
i mean i should take care or my family when i have a job right?
if i can barely support myself how can i bring a little bread for my family ?
i cant really imagine get less than 2000 per month ..
=.=

OKLY
post Mar 3 2009, 12:43 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Mar 3 2009, 12:16 AM)
actually ..

which are

lol
i cant really imagine get less than  2000 per month ..
=.=
Designers especially fresh grads will have to work hard to climb higher. From what I see these days, designers who really wants to earn additional income as their pay might not be very high will do some freelancing work. smile.gif
Iron_Gurl
post Mar 4 2009, 08:58 PM

144 posts

tumpang thread.

I would like learn Designing, any short courses available ? any idea of any college at Selangor, KL area.

TQ
llmaelynn87
post Mar 4 2009, 11:49 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Dec 20 2008, 11:04 PM)

is it a good university?

thanks anyway
go for IACT , 100% recommended if you're into advertising. visit 95% for short course =)

Added on March 5, 2009, 12:22 amOne of my best friend studied at pjcard and she became the best graphic design student at her college and was awarded a trip to HK last year ( that revealed how good her work is base on pjcard standard). Now she's working already and her pay is about thousand three. So you guess lah the assignments standard. I'm not saying the college is no good, I'm just sharing my friend's testimonial with you guys

This post has been edited by llmaelynn87: Mar 5 2009, 12:22 AM
bluesky87
post Mar 5 2009, 08:58 AM

965 posts

actually ..

which are

lol
=.=
I am from Saito College actually smile.gif If you're really on budget wise then this would be a wise choice and they are definitely up to standard. The main reason why I choose Saito is the duration of study which is the shortest among all, 2 1/2 years. As a designer, you will kick off with a reasonable price, definitely not low unless you're just a cert designer not skillful or independent designer. As the time flies and if you're really good enough, money will come don't worry but even if you've got a stable job in normal design firm, don't worry again as you won't be fired or so and you'll have your monthly income without worries. The keyword is whether you want to work for it or not and please if you're looking forward to be a 9am~5pm designer, I think you need to reconsider being a designer sweat.gif

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Mar 3 2009, 12:43 PM)
Designers especially fresh grads will have to work hard to climb higher. From what I see these days, designers who really wants to earn additional income as their pay might not be very high will do some freelancing work. smile.gif
This is one of the alternative but again if you're really good enough, sometimes you don't even bother about freelancing tongue.gif
OKLY
post Mar 5 2009, 11:19 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(Iron_Gurl @ Mar 4 2009, 08:58 PM)
tumpang thread.

I would like learn Designing, any short courses available ? any idea of any college at Selangor, KL area.

TQ
So far I don't know where else will have short courses available except for IACT which offers a part-time professional course which will be done at night (7pm). You can enquire with them on this. smile.gif
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Mar 5 2009, 05:17 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(llmaelynn87 @ Mar 5 2009, 12:49 AM)
go for IACT , 100% recommended if you're into advertising. visit 95% for short course =)

Added on March 5, 2009, 12:22 amOne of my best friend studied at pjcard and she became the best graphic design student at her college and was awarded a trip to HK last year ( that revealed how good her work is base on pjcard standard). Now she's working already and her pay is about thousand three. So you guess lah the assignments standard. I'm not saying the college is no good, I'm just sharing my friend's testimonial with you guys
im sorry .. do u mean i should study graphic design in IACT or advertising course in IACT?
lol
sorry ..

so do u mean pjcad is not good?
lol
haha
but ur friend still got offered a trip to hk means she cant be that bad right?
right?

lol

Added on March 5, 2009, 5:21 pm
QUOTE(bluesky87 @ Mar 5 2009, 09:58 AM)
I am from Saito College actually  smile.gif  If you're really on budget wise then this would be a wise choice and they are definitely up to standard. The main reason why I choose Saito is the duration of study which is the shortest among all, 2 1/2 years. As a designer, you will kick off with a reasonable price, definitely not low unless you're just a cert designer not skillful or independent designer. As the time flies and if you're really good enough, money will come don't worry but even if you've got a stable job in normal design firm, don't worry again as you won't be fired or so and you'll have your monthly income without worries. The keyword is whether you want to work for it or not and please if you're looking forward to be a 9am~5pm designer, I think you need to reconsider being a designer  sweat.gif
This is one of the alternative but again if you're really good enough, sometimes you don't even bother about freelancing  tongue.gif
oh i see...
i think most of the courses from other college are also around 2 1/2 years...

so are u working now or still studying ?

This post has been edited by doubleu.why.ass: Mar 5 2009, 05:21 PM
bluesky87
post Mar 5 2009, 06:03 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Mar 5 2009, 05:17 PM)
oh i see...
i think most of the courses from other college are also around 2 1/2 years...

so are u working now or still studying ?
Actually not really. Well at least three years ago most of the design college will offer a total of 3 years duration in order to complete a diploma course. I am currently working for one year plus already.
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Mar 5 2009, 07:19 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(bluesky87 @ Mar 5 2009, 07:03 PM)
Actually not really. Well at least three years ago most of the design college will offer a total of 3 years duration in order to complete a diploma course. I am currently working for one year plus already.
oh i see..
do u mind if i ask u where you work or how much is ur monthly salary now?
its okay if u dun feel like answer me thou..
lol

well, my uncle told me that his company wll mostly hire students from TOA,MIA and Saito...

