The Watches Thread V1

Jr.Koh
post Feb 10 2010, 09:50 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Feb 10 2010, 09:30 AM)
lol, somehow it just doesn't seem to make much sense to me. selling the watch with/without receipt does not dispel the fact that the actual physical unit has been sold (?).

...or maybe my reasoning is just messed up lah laugh.gif
Bro, they just want to protect themselves from selling something below the control price. If they issue a receipt and it leaks out, it serves as an evidence for the company to take legal action against the AD.

Deal with cash, they can give an extra few % discounts if you talk to them bout it smile.gif Don't know how much discount my AD is giving for omega, if you're around PJ area I can check it out for you after CNY and probably you can get better pricing.

This post has been edited by Jr.Koh: Feb 10 2010, 09:51 PM
Jr.Koh
post Feb 11 2010, 12:09 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(jayxunned @ Feb 10 2010, 11:12 PM)
Want to ask, if i'm taking let say 3 watches without the boxes to Australia..will customs charge me tax on these watches?
Don't think they can tax you unless you're bringing it with box and if it's brand new smile.gif Just declare them as your own use. That's all that you'll need to do heh.
Jr.Koh
post Feb 11 2010, 09:59 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(icehart85 @ Feb 11 2010, 09:48 AM)
nobody seems to be replying?  sad.gif  can anybody help? cos imma gonna be replacing by battery soon before cny actually.
I change it with the usual shop I go to. If you're around PJ, pm me and I can recommend you smile.gif Btw, I don't get anything out of recommending it to you lol. I just felt that their service is good as I had a bad experience of going to some shop and they told me the watch was dead while most of the time I just leave it in the box sleep.gif

In fact, they wanted me to get a new watch. I refused and went to another shop and they replaced it for me with no problems at all.

This post has been edited by Jr.Koh: Feb 11 2010, 10:01 AM
Jr.Koh
post Feb 12 2010, 02:06 AM

71 posts

Great looking watch. What's the size? looks damn big haha. I love big watches tongue.gif 43mm fits right on my wrist.

This post has been edited by Jr.Koh: Feb 12 2010, 04:19 AM
Jr.Koh
post Feb 28 2010, 02:12 AM

71 posts

Yes patryn33 is right. The company Titus is under a HK group now.
IMHO, TH watches are something you buy to wear and enjoy it rather than thinking about the resale value tongue.gif
Jr.Koh
post Mar 1 2010, 09:58 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Feb 27 2010, 11:13 PM)
Thanks a lot!

I was quite picky in terms of the day-date vs the date.
I can't choose the right one to fit. (the day-date is extra rm2k+ just for the day indicator)
That day i saw Omega  watches De Ville Hour Vision never know is so exp also smile.gif

Btw, what leather watches can i look for (i'm open for suggestion  smile.gif )
Budget not more than rm10k
I was like you when I was deciding on the carrera with date or DD. In the end I got myself the DD. For me the main difference is the size, and the usual date only version is too common IMHO. With the budget of around 10k, you actually do have a lot of choices smile.gif My DD runs +1 sec / day crown up and +- 0 when my dial facing up. That's what I can tell u bout the watch. Tho its not a chronometer, the accuracy is within the chronometer range. I was tempted by the omega speedmaster as well, but it just looks too small on my wrist. If anyone were to say every tom d*** and harry has it, he/she must have a lot of friends who are quite well to do eh? No offense taken.

patryn33: the Zenith El Primero doesn't look like a swatch, it reminds me of gerald genta sport without the subdials smile.gif

This post has been edited by Jr.Koh: Mar 1 2010, 10:04 PM
Jr.Koh
post Mar 3 2010, 03:49 AM

71 posts

I got a decent discount from my AD, which is slightly more than 23%, cos I paid with cash. The strap feels different from my other alligator strap watches, as what I've noticed, I do not sweat much when i wear it for all day long compared to other watches I have (leather straps). Btw, I'm someone who sweats even when I walk in malls like 1 utama. I have actually looked upon other brands such as omega, oris, ball, ML and etc.. In the end I still went for the carrera DD as it suits me better, I'm still in my early 20s, an omega will definitely make me look more matured. No offense to anyone here by making that statement as that is my personal perception. Was eyeing for a IWC Portuguese 7 days reserve but IMHO its too dressy for me and of cos the main concern was pricing a bit too steep for my wallet. Don't worry bout the size, once you go for something bigger, you'll never look back at those small ones anymore. ML does come with chronograph, ML pontos chronographe, pricing is cheaper as well.

