125 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

FOREX Corner v 5.0, FAQ|Technique Sharing|News|Broker

AdamG1981
post Feb 23 2009, 05:53 PM

4,030 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Feb 22 2009, 10:44 PM)
lol, I know a lot of people who treat demo like playing games. but after reading alot of books on forex like Mark DOuglas, John Carter, John Murphy, Dr. k Tharp, Kathy Lien, and Steve Nison which all within this month (I'm a STPM grad with nothing to do 24/7) I have good grasp.

I treated demo like my own with only risking 1% of the 3k demo money. The only thing I lack here is experience. Is it really tough doing trading? After a month on demo, the I only got 3 profit with almost 15+ losses. It really suck.
Of course, forex is very dependent on daily news, any news that involved any central banks, any government plans will change the market sentiment. It's a fast game.

sephiaric
post Feb 23 2009, 06:01 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Feb 23 2009, 05:15 PM)
What you guys think of this http://www.powerupcapital.com/ ? Who is this Kishore M?
This guy Kishore M have a lot of advertisement in The Sun and TheStar newspaper. Previously he was advertising Options Trading, recently all his ads are for Forex Coaching. I think his company is based in singapore.

Do a google on Kishore M, there is a lot of negative feedback from victims that have signed up for his coaching. Better try other forex guru or gamble it yourself hehehe.

This post has been edited by sephiaric: Feb 23 2009, 06:02 PM
kelvin_tan
post Feb 23 2009, 06:47 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

Nah you dont need to master stocks before you jump into forex. I didnt touch stocks and I entered forex directly.

There are conditions involved though.
They are :
Take Adam as your sifu smile.gif
Do constant reading on fundamentals and understand it.
Ibrahimovic
post Feb 23 2009, 07:59 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Ah, fundamental. I normally just skip that part for technical instead. There is an indicator called 'FFcal' which I think you all know. So do should use this and how to predict its either it bull or bear?
orangysb
post Feb 23 2009, 08:02 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Feb 22 2009, 03:28 PM)
Yes, you are not talking about FA, but i am pointing out the flaw of using a purely technical based EA.
You're not pointing out the flaw, you're pointing out the limitation, and i'm sure we all agree that an automated trading system is just that, strictly programmed to do what it's told, i'm not disputing its limitation, what i'm saying is criticizing EAs as simply for noobs disregards its usefulness.

Saying the limitation is a flaw is like saying cars suck because they can't fly.

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Feb 22 2009, 03:28 PM)
Even if you set a stop loss, what if the news is so bad enough it dropped 150 pips within seconds, executing your stop loss immediately at 150 pips although you set it at 50 pips SL. After 5 minutes, the pair rebounded to your -50 SL. Thats the danger of allowing full automated trades. Human judgement is still very important. It's like creating a fighter jet without pilots but do you think the liability is lesser than having a pilot flying the F16s? I doubt it.
Your example seems to be pointing out the strength of an EA rather than its weakness, if there's a sudden super bad news released and the price moves against you abruptly, your EA would save you by recognizing the change in trend and cut your losses early, which wouldn't be different from you trading manually with stop loss orders, but if you were trading manually without any such orders and you failed to respond quickly or were busy doing something else, you're screwed.
bulkbiz
post Feb 23 2009, 08:32 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

Ok la, we have an EA trader here. We have FA expert, indicator expert(Ibrahimovic), Bank trader(txi), forex salesman, chartist, scalper, what else we miss...we are a team
Ibrahimovic
post Feb 23 2009, 08:56 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Lol, I'm touched being said an indicator expert! smile.gif But yep, anyone here can get help from another person. Hopefully we all could make lots of pips someday.
kelvin_tan
post Feb 23 2009, 09:29 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

orangysb.. no point argueing.. show us that we are wrong on EA by using it for 6 months on demo. no backtesting please.. real time usage..
vinching
post Feb 23 2009, 09:50 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Feb 23 2009, 10:08 AM)
Yes, you gotta start somewhere, but better start from stocks. If you can master the charts for stocks, you can speculate on more complicated instruments like options, futures, and forex. But before anyone should jump into forex, he or she should read plenty of books and real live trading using 1000 units to gain experience. Demo, not my style because its fake money. When you are using real money, your mentality will change to defend your capital. That's when the real learning start.