and saito offer a cheaper/cheapest course but im not sure abt the quality or whatever ..
blah.. im just very muchout of my mind right now ..
i see stars.... rclxub.gif
lol
B-Mecha
post Mar 5 2009, 09:55 PM

1,080 posts

actually ..

which are

lol
=.=
QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Mar 5 2009, 07:19 PM)
oh i see..
lol
well, my uncle told me that his company wll mostly hire students from TOA,MIA and Saito...

and saito offer a cheaper/cheapest course but im not sure abt the quality or whatever ..
lol
collage's reputation will help a bit, but the real strength of the designer still depend on the portfolio. even without a cert, with suitable portfolio i'm able to apply web designer job in singapore.

regarding salary, i started of as 1700+ as a fresh grad web designer and 2k+ after 2.5 years of working in internet marketing & advertising industry. with a same amount of hardwork... i would suggest to look for other job that can bring u much more money. even u r promoted to team leader / art director position, the no day no night no life working life will continue. personally i want to get rid of this lifestyle when i want to have family.

llmaelynn87
post Mar 5 2009, 10:48 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Mar 5 2009, 06:17 PM)
im sorry .. do u mean i should study graphic design in IACT or advertising course in IACT?
lol
sorry ..
lol
haha

gurl, you were saying you're interested in advertising, so I recommend you IACT & 95%

Added on March 5, 2009, 11:04 pm
QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Mar 5 2009, 06:17 PM)
lol
haha
right?

lol

I'm stressing on her pay (rm 1300) here. Her pay shows the standard of the course work at her college. You narrowed down your option to a few colleges..so I was just giving you my impression of pjcard since you're also wanting to take up graphic design right? good luck in your search for the right college =)

This post has been edited by llmaelynn87: Mar 5 2009, 11:08 PM
OKLY
post Mar 6 2009, 12:32 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Mar 5 2009, 05:17 PM)
lol
sorry ..
lol
haha
right?

lol
Well, the graphic design course in IACT usually will be delayed because the amount of students taking this course here are only a few so they wouldn't start the class.
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Mar 6 2009, 09:39 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Mar 5 2009, 10:55 PM)
collage's reputation will help a bit, but the real strength of the designer still depend on the portfolio. even without a cert, with suitable portfolio i'm able to apply web designer job in singapore.

regarding salary, i started of as 1700+ as a fresh grad web designer and 2k+ after 2.5 years of working in internet marketing & advertising industry. with a same amount of hardwork... i would suggest to look for other job that can bring u much more money. even u r promoted to team leader / art director position, the no day no night no life working life will continue. personally i want to get rid of this lifestyle when i want to have family.
oh i see..
thanks for ur info..

well what are the jobs that can bring me more money ?

do u learn about web designing when u study college? i tot u studied graphic design ..
lol

well , one more thing..

Is it wiser to take multimedia design than graphic design cos multimedia design is like .. ermm how to say..
more room for ppl/improvement or demanding in the future market?
lol
i dunoe what im saying ..
forgive my english ..
lol

Added on March 6, 2009, 9:45 pm
QUOTE(llmaelynn87 @ Mar 5 2009, 11:48 PM)
gurl, you were saying you're interested in advertising, so I recommend you IACT & 95%

Added on March 5, 2009, 11:04 pm

I'm stressing on her pay (rm 1300) here. Her pay shows the standard of the course work at her college. You narrowed down your option to a few colleges..so I was just giving you my impression of pjcard since you're also wanting to take up graphic design right? good luck in your search for the right college =)
oh.. i want to study graphic design so maybe i can get a change to do something about advertising mah ..
haha

is there a college called 95%?
lol
where is it?

thanks.. then maybe pjcad not that good?
lol
shh.. no students from pjcad here right?
lol

This post has been edited by doubleu.why.ass: Mar 6 2009, 09:45 PM
B-Mecha
post Mar 6 2009, 10:05 PM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Mar 6 2009, 09:39 PM)
oh i see..
thanks for ur info..

do u learn about web designing when u study college? i tot u studied graphic design ..
lol
well , one more thing..

Is it wiser to take multimedia design than graphic design cos multimedia design is like .. ermm how to say..
lol
i dunoe what im saying ..
forgive my english ..
lol
dont worry, neither my english is good blush.gif. i graduated from multimedia university (major in digital media). during my uni time, i learnt how to develop flash interactive application, web design and other multimedia related like basic video & sound editing, photography and basic 3D. currently a web designer. tongue.gif

be honest collage wont teach u much on technical skills, i learn most of my design and technical skill during my working life (from colleagues and tutorial). being in collage is for you to learn how implementing creativity and function into the design process. a great lecturer should be able to give u a good insight of the latest industry practice/demand and guide ur learning process.