Jason: Tags are everywhere because of their strong marketing and versatility; but not those models with the RRP of 5 figures like GC. Its just like comparison of honda and toyota, where toyota are more sellable as they have cars of lower range in the 60k+ range while honda starts from 85k+ onwards. Longines do make a lot of nice watches, those nice ones you can hardly find them in malaysia. As far as what I saw from those AD selling longines, mostly are dress watches. By the end of the day, I don't really care if Tags are everywhere cause the model I'm having is a higher end of TH rather than those common models. Cheers.

nando: Bumped into an uncle wearing the orange omega PO, very eye catchy smile.gif Will definitely get one when I approach my late 20s. Prefer something more sporty right now. Chronograph in short.

This post has been edited by Jr.Koh: Mar 3 2010, 03:53 AM
Jr.Koh
post Mar 10 2010, 01:14 AM

71 posts

Need some suggestions from people in the forum. Feel free to drop your opinion. I'm looking for a ladies watch with the criteria - automatic, round, no diamonds, MOP, preferably chrono, 33mm - 40mm, white leather strap. If anyone have something in mind please post the model number here or PM me. Thanks! Price range up to RM10k.

This post has been edited by Jr.Koh: Mar 10 2010, 01:37 AM
Jr.Koh
post Mar 10 2010, 01:41 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Mar 10 2010, 09:17 AM)
This meet your criteria perfectly.  rclxm9.gif
Omega Ladies Speedmaster
Thanks a lot ck. notworthy.gif I think I'll contact my AD and see what's the best price he can give lol. Saw something from longines but 41mm. too big for my chiq.
Jr.Koh
post Mar 14 2010, 11:05 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Mar 14 2010, 08:18 PM)
thinking of getting an omega... but first i got to sell my 2 months old Ball Night Train (in leather strap)...
still under warranty, bought locally ... i am thinking to sell around RM4.3K....any one interested ?
If its EMII Engineer Diver I would've already seal the deal with you haha. Anyway, I just talked to my AD the other day. He's giving me 20% for omega, but didn't really negotiate with him cos I'm not prepared yet. Wait till I figured out to get Ball or Omega blush.gif

Added on March 14, 2010, 11:17 pm
QUOTE(ryuzaki_L @ Mar 14 2010, 09:00 AM)
Are those Swatch retail shops in Malaysia keeping watches that are design in year 2009?i am looking for this watch--> http://www.squiggly.com/us/en/swatch/crist...ck-SFB139AG.htm  but it shows it was 2009 collection,do you think it will still be on the shelves in Malaysia???
Most likely yes. Perhaps you can give them a call. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Jr.Koh: Mar 14 2010, 11:17 PM
Jr.Koh
post Mar 15 2010, 10:04 PM

71 posts

That's what I meant, though TAG was common yet I ended up getting the CV2A10. I can recommend a place which can give good pricing in klang valley (>18%). I can meet you there and recommend you to the fella, he's a nice chap to talk to. Gave me an offer that was irresistible. Anyway you can check out longines grande vitesse, very nice timepiece. I saw the actual watch in curve, beautiful time piece and I can get a good pricing for longines as well. ORIS makes good watches as well but I got the same problem that I doesn't feel comfortable on my wrist.

This post has been edited by Jr.Koh: Mar 15 2010, 10:13 PM
Jr.Koh
post Mar 16 2010, 11:30 PM

71 posts

se7enhafiz, you can try out a shop in ss2/67, opposite of swenson, better not disclose the shop name here smile.gif
Jr.Koh
post Mar 16 2010, 11:50 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Mar 16 2010, 11:41 PM)
Hi jr.Koh,

Does this shop Tag/Oris watches?
They do carry ORIS but not TAG smile.gif ORIS usually no problem in getting 25% lol. Btw, even some brands that they don't carry, you can ask the boss heh. Eventually I'm looking for a green sub, he says he can get it for me if there's stock thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Jr.Koh: Mar 16 2010, 11:56 PM
Jr.Koh
post Mar 18 2010, 11:54 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Mar 18 2010, 10:24 PM)
how much do you think i can sell my 3 months old Ball NIght train (leather strap)...still under
warranty....worn a few times only... thanks
Impress me with some lume shots and I might drool over it and get it from you haha. Currently drool.gif over spacemaster glow.

