Super Noobs Help! [Thread V3], Post Your ULTRA Simple Questions Here

kuntawakaw
post Sep 13 2009, 06:49 PM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(power.avenger @ Sep 13 2009, 06:27 PM)
err switch tongue.gif
i think there is no prob with that...
just need to tick "allow other computer to connect internet thru this PC" at the PC that have the internet (i belive it's USB broadband)

(correct me if im wrong..imm not very sure)
kuntawakaw
post Sep 13 2009, 10:09 PM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(GeneralX @ Sep 13 2009, 07:17 PM)
You're wrong if the network adapters are not bridged tongue.gif
i tot 1PC have internet (by USB modem) and other PC connect via LAN to the Host PC that have the USB modem.. means MODEM>>>PC>>>switch>>>PCs
if modem>>>Switch>>>PCs there shud be another case

nah...imma noob after all...

kuntawakaw
post Sep 25 2009, 04:37 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(Zhou @ Sep 25 2009, 02:35 AM)
sifu...
i juz bought a new amd phenom 2 X3 720 n asus m4a78-em mobo
but after i set everything up....n power on
my monitor only show power saving mode.....
my system is running but monitor flash a while n den it only show power saving mode....is it the bios problem? how can i solve it since it's my 1st time buying amd processor.....
means "no signal detected" or what?
any beep sound?.. do provide more info.. easier to go to shop if u have no idea what is happening.
kuntawakaw
post Sep 25 2009, 09:57 PM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Sep 25 2009, 09:50 AM)
The only reason i can think on why they sticked those tapes is because they want to make sure that it is properly grounded...
It is just for safety purpose, but not compulsary for everyone... laugh.gif
Thanks alot GeneralX... notworthy.gif
if they stick some tape on the iron<or any other elec conducting material> it used to prevent short circuit..

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Sep 25 2009, 10:37 AM)
yup, latest driver... could it be due to my power supply? i've changed my psu recently, from coolermaster extreme 460w to vantec ion2 400w. the prob never happened when i was using cm 460w before... hmm, i'll try gpuz. thanks!
hmmm
vantec is true power ya? <im not so sure>
if yes, then vantec shud be better or more a less the same with ur former PSU..
but normally if PSU faulty, the PSU itself overheat or fail..
if not enough juice, the whole PC will shut down..

mebbe someting bad occur when u detach ur GC <if u did that when changing the PSU>

kuntawakaw
post Sep 28 2009, 08:30 PM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(apecorp @ Sep 28 2009, 08:25 PM)
urm hav some noob questions here;;...

1. if mobo have 2 PCIE x16 slot..can use the 2nd slot instead of the 1st slot??....its same rite?...2 also x16 if only 1 slot is in used...??no ?..

2. regarding thermal paste..to fully clean the proc frm thermal paste is use wat??...n if the mobo kena the thrmal paste how a??....

THX....sifus...
1. depends on mobo i belive... but most will be x8

2. using tissue sufficient... or perhaps ur hand..on mobo with hard to wipe place, use alcohol can... but tissue is more then enough..
kuntawakaw
post Sep 30 2009, 02:45 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(m3ow @ Sep 30 2009, 12:54 AM)
Sifu's sekalian!
I refer to MSI P55-GD65

Memory speed
DDR3-2133 (OC), 2000 (OC)/ 1800 (OC)/ 1600 (OC)/ 1333/1066MHz

What does that OC means? after i overclock the mobo or oc the ram?