IMO graphic design is the basic for any visual design regardless of working as web designer, graphic designer, multimedia designer... but without a specialize skill in certain area there is a huge constraint for your career option. web design and multimedia design require more technical understand in their area and come along with better income and career development. internet is a fast growing platform while print design is the foundation of advertising & mass media. i would like to advise u to focus on at least one specialize skill other than graphic design alone, web design gives u better understanding of the promotion mechanism and the skill helps if u want to freelance.
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Mar 7 2009, 12:43 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Mar 6 2009, 11:05 PM)
dont worry, neither my english is good  blush.gif. i graduated from multimedia university (major in digital media). during my uni time, i learnt how to develop flash interactive application, web design and other multimedia related like basic video & sound editing, photography and basic 3D. currently a web designer.  tongue.gif

be honest collage wont teach u much on technical skills, i learn most of my design and technical skill during my working life (from colleagues and tutorial). being in collage is for you to learn how implementing creativity and function into the design process. a great lecturer should be able to give u a good insight of the latest industry practice/demand and guide ur learning process.

IMO graphic design is the basic for any visual design regardless of working as web designer, graphic designer, multimedia designer... but without a specialize skill in certain area there is a huge constraint for your career option. web design and multimedia design require more technical understand in their area and come along with better income and career development. internet is a fast growing platform while print design is the foundation of advertising & mass media. i would like to advise u to focus on at least one specialize skill other than graphic design alone, web design gives u better understanding of the promotion mechanism and the skill helps if u want to freelance.
thanks again for ur advises..
i appreciate them .

that really helps me to determine which one i should opt to. .
maybe id change my mind to multimedia design after so long i tot i should take graphic design ..
but the truth is i know nothing about multimedia design .
is it ok if i still go for it ?

B-Mecha
post Mar 8 2009, 01:26 AM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Mar 7 2009, 12:43 AM)
i appreciate them .
maybe id change my mind to multimedia design after so long i tot i should take graphic design ..
it is normal if u don't understand what happen for the multimedia production. if possible do some research on the production itself. go to google and search for some tutorial like "design a movie poster with photoshop" or "draw a car with adobe illustrator", give a few try and test your interest. most likely u will be doing the similar things for another 10 years but with advance techniques. if you feel it is pretty interested and hope to do better in it, welcome to the design world smile.gif. else u might need to reconsider about taking up design course, it will be extreme torture if you dont like it where this field require constant update & building up new skill set (internet and technology grow very fast), a lot of effort to design the work and a lot of stress during the production.
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Mar 8 2009, 10:52 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Mar 8 2009, 02:26 AM)
it is normal if u don't understand what happen for the multimedia production. if possible do some research on the production itself. go to google and search for some tutorial like "design a movie poster with photoshop" or "draw a car with adobe illustrator", give a few try and test your interest. most likely u will be doing the similar things for another 10 years but with advance techniques. if you feel it is pretty interested and hope to do better in it, welcome to the design world smile.gif. else u might need to reconsider about taking up design course, it will be extreme torture if you dont like it where this field require constant update & building up new skill set (internet and technology grow very fast), a lot of effort to design the work and a lot of stress during the production.
ok, i will try ..
so can u tell me are u happy with ur job now?
lol
with the not very high pay and heavy workload, do u get satisfaction from ur work ? or just stress and tireness? lol
im not asking in a rude way thou..
lol

B-Mecha
post Mar 9 2009, 10:07 AM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Mar 8 2009, 10:52 PM)
ok, i will try ..
so can u tell me are u happy with ur job now?
lol
with the not very high pay and heavy workload, do u get satisfaction from ur work ? or just stress and tireness? lol
im not asking in a rude way thou..
lol
since this is off topic, i PMed you my reply.
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Mar 9 2009, 01:47 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Mar 9 2009, 11:07 AM)
since this is off topic, i PMed you my reply.
ok thanks alot
wink.gif
zeist
post Mar 9 2009, 02:06 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

I think we already have this the 123123123123123123th topic, discussing the same thing.
bluesky87
post Mar 11 2009, 04:38 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Mar 5 2009, 07:19 PM)
oh i see..
lol

lol
I am currently working in a Post Production house at Damansara Perdana. My current salary is 2k+. Don't judge from what your uncle say. IMO that is one of the biggest mistake if people judge a designer from their place of study. I guess I don't need to elaborate any further in this point as B-Mecha had already explain it clearly. Even the quality of the college cannot be fully judge from what people said. To me it's more to luck. Imagine if you're a good student but you're studying in a bad college, that wouldn't made you a bad student. Vice versa. Mind my language please.

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Mar 6 2009, 09:39 PM)

Added on March 6, 2009, 9:45 pm
oh.. i want to study graphic design so maybe i can get a change to do something about advertising mah ..
There is no such thing as what are the jobs that can bring more money. Every job in every sector could bring you money if you work for it. It depends on how hard you try. There isn't any shortcut or easy way my friend.

IMO multimedia design will have a brighter future as everything is about technology and digital now. Designer no longer using traditional way and it is very important for a designer to cope up with the latest technology to come up with a nice design in the fastest way as your client doesn't even bother the method of process you used but the end product. If it is still difficult for you to decide, take it this way instead. Graphic Design is manual (drawing, painting, etc.) while Multimedia Design is digital (computer, softwares, etc.)

The advertising market is big. Which sector are you talking about or you're looking forward to work with in the future? Both Graphic Design and Multimedia Design will lead a bright path for advertising line.