This post has been edited by Jr.Koh: Mar 19 2010, 12:16 AM
Jr.Koh
post Mar 21 2010, 11:58 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Mar 21 2010, 05:55 PM)
i don't think hang thai sell rolex submariner...anyway saw the submariner at watatime mid-valley...without date..
price around RM16K++ after discounts...
the PO i am looking at is the black version with orange numberals.... stainless steel...today watatime told me
price will increase 5% in april 2010. (now after discounts RM10,800)

Added on March 21, 2010, 6:20 pm
called up hour glass...confirm only lot 10 got sales...and the PO are sold..RM8K+ but is leather
HT does not sell rolex, but the boss can get it for you either new or pre-loved. yeah omega's price going up on 1st april. Btw, anyone knows the RRP for Ball spacemaster and the spacemaster glow / x-lume. Wanna workout the difference n see which to get =x
Jr.Koh
post Mar 22 2010, 08:54 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Mar 22 2010, 07:50 PM)
Ohh my god! i out of town now! sigh i just left yesterday.
I was waiting this KLCC road show since last yr (u can back track the earlier post been kept asking n asking when is the road show)
The road show is giving 23% if the deal is the same. Arrrrr....the SA at 1U are so smart didnt tell me anything about the road show.

And i cant make it back tomorrow. Omg
I can get slightly more than 18% for sure from my AD for any TH model except for LE if you're dealing with cash smile.gif Anyone can get better than 20% off for omega from any AD in msia?

This post has been edited by Jr.Koh: Mar 22 2010, 08:55 PM
Jr.Koh
post Mar 22 2010, 10:32 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Mar 22 2010, 08:57 PM)
Hi Jr..why didnt you go for the Hour Glass sales then? Although i think Omega 20% is quite good..
I know one of the sales girl over there. Don't think the models are the one I'm interested in, I'm contemplating between Ball Spacemaster Glow and Omega PO 45.5mm black face with red numerals. I love the lume on Ball but the Omega is tempting as well. Can't decide lol. If not, getting the speedmaster reduced for ladies for my gf if I can't make up my mind.

terencetoo, something for you.. the wrist shot of my DD

This post has been edited by Jr.Koh: Mar 22 2010, 10:47 PM
Jr.Koh
post Mar 23 2010, 06:27 PM

71 posts

Better not to stereotype all teenagers. I'm in my early 20s and I know my stuffs, not just because "kids" who look at tags do not know about pammy. Watches like glashutte original, gerald genta, lange n sohne, FP, AP and the list goes on are not quite hype in Malaysia's market. First of all, the earning power of Malaysia is disappointing, an average joe won't be able to spend like say 50k on an AP. Hence, they won't even bother walking into shops like SINCERE and not know about it. Different strokes for different folks, and yes I'm the type who looks at the outlook first before the movement. Btw, cortina watches do give a big chunk of discount when they have private sales for CIMB preferred members smile.gif
Jr.Koh
post Mar 23 2010, 10:00 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Mar 23 2010, 08:31 PM)
tell me about it.. swiss watch @ pavilion very friendly..even though i went in with a frogman.. same with the shop in 1u new wing near nando or itallianies. bts watch shop at level 1..avoid at all cost..fella see you go in with rolex smile at you, go in with seiko look at you like you can't afford it. idiot.
Jason, I've got the same experience as you with Wata Txxe in 1u smile.gif Go in and check out and asked for the prices, they simply quote you. Anyone who wants to get ML, Tag, Omega, and some other brands I can get cheaper prices compared to outside from my AD. CC or cash also can but of course CC you'll get lesser discount due to the charges of banks to the company. It all comes in whole set but of cos if you want exclusive discounts as such you're not entitled for the receipts, this is for them to protect themselves. Feel free to PM me. I would love to see more people having the ability to acquire something they like. Cheers.
Jr.Koh
post Mar 23 2010, 10:11 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Mar 23 2010, 10:08 PM)
OMG OMG OMG that's crazy!!!!!!!!
is that your watch?
is that Tag Heuer Carrera Automatic Chronograph Day-Date (DD)???
This is my watch, that one is a 41mm carrera date, mine is a carrera day-date 43.5mm if not mistaken. Some pics to follow

This post has been edited by Jr.Koh: Mar 23 2010, 10:12 PM

0.0458sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:19 AM