Does it mean i can support ram with 2000Mhz? Just plug and play or need to do some tweaking?

hope sifu's sekalian can teach. Getting this mobo soon, MSI coming out promo on 1st Oct.
means u cant get the speed stated unless u tweak something..
any ram u plug in, ur mobo will set it run on 1333mhz (if im correct with this value la)...so in order to gain the 2133mhz, u need to tweak..
change divider etc etc...

the ddr3-2133 means the ram is tested and can run stable at 2133mhz... no need to pening2 wat itu dan ini..
urgh..im bad at explaining
kuntawakaw
post Sep 30 2009, 04:02 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

any brand of ram, that been slot in the same colored slot, it will run dual channel on dual channel supported board and will run triple channel on triple channel board..

u can pick any ram... no need for same brand or "dual channel kit" or same ramchip...
kuntawakaw
post Sep 30 2009, 07:11 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(xi4n9 @ Sep 30 2009, 06:43 AM)
oooo... thanks thanks!!! so im currently using 2x Corsair 2GB DDR2 800Mhz. i wanted to ask, 800mhz and 1033mhz, the difference is big and better? what's the opinion if i tend to change from 800 to 1033? i dont OC my stuff currently, playing alot of latest game, can be a heavy user sometimes, off my pc maybe 3 days once...
i did read some review on ramspeed @gaming..
they tested on game that highly affected by ramspeed.. (i cant remember what game) and the result around 3fps increase..
if tested on example crysis, it barely increse 1fps..

so its ur call..

@cstkl
there must be something i left out and things i donno...do forgive me...
kuntawakaw
post Sep 30 2009, 03:06 PM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

@cstkl1
but still everybody know that ocing ram lead to small gain only.
i doubt u can exactly feel any diff in gaming no matter how pro a person tweak his ram...
in other apps might differ... but gaming is too small to gain even with insane ramspeed + tight timings..

do correct me if im wrong..im a noob in ram oc anyway
kuntawakaw
post Oct 6 2009, 01:40 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(lonelysoldier @ Oct 6 2009, 01:33 AM)
i want to ask something..
1.what the different between AMD and INTEL..
which is more better for gaming..
2.why AMD is more cheaper than INTEL,it's that mean INTEL is better than AMD?
3.AMD PHENOM 2 and INTEL QUAD CORE,it's has same core,4 core?
to know the knowledge..thank you..
1. diff brand, diff manufacturer.. altho old days they were together... better for gaming? both..just AMD cheaper for the same performance INTEL proc and also INTEL have proc that better then AMD.. if u have budget, INTEL will be better with i7 / i5...
2. AMD R&D and marketing budget far lower then INTEL... and also marketing stategy la..
3. wrong.. PHENOMII have 2cores, 3cores and 4 cores...
kuntawakaw
post Oct 6 2009, 01:53 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(lonelysoldier @ Oct 6 2009, 01:44 AM)
how we want to diff PHENOM if they hav 2,3,4 cores?
from your answer,it's mean that INTEL have same performance with AMD but more expensive?
on phenomII..
5XX is 2cores.
7XX is 3cores
8XX and 9XX are 4cores... 8XX have 4mb l3 cache while 9XX have full 6mb..

AMD vs INTEL at same performance = AMD cheaper..
but INTEL have line up that more powerful then AMD. (of cos at diff price)
the highest AMD now for end user is phenomII 965.. but intel have proc that better then 965...
kuntawakaw
post Oct 13 2009, 12:37 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(andx517 @ Oct 13 2009, 12:10 AM)
for me this consider high end already huhu
high end for me is the highest...
unless u have

plus i7 975..
some SDDs on raid0..
enermax revo
some high mhz + tight timing capable performance ram

then urs not high end bro...sorry..

the i7 920 itself not high end within its product line...

@busyman
upgraded? feel it urself...
its a improvement...quite huge i suppose..
kuntawakaw
post Oct 16 2009, 04:12 PM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Oct 16 2009, 03:58 PM)
absolutely, liquid is usually better than air cooling. that's why it's also more expensive. if u're going for it, just make sure u assemble the cooling system properly so that there wont be a leak somewhere. even a tiny drop could result in a disaster. are u going to overclock anyway? if u're not, then i suggest using the stock cooling that comes with ur proc. unless u're using the hsf for bling2 purpose... brows.gif
nah...dont generalize..
there still crap WC setup that will lose to air cooling.. most of then is AIO WC setup (but still there are few that quite good)
custom WC is preferable but need some knowldge to pick the parts//
kuntawakaw
post Oct 16 2009, 06:48 PM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(GaryCCW @ Oct 16 2009, 06:43 PM)
ok thx for help guys tomoro i going to all it
y dont u call them 1st..
if the LCD is a 1 week old, mebbe they accept exchange..
but some shop not taking the LCD warranty service..means no 1 year shop waranty. u have to go directly to the distro/manu ur self...