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Mar 6 2009, 10:05 PM)
dont worry, neither my english is good  blush.gif. i graduated from multimedia university (major in digital media). during my uni time, i learnt how to develop flash interactive application, web design and other multimedia related like basic video & sound editing, photography and basic 3D. currently a web designer.  tongue.gif

Very well said notworthy.gif I suggest you should bring doubleu.why.ass for a TT instead as she is very curious and shows a great interest in design sweat.gif

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Mar 7 2009, 12:43 AM)
i appreciate them .
You should go for it if you felt like it. For me it's simple. Let me explain how I started. I did not know a single thing about design at all upon graduating from high school but I choose design because I know I am good at it often score A's for my Pendidikan Seni tongue.gif To keep it simple I'll put it in three category. Interior Design, Graphic Design and Multimedia Design. Personally I would love to choose Interior Design but after doing some research I realize that you'll need to invest quite a fair amount of money in the future for the equipment and you'll be doing a lot of drawings and building model. Not for me doh.gif In Graphic Design I'll need to do a lot of manual drawings and paintings and you'll need to be really good in it and talented in order to cope with the other. Among the three I am most comfortable with Multimedia Design since I am a little computer literated that time and it really sounds simple and easy if you're really interested with digital stuff like software and hardware therefore I choose Multimedia Design and I had never ever regretted.

Along the period of study, I really see the student of Interior Design suffer from measuring to get the exact measurement for their line drawings and it's really killing those guys to build those tiny little model. As for Graphic Design I never missed seeing them holding their art block wandering around and everyday is about drawing and sketching and painting for them. In the end of semester they get to learn Photography though which is a good thing but you'll then need to invest on DSLR. As for me I am always wandering around in the college looking very free with empty hand. Looking very free because I can only work with computer and whenever I am in front of a computer I'll mostly browse while doing assignment therefore creating an assumption that I am very free. Empty hand is because all I need is thumb drives, hard drives and CDs. Although it sounds cool but all these three category will also suffer from staying overnight and burning midnight oil and to Multimedia Design especially.
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Mar 17 2009, 01:00 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(bluesky87 @ Mar 11 2009, 05:38 AM)
I am currently working in a Post Production house at Damansara Perdana. My current salary is 2k+. Don't judge from what your uncle say. IMO that is one of the biggest mistake if people judge a designer from their place of study. I guess I don't need to elaborate any further in this point as B-Mecha had already explain it clearly. Even the quality of the college cannot be fully judge from what people said. To me it's more to luck. Imagine if you're a good student but you're studying in a bad college, that wouldn't made you a bad student. Vice versa. Mind my language please.
There is no such thing as what are the jobs that can bring more money. Every job in every sector could bring you money if you work for it. It depends on how hard you try. There isn't any shortcut or easy way my friend.

IMO multimedia design will have a brighter future as everything is about technology and digital now. Designer no longer using traditional way and it is very important for a designer to cope up with the latest technology to come up with a nice design in the fastest way as your client doesn't even bother the method of process you used but the end product. If it is still difficult for you to decide, take it this way instead. Graphic Design is manual (drawing, painting, etc.) while Multimedia Design is digital (computer, softwares, etc.)

The advertising market is big. Which sector are you talking about or you're looking forward to work with in the future? Both Graphic Design and Multimedia Design will lead a bright path for advertising line.
Very well said  notworthy.gif  I suggest you should bring doubleu.why.ass for a TT instead as she is very curious and shows a great interest in design  sweat.gif
You should go for it if you felt like it. For me it's simple. Let me explain how I started. I did not know a single thing about design at all upon graduating from high school but I choose design because I know I am good at it often score A's for my Pendidikan Seni  tongue.gif  To keep it simple I'll put it in three category. Interior Design, Graphic Design and Multimedia Design. Personally I would love to choose Interior Design but after doing some research I realize that you'll need to invest quite a fair amount of money in the future for the equipment and you'll be doing a lot of drawings and building model. Not for me  doh.gif  In Graphic Design I'll need to do a lot of manual drawings and paintings and you'll need to be really good in it and talented in order to cope with the other. Among the three I am most comfortable with Multimedia Design since I am a little computer literated that time and it really sounds simple and easy if you're really interested with digital stuff like software and hardware therefore I choose Multimedia Design and I had never ever regretted.

Along the period of study, I really see the student of Interior Design suffer from measuring to get the exact measurement for their line drawings and it's really killing those guys to build those tiny little model. As for Graphic Design I never missed seeing them holding their art block wandering around and everyday is about drawing and sketching and painting for them. In the end of semester they get to learn Photography though which is a good thing but you'll then need to invest on DSLR. As for me I am always wandering around in the college looking very free with empty hand. Looking very free because I can only work with computer and whenever I am in front of a computer I'll mostly browse while doing assignment therefore creating an assumption that I am very free. Empty hand is because all I need is thumb drives, hard drives and CDs. Although it sounds cool but all these three category will also suffer from staying overnight and burning midnight oil and to Multimedia Design especially.
ok.. so i think im taking multimedia design .
but not sure where to. .
maybe MMU?
cos most of the ppl said MMU is very good.
but does MMU offer diploma for multimedia?
i went to their website but i cant really find the information.
or should i go to IACT but IACT is more noted for their advertising is it correct?
any other college/university for multimedia design ?