FA + TA = Success with higher odds.
thanks for the advice...
it shud be very useful for all of us...
babytensai
post Feb 23 2009, 11:28 PM

191 posts

Since there are so many experts in Forex here, I would like to get some help. I have a friend who recently went 2 dis convention in midvalley by kishore himself i think. He said dat it sounds convincing enough and it can be started with just 100USD so since den he started reading his books. Since I would also like 2 try a hand in forex but I would like to keep my options open n I would like fellow experts to advice me on which books shall I pick up on forex as I'm a beginner in Forex n too a beginner in finance as I'm of an engineering major, but I think my analyzing skills would be of advantage in analyzing forex, neva really noe though.
kelvin_tan
post Feb 23 2009, 11:30 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@babytensai
u wont need books since your a beginner.. at least not yet.. what u need is www.babypips.com/school .. smile.gif
LeonTak
post Feb 23 2009, 11:32 PM

Thank you orangysb for pointing out the automation. It just happens to me that not everything of automation is bad, but somehow or rather some automations are just not needed. Depending on how you look at things, automation varies. Would you buy a voice-activated typewriter which costs a hefty sum or would a plain keyboard do the job? Unless your hands are 100% occupied all the time, I presume most ordinary people would settle for the classic. As for the convenience of EA, it is also practical that a trader must know what he needs to commit before trading. Time is of an important factor, do you agree? Even in these blazing fast era, one cannot make it without sacrificing time. The opportunity cost exists in all forms including monetary and the intangible. If the trader is indeed that busy, would it be better to switch over to different timeframe ? Longer term trades would require less attention and of course the cost here would be higher capital and patience. In relation to the opportunity cost again, if you abandon your work and have loads of free time you can scalp till kingdom comes and still opportunity costs are stopping by to say hi.

In conclusion, my stand towards EA is on a neutral corner. There's no sure fire way to financial freedom. You can make it your way, and the manual traders can do it their way. If EA really do succeed, share the wealth (of information la). If manual succeeds, ask and you shall be answered biggrin.gif

The look on EU as I post:

It's a upwave in the downtrend and the pic above is making me look rather torn compared to the few bars back. The indicators are yet to be in their best places, but a weekly chart shows exactly what I'm looking for. Good luck in the near future
bulkbiz
post Feb 23 2009, 11:58 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(babytensai @ Feb 23 2009, 11:28 PM)
Since there are so many experts in Forex here, I would like to get some help. I have a friend who recently went 2 dis convention in midvalley by kishore himself i think. He said dat it sounds convincing enough and it can be started with just 100USD so since den he started reading his books. Since I would also like 2 try a hand in forex but I would like to keep my options open n I would like fellow experts to advice me on which books shall I pick up on forex as I'm a beginner in Forex n too a beginner in finance as I'm of an engineering major, but I think my analyzing skills would be of advantage in analyzing forex, neva really noe though.
All the free forex seminar out there are convincing, the promise can help you double your capital within a month, 90% accuracy and so on. This is how newbie fall into trap. But of course not all forex courses are bad, I heard a lot of negative comment on Kishore's course as well. Anyway, imagine you pay a few thousand ringgit for the course.

www.babypips.com/school is more than enough. There are no shortcut in forex trading I guess.
kelvin_tan
post Feb 24 2009, 12:09 AM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@leontak
very nice arguement on the EA. The reason why I do not believe in EA is because I have yet to know any big names in the forex market that made big bucks through EA only (meaning technical analysis only without application of fundamental).
mphpopular
post Feb 25 2009, 06:03 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

AJ making a LL and LH during previous moment (blue rectangle)

Followed by yesterday, market break the previous H (pink rectangle). So where will be our new HH?

Posibility might at the red TL.

But for me, I believe the red TL wont hold as a resistance. Market might hit red TL and retrace. But the TL wont hold for long

kelvin_tan
post Feb 25 2009, 08:02 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

yen pairs just retreated.. could be retracement... but on 4h its bearish engulfing..
mphpopular
post Feb 26 2009, 10:31 AM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

gu

bulkbiz
post Feb 26 2009, 04:22 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

small-jeff and mphpopular just acting noob in one of the thread out there, apalahhhh
woopypooky
post Feb 26 2009, 07:27 PM

1,292 posts

tried to register with ibfx, sent over my id, drving license, bla bla bla

so many hassle, they say my address ID & bank statement not the same lah, scanned copy cut off at the edge lah, then said i musnt include watermark lah.

realli......
mphpopular
post Feb 26 2009, 07:53 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(bulkbiz @ Feb 26 2009, 04:22 PM)
small-jeff and mphpopular just acting noob in one of the thread out there, apalahhhh
@,@
Where?

125 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:21 AM