kuntawakaw
post Oct 17 2009, 09:30 PM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Oct 17 2009, 07:59 PM)
guys, i'm using an athlon II X2 240, and the stock heatsink looks kinda boring. but i dont wanna change the heatsink cos not enough $$$.... so i'm wondering, can i just change the fan on the heatsink? cos i've measured the fan and the measurement is 70x70mm. and it's hard to find a 70mm LED or UV fan... can an 80mm fan fit? any simple mods required? sweat.gif thanks!! biggrin.gif
just stick some 80mm fan on top... then u good to go..still the stock fan will be covered right?

QUOTE(lost_destiny @ Oct 17 2009, 08:34 PM)
I hesitated to post my Qs here but I need help..

How do I know my PSU specs other than using everest?

I'm doing a research on what graphics card should I get for my rig.. So I need to know how many watt my PSU can support and shit..
ur psu spec...take out the cover and peek the label of ur PSU..the label normally is easy to be seen.no need to take out the psu..unless u have no label...
kuntawakaw
post Oct 18 2009, 10:05 PM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(adrien @ Oct 18 2009, 02:19 PM)
Hi guys,

Just wonder if huntkey greenstar 550w can power up gts 250 anot..will it get burn?
no it will not.... it can power up 4870 and 260 with no prob at all... so 250 will not be any prob
kuntawakaw
post Oct 20 2009, 03:23 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Oct 20 2009, 03:15 AM)
umm... guys... can i use vista drivers in win7? thinking of changing to win7 as well but afraid cos most of my hardware drivers only available xp n vista drivers... sweat.gif
sure can..
they just like the same..some driver u download the windows7 driver, but the filename of the driver stated "vista and 7"...like that la.

but.. 7 can detect the driver for all of my hardwares automatically... using rc 7100..
so i once i install, all driver is there...even printer..just GC driver i change since dont want to use the windows-made one..

kuntawakaw
post Oct 21 2009, 11:47 PM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

1. no prob at all...and there are many question like this before
2. amd chipset some able to support CFX.. so u able to CFX with ATI card.
if nv chipset, cant CFX..thats all..depends on waht chip and what mobo ofocs..
same goes to nvidia..able to SLI on certain board and chipset.
3. plug into the slot. plug power cord if any..boot..instal driver..same both 2.
kuntawakaw
post Oct 23 2009, 02:33 PM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(ruffoundation @ Oct 23 2009, 01:15 PM)
no name brand, atx size.
but the casing is just nice,

what cpu cooler should i be using
Stock cooler since info u gave not enough...

QUOTE(nkarul85 @ Oct 23 2009, 02:08 PM)
i checked, support but dont know need to update bios or not

here is the model
GIGABYTE GA-M55SLI-S4

btw, thanks for the answers nod.gif  nod.gif
plug in only...
some can operate even with old bios..but it just not recognize the CPU..and some case cant OC..
but some cant..
luck do the work
kuntawakaw
post Oct 29 2009, 12:12 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(lonelysoldier @ Oct 28 2009, 10:47 PM)
i hav a noob question..
my new lcs samsung 2243 hav a flicker problem when i use it after 3 or 4 hours..
is it because lcd prob or my laptop?
i using for my laptop..acer aspire 4730zg..
sad.gif
same thing happend to my fren. the flicker happend after some time of usage. after that it become of more frequent and permenently there...
his lappy have the whole LCD replacement...

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0261sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:46 PM