Kuroda Asuka
post Mar 17 2009, 01:54 PM

56 posts

im planning to take design too. but.....same with bluesky87, im interested in interior design n graphic. but my case is more worst...im interested too in industry design , illustration , animation n fashion. Haha tongue.gif

so any of u guys know where i can take foundation in art n design?

among the courses above, which course can earn more?
LeechFever
post Mar 17 2009, 02:08 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(Kuroda Asuka @ Mar 17 2009, 01:54 PM)
im planning to take design too. but.....same with bluesky87, im interested in interior design n graphic. but my case is more worst...im interested too in industry design , illustration , animation n fashion. Haha tongue.gif

Depends on where u want to go, live and skill. If u r talented (both artistically and business sense) then getting a good job aint hard and u can get rich. In Malaysia, best to go for industrial design (fixed salary). Or if u more into general design like animation, concept art, either local (if there's demand) or outsource to other countries like those that manufacture games and such (but this kind of work mainly involve a lot of networking to get infos and clients).
bluesky87
post Mar 18 2009, 01:42 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Mar 17 2009, 01:00 AM)
ok.. so i think im taking multimedia design .
but not sure where to. .
maybe MMU?
cos most of the ppl said MMU is very good.
but does MMU offer diploma for multimedia?
i went to their website but i cant really find the information.
or should i go to IACT but IACT is more noted for their advertising is it correct?
any other college/university for multimedia design ?
MMU is the largest in Malaysia of course. Actually to me it is quite subjective as for multimedia design you can choose to help yourself learning from online resources and there are plenty of tutorial available on each and every software. The basic thing that you need that you'll need to learn from institute is the rule or design and design sense basically the foundation of design. So it really depends on your budget, living area and preferences in choosing the right institute.

QUOTE(Kuroda Asuka @ Mar 17 2009, 01:54 PM)

It's a good thing to be curious and wanting to learn each and every thing. That is what you can learn in multimedia design but only in digital field. The rest of other field will be slightly difficult depending on how hardworking you are. I suggest you to make up your mind and focus on one because that is what you'll have to do in the end of the day too you can't just run around the field like that. There will be foundation for any course you take before getting into the real thing. Like I mentioned from the post above, earning how much depends on individual this question is very subjective.
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Mar 20 2009, 12:57 AM

66 posts

hi guys.
can i ask one more question?

im planning to go for multimedia design in either TARC or IACT .

which one do u guys recommend?

B-Mecha
post Mar 20 2009, 10:55 AM

1,080 posts

i heard from my friend TARC's lecturers and facilities are very bad. not sure about IACT. personally i won't go for TARC.
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Mar 20 2009, 11:57 PM

66 posts

really?
i went there today.
they look decent also ..

they have 3 labs with mac computers.
the students art works are ok not too bad too..

im not sure..
dont scare me
lol

Added on March 22, 2009, 2:20 pm
QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Mar 20 2009, 11:55 AM)
i heard from my friend TARC's lecturers and facilities are very bad. not sure about IACT. personally i won't go for TARC.
which campus ur friend went?
i visited the kl main campus

This post has been edited by doubleu.why.ass: Mar 22 2009, 02:20 PM
wendywong
post Mar 24 2009, 01:56 AM

17 posts

most of the academy or university recommended need a SPM cert (at least 3 credit or passed in BM)

However, my fren's SPM result not so good, cant get the cert..

any recommendation for graphic design?

i had saw the advertisement about adcom digital hub..
anybody study there? can give some comments?
R4yMoNd
post Mar 25 2009, 02:49 AM

1,139 posts

The One academy quite good but only diploma
yong1990
post Mar 25 2009, 11:51 AM

89 posts

I think SAITO is ok, they offer internship too. smile.gif

here's a rough course outline..

Computer Graphic Design
History of Art & Design
Visual Communication
Basic Drawing
Illustration
Typography
Advertising
Publication Design
Entrepreneurship
Advertising & Marketing
Packagin
Photography
BM
Advertising Design
PEngajian Malaysia
Internship
Moral/P.Islam
Basic Animation
Dreamweaver
Digital ANimation

wendywong
post Mar 25 2009, 06:44 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(yong1990 @ Mar 25 2009, 11:51 AM)

Computer Graphic Design
History of Art & Design
Visual Communication
Basic Drawing
Illustration
Typography
Advertising
Publication Design
Entrepreneurship
Advertising & Marketing
Packagin
Photography
BM
Advertising Design
PEngajian Malaysia
Internship
Moral/P.Islam
Basic Animation
Dreamweaver
Digital ANimation
u study there before?
their cert will be useful in future?

how was their teaching? is more on practical or theory?

kareep
post Mar 26 2009, 11:21 AM

23 posts

The most important is your own atitude... not a college school. I'm designer too, studying not famous college.

Be a designer really need hardworking, after graduated, salary designer almost same like normal clerk but work is more than normal people, such as if you successful get in Advertising Firm, sometime really need to work until mid nite or even stay overnight.

The salary designer is depend of your design skill & experience.

For my own opinion, better choose small design firm, more change to work varieties of job & more change to learn the skill such as output, FA, design....

By the way good luck for you!

Hope my own experience can share with you!
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Mar 26 2009, 03:33 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(yong1990 @ Mar 25 2009, 12:51 PM)

Computer Graphic Design
History of Art & Design
Visual Communication
Basic Drawing
Illustration
Typography
Advertising
Publication Design
Entrepreneurship
Advertising & Marketing
Packagin
Photography
BM
Advertising Design
PEngajian Malaysia
Internship
Moral/P.Islam
Basic Animation
Dreamweaver
Digital ANimation
i was thinking abt SAITO too but i saw their showcase on their website..
i have to say it wasnt too impressive..
sorry to say that.

my worst fear is that i cant do well..

Added on March 26, 2009, 3:36 pm
QUOTE(kareep @ Mar 26 2009, 12:21 PM)
The most important is your own atitude... not a college school. I'm designer too, studying not famous college.

Be a designer really need hardworking, after graduated, salary designer almost same like normal clerk but work is more than normal people, such as if you successful get in Advertising Firm, sometime really need to work until mid nite or even stay overnight.

For my own opinion, better choose small design firm, more change to work varieties of job & more change to learn the skill such as output, FA, design....

thanks to all..
=]

things that i concern most is how the lecturer teaches.
i dun really care if the school is famous or not as long as they produce good students. .
im also aware that i need to be hardworking but when they show us the work of the students in their college and the course fee is also expensive then im really scared that i will make the wrong choice.

thanks again to u. .

Added on March 26, 2009, 3:40 pmone more thing. .
if i study multimedia design what are the chances that i can get a job in an advertising agency?

if compared to graphic design ?
or i should study advertising .. ?

This post has been edited by doubleu.why.ass: Mar 26 2009, 03:40 PM
B-Mecha
post Mar 26 2009, 05:34 PM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Mar 26 2009, 03:33 PM)
if i study multimedia design what are the chances that i can get a job in an advertising agency?

if compared to graphic design ?
or i should study advertising .. ?
it depends on the agency & the position u apply for. as i mentioned before, i dont see any problem for multimedia designer to join advertising industry, in fact the chances is higher. multimedia designer have more advantages over graphic designer if both designers have same level of art sense & experience. why dont pick the one who have better skill set?

FYI, multimedia designer are required to do graphic design. but instead of graphic only we also handle the technical execution part (example: simple web coding, flash animation, video editing). other than that u might learn about user interface and interactivity also.

if u choose to learn advertising, most likely u will involve in marketing + media knowledge where u learn a bit of marketing and design. if ur idea is to manage the projects and talk to client, ur focus should be "marketing & advertising". but if u r looking in to design creative art works, "design" is the correct path.

btw, if u want to have good income and spend ur time with family, advertising is not a place for u... i believe most of the designers will agree with this idea.

This post has been edited by B-Mecha: Mar 26 2009, 05:41 PM
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Mar 30 2009, 08:10 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Mar 26 2009, 06:34 PM)
it depends on the agency & the position u apply for. as i mentioned before, i dont see any problem for multimedia designer to join advertising industry, in fact the chances is higher. multimedia designer have more advantages over graphic designer if both designers have same level of art sense & experience. why dont pick the one who have better skill set?

FYI, multimedia designer are required to do graphic design. but instead of graphic only we also handle the technical execution part (example: simple web coding, flash animation, video editing). other than that u might learn about user interface and interactivity also.

if u choose to learn advertising, most likely u will involve in marketing + media knowledge where u learn a bit of marketing and design. if ur idea is to manage the projects and talk to client, ur focus should be "marketing & advertising". but if u r looking in to design creative art works, "design" is the correct path.

btw, if u want to have good income and spend ur time with family, advertising is not a place for u... i believe most of the designers will agree with this idea.
oh thanks a lot..

to be honest i doubt i am capable of creating great designs. .

thanks again ..
i will prepare myself ..
lol

kyLL
post Mar 30 2009, 09:18 PM

-=-
1,638 posts

dont doubt ureself! got to always be positive and confident. (:

i guess everyone explained alot of things to you already. and im quite sure a few of them have also told u that the cert isnt very important. whats important is the work you produce while ure studying. your portfolio. thats whats more important.

even if you're not too good at art, as long as u have a decent eye for nice stuff, and have great ideas, you can aim for a art director position or creative director.

to tell u the truth. right now im working as a designer for a small company. and i've never attended any art school. d: same goes for my boss. haha. sometimes its all about passion and the willingness to learn.

bmecha is right. the hours can be very long. but in the end, if u enjoy what you're doing.. it doesnt really matter. (:

but be prepared to put your work before ure loved ones sometimes.. most of us work long days and also during weekends. see our family for an hour a day. your house becomes like a hotel. all u do is shower n sleep. hahah... but eventually you get used to it. and sometimes during offpeak (lol) periods u get some extra time for ureself. ok. i think ive rambled enough. just my 2c's yea. (:
B-Mecha
post Mar 30 2009, 11:49 PM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Mar 30 2009, 08:10 PM)
oh thanks a lot..

to be honest i doubt i am capable of creating great designs. .
thanks again ..
i will prepare myself ..
lol
dont worry about that, not everyone know how to design when they enter the course, that's why u go there to learn! design and drawing is 2 different skills. drawing skills is a must for illustrator but not for others. each position have their own focus so dont worry about being lost or feeling incapable. be open and explore what are the things that u like during ur foundation / 1st year and start to build ur own skill from there.
bluesky87
post Mar 31 2009, 02:17 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(wendywong @ Mar 25 2009, 06:44 PM)
u study there before?
their cert will be useful in future?

how was their teaching? is more on practical or theory?
What do you mean by 'their cert'? For me, cert is nothing more than a piece of paper. As a designer, talent and passion besides knowledge and skill is the most important thing. Saito is more on practical.

QUOTE(kareep @ Mar 26 2009, 11:21 AM)

Well said. Exactly what is happening on every advertising designer included me myself sweat.gif
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Mar 31 2009, 11:39 AM

66 posts

wow ..

thank you all..
all ur advises helped me alot..

i cant even say how much i appreciate them..

haha ..
hope i can do well ..

thanks again =]
bluesky87
post Mar 31 2009, 11:04 PM

965 posts

Good luck and all the best doubleu.why.ass wink.gif

Keep us updated with what you're doing as well.
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Apr 1 2009, 09:41 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(bluesky87 @ Apr 1 2009, 12:04 AM)
Good luck and all the best doubleu.why.ass  wink.gif

Keep us updated with what you're doing as well.
oh thanks..
im gonna see whether i will be accepted to tarc or not..
if i get accepted then i will go.. (maybe a lil bit reluctantly,lol)
and see how it goes there..after all it still comes down to me whether i can become a good designer or not no matter which college i go to ..
i guess all colleges teach more or less the same things.. i just gotta be extra hardworking..
if tarc really not up to standard than maybe i will have to confront my parents abt it..
borrow a loan to study in another college or something..
i guess i still have time.
even if it doesnt work out in tarc or the whole multimedia/graphic design thing then its alright..
i wont say those 2 and 1/2 years are gone to waste, they are still what i learnt. still mine right,, '

no guarantee even if i study design i will end up becoming a designer. who knows i might end up working in a bank?
lol
just saying..
=]
B-Mecha
post Apr 1 2009, 11:08 PM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Apr 1 2009, 09:41 PM)
oh thanks..
and see how it goes there..after all it still comes down to me whether i can become a good designer or not no matter which college i go to ..
i guess all colleges teach more or less the same things.. i just gotta be extra hardworking..
if tarc really not up to standard than maybe i will have to confront my parents abt it..
even if it doesnt work out in tarc or the whole multimedia/graphic design thing then its alright..
i wont say those 2 and 1/2 years are gone to waste, they are still what i learnt. still mine right,, '

no guarantee even if i  study design i will end up becoming a designer. who knows i might end up working in a bank?
lol
just saying..
=]
glad that u have that insight, actually if u r having financial problem, u work first then self learn design at night time. technical skills is not hard to pick up, with collage or not doesnt make much different. the only big obstacle in self learning is how develop the art sense + ur technical skills and sell it to client. i believe a lot of LYN forumers are willing to give some comment / some guidance of how to self learn design related skills.

actually there are more design student end up working in other field than ever thought of (i suspect 50%). i have friends that went to banking, insurance, sales, marketing, pilot (yes he is working in mas), financial adviser, finance admin.... in some ways it might be a better route where hard work will bring much reasonable income than being a designer where usually dont get overtime pay.
bluesky87
post Apr 2 2009, 07:47 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Apr 1 2009, 09:41 PM)
oh thanks..

no guarantee even if i  study design i will end up becoming a designer. who knows i might end up working in a bank?
lol
just saying..
=]
It's really a good thing that you have a positive thinking and looking forward for obstacle. Just one comment IMO you should try your best to make a wise decision to choose the right college of your choice and to finish the whole course no matter what. From what I see, many design student only manage to last a few semester and leave after that which I think it is not 100% cause by the quality of the college. If you have the money then it is not my concern but if not then better not to waste your parent's hard earned money.
mrs.chokie
post Apr 3 2009, 08:31 PM

why don't u try Lim Kok Wing University....

http://www.limkokwing.net/malaysia/
Cloudsea
post Apr 3 2009, 08:44 PM

48 posts

The One(Multimedia and digital animation recomemded.), But cost a bit~~
U can also choose dasign(illustration recomemded.)
Personal share.

This post has been edited by Cloudsea: Apr 3 2009, 08:46 PM
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Apr 7 2009, 02:45 PM

66 posts

[quote=bluesky87,Apr 2 2009, 08:47 PM]It's really a good thing that you have a positive thinking and looking forward for obstacle. Just one comment IMO you should try your best to make a wise decision to choose the right college of your choice and to finish the whole course no matter what. From what I see, many design student only manage to last a few semester and leave after that which I think it is not 100% cause by the quality of the college. If you have the money then it is not my concern but if not then better not to waste your parent's hard earned money.

[/quote]

thank you
=]

i dont want to waste my parents money thats a sure thing ..
so its better for me to not go to expensive college. . tarc might not be the best choice but their diploma is just around 8k for 2 n 1/2 years. (but without industrial attachment =( )
if i find multimedia design is not for me .. i can change course in tarc ..
but hopefully i wont ..
=]

thanks for ur concern ..
i deeply appreciate..

Added on April 7, 2009, 2:50 pm[quote=Cloudsea,Apr 3 2009, 09:44 PM]
The One(Multimedia and digital animation recomemded.), But cost a bit~~
U can also choose dasign(illustration recomemded.)
Personal share.

[/quote]

[/QUOTE]why don't u try Lim Kok Wing University....

http://www.limkokwing.net/malaysia/[QUOTE]

thanks for the advise but ive already got accepted to tarc ..
the one and lim kok wing for me are too expensive..
but stlll, thanks again

This post has been edited by doubleu.why.ass: Apr 7 2009, 02:50 PM
SUSCelestialChaos
post Apr 8 2009, 10:22 AM

123 posts

hey. share ur experience in tarc if u start tau lol.
post more artworks in LYN.
i wanna c tarc's artworks.

hehe^^
rubbermilk
post Apr 8 2009, 11:25 AM

388 posts

Go toa take multimedia design. multimedians doesnt have to be all multimedians , we do graphic design too ! tongue.gif
spitfire111
post Apr 8 2009, 05:58 PM

295 posts

well, there are Multimedia University, The One Academy, and LimkokWing...

got MMU and TOA thread here...

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry24844015

Hope this is helpful smile.gif

This post has been edited by spitfire111: Apr 8 2009, 05:58 PM
TSdoubleu.why.ass
post Apr 10 2009, 05:14 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Apr 2 2009, 12:08 AM)
glad that u have that insight, actually if u r having financial problem, u work first then self learn design at night time. technical skills is not hard to pick up, with collage or not doesnt make much different. the only big obstacle in self learning is how develop the art sense + ur technical skills and sell it to client. i believe a lot of LYN forumers are willing to give some comment / some guidance of how to self learn design related skills.

actually there are more design student end up working in other field than ever thought of (i suspect 50%). i have friends that went to banking, insurance, sales, marketing, pilot (yes he is working in mas), financial adviser, finance admin.... in some ways it might be a better route where hard work will bring much reasonable income than being a designer where usually dont get overtime pay.
oh .. sorry i forgot to reply .. i guess i must have missed it.. haha

finance is definitely a problem .. i just dont feel safe that plunging into a course that im not 101% sure im interested in multimedia design .. and the average salary for a designer is not that much ..so id have a hard time lo pay back the loan and all .. dont want to waste my parents money .. i dont have the privilledge of a rich kid born with a gold spoon..(lol, sour tone)
joking.

wow, pilot eh ? not bad,,, haha
but did he go back to study aircraft ?
not many female pilot in malaysia... haha

heard something about multimedia design at tarc .. really gave me another terror..
terrified that i might be making a terrible mistake.. haha

Added on April 10, 2009, 5:18 pm
QUOTE(CelestialChaos @ Apr 8 2009, 11:22 AM)
hey. share ur experience in tarc if u start tau lol.
post more artworks in LYN.
i wanna c tarc's artworks.

hehe^^
i'll try my best ..
dont get ur hopes up

lol

This post has been edited by doubleu.why.ass: Apr 10 2009, 05:18 PM
Gmruleme
post Nov 7 2011, 06:19 PM

Art Enthusiast
1,468 posts

QUOTE(momochi zabuza @ Jan 3 2009, 10:58 AM)
thrown away from the fifth floor
stomped on the lectures feet
torn
zrasss.. they torn your precious artwork. if you've did better, but your photo aren't that beautiful...
if this happens to me,

the lecturer will be thrown out from the fifth floor. biggrin.gif

whistling.gif just sayinz LOL
SUSAxeFire
post Apr 6 2013, 04:38 PM

368 posts

One Adademy seems to have good reputation. Just been to their open day

This post has been edited by AxeFire: Apr 6 2013, 04:40 PM
heinlein
post Apr 6 2013, 07:36 PM

1,794 posts

QUOTE(doubleu.why.ass @ Dec 20 2008, 08:13 PM)
hey there,

im  been to some edu fairs and college , im thinking Sunway College University, which provide graphic n multimedia design , i think its quite good cos it combine both graphic n multimedia in one course unlike other institutes which separate them as two individual courses.. so i think its quite good since computer stuff is quite important nowadays..

i was thinking abt Taylors too, and also Raffles in Msia,  and PJCAD..

I hv seen raffles college students work near klcc there. Their work are very consistent and impressive
Gmruleme
post Apr 6 2013, 09:01 PM

Art Enthusiast
1,468 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Apr 6 2013, 08:36 PM)
I hv seen raffles college students work near klcc there. Their work are very consistent and impressive
it's a bit late to post up this reply eh? laugh.gif
I guess TS is working now ady

thanks for bumping up anyway, i can get some infos from this thread haha .. like traveling back in time biggrin.gif
heinlein
post Apr 6 2013, 09:05 PM

1,794 posts

QUOTE(Gmruleme @ Apr 6 2013, 09:01 PM)
it's a bit late to post up this reply eh?  laugh.gif
I guess TS is working now ady

thanks for bumping up anyway, i can get some infos from this thread haha .. like traveling back in time  biggrin.gif
ish... i tot is new tered, who bump it anyway? vmad.gif

This post has been edited by heinlein: Apr 6 2013, 09:05 PM
inachi
post Apr 6 2013, 09:52 PM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Apr 6 2013, 09:05 PM)
ish... i tot is new tered, who bump it anyway?  vmad.gif
haha..AxeFire.

its a 5 years ago thread wow
Gmruleme
post Apr 6 2013, 11:52 PM

Art Enthusiast
1,468 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Apr 6 2013, 10:52 PM)
haha..AxeFire.

its a 5 years ago thread wow
smile.gif yaa hope TS is currently working7 in creative industry now..

This post has been edited by Gmruleme: Apr 6 2013, 11:52 PM

0.0762sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:16 AM